DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-3, 5-9 and 12-17 in the reply filed on June 01, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no undue search and/or examination burden. This is not found persuasive because the species present distinct embodiments and would require comprehensive search in distinct areas.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation, “further comprising, after step d), a step e) of forming of at least one fourth layer coating the third layer” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadot et al. (US 2021/0193907 A1; hereafter Cadot) in view of Gao et al. Phase-Controllable Synthesis of Ultrathin Molybdenum Nitride Crystals Via Atomic Substitution of MoS2. Chemistry of Materials 2022, 34, 351-357, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemmater.1c03712, Published on December 28, 2021.
Regarding claim 1, Cadot teaches method comprising the following successive steps:
a) forming, on a surface of a support substrate, a first layer made of a material selected from among a lamellar dichalcogenide or a lamellar chalcogenide comprising a stack of sheets (see e.g., providing a substrate 10 having an amorphous surface. The substrate 10 includes a support 11 that may be a polycrystalline material covered by an amorphous thin layer 12.
Forming a polycrystalline layer 20 of MS.sub.2 with M=Mo, W or one of the alloys thereof, on the amorphous surface of the substrate 10. The thickness of the nucleation layer 20 ranges from 0.6 nm (that is to say the equivalent of a monolayer), i.e. a single foil of MS.sub.2) to 50 nm that is, the nucleation layer 20 has multiple monolayers of MS.sub.2, Paras [0082], [0091], [0112], Figures 1A-1C);
b) forming, by physical vapor deposition on the side of said surface of the support substrate, a second layer made of a first III-N semiconductor material coating the first layer; and (see e.g., layer 30 of aluminum nitride deposited by physical vapor deposition on the nucleation layer 20, Paras [00139], [0144], Figures 1A-1C)
Cadot does not explicitly teach
“c) carrying out a thermo-chemical treatment of the first layer resulting, in the first layer, in a conversion of van der Waals bonds between the sheets of the first layer into covalent bonds”.
However, Cadot explains that there is an absence of covalent bonds between the lamellae constituting the nucleation layer 20 and that high stress may cause delamination of the aluminum nitride layer 30 and the ALN/MS.sub.2 stack from the substrate.
In a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches
c) carrying out a thermo-chemical treatment of the first layer resulting, in the first layer, in a conversion of van der Waals bonds between the sheets of the first layer into covalent bonds (see e.g., thermochemically treating layered Mo.sub.2 at an elevated temperature in an ammonia containing atmosphere, thereby converting at least a portion of the layered MoS.sub.2 into molybdenum nitride through nitrogen substitution. The van der Waals gaps of the layered MoS.sub.2 structure are replaced by Mo-N bonds in the resulting nitride material, Materials and Methods; Results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Gao’s teachings of carrying out a thermo-chemical treatment of the first layer resulting, in the first layer, in a conversion of van der Waals bonds between the sheets of the first layer into covalent bonds in the method of Cadot in order to replace the weak van der Waals interlayer bonding of MoS.sub.2 with stronger Mo-N covalent bonding.
Regarding claim 2, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is an anneal carried out under a reducing atmosphere.”
In a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches
wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is an anneal carried out under a reducing atmosphere (see e.g., thermochemically treating layered Mo.sub.2 at an elevated temperature in an ammonia containing atmosphere, thereby converting at least a portion of the layered MoS.sub.2 into molybdenum nitride through nitrogen substitution. The van der Waals gaps of the layered MoS.sub.2 structure are replaced by Mo-N bonds in the resulting nitride material, Materials and Methods; Results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Gao’s teachings of wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is an anneal carried out under a reducing atmosphere in the method of Cadot in order to replace the weak van der Waals interlayer bonding of MoS.sub.2 with stronger Mo-N covalent bonding.
Regarding claim 3, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out under a nitrogenous atmosphere, preferably under an ammonia or nitrogen atmosphere”.
