CTFR 18/538,517 CTFR 96410 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 11-18 and 21-32 are currently pending and addressed below. Response to Amendments The amendment filed on March 3 rd , 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 11-18, 21-23, 25-26, and 28-31 have been amended. Response to Arguments The previous rejection of Claims 13, 23, and 30 under 35 USC 112(b) has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments. The previous rejection of claims 11-18 and 21-32 under 35 USC 101 has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments. The applicant’s amendments with respect to claims 11-18 and 21-32 has been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11, 21-22, 28-29, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifle (US 20170122750 A1) (“Pfeifle”) in view of Liu (CN 116564073 A) (“Liu”) (Translation Attached) . With respect to claim 11, Pfeifle teaches a first system comprising: one or more processors : storing, by the first system, the first map corresponding to a first area of an environment that is associated with the first system (See at least Pfeifle FIG. 13 and Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”) . Pfeifle, however, fails to explicitly disclose to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map. Liu teaches to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraph 66 “The specific implementation of terminal device 20A generating map driving route information based on the first map message and the vehicle's driving route, and sending a vehicle instruction message carrying the map driving route information to the second vehicle, as well as the specific implementation of terminal device 20B executing a driving strategy based on the map driving route information and the second map message, can be found in the descriptions of the embodiments corresponding to Figures 3-8 below.”) ; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraphs 68-104 “S101, when the first vehicle is located within the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device is received, and map driving route information associated with the target area is generated based on the first map message and the driving route of the first vehicle … Based on V2I communication, when the first vehicle enters the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first terminal device can receive a first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device. This first map message can carry map data of the target area. Furthermore, the first terminal device can obtain the driving route of the first vehicle. The driving route can be manually set by the occupants of the first vehicle (e.g., the driver) (e.g., through the interactive interface of the first terminal device), or it can be automatically set by the first terminal device based on the actual road conditions … In this way, since the map route information uses a data format suitable for V2X systems, it is equivalent to the first terminal device converting the data format of the first vehicle's route. Therefore, the second terminal device can avoid converting the data format again, which enables efficient data interaction between the first and second terminal devices, thereby improving information processing efficiency and ultimately improving the collaboration efficiency between vehicles … S102, a vehicle instruction message carrying map driving route information is sent to the second vehicle … The second vehicle is located in the area covered by the second roadside communication equipment … Finally, the first terminal device can send a vehicle instruction message carrying the above-mentioned map driving route information to the second vehicle. In the V2X system, the first terminal device can transmit vehicle instruction messages to road traffic participants (such as the second vehicle) within its signal coverage area through a specified information interaction method. The information interaction method here includes, but is not limited to, broadcast, multicast, unicast, etc., and this application embodiment does not limit this … It should be noted that different roadside communication devices may transmit different map messages. In other words, different roadside communication devices may transmit map data for different areas. Since the first vehicle is constantly moving forward before reaching its destination, it will receive a new map message when it enters the area covered by another roadside communication device. At this time, the first terminal device needs to further determine whether the map driving route information needs to be updated … For example, the first terminal device can receive a third map message sent by a third roadside communication device, and then detect whether the third map message is the same as the previous first map message. Optionally, when it is detected that the third map message is different from the first map message, the first terminal device can update the map driving route information based on the third map message to obtain updated map driving route information, and then send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the third vehicle … Furthermore, when the first vehicle temporarily changes its driving route for some reason (e.g., lane closure due to extreme weather or traffic accident), the first terminal device needs to update the original driving route in a timely manner to obtain the updated driving route. Then, based on the updated driving route and the received map message (e.g., the fourth map message), it can generate updated map driving route information and finally send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the fourth vehicle”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of Pfeifle to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map, as taught by Liu as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle maps for navigation (Liu Paragraph 4 “This application provides a data processing method, apparatus, and related equipment that can promptly and accurately achieve vehicle priority avoidance and improve vehicle traffic efficiency.”). With respect to claim 12, and similarly claims 22 and 29, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches that the indication is received from one or more of: