DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/02/2026. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-8, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cold" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 recites the limitation "a heating amount of the heater" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “a heating amount of the heater” will be interpreted as -- the heating amount of the heater --
Claims 5 recites the limitation "a heating amount of the heater" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes “a heating amount of the heater” will be interpreted as -- the heating amount of the heater --
Claim 6 recites the limitations “…a cooler…” and “…a cooler…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Claims 7 recites the limitation "a cooler" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “a cooler” will be interpreted as -- the cooler --
Claims 7 recites the limitation "a heating amount of the heater" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “a heating amount of the heater” will be interpreted as -- the heating amount of the heater --
Claims 8 recites the limitation "a heating amount of the heater" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “a heating amount of the heater” will be interpreted as -- the heating amount of the heater --
Claims 10 recites the limitation "a heating amount of the heater" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “a heating amount of the heater” will be interpreted as -- the heating amount of the heater --
Claim 20 recites the limitations “…a separate component…” and “…a separate component…” which render the claim indefinite because the claim as written leave the structure ambiguous in nature as it become difficult to tell if the claim is referencing a previously claimed element or disclosing an element in addition to the previously claimed element.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 21, the claim recites “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray, and a second tray case formed as a separate component to the second tray”. However, claim 20 also recites “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray, and a second tray case formed as a separate component to the second tray”. As such it is unclear how claim 9 is further limited by claim 21.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi et al. (JPH01181062A, herein after referred to as Ohashi) in view of Sasagawa et al. (JP2013170756A, herein after referred to as Sasagawa).
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein the controller controls the heater to provide heat to the cell (paragraph [11]), in at least a partial period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11]), while cold is supplied to the cell (paragraph [11]), wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]), the defrosting process including a first process (corresponds to when defrost heater 17 Fig. 1 is energized as disclosed in paragraph [11]) in which a defrosting heater (defrost heater 17 Fig. 1) is operated (paragraph [11]).
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater in at least a period that the defrosting heater is provided”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller of Ohashi) reduces a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) in at least a period (defrosting state t2 to t3 Fig. 4) that a defrosting heater (the disclosed “defrost heater” in paragraph [0030] corresponds to the defrosting heater of Ohashi) is provided (Fig. 4) to achieve power saving (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater in at least a period that the defrosting heater is provided” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to achieve power saving.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller controls the heating amount of the heater so that the heating amount of the heater after an operation of the defrosting heater (corresponds to the operation of the defrost heater of Sasagawa between t2 and t2.5 Fig. 4 of Sasagawa) is less than the heating amount of the heater before the operation of the defrosting heater (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa where heater goes from Wm to Wj).
Regarding claim 6, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 3) configured to supply cold into the cell (paragraph [7]); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein the controller controls the heater to provide heat to the cell (paragraph [11]), in at least a partial period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11]), while the cooler supplies the cold (paragraph [11]), wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]).
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the defrosting process including a first process in which a cooling power of the cooler is reduced, and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the cooling power of the cooler is reduced”.
However, Sasagawa teaches a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process of Ohashi) including a first process (corresponds to the process taking place between t2.5 and t3 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0030]) in which a cooling power of a cooler (the cooling power of the cooler of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1 where a person skilled in the art would recognize that refrigerator 1 is provided with at least one cooler to cool freezer compartment 15) is reduced (Fig. 4 where in the period between t2 and t3, the temperature of freezer compartment 15 increases), and wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller of Ohashi) reduces a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater of Ohashi), in at least a period (second half of the defrosting state t2.5 to t3 Fig. 4) when the cooling power of the cooler is reduced (Fig. 4) to achieve power saving (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “the defrosting process including a first process in which a cooling power of the cooler is reduced, and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the cooling power of the cooler is reduced” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to achieve power saving.
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein the defrosting process further includes a post-defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting recovery” in paragraph [0020] of Sasagawa), which is performed after the first process (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa), when the post-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa where at t3 the temperature of freezer compartment 15 decreases), and wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa where the output of the heater goes from wj to wn at t3), in at least a partial period (t3 to t4 Fig. 4 of Sasagawa) when the cooling power of the cooler is increased (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa).
Regarding claim 9, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]).
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the defrosting process is performed”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller of Ohashi) reduces a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) in at least a period (defrosting state t2 to t3 Fig. 4) when a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process of Ohashi) is performed (Fig. 4) to achieve power saving (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the defrosting process is performed” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to achieve power saving.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach further comprising a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 4 of Ohashi) including at least an evaporator (Fig. 4 of Ohashi).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein the heater is configured to be operated in at least a period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11] of Ohashi) when the ice making process is performed (paragraph [11] and Fig. 2 of Ohashi).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi and Sasagawa as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 20200340726 A1, herein after referred to as Song).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach further comprising a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 3 of Ohashi) configured to supply cold into the cell (paragraph [7] of Ohashi), wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process (disclosed “pre-defrosting chilling” in paragraph [0021] of Sasagawa), which is performed before start of the first process (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0020] of Sasagawa where the disclosed “defrosting state” corresponds to the first process of Ohashi), wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of the cooler is increased (paragraph [0021] to [0022] and Fig. 4 of Sasagawa).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Song teaches wherein a heating amount of a heater (the heating amount of heater 120 and heating rod 133 Fig. 6 corresponds to the heating amount of the heater of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23), in at least a partial period (Third Period Fig. 23) when a cooling power of a cooler (the output of ice making fans 37 and 47 Fig. 20 and paragraph [0150] corresponds to the cooling power of the cooler of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach further comprising the cooler configured to supply the cold into the cell (paragraph [7] of Ohashi), wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process (disclosed “pre-defrosting chilling” in paragraph [0021] of Sasagawa), which is performed before start of the first process (period between t1 and t2 Fig. 4 of Sasagawa), wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased (Fig. 4 of Sasagawa where at t1 the temperature of freezer compartment 15 decreases).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Song teaches wherein a heating amount of a heater (the heating amount of heater 120 and heating rod 133 Fig. 6 corresponds to the heating amount of the heater of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23), in at least a partial period (Third Period Fig. 23) when a cooling power of a cooler (the output of ice making fans 37 and 47 Fig. 20 and paragraph [0150] corresponds to the cooling power of the cooler of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi and Sasagawa as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Kato et al. (JPH10197127A, herein after referred to as Kato).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller controls the defrosting heater to be turned off (paragraph [7] of Ohashi), when a defrosting ending condition (when “temperature sensor 18 reaches a predetermined temperature” as disclosed in paragraph [7] of Ohashi) is satisfied.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period that the defrosting heater is not operated”.