In a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches
wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out under a nitrogenous atmosphere, preferably under an ammonia or nitrogen atmosphere (see e.g., thermochemically treating layered Mo.sub.2 at an elevated temperature in an ammonia containing atmosphere, thereby converting at least a portion of the layered MoS.sub.2 into molybdenum nitride through nitrogen substitution. The van der Waals gaps of the layered MoS.sub.2 structure are replaced by Mo-N bonds in the resulting nitride material, Materials and Methods; Results).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Gao’s teachings of wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out under a nitrogenous atmosphere, preferably under an ammonia or nitrogen atmosphere in the method of Cadot in order to replace the weak van der Waals interlayer bonding of MoS.sub.2 with stronger Mo-N covalent bonding.
Regarding claim 5, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment further results in a conversion of van der Waals bonds into covalent bonds between the first layer and the support substrate”.
In a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches forming layered MoS.sub.2 flakes on a SiO.sub.2/Si substrate and subjecting the flakes to a thermochemical nitridation treatment at approximately 650−1000 °C whereby the layered MoS.sub.2 sheets are replaced by Mo-N bonds.
Although Gao does not expressly state that this treatment forms covalent bonds across the interface between the treated first layer and the underlying SiO.sub.2/Si substrate, it is well established that executing a substantially identical process will inherently yield a similar physical outcome.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art the time the invention was effectively field to implement Gao’s thermochemical nitridation treatment in the method of Cadot in order achieve the predictable and desired result of converting van der Waals bonds into covalent bonds to strengthen the interfacial adhesion between the first layer and the substrate.
Regarding claim 6, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot further teaches
wherein the first semiconductor material is aluminum nitride (see e.g., aluminum nitride layer 30, Para [0157], Figures 1A-1C)
Regarding claim 7, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot further teaches
wherein the first III-N semiconductor material is doped, preferably with scandium atoms (see e.g., aluminum nitride layer 30 may contain doping agents such as scandium, Para [0150], Figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 15, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot further teaches
wherein the first layer is made of a transition metal dichalcogenide, preferably of molybdenum disulfide or of tungsten disulfide (see e.g., the nucleation layer 20 is MS.sub.2 with M=Mo, W or one of the alloys thereof, Para [0082], Figures 1A-1C).
Regarding claim 16, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out at a temperature in the range from 300 to 1,500°C, preferably in the range from 800 to 1,000°C”.
In a similar field of endeavor Gao teaches
wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out at a temperature in the range from 300 to 1,500°C, preferably in the range from 800 to 1,000°C (see e.g., the temperature is set to 650°C to 1000°C, Materials and Methods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Gao’s teachings of wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is carried out at a temperature in the range from 300 to 1,500°C, preferably in the range from 800 to 1,000°C in the method of Cadot in order to replace the weak van der Waals interlayer bonding of MoS.sub.2 with stronger Mo-N covalent bonding.
Regarding claim 17, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot further teaches
wherein the second layer has a thickness in the range from 0.15 to 50 nm, preferably in the range from 1 to 6 nm (see e.g., the thickness of the layer 30 of AlN ranges from 1 nm to a few microns and even more preferentially from 1 nm to 1 μm. According to the applications sought, it will be possible to choose a slight thickness, for example from 1 nm to 100 nm, or a great thickness, for example from 100 nm to 1 μm, Para [0145], Figures 1A-1C).
Claims 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadot et al. (US 2021/0193907 A1; hereafter Cadot) in view of Gao et al. Phase-Controllable Synthesis of Ultrathin Molybdenum Nitride Crystals Via Atomic Substitution of MoS2. Chemistry of Materials 2022, 34, 351-357, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemmater.1c03712, Published on December 28, 2021 and further in view of Yin et al. Direct van der Waals Epitaxy of Crack-Free AlN Thin Film on Epitaxial WS2. Materials 2018, 11, 2464. https://doi.org/10.3390/ma11122464, Published on December 4, 2018.