the second system associated with the second area of the environment; or a third system that is associated with at least the first area of the environment and the second area of the environment (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 70 “At act 1106, the processor 1002 identifies a new tile version exists for the first map tile or the second map tile.” | Paragraph 78 “The mobile device processor 802 and/or the server processor 1002 may be a single device or combinations of devices, such as associated with a network, distributed processing, or cloud computing.” | Paragraph 89). With respect to claim 14, and similarly claims 24 and 31, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches determining that the portion of the second map corresponds to a part of the second area that at least partially borders the first area; and determining to update the portion of the first map based at least on the portion of the second map corresponding to the part of the second area that at least partially borders the first area (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 35 “The tile data may be collected by a vehicle, or individual, driving routes in the real world. Tile data may also refer to data that when constituted together make up the map data for a region of a map such as a city, state, county, country, or some combination thereof. The tile data stored in the database 408 may be data related to one or more vehicles traveling along a route or routes. A user of the mobile device may indicate that they wish to receive routing data from point A to point B. The tile data may indicate whether or not road links between adjacent tiles are compatible with each other, and thus able to form a route when pieced together. Additionally, the version compatibility matrix may indicate that any tiles stored in the database 408 are compatible with each other”). With respect to claim 17, and similarly claim 27, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches that the map is further updated by performing one or more of: sending, to the second system associated with the second area of the environment, a first indication that the at least one of portion of the first map or the second portion of the first map has been updated; or sending, to a third system associated with the environment, a second indication that the at least one of the portion of the first map or the second portion of the first map has been updated (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 70 “At act 1106, the processor 1002 identifies a new tile version exists for the first map tile or the second map tile.” | Paragraph 78 “The mobile device processor 802 and/or the server processor 1002 may be a single device or combinations of devices, such as associated with a network, distributed processing, or cloud computing.” | Paragraph 89). With respect to claim 18, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches that the portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map represents a portion of the first area of the environment that at least partially borders the second area of the environment (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 35 “The tile data may be collected by a vehicle, or individual, driving routes in the real world. Tile data may also refer to data that when constituted together make up the map data for a region of a map such as a city, state, county, country, or some combination thereof. The tile data stored in the database 408 may be data related to one or more vehicles traveling along a route or routes. A user of the mobile device may indicate that they wish to receive routing data from point A to point B. The tile data may indicate whether or not road links between adjacent tiles are compatible with each other, and thus able to form a route when pieced together. Additionally, the version compatibility matrix may indicate that any tiles stored in the database 408 are compatible with each other”). With respect to claim 21, Pfeifle teaches a method comprising storing, by the first system, the first map corresponding to a first area of an environment that is associated with the first system (See at least Pfeifle FIG. 13 and Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”) . Pfeifle, however, fails to explicitly disclose receiving, using the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; obtaining, using the first system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more first machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data used by the second system to update the portion of the second map; and causing, using the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map; and sending, using the first system, data associated with the first map to a second machine navigating within the first area of the environment, the data for use by the second machine to perform one or more planning, navigation, or control operations. Liu teaches receiving, using the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; obtaining, using the first system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more first machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data used by the second system to update the portion of the second map; and causing, using the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map; and sending, using the first system, data associated with the first map to a second machine navigating within the first area of the environment, the data for use by the second machine to perform one or more planning, navigation, or control operations (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraph 66 “The specific implementation of terminal device 20A generating map driving route information based on the first map message and the vehicle's driving route, and sending a vehicle instruction message carrying the map driving route information to the second vehicle, as well as the specific implementation of terminal device 20B executing a driving strategy based on the map driving route information and the second map message, can be found in the descriptions of the embodiments corresponding to Figures 3-8 below.”) (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraphs 68-104 “S101, when the first vehicle is located within