DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first action on the merits of application serial no. 18/538317 filed 12/13/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/13/23 has been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
-On page 7, line 3, the words representing the abbreviation “EMI” should be added.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“the switching unit (generic placeholder) is configurable in at least a run configuration and a charge configuration (function)” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the voltage" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Najmabadi et al 20190126760. As to claim 1, Najmabadi discloses a vehicle comprising: an auxiliary motor (42 can be considered auxiliary motor due to claim currently not reciting any other motors, i.e., traction motor as recited in claim 5 and [0002] in Najmabadi disclosing that hybrid vehicles are well known in the art wherein hybrids always have more than one prime mover) comprising a stator (via 52, 54) and a rotor ([0029], line 3), the auxiliary motor being operable to receive alternating current for exciting windings of the stator so as to cause rotation of the rotor by electromagnetic coupling, the windings including first windings (52) and second windings (54) that are galvanically isolated (as described in abstract) from each other; a traction battery (Figure 6; 46); a charge port (64) configured for receiving an alternating current from an external power source (66); power electronics (61, 63) connected to the charge port; a switching unit (S1, S2) connected between the power electronics and the traction battery; a first inverter (56) connected between the first windings and the traction battery via the switching unit; and a second inverter (58) connected between the second windings and the traction battery; wherein the switching unit is configurable in at least a run configuration and a charge configuration, the run configuration ([0026]) establishing a connection between the traction battery and the first windings such that the auxiliary motor is energized, the charge configuration ([0027]) establishing a connection between the power electronics and the first windings while isolating the traction battery from the charge port such that current supplied from the external power source excites the first windings to induce current in the second windings, said current being rectified by the second inverter to charge the traction battery.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najmabadi in view of DE 19518317 (with machine translation). Najmabadi discloses an auxiliary motor (42) that can be used in a hybrid vehicle [0002] which is well known in the art to have more than one prime mover, but doesn’t disclose an engine supplied with air from a compressor which is further coupled to a turbine in combination with the limitations as recited in claims 2 and 3.
DE discloses a vehicle having an auxiliary motor (3) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the vehicle with an internal combustion engine (19) wherein the motor is coupled with a compressor (2) supplying air (via 9 to 20) to the engine and a turbine (1) is coupled with the compressor to receive exhaust gases from the engine and expand the gases to produce power to drive compressor (page 9, lines 2-4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide Najmabadi with an engine, compressor and turbine arrangement in view of DE to increase operating efficiency of vehicle during high power/torque operations including for rapid acceleration, high speed performance or towing of heavy loads.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Najmabadi in view of DE 102005002506 (with machine translation). Najmabadi discloses an auxiliary motor (42) that can be used in a hybrid vehicle [0002] which is well known in the art to have more than one prime mover, but doesn’t disclose a fuel cell stack supplied with pressurized air from a compressor coupled to the motor.
DE discloses a vehicle having an auxiliary motor (6) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the vehicle with a fuel cell stack (1) supplied with pressurized air from a compressor (7) coupled to the motor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide Najmabadi with fuel cell stack and compressor arrangement in view of DE to increase operating efficiency of vehicle during high power/torque operations and further provide cleaner energy source for reducing harmful emissions.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112428840 (with machine translation) in view of Najmabadi. As to claim 5, CN discloses a method for charging electric vehicles that include a traction motor (V2) in driving connection with wheels of the vehicle and a traction battery (BAT) for powering the traction motor, and an auxiliary motor (V1), wherein the auxiliary motor includes first windings and second windings (Figures 3 and 4 within V1 show multiple windings), the method comprising the steps of: receiving, through a charge port (within J2) of the vehicle, an alternating supply current from an external source (J2); power factor correcting the supply current to produce a source current (page 7, lines 41-43 and page 11, lines 17-18); and rectifying the alternating current to produce a direct charging current and charging the traction battery with the charging current (page 11, lines 17-32). However, CN doesn’t disclose the first windings and second windings galvanically isolated from each other, filtering the supply current to produce a source current and exciting the first windings with the source current to induce a second alternating current in the second windings; and rectifying the second alternating current to produce a direct charging current and charging the traction battery with the charging current.
Najmabadi discloses a method for charging electric vehicles and shows that it is well known in the art to have a motor (42) including first windings (52) and second (54) windings that are galvanically isolated from each other, receiving, through a charge port (64) of the vehicle, an alternating supply current from an external source (66); filtering (63) and power factor correcting (61) the supply current to produce a source current; exciting the first windings (52) with the source current to induce a second alternating current in the second windings (54; [0027]); and rectifying the second alternating current to produce a direct charging current and charging the traction battery with the charging current (58).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide the auxiliary motor in CN with galvanically isolated first and second windings and filtering of supply current in view of Najmabadi to enhance motor performance by preventing electrical shorts between input and output of windings and ensuring stable power delivery by removing electrical disturbances during charging operation.
As to claim 6, CN discloses wherein a rotor of the auxiliary motor is allowed to rotate during charging of the traction battery (CN discloses that the winding induction and control looping of compressor is used during charging of battery, it would be obvious that the rotor of V1 is operating during that time).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN in view of Najmabadi as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Najmabadi 10230254 (IDS cited art). CN in view of Najmabadi discloses AC/DC converters, but doesn’t disclose using a DC-DC converter to regulate voltage of charging current before feeding to battery.
Najmabadi ‘254 discloses a method for charging electric vehicles and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a DC-DC converter (60) to regulate voltage of charging current before feeding to a traction battery (46).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention provide CN in view of Najmabadi with a DC-DC converter further in view of Najmabadi ‘254 to boost voltage output and correct power factor for input to battery which increase operating efficiency of vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Atalla et al 20170141633 discloses a vehicle and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an auxiliary motor (102) with galvanically isolated first and second windings and a switching unit (Figure 2) for charging a traction battery (114).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 July 23, 2026