DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted on April 4th, 2024, and July 23rd, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 states that it is dependent upon claim 18, however based on the language of the claim, it should be dependent upon claim 19. The examiner will continue in this manner. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 13-14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hosseini et al. (US 11448736 B2), herein referred to as Hosseini.
Regarding claim 1, Hosseini discloses a transceiver aperture, comprising: an array (101) of pixels (105), each of the pixels (105) comprising: a photonic radiator (200) comprising one or more ports (203, 208); a photonic mixer (201) comprising an Rx input (204) and a local oscillator (LO) input (206); and an optical mixer (202) comprising a Tx input (203); an input/output port (see fig. 2a, input and output ports on 202); a first output (to 205/200); and a second output (to 206/201), wherein the input/output port is coupled to the one or more ports (205) of the photonic radiator (200) and the first output (206) is coupled to the Rx input (via 201).
Regarding claim 3, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini also discloses wherein the photonic radiator comprises a grating coupler (col. 5 lines 10-13).
Regarding claim 4, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini also discloses wherein the photonic radiator comprises a multiport radiator comprising an array of square gratings (210, fig. 2c).
Regarding claim 5, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini also discloses wherein: the photonic radiator comprises a multiport radiator comprising the ports comprising: one or more Tx ports (203) for input of a Tx signal for generating a first polarization of electromagnetic radiation transmitted from the photonic radiator; and one or more Rx ports (208) for output of an Rx signal in response to a second polarization of the electromagnetic radiation received on the photonic radiator (col. 5 lines 47-56); the Tx ports and the Rx ports are each coupled to the input/output port of the optical mixer; and the optical mixer routes the Tx ports to the Tx input and the Rx ports to the Rx input via the first output (See fig. 2c/d).
Regarding claim 6, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
Hosseini also discloses wherein: the first polarization is different from the second polarization; and the first polarization and the second polarization each independently comprise a linear polarization (col. 5, lines 47-56).
Regarding claim 13, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini also discloses wherein the photonic mixer comprises a detector positioned to detect the Rx signal received at the Rx input and a LO signal received at the LO input and output a signal in response thereto, the signal comprising a difference frequency between a frequency of the LO signal and a frequency of the Rx signal (col. 4 lines 1-11).
Regarding claim 14, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 13.
Hosseini also discloses wherein the photonic mixer comprises an In phase- Quadrature (IQ) mixer (col. 5 lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 18, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
Hosseini also discloses wherein at least one of the Rx signal, the Tx signal, a relative phase of the Rx or Tx signal, or a power of the Rx/Tx signals are selected to generate the electromagnetic radiation having any arbitrary combination of s polarization and p polarization (as worded, any set up as disclosed within Hosseini discloses the claim as written).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini.
Regarding claim 7, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
Hosseini also discloses further comprising: a beamformer (502).
The embodiment of Hosseini relied upon does not disclose a polarization beam splitter optically coupled between the photonic radiator and the beamformer, wherein the electromagnetic radiation transmitted from or received on the photonic radiator is transmitted through the beamsplitter to/from the beamformer.
However, figure 8 of Hosseini does disclose a polarization beam splitter (803) optically coupled between the photonic radiator (transmission/reception shown as 805/810) and the beamformer, wherein the electromagnetic radiation transmitted from or received on the photonic radiator is transmitted through the beamsplitter to/from the beamformer (see fig. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini with a polarization beam splitter optically coupled between the photonic radiator and the beamformer, wherein the electromagnetic radiation transmitted from or received on the photonic radiator is transmitted through the beamsplitter to/from the beamformer, as taught by the later embodiment of Hosseini, to polarize transmitted and reflected signals (col. 10 lines 3-8).