the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device is received, and map driving route information associated with the target area is generated based on the first map message and the driving route of the first vehicle … Based on V2I communication, when the first vehicle enters the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first terminal device can receive a first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device. This first map message can carry map data of the target area. Furthermore, the first terminal device can obtain the driving route of the first vehicle. The driving route can be manually set by the occupants of the first vehicle (e.g., the driver) (e.g., through the interactive interface of the first terminal device), or it can be automatically set by the first terminal device based on the actual road conditions … In this way, since the map route information uses a data format suitable for V2X systems, it is equivalent to the first terminal device converting the data format of the first vehicle's route. Therefore, the second terminal device can avoid converting the data format again, which enables efficient data interaction between the first and second terminal devices, thereby improving information processing efficiency and ultimately improving the collaboration efficiency between vehicles … S102, a vehicle instruction message carrying map driving route information is sent to the second vehicle … The second vehicle is located in the area covered by the second roadside communication equipment … Finally, the first terminal device can send a vehicle instruction message carrying the above-mentioned map driving route information to the second vehicle. In the V2X system, the first terminal device can transmit vehicle instruction messages to road traffic participants (such as the second vehicle) within its signal coverage area through a specified information interaction method. The information interaction method here includes, but is not limited to, broadcast, multicast, unicast, etc., and this application embodiment does not limit this … It should be noted that different roadside communication devices may transmit different map messages. In other words, different roadside communication devices may transmit map data for different areas. Since the first vehicle is constantly moving forward before reaching its destination, it will receive a new map message when it enters the area covered by another roadside communication device. At this time, the first terminal device needs to further determine whether the map driving route information needs to be updated … For example, the first terminal device can receive a third map message sent by a third roadside communication device, and then detect whether the third map message is the same as the previous first map message. Optionally, when it is detected that the third map message is different from the first map message, the first terminal device can update the map driving route information based on the third map message to obtain updated map driving route information, and then send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the third vehicle … Furthermore, when the first vehicle temporarily changes its driving route for some reason (e.g., lane closure due to extreme weather or traffic accident), the first terminal device needs to update the original driving route in a timely manner to obtain the updated driving route. Then, based on the updated driving route and the received map message (e.g., the fourth map message), it can generate updated map driving route information and finally send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the fourth vehicle”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of Pfeifle to include receiving, using the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment; obtaining, using the first system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more first machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data used by the second system to update the portion of the second map; and causing, using the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to the portion of the second map; and sending, using the first system, data associated with the first map to a second machine navigating within the first area of the environment, the data for use by the second machine to perform one or more planning, navigation, or control operations, as taught by Liu as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle maps for navigation (Liu Paragraph 4 “This application provides a data processing method, apparatus, and related equipment that can promptly and accurately achieve vehicle priority avoidance and improve vehicle traffic efficiency.”). With respect to claim 28, Pfeifle teaches a method comprising: storing, by the first system, the first map corresponding to a first area of an environment that is associated with the first system (See at least Pfeifle FIG. 13 and Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”) . Pfeifle, however, fails to explicitly disclose to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to a part of the first area of the environment that at least partially border the second area of the environment . Liu teaches to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraph 66 “The specific implementation of terminal device 20A generating map driving route information based on the first map message and the vehicle's driving route, and sending a vehicle instruction message carrying the map driving route information to the second vehicle, as well as the specific implementation of terminal device 20B executing a driving strategy based on the map driving route information and the second map message, can be found in the descriptions of the embodiments corresponding to Figures 3-8 below.”) ; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment ; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to a part of the first area of the environment that at least partially border the second area of the environment (See at least Liu FIG. 3 and Paragraphs 68-104 “S101, when the first vehicle is located within the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device is received, and map driving route information associated with the target area is generated based on