DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 08/25/2026. The previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1-3 and 5-21 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohashi et al. (JPH01181062A, herein after referred to as Ohashi).
Regarding claim 1, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein the controller controls the heater to provide heat to the cell (paragraph [11]) to increase a transparency of the ice (paragraph [7]) , in at least a partial period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11]), while cold is supplied to the cell (paragraph [11]), wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]), the defrosting process including a first process (corresponds to when defrost heater 17 Fig. 1 is energized as disclosed in paragraph [11]) in which a defrosting heater (defrost heater 17 Fig. 1) is operated (paragraph [11]), and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater (paragraph [11] where it is disclosed that the “current to heater 11 is cut off” when defrost starts during ice making operation) to limit an increase (paragraph [11]) in an ice making time (ice-making completion time t’ disclosed in paragraph [11]) in at least a period (corresponds to the entire duration of the defrosting operation described in paragraph [11]) that the defrosting heater is operated (paragraph [11]).
Regarding claim 6, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 3) configured to supply cold into the cell (paragraph [7]); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein the controller controls the heater to provide heat to the cell (paragraph [11]), in at least a partial period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11]), while the cooler supplies the cold (paragraph [11]) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “freezing rate” in paragraph [7]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [7]), wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]), the defrosting process including a first process (corresponds to turning off the compressor during defrosting as illustrated in Fig. 2) in which a cooling power of the cooler (corresponds to the cooling power of cooler 4 Fig. 3) is reduced (referring to Fig. 2, a person skilled in the art would recognize that the cooling power of cooler 4 is reduced during defrosting since the compressor is turned off), and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater (paragraph [11] where it is disclosed that the “current to heater 11 is cut off” when defrost starts during ice making operation) to limit an increase (paragraph [11]) in an ice making time (ice-making completion time t’ disclosed in paragraph [11]), in at least a period (corresponds to the entire duration of the defrosting operation as illustrated in Fig. 2) when the cooling power of the cooler is reduced (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Ohashi teaches an ice maker (ice making device 35 Fig. 3) comprising: a cell (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) in which a liquid (disclosed “water” in paragraph [11]) is phase-changed into ice (paragraph [11]); a tray (ice tray 9 Fig. 3) having a wall (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Ohashi) defining at least a portion of the cell (bottom portion of the cell Fig. 3); a heater (heater 11 Fig. 3) provided to supply heat to the cell (paragraph [11]) in an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]); and a controller (disclosed “control device” in paragraph [11] and Fig. 1) configured to control the heater (paragraph [11]), wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during the ice making process (paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]), and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater (paragraph [11] where it is disclosed that the “current to heater 11 is cut off” when defrost starts during ice making operation) to limit an increase (paragraph [11]) in an ice making time (ice-making completion time t’ disclosed in paragraph [11]) in at least a period (corresponds to the entire duration of the defrosting operation described in paragraph [11]) when the defrosting process is performed (paragraph [11]).
Regarding claim 11, Ohashi teaches further comprising a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 4) including at least an evaporator (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Ohashi teaches wherein the heater is configured to be operated in at least a period (corresponds to period during which “clear ice-making operations” is occurring in paragraph [11]) when the ice making process is performed (paragraph [11] and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of Sasagawa et al. (JP2013170756A, herein after referred to as Sasagawa).
Regarding claim 2, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the controller controls the heating amount of the heater so that the heating amount of the heater after an operation of the defrosting heater is less than the heating amount of the heater before the operation of the defrosting heater”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller of Ohashi) controls a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) so that the heating amount of the heater after an operation (corresponds to the operation of the defrost heater between t2 and t2.5 Fig. 4) of a defrosting heater (the disclosed “defrost heater” in paragraph [0030] corresponds to the defrosting heater of Ohashi) is less than the heating amount of the heater before the operation of the defrosting heater (Fig. 4 where the heater goes from Wm to Wj) to achieve power saving (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the controller controls the heating amount of the heater so that the heating amount of the heater after an operation of the defrosting heater is less than the heating amount of the heater before the operation of the defrosting heater” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to achieve power saving.