Regarding claim 8, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
Hosseini also discloses wherein each of the pixels further comprises: the Tx ports comprising a first Tx port; a second Tx port; and a third Tx port (while each input and/or output port within each pixel, and the overall system is not always specifically numerated, they are represented by the pathways, such as 213, 214, 215, for example), the third Tx (215 to radiator) port connected to the photonic radiator (210) via the first Tx port and the second Tx port (see figs. 2c-2d for pathways); a first splitter (212) connecting the third Tx port to a first Tx waveguide (path for 215) and a second Tx waveguide (path for 214), the Rx ports comprising a first Rx port; a second Rx port; and a third Rx port (same as with the Tx ports, the individual ports are not always assigned specific numerations, but are at least represented by the pathways, such as 213, 214, 215, for example), the third Rx port connected to the photonic radiator (210) via the first Rx port and the second Rx port (see figs. 2c-d); a second splitter (201) connecting the third Rx port to a first Rx waveguide (to 207) and a second Rx waveguide (to 208). and a second phase shifter, the first Rx waveguide connecting the second phase shifter between first Rx port and the second splitter.
The embodiment of Hosseini relied upon does not disclose a first phase shifter, the first Tx waveguide connecting the first phase shifter between the first splitter and the first Tx port; and a second phase shifter, the first Rx waveguide connecting the second phase shifter between first Rx port and the second splitter.
However, Hosseini does further disclose multiple phase shifters (402), to tune a phase of each arm (col. 6, lines 60-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini with a first phase shifter, the first Tx waveguide connecting the first phase shifter between the first splitter and the first Tx port; and a second phase shifter, the first Rx waveguide connecting the second phase shifter between first Rx port and the second splitter, as suggested by the further teachings of Hosseini, in order to finely tune the phases (col. 6, lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 9, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
Hosseini also discloses wherein each of the pixels comprise: the Tx ports comprising a plurality of Tx ports (see figs. 2c-2d, the ports are not always specifically numerated, but at least represented by the pathways); a Tx splitter (212) configured to control a power of the electromagnetic radiation inputted to each of the Tx ports (by definition, this is the purpose of a splitter); and the Rx ports comprising a plurality of Rx ports (see figs. 2c-2d, the ports are not always specifically numerated, but at least represented by the pathways); an Rx splitter (201) configured to control and combine a power of the Rx signals outputted from each of the Rx ports in response to electromagnetic radiation received on the photonic radiator (again, as previously stated, this is by definition the purpose of a splitter (combiner)).
The embodiment of Hosseini as relied upon does not disclose a Tx phase shifter coupled to control a relative phase of the Tx signal inputted to each of the ports so as to adjust a transmit polarization of the electromagnetic radiation transmitted from the photonic radiator in response to the Tx signals; and an Rx phase shifter coupled to control a relative phase of the Rx signals outputted from each of the ports, so as to correctly receive a polarization of the electromagnetic radiation.
However, Hosseini does further disclose multiple phase shifters (402), to tune a phase of each arm (col. 6, lines 60-62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini further with a Tx phase shifter coupled to control a relative phase of the Tx signal inputted to each of the ports so as to adjust a transmit polarization of the electromagnetic radiation transmitted from the photonic radiator in response to the Tx signals; and an Rx phase shifter coupled to control a relative phase of the Rx signals outputted from each of the ports, so as to correctly receive a polarization of the electromagnetic radiation, as suggested by the further teachings of Hosseini, in order to finely tune the phases (col. 6, lines 60-62).
Regarding claim 10, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 5.
The embodiment of Hosseini as relied upon does not specifically disclose further comprising: a Tx beamformer; comprising: a 1:N power splitter having an input and N outputs, wherein N is a number of the pixels and each of the N outputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels; and a first plurality of N phase shifters, wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N outputs to the ith one of the pixels, for 1 <i<N; and an Rx beamformer, comprising: a 1:N power combiner having N inputs and one output, wherein each of the N inputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels; and a second plurality of N phase shifters, wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N inputs to the ith one of the pixels, for 1 <i<N.
However, Hosseini does further disclose a Tx beamformer (see fig. 3a); comprising: a 1:N power splitter (see fig. 4a) having an input (In) and N outputs (Out1-8), wherein N is a number of the pixels and each of the N outputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels (see fig. 3a); and a first plurality of N phase shifters (402), wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N outputs to the ith one of the pixels (see fig. 4a), for 1 <i<N; and an Rx beamformer (by definition of a transceiver, the device is operable in both directions, therefore the transmitting components work in a way to receive), comprising: a 1:N power combiner having N inputs and one output, wherein each of the N inputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels; and a second plurality of N phase shifters, wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N inputs to the ith one of the pixels, for 1 <i<N.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini with a Tx beamformer; comprising: a 1:N power splitter having an input and N outputs, wherein N is a number of the pixels and each of the N outputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels; and a first plurality of N phase shifters, wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N outputs to the ith one of the pixels, for 1 <i<N; and an Rx beamformer, comprising: a 1:N power combiner having N inputs and one output, wherein each of the N inputs is connected to a different one of the photonic radiators in a different one of the pixels; and a second plurality of N phase shifters, wherein the ith one of the phase shifters couples the ith one of the N inputs to the ith one of the pixels, for 1 <i<N, as suggested by the further teachings of Hosseini, and provide an active optical switch (col 7, lines 57-58).
