CTFR 18/538,593 CTFR 96410 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-10 and 21-30 are currently pending and are addressed below. Response to Amendments The amendment filed on March 18 th , 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-10, 21-27, and 29 have been amended. Response to Arguments The previous rejection of claims 1-10 and 21-30 under 35 USC 101 has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments. The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 and 21-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejections necessitated by the applicant’s amendments. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 recites “such that the first portion of the map the compatibility data”, whereas it should recite “such that the first portion of the map and the compatibility data” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 1-10 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "cause while the portion of the map is associated …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their dependence on rejected independent claim 1. 07-34-05 Claim 21 recites “the calibration to indicate …”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 22-28 are rejected due to their dependence on rejected independent claim 21. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 21-23, and 28-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 117149937 A) (“Zhang”) (Translation Attached) in view of Bhattacharjee (US 20040205066 A1) (“Bhattacharjee”) in view of Collins (US 20230332923 A1) (“Collins”) . With respect to claim 1, Zhang teaches a method comprising: determining to update a first portion of the map corresponding to an area of the environment (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 100-102 “In an optional implementation of this embodiment, before step S101, i.e., the step of locking the operation permissions for map data within the target operation area in the map update database, the method may further include the following steps: In response to a map update request, retrieve map data. Determine the collection range of the map data, which is the corresponding map coverage area in the map update database;”) ; causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, while the portion of the map is associated with the locked state, an update to the first portion of the map to occur (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-71“Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area;”) ; and based at least on the update to the first portion of the map being complete, causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 71-n0029 “In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”). Zhang, however, fails to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment; causing compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map; causing the compatibility data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state. Bhattacharjee teaches causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang to include causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state, as taught by Bhattacharjee as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map is switched from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and after the update to the first potion of the map being complete the compatibility data, in order to ensure accurate map updates (Bhattacharjee Paragraph 13 “The present invention satisfies this need, and presents a system, a computer program product, and an associated method (collectively referred to herein as “the system” or “the present system”) for providing, in a multidimensional clustering (MDC) environment, an approach for balancing concurrency and data stability while guarding against undesirable data contention results while avoiding undue locking overhead.”) . Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee, however, fail to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment and causing, while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map. Collins teaches causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment (See at least Collins Paragraph 44 “The vehicle computing system 120 may be configured to perform various tasks including processing data collected by the sensors as well as map data received from the online HD map system 110 and/or the CDN 140. For example, the vehicle computing system 120 may-based on sensor data, map data, and/or other data-determine one or more of a current location of the corresponding vehicle 150, a route to travel from the current location to a destination, one or more neighbor map tiles that are compatible with a map tile for a geographic area that includes the current location, what objects are around the corresponding vehicle 150, whether such objects are moving or are likely to move, details of the road on which the corresponding vehicle 150 is travelling, a plan including a sequence of actions to take within a short time interval, control signals that may be sent to the vehicle controls 130 to execute the plan, etc. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to process data for sending to the online HD map system 110. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to request one or more neighbor map tiles from the CDN 140.”). causing an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map (See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82 “FIG. 7 illustrates an example tile update method 700, according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The method 700 generally includes adding one or more new tiles to a versioned index, creating back pointers in the new tiles to existing data (e.g., pre-existing tiles and/or new tiles), adding back pointers in existing tiles to the new tiles, and updating the versioned index to identify the latest versions of tiles. In more detail, block 702 illustrates an example initial layout of a versioned tile index that includes sequential tiles A, B, C, and D. The tiles A-D may represent sequential geographic subregions along a route or path. Each of the tiles A-D