the first map message and the driving route of the first vehicle … Based on V2I communication, when the first vehicle enters the target area covered by the first roadside communication device, the first terminal device can receive a first map message associated with the target area sent by the first roadside communication device. This first map message can carry map data of the target area. Furthermore, the first terminal device can obtain the driving route of the first vehicle. The driving route can be manually set by the occupants of the first vehicle (e.g., the driver) (e.g., through the interactive interface of the first terminal device), or it can be automatically set by the first terminal device based on the actual road conditions … In this way, since the map route information uses a data format suitable for V2X systems, it is equivalent to the first terminal device converting the data format of the first vehicle's route. Therefore, the second terminal device can avoid converting the data format again, which enables efficient data interaction between the first and second terminal devices, thereby improving information processing efficiency and ultimately improving the collaboration efficiency between vehicles … S102, a vehicle instruction message carrying map driving route information is sent to the second vehicle … The second vehicle is located in the area covered by the second roadside communication equipment … Finally, the first terminal device can send a vehicle instruction message carrying the above-mentioned map driving route information to the second vehicle. In the V2X system, the first terminal device can transmit vehicle instruction messages to road traffic participants (such as the second vehicle) within its signal coverage area through a specified information interaction method. The information interaction method here includes, but is not limited to, broadcast, multicast, unicast, etc., and this application embodiment does not limit this … It should be noted that different roadside communication devices may transmit different map messages. In other words, different roadside communication devices may transmit map data for different areas. Since the first vehicle is constantly moving forward before reaching its destination, it will receive a new map message when it enters the area covered by another roadside communication device. At this time, the first terminal device needs to further determine whether the map driving route information needs to be updated … For example, the first terminal device can receive a third map message sent by a third roadside communication device, and then detect whether the third map message is the same as the previous first map message. Optionally, when it is detected that the third map message is different from the first map message, the first terminal device can update the map driving route information based on the third map message to obtain updated map driving route information, and then send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the third vehicle … Furthermore, when the first vehicle temporarily changes its driving route for some reason (e.g., lane closure due to extreme weather or traffic accident), the first terminal device needs to update the original driving route in a timely manner to obtain the updated driving route. Then, based on the updated driving route and the received map message (e.g., the fourth map message), it can generate updated map driving route information and finally send an updated vehicle instruction message carrying the updated map driving route information to the fourth vehicle”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the apparatus of Pfeifle to cause the first machine to navigate within a first area of an environment based at least on a first map received from a first system that is located in the first area of the environment; receiving, by the first system an indication that a second system updated a portion of a second map corresponding to a second area of the environment, the second system being different from the first system and located within the second area of the environment; receiving, by the first system and from the second system, one or more instances of data associated with one or more second machines navigating within the second area, the one or more instances of data associated with updating the portion of the second map; and causing, by the first system and based at least on the one or more instances of data, an update to a portion of the first map that corresponds to a part of the first area of the environment that at least partially border the second area of the environment, as taught by Liu as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate vehicle maps for navigation (Liu Paragraph 4 “This application provides a data processing method, apparatus, and related equipment that can promptly and accurately achieve vehicle priority avoidance and improve vehicle traffic efficiency.”). With respect to claim 32, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches that the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing one or more simulation operations; a system for performing one or more digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing one or more deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing one or more conversational AI operations; a system implementing one or more large language models (LLMs);a system for performing one or more generative AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 78) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifle (US 20170122750 A1) (“Pfeifle”) in view of Liu (CN 116564073 A) (“Liu”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Li (CN 106933831 A) (“Li”) (Translation Attached) . With respect to claim 13, and similarly claims 23 and 30, Pfeifle in view of Liu teaches updating a portion of the map (See at least Pfeifle FIG. 13 and Paragraphs 69-72). Pfeifle in view of Liu, however, fails to explicitly disclose receiving a second indication to refrain from updating the portion of the first map by the first system while the second system is updating the portion of the second map, wherein the causing the update to the portion of the first map is after the second system is finished updating the portion of