DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 4, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 12 are pending in the application with claim 7 being cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita Iwao (JP 2543426B2 – herein after Yamashita) in view of Probst, Joachim (US 6,386,841 – herein after Probst).
In reference to claim 1, Yamashita teaches a pneumatic pump assembly (1) for liquid products (viscous material; see page 1, line 5), the pneumatic pump assembly comprising (see disclosed figures and provided translation copy; specifically see disclosure on pages 4-5 of translation which discloses the operation of the pump assembly and corresponding components present within the pump assembly):
a cylinder (5);
a cylinder cap (19) coupled to a top of the cylinder;
a cylinder base (10) coupled to a bottom of the cylinder;
a piston head (3) slidably received within the cylinder, a piston rod (9) of the piston passes through the cylinder base (in view of fig. 2), wherein a top of the piston head and the cylinder cap form an upper chamber (7), wherein a bottom of the piston head and the cylinder base form a lower chamber (8);
an upper pilot valve (20) disposed in the cylinder cap (19), wherein the upper pilot valve comprises (see fig. 7) a first spring (26) and a first gasket (29), wherein the first spring in an extended state results in closing of the upper pilot valve (evident from a state of the valve shown in fig. 7) and the first spring in a compressed state results in opening of the upper pilot valve [in view of valve’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation as well as valve’s structure discussed on page 3 of translation: the first spring is in an “extended state” when the upper valve is closed and is in “a compressed state” when the upper valve is open];
a lower pilot valve (22) disposed in the cylinder base (10), wherein the lower pilot valve (see fig. 7; as per disclosure on page 3 of translation, lines 4-5: valves 20 and 22 have the same structure) comprises a second spring (26) and a second gasket (29), wherein the second spring in an extended state results in closing of the lower pilot valve and the second spring in a compressed state results in opening of the lower pilot valve [in view of valve’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation as well as valve’s structure discussed on page 3 of translation: the second spring is in an “extended state” when the lower valve is closed and is in “a compressed state” when the lower valve is open]; and
a directional control valve (4) configured to direct air (via air inlet 36) from a pressurized air source (inherently present) to the upper chamber (7) and the lower chamber (8), the directional control valve (8) configured to switch between an up mode [mode of the control valve corresponding to the piston’s 3 downstroke (↓) direction; this is the mode wherein spool 42 of the control valve 4 is in ↑ direction or a position shown in fig. 1] and a down mode [mode of the control valve corresponding to the piston’s 3 upwards (↑) direction; this is the mode wherein the spool 42 of the control valve 4 is in ↓ direction or a position shown in fig. 2] by actuation of the upper pilot valve (20) and the lower pilot valve (22) [in view of pump’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation], wherein the air is directed to the upper chamber (7) in the up mode (see page 4 of translation, last paragraph) and to the lower chamber (8) in the down mode (see page 5 of translation, lines 7-16), the directional control valve (4) comprises:
a reversing valve shaft (42) that has (see fig. 6) an upper shaft head (43) and a lower shaft head (43a), wherein the reversing valve shaft is configured to be driven in a reciprocating manner by the air under pressure in the upper chamber and the lower chamber, wherein the movement of the reversing valve shaft is controlled by the upper pilot valve and the lower pilot valve (in view of pump’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation: the movement of valve shaft 42 is controlled based on pressure difference between region 49 and region 50 that is above and below shaft 42 respectively); and
a housing (34+40+40a) encasing an upper cavity (49) and a lower cavity (50), wherein the upper shaft head (43) moves within the upper cavity (49) and the lower shaft head (43a) moves within the lower cavity (50), wherein a first air path (52+53+60+21) connects the upper cavity (49) to the upper pilot valve (20) and a second air path (52a+54+60c+23) connects the lower cavity (50) to the lower pilot valve (22) [in view of pump’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation: asserted first and second air paths are present in view of operational characteristic of the pilot valves],