Regarding claim 8, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the defrosting process further includes a post-defrosting process, which is performed after the first process, wherein when the post-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased, and wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process of Ohashi) further includes a post-defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting recovery” in paragraph [0020]), which is performed after a first process (the process taking place between t2.5 and t3 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0030] corresponds to the first process of Ohashi), wherein when the post-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of a cooler (the cooling power of the cooler of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1 where a person skilled in the art would recognize that refrigerator 1 is provided with at least one cooler to cool freezer compartment 15) is increased (Fig. 4 where at t3 the temperature of freezer compartment 15 decreases), and wherein a controller (the disclosed “heater power stopping means” in paragraph [0027] correspond to the controller of Ohashi) increases a heating amount (Fig. 4 where the output of the heater goes from wj to wn at t3) of a heater (the “heater” disclosed in paragraph [0015] corresponds to the heater of Ohashi), in at least a partial period (t3 to t4 Fig. 4) when the cooling power of the cooler is increased (Fig. 4) to achieve power saving (paragraph [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the defrosting process further includes a post-defrosting process, which is performed after the first process, wherein when the post-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased, and wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to achieve power saving.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi, in view of Sasagawa, and in further view of Song et al. (US 20200340726 A1, herein after referred to as Song).
Regarding claim 3, Ohashi teaches further comprising a cooler (cooler 4 Fig. 3) configured to supply cold into the cell (paragraph [7]).
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process, which is performed before start of the first process, wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process of Ohashi) further includes a pre-defrosting process (disclosed “pre-defrosting chilling” in paragraph [0021]), which is performed before start of a first process (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0030] where the process taking place between t2.5 and t3 corresponds to the first process of Ohashi), wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of a cooler (the cooling power of the cooler of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1 where a person skilled in the art would recognize that refrigerator 1 is provided with at least one cooler to cool freezer compartment 15) is increased (Fig. 4 where at t1 the temperature of freezer compartment 15 decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process, which is performed before start of the first process, wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to prevent a high increase of the temperature within the compartment during defrosting.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Song teaches wherein a heating amount of a heater (the heating amount of heater 120 and heating rod 133 Fig. 6 corresponds to the heating amount of the heater of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23), in at least a partial period (Third Period Fig. 23) when a cooling power of a cooler (the output of ice making fans 37 and 47 Fig. 20 and paragraph [0150] corresponds to the cooling power of the cooler of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Regarding claim 7, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process, which is performed before start of the first process, wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Sasagawa teaches wherein a defrosting process (the disclosed “defrosting state” in paragraph [0020] corresponds to the defrosting process of Ohashi) further includes a pre-defrosting process (disclosed “pre-defrosting chilling” in paragraph [0021]), which is performed before start of a first process (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0030] where the process taking place between t2.5 and t3 corresponds to the first process of Ohashi), wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, a cooling power of a cooler (the cooling power of the cooler of refrigerator 1 Fig. 1 where a person skilled in the art would recognize that refrigerator 1 is provided with at least one cooler to cool freezer compartment 15) is increased (Fig. 4 where at t1 the temperature of freezer compartment 15 decreases).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the defrosting process further includes a pre-defrosting process, which is performed before start of the first process, wherein when the pre-defrosting process starts, the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Sasagawa to prevent a high increase of the temperature within the compartment during defrosting.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased”.
However, Song teaches wherein a heating amount of a heater (the heating amount of heater 120 and heating rod 133 Fig. 6 corresponds to the heating amount of the heater of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23), in at least a partial period (Third Period Fig. 23) when a cooling power of a cooler (the output of ice making fans 37 and 47 Fig. 20 and paragraph [0150] corresponds to the cooling power of the cooler of Ohashi) is increased (paragraph [0150] and Fig. 23) to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container (paragraph [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heating amount of the heater is increased, in at least a partial period when the cooling power of the cooler is increased” in view of the teachings of Song to efficiently control the rate of change of temperature of the ice making container.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of Kato et al. (JPH10197127A, herein after referred to as Kato).
Regarding claim 5, Ohashi teaches wherein the controller controls the defrosting heater to be turned off (paragraph [7]), when a defrosting ending condition (when “temperature sensor 18 reaches a predetermined temperature” as disclosed in paragraph [7]) is satisfied.