Regarding claim 8, Cadot, as modified by Gao, teaches the limitations of claim 1 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“further comprising, after step c), a step d) of forming of a third layer made of a second semiconductor material coating the second layer, the third layer having a thickness greater than that of the second layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yin teaches
further comprising, after step c), a step d) of forming of a third layer made of a second semiconductor material coating the second layer, the third layer having a thickness greater than that of the second layer (see e.g., an AlN thin film is deposited on the WS2/sapphire substrate. An AlN nucleation layer was first deposited at 890 °C. The temperature is then increased to 1200 °C to grow a 500 nm AlN epilayer. After the AlN thin film epitaxial growth, AlGaN-based LED structures were further grown on the AlN/WS2/Sapphire template with an n-Al0.6Ga0.4N layer was deposited with the thickness of 1.8 μm, Materials and Methods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement teachings of further comprising, after step c), a step d) of forming of a third layer made of a second semiconductor material coating the second layer, the third layer having a thickness greater than that of the second layer in the method of Cadot in order to form a sufficiently thick, high quality III-nitride active or device layer.
Regarding claim 9, Cadot, as modified by Gao and Yin, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein the second semiconductor material is a III-V, preferably III-N, semiconductor material”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yin teaches
wherein the second semiconductor material is a III-V, preferably III-N, semiconductor material (see e.g., n- Al0.6Ga0.4N layer, Materials and Methods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yin’s teachings of wherein the second semiconductor material is a III-V, preferably III-N, semiconductor material in the method of Cadot in order to form a sufficiently thick, high quality III-nitride active or device layer.
Regarding claim 12, Cadot, as modified by Gao and Yin, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein the third layer is doped”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yin teaches
wherein the third layer is doped (see e.g., n- Al0.6Ga0.4N layer, Materials and Methods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yin’s teachings of wherein the third layer is doped in the method of Cadot in order to form a sufficiently thick, high quality III-nitride active or device layer.
Regarding claim 13, Cadot, as modified by Gao and Yin, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“further comprising, after step d), a step e) of forming of at least one fourth layer coating the third layer”.
In a similar field of endeavor Yin teaches
further comprising, after step d), a step e) of forming of at least one fourth layer coating the third layer (see e.g., AlGaN-based LED structure are formed comprising n-Al0.6Ga0.4N, five-period Al0.5Ga0.5N/Al0.6Ga0.4N multiple quantum wells (MQWs) were further grown, with a 12.2 nm quantum barrier and 2.4 nm quantum well in each period. p-Al0.65Ga0.35N electron blocking layer (EBL), a p-AlGaN cladding layer, and a p-GaN contact layer were subsequently formed, Materials and Methods).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Yin’s teachings of further comprising, after step d), a step e) of forming of at least one fourth layer coating the third layer in the method of Cadot in order to form device layers.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cadot et al. (US 2021/0193907 A1; hereafter Cadot) in view of Gao et al. Phase-Controllable Synthesis of Ultrathin Molybdenum Nitride Crystals Via Atomic Substitution of MoS2. Chemistry of Materials 2022, 34 (1), 351-357, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.chemmater.1c03712, Published on December 28, 2021 and further in view of Azcatl et al. Covalent Nitrogen Doping and Compressive Strain in MoS2 by Remote N2 Plasma Exposure. Nano Lett. 2016, 16, 9, 5437–5443, DOI: https://doi.org/10.1021/acs.nanolett.6b01853, Published on August 5, 2016
Regarding claim 14, Cadot, as modified by Gao and Yin, teaches the limitations of claim 8 as mentioned above. Cadot does not explicitly teach
“wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is accompanied by a plasma treatment”.
In a similar field of endeavor Azcatl teaches
wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is accompanied by a plasma treatment (see e.g., MoS.sub.2 is subjected to a remote N.sub.2 plasma treatment at an elevated substrate temperature whereby nitrogen substitutes for sulfur and forms covalent Mo-N bonds)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement Azcatl’s teachings of wherein, at step c), the thermo-chemical treatment is accompanied by a plasma treatment in the method of Cadot in order to activate the nitrogen species, promote substitution of sulfur by nitrogen and facilitate formation of covalent Mo-N bonds in the layered MoS.sub.2 material.
Conclusion
a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to
registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more
information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/FAKEHA SEHAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/ Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893