DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frank (US 2,297,951 A).
Regarding claim 1, Frank discloses a de-icing system of an airfoil, the de-icing system comprising:
a flexible skin (cover 20, fig. 2) coupled to a structural skin wherein the structural skin is offset from the flexible skin such that the flexible skin lies flush with a surface of the airfoil thus maintaining aerodynamic form (Page 1, para. 10, lines 16-22, “[a]s shown in the drawings there is illustrated a wing 10, which may be composed of metallic shell and which if desired may differ in contour from the ordinary wing of an airplane 23 in that substantially the entire fore part thereof, which is to be protected from icing, may be slightly recessed along the entire length thereof”; as shown in fig. 2);
one or more actuators (levers 22, fig. 2) positioned within the airfoil, wherein the one or more actuators engage an impact area for providing a displacement force; and
a plurality of stiffening elements (rollers, fig. 2. Furthermore, P. 2, lines 62-68, “[t]he shafts 21 are rotatably mounted on said journals and each shaft carries a plurality of pairs of levers 22, similar in all respects to levers 15, and also pivotally mounted to said levers 22 are rollers 23 which may be offset or eccentrically or concentrically rotatable thereon, depending upon the results desired”; see rollers 16 in fig. 6) coupled to the flexible skin (fig. 2), the elements extending substantially parallel to a leading edge of the airfoil and placed in chordwise succession proceeding away from the leading edge of the airfoil (Page 2, Para. 3, “[t]he shafts 21 are rotatably mounted on said journals and each shaft carries a plurality of pairs of levers 22, similar in all respects to levers 15, and also pivotally mounted to said levers 22 are rollers 23 which may be offset or eccentrically or concentrically rotatable thereon”; as shown in figs. 2 & 6), the stiffening elements configured to transmit the displacement force to a non-impact area of the flexible skin adjacent to or near the stiffening elements (fig. 2);
wherein the displacement force causes an outer surface of the flexible skin adjacent the impact area to be distorted and an outer surface of the flexible skin of the non- impact area to be distorted (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Frank discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the de-icing system is configured such that when the de-icing system is not functioning, the flexible skin is not distorted (page 2, para. 2, lines 28-39, “As the rollers 16 move along the recessed surface of the 'wing body 10 to distort and move increments of cover 13 away from wing body 10 the next preceding increment of some size will snap back or return to its original position contiguous with the surface of the wing body 10 and finally the rollers may be located at rest in the trough or well 12. The rollers may then be allowed to remain at rest in said trough I2 until the pilot "again desires to de-ice, which he does by actuating the shaft in the opposite direction to move the roller towards and to the well 11”; as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Frank discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more stiffening elements are rods (rollers 16, fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Frank discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more actuators include one or more rotary actuators (page 1, para. 12, lines 53-55 – page. 2, para. 1, lines 1-4, “[l]ocated within the main wing body 10 and extending along the length thereof and supported thereon by means of suitable journal bearings (not shown) is a shaft 14 adapted to be rotated in said journal bearings by any appropriate means having an actuator located in the pilot’s cabin”).
Regarding claim 7, Frank discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses wherein the one or more actuators include one or more eccentric cams (page 1, para. 9, lines 5-8, “Figure 6 is a diagrammatic sketch showing the combination of the lever actuators, the operation shaft therefor, as well as the cams mounted on the actuators”. Furthermore, page 2, lines 10-12 discloses “[t]he rollers 16 are preferably…eccentrically mounted on said levers”) having an offset center (page 2, para. 1, lines 8-12, “[b]etween each pair of said levers 15 is pivotally mounted a roller 16. The rollers 16 are preferably offset or eccentrically mounted on said levers”), wherein a distal path of the one or more eccentric cams causes the one or more eccentric cams to engage the impact area with the displacement force (as set forth above, the rollers 16 are eccentrically mounted by the lever arm and since the cams are eccentrically mounted, they are contacting the aircraft skin and actuating it).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frank (US 2,297,951 A).
Regarding claim 3, Frank discloses the invention in claim 1, and further discloses securing the flexible skin to the structural skin via rivets (page 1, para. 10, lines 37-42, “[t]he longitudinal edges of the strip 13 are firmly and securely anchored to the wing body 10 by means of suitable anchoring de- vices, such as rivets or the like, to maintain the strip 13 in said recess and snugly against the surface of the wing 10.”), but is silent regarding further comprising a bond, wherein the bond permanently bonds the flexible skin to the structural skin at edges. wherein the flexible skin is coupled to a structural skin.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Frank such that the flexible skin was permanently bonded to the structural skin, since the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is known to bond two skins in order to avoid fasteners and provide a more secure connection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, and 5-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3647
/Richard Green/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647