Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, i.e., Embodiment 1 as seen in Figs. 2A-2B, claims 1-7 readable thereon, in the reply filed on April 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh et al (USPGPUB 20150349225, hereinafter “Oh”).
Regarding Claim 1, Oh teaches (Fig. 3) a display apparatus, comprising: a driving backplane (Fig. 12, 730; [0161], “The light source module includes a light emitting device package 735 on a circuit board 730”), having a first pad (220a) and a second pad (220b); and a light emitting component (242), disposed on the driving backplane (730), wherein the light emitting component comprises: a first semiconductor layer (242a); a second semiconductor layer (242c), disposed opposite to the first semiconductor layer (242a); an active layer (242b), disposed between (active layer 242b is seen disposed between first semiconductor layer 242a and second semiconductor layer 242c) the first semiconductor layer (242a) and the second semiconductor layer; a first electrode (244a) and a second electrode (244b), electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer (242a) and the second semiconductor layer (242b) respectively; a first solder (310) and a second solder (320), respectively disposed on (the first solder 310 is disposed on first electrode 320 and the second solder 320 is seen disposed on second electrode 244b) the first electrode (244a) and the second electrode (244b), and electrically connected to (the conducting bodies of the solders 310, 320 and electrodes 244a, 244b are electrically connected by direct physical contact) the first electrode (244a) and the second electrode (244b) respectively; wherein the first solder (310) and the second solder (320) are respectively disposed on (first solder 310 is disposed on first pad 220a and second solder 320 is seen disposed on second pad 220b) the first pad (220a) and the second pad (220b) and electrically connected to (the conducting bodies of the solders 310, 320 and pads 220a, 220b are electrically connected by direct physical contact) the first pad (220a) and the second pad (220b) respectively, a volume of the first solder (310) is larger than a volume of (the first solder 310 is seen having a larger volume than the second solder) the second solder (320), and an area of the first pad (220a) is smaller than (an area of the first pad 220a is seen smaller than an area of the second pad area) an area of the second pad (220b).
Regarding Claim 2, Oh teaches (Fig. 3) the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first pad (220a) and the second pad (220b) are arranged in a first direction (horizontal direction), and a width of the first pad (220a) in the first direction is less than a width of (the second pad 220b is seen having a greater width than the first pad) the second pad (220b) in the first direction.
Regarding Claim 3, Oh teaches (Fig. 3) the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first pad (220a) and the second pad (220b) are arranged in a first direction (horizontal direction), a second direction (vertical direction) is substantially perpendicular to (first and second directions are perpendicular) the first direction (horizontal direction) and substantially parallel to (the driving backplane 730 of Fig. 12, would be substantially parallel to a vertical direction) the driving backplane (730), a width of the first pad (220a) in the first direction is less than a width of the second pad (220b) in the first direction (horizontal direction), and a width of the first pad (220a) in the second direction (vertical direction) is substantially equal to (the width of the first pad 220a and the second pad 220b are seen substantially equal to each other in the second, vertical direction) a width of the second pad (220b) in the second direction (vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 4, Oh teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a reciprocal of a ratio of the area of the first pad to the area of the second pad is substantially equal to (the ratio of the volume of the first solder to the volume of the second solder can be approximated by comparing the heights of the two solders, and the ratio of those heights of the first similarly shaped solder to that of the second is about 1.3:1, and so the ratio of the volumes are about 2:1, and the ratio of the second pad area to that of the first pad area is seen to be about 1:2, as their respective side length ratios are about 1:1.4 ) a ratio of the volume of the first solder to the volume of the second solder.
Regarding Claim 6, Oh teaches (Fig. 3) the display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a projection area of the first solder (310) onto the driving backplane is smaller than (the first solder 310 is seen having a smaller area than that of the second solder 320, so it would also cast a smaller projection area onto the driving backplane 730 of Fig. 12; first solder 310 is seen being more narrow than solder 320, and therefore would have a smaller projection area onto driving backplane 730 of Fig. 12) a projection area of the second solder (320) onto the driving backplane (Fig. 12, 730).
Regarding Claim 7, Oh teaches (Fig. 3) The display apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a reciprocal of a ratio of a projection area of the first solder onto the driving backplane to a projection area of the second solder onto the driving backplane is substantially equal to (the ratio of the volume of the first solder 310 to the volume of the second solder 320 can be seen by comparing the heights of the two solders, and the ratio of those heights of the first similarly shaped solder to that of the second is about 1.3:1, and so the ratio of the volumes are about 2:1. Similarly, the reciprocal of the ratio of the projection of first solder 310 to the second solder 320 is seen being about 1: 1.4, so the reciprocal ratio of the respective projection areas is seen to also be substantially equal to 1:2) a ratio of the volume of the first solder to the volume of the second solder.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 5, the closest available reference, that of Oh, alone or in combination with any other reference, fails to teach the limitation, “a reciprocal of a ratio of the width of the first pad to the width of the second pad is substantially equal to a ratio of the volume of the first solder to the volume of the second solder”.
Conclusion
/V.J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898