includes a back pointer to a corresponding neighbor tile in one or both directions. For example, the tile A includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B, the Tile B includes a back pointer “a” to the tile A and a back pointer “c” to the tile C, the Tile C includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B and a back pointer “d” to the tile D, and the tile D includes a back pointer “c” to the tile C. The versioned index is shown in simplified form where each tile A-D includes one or two back pointers to one or two corresponding neighbors; more generally, however, each tile in the versioned index may include one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) back pointers to one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) neighbor tiles. Block 704 illustrates the addition of new tile versions to the versioned index. In particular, a new tile A′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile A while a new tile B′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile B. After the addition of new tiles to the versioned index, back pointers to existing data (e.g., a new tile or a pre-existing tile) may be added to each of the new tiles. For instance, a back pointer “b′” to the tile B′ may be added to the tile A′ while a back pointer “a′” to the tile A′ may be added to the tile B′. Block 706 illustrates the updating of back pointers in place and the updating of the latest index. In more detail, pre-existing tiles with back pointers to old tiles that have been updated to new tiles have the back pointers updated in place to point to the new tiles. In the example of FIG. 7 , the tile C is the only pre-existing tile with a back pointer to one of the new tiles, e.g., to new tile B′, so in the tile C the back pointer b of to the tile B is updated in place as back pointer b′ to the new tile B′. The latest index is then updated to include the new tiles A′ and B′ in place of the old tiles A and B. In FIG. 7 , tiles in the latest index, e.g., the latest validated version of each tile, are denoted by arrow boxes with no fill pattern. Tiles that are not in the latest index, e.g., because they have not been validated and/or they are an older version of a validated tile, are denoted in FIG. 7 by arrow boxes with a cross-hatch fill pattern. Thus, it can be seen in the example of FIG. 7 that the new tiles A′ and B′ are added to the latest index after being validated. New tiles may be considered validated when back pointers of any pre-existing tiles that pointed to the old tiles have been updated to point to the new tiles, among potentially other criteria.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee to include causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment causing an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map, as taught by Collins as disclosed above, such that the update to the compatibility data occurs while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, in order to ensure an accurate map across a plurality of tiles (Collins Paragraph 1 “This disclosure relates generally to organizing mapped regions into discretized, more easily distributable and consumable segments for autonomous systems and applications.”). With respect to claim 2, and similarly claim 22, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches the unlocked state is associated with unlocking the first portion of the map and compatibility data such that the first portion of the map the compatibility data may not be updated; and the locked state is associated with locking the first portion of the map and the compatibility data such that the first portion of the map and the compatibility data may be updated (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029 “Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area; In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”) (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”). With respect to claim 3, and similarly claim 23, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teach that the causing the update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with the second portion of the map is based at least on the update to the first portion of the map being complete (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029 “Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area; In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”) (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”) map (See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82 “FIG. 7 illustrates an example tile update method 700, according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The method 700 generally includes adding one or more new tiles to a versioned index, creating back pointers in the new tiles to existing data (e.g., pre-existing tiles and/or new tiles), adding back pointers in existing tiles to the new tiles, and updating the versioned index to identify the latest versions of tiles. In more detail, block 702 illustrates an example initial layout of a versioned tile index that includes sequential tiles A, B, C, and D. The tiles A-D may represent sequential geographic subregions along a route or path. Each of the tiles A-D includes a back pointer to a corresponding neighbor tile in one or both directions. For example, the tile A includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B, the Tile B includes a back pointer “a” to the tile A and a back pointer “c” to the tile C, the Tile C includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B and a back pointer “d” to the tile D, and the tile D includes a back pointer “c” to the tile C. The versioned index is shown in simplified form where each tile A-D includes one or two back pointers to one or two corresponding neighbors; more generally, however, each tile in the versioned index may include one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) back pointers to one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) neighbor tiles. Block 704 illustrates the addition of new tile versions to the versioned index. In particular, a new tile