the second map. Li teaches receiving a second indication to refrain from updating the portion of the first map by the first system while the second system is updating the portion of the second map, wherein the causing the update to the portion of the first map is after the second system is finished updating the portion of the second map (See at least Li Paragraphs 94-95 “Preferably, to avoid errors caused by users modifying indoor map data, as shown in Figure 3, according to another embodiment of this application, the method for updating indoor map data on the client side further includes, after step S130: step S135, setting the indoor map data to a locked state; and after step S150, further includes: step S155, setting the indoor map data to an unlocked state. Locking means that users are not allowed to update the indoor map data. Unlocking means allowing users to update the indoor map data. This is because, without locking, for example, if a user changes the boundary of a shop from a square to a triangle, but the indoor map update data has not yet been sent to the server, the map on the server will not change and will not be synchronized back to the client, so the user may still see a square. If the user wants to change the triangle to a pentagon, since the interface still shows a square, the update operation will be performed as if the square were changed to a pentagon. The server will then receive two change operations: "square to triangle" and "square to pentagon". Once the server has completed the "square to triangle" operation, the square has disappeared, making it impossible to perform the subsequent "square to pentagon" operation. By using locking and unlocking, confusion caused by performing multiple operations on a point of interest within a short period of time is prevented”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Pfeifle in view of Liu to include receiving a second indication to refrain from updating the portion of the first map by the first system while the second system is updating the portion of the second map, wherein the causing the update to the portion of the first map is after the second system is finished updating the portion of the second map, as taught by Li as disclosed above such that the refraining is from a second indication, in order to ensure an accurate update to the maps (Li Paragraph 95 “By using locking and unlocking, confusion caused by performing multiple operations on a point of interest within a short period of time is prevented.”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 15-16, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfeifle (US 20170122750 A1) (“Pfeifle”) in view of Liu (CN 116564073 A) (“Liu”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Zavoli (US 20090138497 A1) (“Zavoli”) . With respect to claim 15, and similarly claim 25, Pfeifle in view of Liu fails to explicitly disclose receiving one or more second instances of data obtained using one or more second machines navigating within the first area; determining, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, to perform a second update to at least one of the portion of the first map or a second portion of the first map; and causing, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, the second update to the at least one of the portion of the map or the second portion of the map. Zavoli, however, teaches receiving one or more second instances of data obtained using one or more second machines navigating within the first area; determining, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, to perform a second update to at least one of the portion of the first map or a second portion of the first map; and causing, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, the second update to the at least one of the portion of the map or the second portion of the map (See at least Zavoli FIG. 3 and Claim 6 “repeating the collecting, processing and combining steps above for probe data collected during a second time period to produce a second probe data generated geospatial map database, effecting a first comparison between the first and second geospatial map databases thus created to identify road segments, geometry, topology or attributes thereof that have changed between said first time period and said second time period, effecting a second comparison between only those identified road segments, geometry, topology or attributes thereof having changed over time and a pre-existing master database, and if said second comparison determines that the road segments, geometry, topology, or attributes thereof present in the master geospatial database are at odds with the identified road segments, geometry, topology or attributes thereof, effecting a further action, being one of: (a) Generating a change notification for said master database (b) Generating an alert (c) Generating a change request, the ultimate effect of such further action being the eventual update of the master geospatial database as regards at least one or more of those road segments, geometry, topology or attributes thereof being at odds with the identified road segments, geometry, topology or attributes thereof, such update being that the former are replaced with the latter, and/or in the case of an identified road segment being absent from the master geospatial database, the insertion thereof therein.” | Paragraph 13 “Referring to FIG. 2, in embodiments a plurality of vehicles may collect probe data 208 from on-board sensors 204 (e.g. GPS based system), such as for position, speed, heading, slope, time, and the like. The collected probe data 208 may be associated 210 with a road segment, where the road segment may be retrieved from the geographic database 152. Collected data from the plurality of vehicles 212 may be stored 214, where data may be collected until enough data is collected 218 for subsequent analysis. In embodiments, the association 210 may be provided in the vehicle 202, in the navigation device 102, in the geographic management facility 104, in an intermediate location, in a later process step, and the like. When enough data is collected 218, the probe data may be analyzed to make inferences about segment attributes, such as the likely presence of a stop sign, a yield sign, a traffic light, a