Regarding claim 11, Hosseini renders obvious all limitations of base claim 10.
Hosseini also discloses a phased array transceiver comprising said aperture (figures 3a-4a).
Regarding claim 12, Hosseini renders obvious all limitations of base claim 8.
Hosseini also discloses further comprising a computer coupled to the power splitter, the phase shifters, and the power combiner, wherein the computer is configured to: control the phase shifters to control a relative phase of the Tx signals inputted to each of the Tx ports or the Rx signals received from each of the Rx ports; and control the splitter to control the power of the Tx signals transmitted to each of the Tx ports; and control the combiner to control a power of the Rx signals outputted from each or the Rx ports (col 13 line 49 through col 14 line 16).
Regarding claim 17, Hosseini renders obvious all limitations of base claim 9.
Hosseini also discloses wherein the relative phase and power are selected to convert the Tx signal or Rx signal associated with linear polarization to circular or elliptical polarization (Column 9, lines 18-20).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini and further in view of Conaglu et al. (US 20230113820 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini does not disclose wherein the optical mixer comprises a multi- mode interferometer (MMI).
However, Canoglu discloses a similar system which comprises a multi-mode interferometer (para. 0069).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini which comprises a multi-mode interferometer, as taught by Canoglu, for frequency selection (para. 0043).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini and further in view of Bao et al. (US 20240103140 A1), herein referred to as Bao.
Regarding claim 15, Hosseini anticipates all limitations of base claim 1.
Hosseini does not disclose wherein the photonic radiator transmits and receives an arbitrary complex wavefront through the aperture, wherein the wavefront comprises any arbitrary superposition of sine waves having different phases and/or amplitudes.
However, Bao discloses a similar system which uses complex waveforms (para. 0116).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the aperture of Hosseini wherein the photonic radiator transmits and receives an arbitrary complex wavefront through the aperture, wherein the wavefront comprises any arbitrary superposition of sine waves having different phases and/or amplitudes, as suggested by the teachings of Bao, to increase detail in scans.
Regarding claim 16, Hosseini and Bao render obvious all limitations of base claim 15.
Hosseini also discloses a LiDAR (col. 1 line 40) comprising said transceiver.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosseini and further in view of Schultheiss et al. (US 20220120848 A1), herein referred to as Schultheiss.
Regarding claim 19, Hosseini discloses a method of making a transceiver aperture, comprising: forming an array of pixels (105) on a silicon on insulator substrate (col. 13 lines 5-10), each of the pixels comprising a photonic integrated circuit (col. 1 lines 40-41) comprising: a photonic radiator (200) comprising one or more ports (see figs. 2a-b, ports are not necessarily numerated but represented by pathways); a photonic mixer comprising (201) an Rx input and a local oscillator (206) (LO) input; and an optical mixer (202) comprising a Tx input (203); an input/output port (see fig. 2a, input and output ports on 202); a first output (to 205/200); and a second output (to 206/201), wherein the input/output port is coupled to the one or more ports (205) of the photonic radiator (200) and the first output (206) is coupled to the Rx input (via 201).
Hosseini does not disclose wherein the array is formed lithographically.
However, lithography is commonly known, such as in Schultheiss (para. 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the teachings of the references and make the method of Hosseini wherein the array is formed lithographically, as taught by Schultheiss, to integrate the components into the substrate (para. 0011).
Regarding claim 20, Hosseini and Schultheiss render obvious all limitations 19.
Hosseini further discloses further comprising forming waveguides connecting the photonic radiator, the photonic mixer; and the optical mixer (see figs. 2a-b, pathways between components comprise waveguides).
Conclusion
/BRANDON SEAN WOODS/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845