wherein the first air path (52+53+60+21) is in fluid communication with an upper exhaust port (labelled “e.p” in fig. A below; “upper” indicating the exhaust port corresponding to the upper pilot valve) and the second air path (52a+54+60c+23) is in fluid communication with a lower exhaust port (labelled “e.p” in fig. A below; “lower” indicating the exhaust port corresponding to the lower pilot valve which is identical in structure to the upper pilot valve as discussed above), wherein the upper pilot valve (20) is configured to interrupt the fluid communication between the first air path (52+53+60+21) and the upper exhaust port in a closed state [when upper pilot valve 20 is in open state, fluid from chamber 49 travels via 52 > 53 > 60 > 21 > 20 for being exhausted from the exhaust flow path of the chamber 7; port labelled “e.p” corresponding to the upper pilot valve is considered to be “upper exhaust port”; thus, in closed state of the upper pilot valve, the communication between this upper exhaust port and the asserted first air path is considered to be broken/interrupted because the fluid is retained within space 49], wherein the lower pilot valve (22) is configured to interrupt the fluid communication between the second air path (52a+54+60c+23) and the lower exhaust port in a closed state [when lower pilot valve 22 is in open state, fluid from chamber 50 travels via 52a > 54 > 60c > 23 > 22 for being exhausted from the exhaust flow path of the chamber 8; port labelled “e.p” corresponding to the lower pilot valve is considered to be “lower exhaust port”; thus, in closed state of the lower pilot valve, the communication between this lower exhaust port and the asserted second air path is considered to be broken/interrupted because the fluid is retained within space 50],
wherein the housing (34+40+40a) is cylindrical (as evident from fig. 4/5) comprising an air inlet (36), a downstroke air inlet (55), an upstroke air inlet (56), an upstroke exhaust port (57), and a downstroke exhaust port (57a) [(in view of pump’s operation discussed on pages 4 and 5 of translation) in a state where piston 3 moves in ↓ direction: the flow into chamber 7 is such that fluid flows via 36 > 44b > 45a > 55 > 60a > 17 and the flow out of chamber 8 is such that fluid flows via 18 > 60b > 56 > 44c > 45b > 44d > 59 > 57a; and in a state where piston 3 moves in ↑ direction: the flow out of chamber 7 is such that fluid flows via 17 > 60a > 55 > 44a > 45 > 44 > 58 > 57 and the flow into chamber 8 is such that fluid flows via 36 > 44b > 45a > 56 > 60b > 18],
wherein the reversing valve shaft (42) is a multilobe shaft configured to:
fluidly connect the air inlet (36) and the downstroke air inlet (55) in the up mode [mode of the control valve corresponding to the piston’s 3 downstroke (↓) direction], and the lower chamber (8) to the downstroke exhaust port (57a), and
fluidly connect the air inlet (36) and the upstroke air inlet (56) in the down mode [mode of the control valve corresponding to the piston’s 3 upstroke (↑) direction], and the upper chamber (7) to the upstroke exhaust port (57), wherein the reversing valve shaft reciprocates between the up mode and the down mode (as discussed above);
wherein the upper cavity (49) and the lower cavity (50) have an air input port (upper cavity has input port 48 while lower cavity has input port 48a) for filling the air under pressure into the upper cavity (49) and the lower cavity (50), [in view of disclosure with respect to closed state of the valves (see last paragraph on page 4 of translation)] wherein the air under pressure in the upper cavity (49) is configured to cause a first valve core (27) to press the first gasket (29) of the upper pilot valve (20) [the fluid pressure in the upper cavity 49 is such that it keeps the upper pilot valve in closed state; the first valve core pressing the first gasket being an inherent in view of the closed state of the valve] and wherein the air under pressure in the lower cavity (50) is configured to cause a second valve core (27) to press the second gasket (29) of the lower pilot valve (22) [the fluid pressure in the lower cavity 50 is such that it keeps the lower pilot valve in closed state; the second valve core pressing the first second being an inherent in view of the closed state of the valve].
Fig. A: Edited fig. 7 of Yamashita to show claim interpretation.
Yamashita does not teach the pneumatic pump assembly, “wherein the upper exhaust port extends from the upper pilot valve and the lower exhaust port extends from the lower pilot valve”.
However, Probst teaches a similar pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the upper exhaust port (49 or see fig. B below) extends from the upper pilot valve (4, in view of fig. 1/4) and the lower exhaust port (49 or see fig. B below) extends from the lower pilot valve (5, in view of fig. 1/4) [see col. 7, lines 23-31, “Shortly before reaching the lower end position, the main piston 6 actuates the valve stem 14 of the pilot valve 5 and displaces the valve stem 14 in opposition to the spring force of the compression spring 18 until the sealing ring 17 is lifted from its seat in the stepped bore 13. This allows a relief of the entrapped compressed air via the spring compartment 20 of the pilot valve 5 and via the bore section 38 and a transverse channel 49 into the atmosphere A.”; in view of fig. B below: upper exhaust port (i.e. exhaust port corresponding to upper pilot valve) is present even though it is shown as being obstructed by component labeled “A”].
Fig. B: Edited fig. 5 of Probst to show claim interpretation.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the pneumatic pump assembly of Yamashita for provision of upper exhaust port extending from the upper pilot valve and the lower exhaust port extending from the lower pilot valve as taught by Probst for the purpose of relieving entrapped compressed air to the atmosphere at the end of each of the upstroke and downstroke of the piston.