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period that the defrosting heater is not operated”.
However, Kato teaches wherein a controller (control board 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Ohashi) increases a heating amount of a heater (paragraph [0009] and Fig. 4 where it is disclosed that heater pipe 18 which corresponds to the heater of Ohashi goes from 67% to 100% every 10 minutes after the defrost heater is turned off), in at least a period (corresponds to when the defrost heater is off Fig. 4) that a defrosting heater (disclosed “defrost heater” in paragraph [0009] corresponds to the defrost heater of Ohashi) is not operated (Fig. 4) to remove frost and ice particles (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least a period that the defrosting heater is not operated” in view of the teachings of Kato to remove frost and ice particles.
Regarding claim 10, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least another period when the defrosting process is performed”.
However, Kato teaches wherein a controller (control board 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the controller of Ohashi) increases a heating amount of a heater (Fig. 4 where the output of heater pipe 18 which corresponds to the heater of Ohashi is increased to be set at 100% during the first defrosting operation), in at least another period (the entirety of the first defrosting operation Fig. 4) when the defrosting process is performed (Fig. 4) as an initial setup during the 48 hours defrosting cycle (paragraph [0009]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the controller increases the heating amount of the heater, in at least another period when the defrosting process is performed” in view of the teachings of Kato as an initial setup during the 48 hours defrosting cycle.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of Son et al. (US 20130014536 A1, herein after referred to as Son).
Regarding claim 13, Ohashi teaches wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (when ice-making switch 16 Fig. 1 and paragraph [11]) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (disclosed “clear ice” in paragraph [11]).
Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell, and wherein, before a heater (lower ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is turned on (paragraph [0134]), the second tray is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0082] corresponds to the liquid of Ohashi) starts to be supplied to the cell (Fig. 9 and paragraph [0134]) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the heater is configured to supply the heat to the cell in at least a partial section (lower section of ice tray 9 Fig. 3 and paragraph [11] of Ohashi) while cold is supplied to the cell (paragraph [11] of Ohashi).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi, in view of Son, and in further view of Kakimoto et al. (JPH0674624A, herein after referred to as Kakimoto).
Regarding claim 15, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell, and wherein, before a heater (lower ice separation heater 565 Fig. 24 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is turned on (paragraph [0134]), the second tray is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9) at which a liquid (the disclosed “water” in paragraph [0082] corresponds to the liquid of Ohashi) starts to be supplied to the cell (Fig. 9 and paragraph [0134]) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the liquid starts to be supplied to the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 16, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), and wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Son) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 17, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]), and wherein, before the heater is turned on, a second tray (ice tray 8 Fig. 3 corresponds to the second tray of Son) is configured to be moved to a position (the position illustrated in Fig. 9A) at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell (paragraph [0018]) to release bubbles contained in the water (paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, and wherein, before the heater is turned on, the second tray is configured to be moved to a position at which the transparent ice is generated in the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release bubbles contained in the water.
Regarding claim 18, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice (paragraph [0018]), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater (when the measured temperature is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature of -13.5 ° C” as disclosed in paragraph [0019]) is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction (paragraph [0021] and Figs. 9A-9C) so as to take the ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to release all the ice in the ice tray (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to supply heat to the cell to make a transparent ice, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release all the ice in the ice tray.
Regarding claim 19, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell”.
However, Son teaches wherein a tray (upper tray 510 and lower tray 520 Fig. 24 correspond to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (upper tray 510 Fig. 24) defining a first portion of a wall (corresponds to the upper wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing a cell (the disclosed “shell” in paragraph [0130] corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (lower tray 520 Fig. 24) defining a second portion of the wall (corresponds to the lower wall portion of the cell Fig. 24) for providing the cell (Fig. 24) to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice (paragraph [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell” in view of the teachings of Son to provide an upper and lower tray which are closely attached to form a globular or spherical shape in an inner surface thereof, thereby generating a globular or spherical ice.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell”.