A′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile A while a new tile B′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile B. After the addition of new tiles to the versioned index, back pointers to existing data (e.g., a new tile or a pre-existing tile) may be added to each of the new tiles. For instance, a back pointer “b′” to the tile B′ may be added to the tile A′ while a back pointer “a′” to the tile A′ may be added to the tile B′. Block 706 illustrates the updating of back pointers in place and the updating of the latest index. In more detail, pre-existing tiles with back pointers to old tiles that have been updated to new tiles have the back pointers updated in place to point to the new tiles. In the example of FIG. 7 , the tile C is the only pre-existing tile with a back pointer to one of the new tiles, e.g., to new tile B′, so in the tile C the back pointer b of to the tile B is updated in place as back pointer b′ to the new tile B′. The latest index is then updated to include the new tiles A′ and B′ in place of the old tiles A and B. In FIG. 7 , tiles in the latest index, e.g., the latest validated version of each tile, are denoted by arrow boxes with no fill pattern. Tiles that are not in the latest index, e.g., because they have not been validated and/or they are an older version of a validated tile, are denoted in FIG. 7 by arrow boxes with a cross-hatch fill pattern. Thus, it can be seen in the example of FIG. 7 that the new tiles A′ and B′ are added to the latest index after being validated. New tiles may be considered validated when back pointers of any pre-existing tiles that pointed to the old tiles have been updated to point to the new tiles, among potentially other criteria.”). With respect to claim 21, Zhang teaches a system comprising: one or more processors comprising: determining to update a first portion of the map corresponding to an area of the environment (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 100-102 “In an optional implementation of this embodiment, before step S101, i.e., the step of locking the operation permissions for map data within the target operation area in the map update database, the method may further include the following steps: In response to a map update request, retrieve map data. Determine the collection range of the map data, which is the corresponding map coverage area in the map update database;”) ; causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, while the portion of the map is associated with the locked state, an update to the first portion of the map to occur (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-71“Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area;”) ; and based at least on the update to the first portion of the map being complete, causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 71-n0029 “In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”). Zhang, however, fails to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment; causing compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, based at least on the first portion of the map being updated and while the compatibility data is associated with the second state, the calibration data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map; causing the compatibility data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state; sending to a machine and based at least on the calibration data, map data representing at least the first portion of the map for use by the machine to navigate within the environment. Bhattacharjee teaches causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang to include causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state, as taught by Bhattacharjee as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map is switched from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and after the update to the first potion of the map being complete the compatibility data, in order to ensure accurate map updates (Bhattacharjee Paragraph 13 “The present invention satisfies this need, and presents a system, a computer program product, and an associated method (collectively referred to herein as “the system” or “the present system”) for providing, in a multidimensional clustering (MDC) environment, an approach for balancing concurrency and data stability while guarding against undesirable data contention results while avoiding undue locking overhead.”) . Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee, however, fail to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment and causing, based at least on the first portion of the map being updated and while the compatibility data is associated with the second state, the calibration data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map; sending to a machine and based at least on the calibration data, map data representing at least the first portion of the map for use by the machine to navigate within the environment. Collins teaches causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment (See at least Collins Paragraph 44 “The vehicle computing system 120 may be configured to perform various tasks including processing data collected by the sensors as well as map data received from the online HD map system 110 and/or the CDN 140. For example, the vehicle computing system 120 may-based on sensor data, map data, and/or other data-determine one or more of a current location of the corresponding vehicle 150, a route to travel from the current location to a destination, one or more neighbor map tiles that are compatible with a map tile for a geographic area that includes the current location, what objects are around the corresponding vehicle 150, whether such objects are moving or are likely to move, details of the road on which the corresponding vehicle 150 is travelling, a plan including a sequence of actions to take within a short time interval, control signals that may be sent to the vehicle controls 130 to execute the plan, etc. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to process data for sending to the online HD map system 110. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to request one or more neighbor map tiles from the CDN 140.”). causing the calibration data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map (See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82 “FIG. 7 illustrates an example tile update method 700, according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The method 700 generally includes adding one or more new tiles to a versioned index, creating back pointers in the new tiles to existing data (e.g., pre-existing tiles and/or new tiles), adding back pointers in existing tiles to the new tiles, and updating the versioned index to identify the latest versions of tiles. In more detail, block 702 illustrates an example initial layout of a versioned tile index that includes sequential tiles A, B, C, and D. The tiles A-D may represent sequential geographic subregions along a route or path. Each of the tiles A-D includes a back pointer to a corresponding neighbor tile in one or both directions. For example, the tile A includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B, the Tile B includes a back pointer “a” to the tile A and a back pointer “c” to the tile C, the Tile C includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B and a back pointer “d” to the tile D, and the tile D includes a back pointer “c” to the tile C. The versioned index is shown in simplified form where each tile A-D includes one or two back pointers to one or two corresponding neighbors; more generally, however, each tile in the versioned index may include one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) back pointers to one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) neighbor tiles. Block 704 illustrates the addition of new tile versions to the versioned index. In particular, a new tile A′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile A while a new tile B′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile B. After the addition of new tiles to the versioned index, back pointers to existing data (e.g., a new tile or a pre-existing tile) may be added to each of the new tiles. For instance, a back pointer “b′” to the tile B′ may be added to the tile A′ while a back pointer “a′” to the tile A′ may be added to the tile B′. Block 706 illustrates the updating of back pointers in place and the updating of the latest index. In more detail, pre-existing tiles with back pointers to old tiles that have been updated to new tiles have the back pointers updated in place to point to the new tiles. In the example of FIG. 7 , the tile C is the only pre-existing tile with a back pointer to one of the new tiles, e.g., to new tile B′, so in the tile C the back pointer b of to the tile B is updated in place as back pointer b′ to the new tile B′. The latest index is then updated to include the new tiles A′ and B′ in place of the old tiles A and B. In FIG. 7 , tiles in the latest index, e.g., the latest validated version of each tile, are denoted by arrow boxes with no fill pattern. Tiles that are not in the latest index, e.g., because they have not been validated and/or they are an older version of a validated tile, are denoted in FIG. 7 by arrow boxes with a cross-hatch fill pattern. Thus, it can be seen in the example of FIG. 7 that the new tiles A′ and B′ are added to the latest index after being validated. New tiles may be considered validated when back pointers of any pre-existing tiles that pointed to the old tiles have been updated to point to the new tiles, among potentially other criteria.”); sending to a machine and based at least on the calibration data, map data representing at least the first portion of the map for use by the machine to navigate within the environment (See at least Collins Paragraphs 97-99 “The method 900, at block 906, includes distributing the BLOBs to client devices through a CDN. In some embodiments, distributing the BLOBs to client devices through the CDN includes distributing the BLOBs through the CDN 140 of FIG. 1 In some implementations, the method 900 may further include generating and storing a tile manifest for at least one of the map tiles. Each tile manifest may include an index of content of the corresponding map tile and an identification of a corresponding geographic subregion of the area of the map covered by the map tile. An example tile manifest schema such as may be implemented in the method 900 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. The index of content of each tile manifest may include one or more pointers to the content, and at least one pointer of the one or more pointers may include a hash of a corresponding BLOB included in the content. Alternatively or additionally, the method 900 may further include generating a tile compatibility matrix that identifies for a given map tile one or more versions of one or more neighbor map tiles that are consistent with the given map tile. An example tile compatibility matrix schema such as may be implemented in the method 900 is illustrated in FIG. 8 . The method 900 may further include receiving a request from a client device for the tile compatibility matrix. The method 900 may further include, in response to receiving the request, sending the tile compatibility matrix to the client device. In an example, the tile compatibility matrix includes a 3×3 matrix. A middle entry of the 3×3 matrix may corresponds to the given map tile. Each surrounding entry of the 3×3 matrix may correspond to a different neighbor map tile of the given map tile. For example, the surrounding entries of the 3×3 matrix may include the four neighbor tiles immediately to the north, south, east, and west of the given map tile and/or the four neighbor tiles immediately to the northwest, northeast, southwest, and southeast of the given map tile. Each entry in the 3×3 matrix may include a tuple of a hash of the corresponding map tile, one or more pointers to one or more tile manifest versions of each neighbor map tile that is consistent with the corresponding map tile, and a pointer to content (e.g., payload) of the corresponding map