no U-turn, a no left turn, a no right turn, a blinking warning light, a blinking stop light, a speed limit sign, a one-way sign, a detour, a closed road, a merge, the number of lanes, a new POI and the like. In addition, inferences may be made about road segments, such as the existence of a new road or the like. Once these probe attribute inferences are made 222, the probe inference attributes may then be compared 224 to road segment attribute data stored in the geographic database 152. Segments may also be analyzed and compared to determine the existence, geometry, and attributes associated with a new road or the like, which in embodiments, may also be performed manually A comparison 224 between the likely value of a road segment attribute as characterized by inference, and the road attributes as stored in the geographic database 152 may be performed to determine whether there are any significant differences detected 228. In embodiments, the results of the comparison 224 may determine that there are no significant differences such that the action is to do nothing 230. In embodiments, if significant differences are detected 228, a plurality of actions may follow, such as to generate a change notification 232, to generate an alert 234, to generate a database alteration 238, or the like.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Pfeifle in view of Liu to include receiving one or more second instances of data obtained using one or more second machines navigating within the first area; determining, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, to perform a second update to at least one of the portion of the first map or a second portion of the first map; and causing, based at least on the one or more second instances of data, the second update to the at least one of the portion of the map or the second portion of the map, as taught by Zavoli as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate data is present in maps (Zavoli Paragraph 5 “Accordingly, at least one embodiment of the invention provides methods for creating and/or updating map databases so as to result in an improved map database as proposed in the appended claims.”). With respect to claim 16, and similarly claim 26, Pfeifle in view of Liu in view of Zavoli teach the determination to perform the second update comprises: determining one or more metrics associated with the one or more second instances of data; and determining that the one or more metrics satisfy one or more thresholds associated with updating the first map (See at least Zavoli Paragraph 13 “Referring to FIG. 2, in embodiments a plurality of vehicles may collect probe data 208 from on-board sensors 204 (e.g. GPS based system), such as for position, speed, heading, slope, time, and the like. The collected probe data 208 may be associated 210 with a road segment, where the road segment may be retrieved from the geographic database 152. Collected data from the plurality of vehicles 212 may be stored 214, where data may be collected until enough data is collected 218 for subsequent analysis. In embodiments, the association 210 may be provided in the vehicle 202, in the navigation device 102, in the geographic management facility 104, in an intermediate location, in a later process step, and the like. When enough data is collected 218, the probe data may be analyzed to make inferences about segment attributes, such as the likely presence of a stop sign, a yield sign, a traffic light, a no U-turn, a no left turn, a no right turn, a blinking warning light, a blinking stop light, a speed limit sign, a one-way sign, a detour, a closed road, a merge, the number of lanes, a new POI and the like. In addition, inferences may be made about road segments, such as the existence of a new road or the like. Once these probe attribute inferences are made 222, the probe inference attributes may then be compared 224 to road segment attribute data stored in the geographic database 152. Segments may also be analyzed and compared to determine the existence, geometry, and attributes associated with a new road or the like, which in embodiments, may also be performed manually A comparison 224 between the likely value of a road segment attribute as characterized by inference, and the road attributes as stored in the geographic database 152 may be performed to determine whether there are any significant differences detected 228. In embodiments, the results of the comparison 224 may determine that there are no significant differences such that the action is to do nothing 230. In embodiments, if significant differences are detected 228, a plurality of actions may follow, such as to generate a change notification 232, to generate an alert 234, to generate a database alteration 238, or the like.”). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY whose telephone number is (571)272-5653. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faris Almatrahi can be reached at 313-446-4821. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 2 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 3 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 4 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 5 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 6 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 7 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 8 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 9 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 10 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 11 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 12 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 13 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 14 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 15 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 16 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 17 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 18 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 19 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 20 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 21 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 22 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 23 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,517 Page 24 Art Unit: 3667