However, Kakimoto teaches wherein a heater (heater 20 Fig. 3 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater (the completion of step 5 in paragraph [0018]) is satisfied, and to transfer heat to a cell (blocks 9 Fig. 13 correspond to the cell of Ohashi) such that an ice making rate (disclosed “formation of ice” in paragraph [0018]) in the cell is reduced (paragraph [0018]), wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater (when the measured temperature is “equal to or lower than the ice making completion temperature of -13.5 ° C” as disclosed in paragraph [0019]) is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction (paragraph [0021] and Figs. 9A-9C) so as to take the ice out of the cell (paragraph [0021]) to release all the ice in the ice tray (paragraph [0021]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the heater is configured to be turned on when a turn-on condition of the heater is satisfied, and to transfer heat to the cell such that an ice making rate in the cell is reduced, wherein the heater is turned off when a turn-off condition of the heater is satisfied, and wherein, after the heater is turned off, the second tray is configured to be moved in a direction so as to take the ice out of the cell” in view of the teachings of Kakimoto to release all the ice in the ice tray.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohashi in view of Boarman et al. (US 20140165598 A1, herein after referred to as Boarman).
Regarding claims 20-21, Ohashi teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, wherein the ice maker further comprises: a heater case in which the heater is installed, and a pusher including at least one extension part to press the second tray, and wherein the heater case includes a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes”.
However, Boarman teaches wherein a tray (mold apparatus 400 Fig. 26 corresponds to the tray of Ohashi) includes a first tray (first mold portion 402 Fig. 26) defining a first portion of a wall (first mold segment cavity 403 Fig. 26) for providing a cell (mold cavity 440 Fig. 26 corresponds to the cell of Ohashi), and a second tray (second mold portion 404 Fig. 26) defining a second portion of the wall (second mold segment cavity 405 Fig. 26) for providing the cell (Fig. 26), wherein the ice maker further comprises: a heater case (chill ring cover 504 Fig. 29) in which a heater (heating coil 520 Fig. 29 corresponds to the heater of Ohashi) is installed (Fig. 29), and a pusher (rubber stop 490 and ejector mechanism 470 Figs. 29-30) including at least one extension part (rubber stop 490 Figs. 29-30) to press the second tray (Fig. 30), and wherein the heater case includes a hole (spacing 510 Fig. 30) through which a portion of the pusher (ejector pin 475 Fig. 30) passes (Fig. 30) to apply a force to the second tray to remove the generated ice (paragraph 0121]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ohashi to include “wherein the tray includes a first tray defining a first portion of the wall for providing the cell, and a second tray defining a second portion of the wall for providing the cell, wherein the ice maker further comprises: a heater case in which the heater is installed, and a pusher including at least one extension part to press the second tray, and wherein the heater case includes a hole through which a portion of the pusher passes” in view of the teachings of Boarman to apply a force to the second tray to remove the generated ice.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-14 that Ohashi does not teach or suggest “wherein, when a defrosting start condition is satisfied during an ice making process, a defrosting process is performed, the defrosting process including a first process in which a defrosting heater is operated, and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater to limit an increase in an ice making time in at least a period that the defrosting heater is operated” as recited in amended claim 1, Examiner disagrees.
For clarity purposes, the above rejection of amended claim 1 is repeated below:
Ohashi teaches wherein, when a defrosting start condition (corresponds to when defrost timer 28 Fig. 1 “counts up a predetermined time” as disclosed in paragraph [11]) is satisfied during an ice making process (disclosed “ice making operation” in paragraph [11]), a defrosting process (disclosed “defrosting” in paragraph [11]) is performed (paragraph [11]), the defrosting process including a first process (corresponds to when defrost heater 17 Fig. 1 is energized as disclosed in paragraph [11]) in which a defrosting heater (defrost heater 17 Fig. 1) is operated (paragraph [11]), and wherein the controller reduces a heating amount of the heater (paragraph [11] where it is disclosed that the “current to heater 11 is cut off” when defrost starts during ice making operation) to limit an increase (paragraph [11]) in an ice making time (ice-making completion time t’ disclosed in paragraph [11]) in at least a period (corresponds to the entire duration of the defrosting operation described in paragraph [11]) that the defrosting heater is operated (paragraph [11]).
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763