However, Kato teaches wherein a controller (control board 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Ohashi) increases a heating amount of a heater (paragraph [0009] and Fig. 4 where it is disclosed that heater pipe 18 which corresponds to the heater of Ohashi goes from 67% to 100% every 10 minutes after the defrost heater is turned off), in at least a period (corresponds to when the defrost heater is off Fig. 4) that a defrosting heater (disclosed “defrost heater” in paragraph [0009] corresponds to the defrost heater of Ohashi) is not operated (Fig. 4) to remove frost and ice particles (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period that the defrosting heater is not operated” in view of the teachings of Kato to remove frost and ice particles.
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the defrosting process is performed”.
However, Kato teaches wherein a controller (control board 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Ohashi) increases a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the output of heater pipe 18 which corresponds to the heater of Ohashi is increased to be set at 100% during the first defrosting operation), in at least a period (the entirety of the first defrosting operation Fig. 4) when the defrosting process is performed (Fig. 4) as an initial setup during the 48 hours defrosting cycle (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the defrosting process is performed” in view of the teachings of Kato as an initial setup during the 48 hours defrosting cycle.
Claims 13-14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi and Sasagawa as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Son et al. (US 20130014536 A1, herein after referred to as Son).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (when ice-making switch 16 Fig. 1 and paragraph [11] of Ohashi is turned on) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (disclosed “clear ice” in paragraph [11] of Ohashi).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell, and wherein, before a heater (lower ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is turned on (paragraph [0134]), the second tray is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0082] corresponds to the liquid of Ohashi) starts to be supplied to the cell (Fig. 9 and paragraph [0134]) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the heater is configured to supply the heat to the cell in at least a partial section (lower section of ice tray 9 Fig. 3 and paragraph [11] of Ohashi) while cold is supplied to the cell (paragraph [11] of Ohashi).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case, and a second tray case formed as a separate component to the second tray”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (recessed part 113 and tray body 123 Fig. 3 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (recessed part 113 Fig. 3) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper portion of the wall forming the cell Fig. 3) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (tray body 123 Fig. 3 ) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower portion of the wall forming the cell Fig. 3) for providing the cell (Fig. 3), and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case (tray part 112 Fig. 3), and a second tray case (tray case 121 Fig. 3) formed as a separate component to the second tray (Fig. 3) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case, and a second tray case formed as a separate component to the second tray” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective cover for the first tray. Since it has been held that the use of a two piece construction instead of a one piece construction has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Son and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective cover for the first tray.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker further comprises a first tray case”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (recessed part 113 and tray body 123 Fig. 3 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (recessed part 113 Fig. 3) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper portion of the wall forming the cell Fig. 3) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (tray body 123 Fig. 3 ) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower portion of the wall forming the cell Fig. 3) for providing the cell (Fig. 3), and wherein the ice maker comprises a first tray case (tray part 112 Fig. 3) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein the ice maker further comprises a first tray case” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the first tray case formed as a separate component to the firs tray” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a protective cover for the first tray. Since it has been held that the use of a two piece construction instead of a one piece construction has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 V. B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of Son and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a protective cover for the first tray.
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi and Sasagawa as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Son and Kakimoto et al. (JPH0674624A, herein after referred to as Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell, and wherein, before a heater (lower ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is turned on (paragraph [0134]), the second tray is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0082] corresponds to the liquid of Ohashi) starts to be supplied to the cell (Fig. 9 and paragraph [0134]) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), and wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Son) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]), and wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Son) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater (when the measured temperature is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature of -13.5 ° C” as disclosed in paragraph [0019]) is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction (paragraph [0021] and Figs. 9A-9C) so as to take the ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to release all the ice in the ice tray (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release all the ice in the ice tray.
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater (when the measured temperature is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature of -13.5 ° C” as disclosed in paragraph [0019]) is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction (paragraph [0021] and Figs. 9A-9C) so as to take the ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to release all the ice in the ice tray (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release all the ice in the ice tray.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 24 that the combination of Ohashi and Sasagawa does not teach “wherein when a defrosting start condition is satisfied during an ice making process, a defrosting process is performed, and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater, in at least a period when the defrosting process is performed” as recited in amended claim 9, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 9 is repeated down below:
Ohashi teaches wherein when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]).
Sasagawa teaches wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller) reduces a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater) in at least a period (defrosting state t2 to t3 Fig. 4) when a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process) is performed (Fig. 4).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763