In reference to claim 2, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the upper pilot valve (20) is configured to be actuated by the piston head (3) during upward movement of the piston head, when the piston head strikes the upper pilot valve (the piston head 3 strikes valve rod 24 of the upper pilot valve; see disclosure on page 5 of translation).
In reference to claim 3, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the actuation of the upper pilot valve (20) switches the directional control valve (4) to the up mode (this is evident from discussion made above in claim 1 or from disclosure on pages 4-6 of translation).
In reference to claim 4, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the lower pilot valve (22) is configured to be actuated by the piston head (3) during downward movement of the piston head, when the piston head strikes the lower pilot valve (the piston head 3 strikes valve rod 24a of the lower pilot valve; see disclosure on page 5 of translation).
In reference to claim 5, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the actuation of the lower pilot valve (22) switches the directional control valve (4) to the down mode (this is evident from discussion made above in claim 1 or from disclosure on pages 4-6 of translation).
In reference to claim 6, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the directional control valve (4) is coupled to the cylinder cap (19) and the cylinder base (10) through a manifold (33) [see pages 3-4 of translation].
In reference to claim 8, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein a lower air intake port (port that is in communication with 23; this port allows fluid to flow into lower pilot valve 22) is disposed in the cylinder base (10) and the air from the directional control valve (4) is received through a lower air duct (23) [when lower pilot valve 22 is in open state, fluid from chamber 50 travels via 52a > 54 > 60c > 23 > 22 for being exhausted from the exhaust flow path of the chamber 8].
In reference to claim 9, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein an upper air intake port (21) is disposed in the cylinder cap (19) and the air from the directional control valve (4) is received through an upper air duct (52/53/60) [when upper pilot valve 20 is in open state, fluid from chamber 49 travels via 52 > 53 > 60 > 21 > 20 for being exhausted from the exhaust flow path of the chamber 7].
In reference to claim 10, Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the pneumatic pump assembly comprises (see fig. 1) an air motor part (referred as air motor 6 on page 2 of translation) and a pump part (referred as pump part 12 on page 2 of translation; in disclosed figures, outer cylinder 2 of the pump part 12 is seen in fig. 1), the air motor part comprises the lower pilot valve (22), the upper pilot valve (20), the piston (3), the directional control valve (4), and the cylinder (5).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita in view of Probst and Theisen et al. (US 2023/0184235 – herein after Theisen).
Yamashita teaches the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the pump part (12) is coupled to the air motor part (6), as in claim 11; and wherein the piston of the air motor part (i.e. piston 3 of the air motor 6) is coupled to a second piston of the pump part (piston being a pumping component of the pump part 12) [in view of disclosure on page 2 of translation: this “second piston” is considered to be an element that is coupled on a bottom end of the piston shaft 9 seen in fig. 1], as in claim 12.
Yamashita remains silent on the pneumatic pump assembly, wherein the pump part is removably coupled to the air motor part through a clamp, as in claim 11; and wherein the piston of the air motor part is coupled to a second piston of the pump part through a piston rod coupler, as in claim 12.
However, Theisen teaches a similar pump assembly (see figs. 1, 3A, 13A, ¶39, ¶41 and ¶100) with pneumatic drive module (12/12’) and pump module (14). Thus, Theisen teaches a pneumatic pump assembly wherein the pump part (14) is removably coupled to the air motor part (12/12’) through a clamp (120, in fig. 5/6) [see ¶67: “Fastener 120 secures drive module 12 to pump module 14 to prevent drive module 12 from moving laterally away from pump module 14. For example, the fastener 120 can prevent sliding of the drive module 12 off of the pump module 14. The fastener 120 in the example shown is a clamp”; see ¶102: “The drive module 12′ is attached to the pump module 14 by fastener 120”], as in claim 11; and wherein the piston of the air motor part (piston 138 coupled to motor shaft 90, in fig. 13B) is coupled to a second piston of the pump part (piston assembly 72 of the pump 14, in fig. 13C) through a piston rod coupler (connector 60, in fig. 13A-13C) [see ¶100: “Motor shaft 90 is connected to piston assembly 72 by connector 60”], as in claim 12.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling connection between the pump part and the air motor part and between the motor’s piston and the pump’s piston in the pump assembly of Yamashita for the coupling connection that involves the use of clamp and piston rod coupler as taught by Theisen for the purpose of having a mounting configuration and arrangement that facilitates mounting of different drive modules having different power types on a single pump module, as recognized by Theisen (see ¶102).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, dated 08/04/2025, with respect to claim 1 have been considered but they are moot. The amendment to independent claim 1 changed the scope of the claim. As a result, the prior arts have been re-evaluated and re-applied to claim 1, in view of newly found reference of Probst.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIRAG JARIWALA/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/ESSAMA OMGBA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3746