tile.” | Paragraph 205 “The server(s) 1078 may receive, over the network(s) 1090 and from the vehicles, image data representative of images showing unexpected or changed road conditions, such as recently commenced roadwork. The server(s) 1078 may transmit, over the network(s) 1090 and to the vehicles, neural networks 1092, updated neural networks 1092, and/or map information 1094, including information regarding traffic and road conditions. The updates to the map information 1094 may include updates for the HD map 1022, such as information regarding construction sites, potholes, detours, flooding, and/or other obstructions. In some examples, the neural networks 1092, the updated neural networks 1092, and/or the map information 1094 may have resulted from new training and/or experiences represented in data received from any number of vehicles in the environment, and/or based on training performed at a datacenter (e.g., using the server(s) 1078 and/or other servers).”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee to include causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment causing the calibration data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map sending to a machine and based at least on the calibration data, map data representing at least the first portion of the map for use by the machine to navigate within the environment, as taught by Collins as disclosed above, such that the calibration data is indicated based at least on the first portion of the map being updated and while the compatibility data is associated with the second state, in order to ensure an accurate map across a plurality of tiles (Collins Paragraph 1 “This disclosure relates generally to organizing mapped regions into discretized, more easily distributable and consumable segments for autonomous systems and applications.”). With respect to claim 28, and similarly claim 30, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches that the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of: a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine (See at least Zhang Paragraph n0108 “In this optional implementation, after the map update server determines the target work area based on the map collection data, it locks the map data within the target area and sends the map data and map collection data within the target work area to the production work terminal. The automated work process implemented by the operators or machines on the production work terminal performs operations based on the map data within the target work area and the map collection data, such as adding roads and modifying road attribute fields.”) ; a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine; a system for performing one or more simulation operations; a system for performing one or more digital twin operations; a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets; a system for performing one or more deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot; a system for performing one or more conversational AI operations; a system implementing one or more large language models (LLMs);a system for performing one or more generative AI operations; a system for generating synthetic data; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources. With respect to claim 29, Zhang teaches a One or more processors comprising processing circuitry to: determining to update a first portion of the map corresponding to an area of the environment (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 100-102 “In an optional implementation of this embodiment, before step S101, i.e., the step of locking the operation permissions for map data within the target operation area in the map update database, the method may further include the following steps: In response to a map update request, retrieve map data. Determine the collection range of the map data, which is the corresponding map coverage area in the map update database;”) ; causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, while the portion of the map is associated with the locked state, an update to the first portion of the map to occur (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-71“Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area;”) ; and based at least on the update to the first portion of the map being complete, causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 71-n0029 “In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”). Zhang, however, fails to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment; causing compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state; causing, while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map; causing the compatibility data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state. Bhattacharjee teaches causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang to include causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and causing data associated with a first portion of data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state, as taught by Bhattacharjee as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data associated with the first portion of the map is switched from being associated with an unlocked state to being associated with a locked state and after the update to the first potion of the map being complete the compatibility data, in order to ensure accurate map updates (Bhattacharjee Paragraph 13 “The present invention satisfies this need, and presents a system, a computer program product, and an associated method (collectively referred to herein as “the system” or “the present system”) for providing, in a multidimensional clustering (MDC) environment, an approach for balancing concurrency and data stability while guarding against undesirable data contention results while avoiding undue locking overhead.”) . Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee, however, fail to explicitly disclose causing a machine to navigate within an environment based at least on a map of the environment and causing, while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map. Collins teaches causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment (See at least Collins Paragraph 44 “The vehicle computing system 120 may be configured to perform various tasks including processing data collected by the sensors as well as map data received from the online HD map system 110 and/or the CDN 140. For example, the vehicle computing system 120 may-based on sensor data, map data, and/or other data-determine one or more of a current location of the corresponding vehicle 150, a route to travel from the current location to a destination, one or more neighbor map tiles that are compatible with a map tile for a geographic area that includes the current location, what objects are around the corresponding vehicle 150, whether such objects are moving or are likely to move, details of the road on which the corresponding vehicle 150 is travelling, a plan including a sequence of actions to take within a short time interval, control signals that may be sent to the vehicle controls 130 to execute the plan, etc. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to process data for sending to the online HD map system 110. The vehicle computing system 120 may also be configured to request one or more neighbor map tiles from the CDN 140.”). causing an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map (See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82 “FIG. 7 illustrates an example tile update method 700, according to one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. The method 700 generally includes adding one or more new tiles to a versioned index, creating back pointers in the new tiles to existing data (e.g., pre-existing tiles and/or new tiles), adding back pointers in existing tiles to the new tiles, and updating the versioned index to identify the latest versions of tiles. In more detail, block 702 illustrates an example initial layout of a versioned tile index that includes sequential tiles A, B, C, and D. The tiles A-D may represent sequential geographic subregions along a route or path. Each of the tiles A-D includes a back pointer to a corresponding neighbor tile in one or both directions. For example, the tile A includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B, the Tile B includes a back pointer “a” to the tile A and a back pointer “c” to the tile C, the Tile C includes a back pointer “b” to the tile B and a back pointer “d” to the tile D, and the tile D includes a back pointer “c” to the tile C. The versioned index is shown in simplified form where each tile A-D includes one or two back pointers to one or two corresponding neighbors; more generally, however, each tile in the versioned index may include one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) back pointers to one or more (up to eight in some embodiments) neighbor tiles. Block 704 illustrates the addition of new tile versions to the versioned index. In particular, a new tile A′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile A while a new tile B′ is published in the versioned index as a new version of the tile B. After the addition of new tiles to the versioned index, back pointers to existing data (e.g., a new tile or a pre-existing tile) may be added to each of the new tiles. For instance, a back pointer “b′” to the tile B′ may be added to the tile A′ while a back pointer “a′” to the tile A′ may be added to the tile B′. Block 706 illustrates the updating of back pointers in place and the updating of the latest index. In more detail, pre-existing tiles with back pointers to old tiles that have been updated to new tiles have the back pointers updated in place to point to the new tiles. In the example of FIG. 7 , the tile C is the only pre-existing tile with a back pointer to one of the new tiles, e.g., to new tile B′, so in the tile C the back pointer b of to the tile B is updated in place as back pointer b′ to the new tile B′. The latest index is then updated to include the new tiles A′ and B′ in place of the old tiles A and B. In FIG. 7 , tiles in the latest index, e.g., the latest validated version of each tile, are denoted by arrow boxes with no fill pattern. Tiles that are not in the latest index, e.g., because they have not been validated and/or they are an older version of a validated tile, are denoted in FIG. 7 by arrow boxes with a cross-hatch fill pattern. Thus, it can be seen in the example of FIG. 7 that the new tiles A′ and B′ are added to the latest index after being validated. New tiles may be considered validated when back pointers of any pre-existing tiles that pointed to the old tiles have been updated to point to the new tiles, among potentially other criteria.”) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee to include causing a machine to navigate within an environment base at least on a map of the environment causing an update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with a second portion of the map, as taught by Collins as disclosed above, such that the update to the compatibility data occurs while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, in order to ensure an accurate map across a plurality of tiles (Collins Paragraph 1 “This disclosure relates generally to organizing mapped regions into discretized, more easily distributable and consumable segments for autonomous systems and applications.”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-7, and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 117149937 A) (“Zhang”) (Translation Attached) in view of Bhattacharjee (US 20040205066 A1) (“Bhattacharjee”) in view of Collins (US 20230332923 A1) (“Collins”) further in view of Pfeifle (US 20170122750 A1) (“Pfeifle”) . With respect to claim 4, and similarly claim 24, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches based at least on the update to the data being complete causing the data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins, however, fails to explicitly disclose causing, while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, a second update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is also compatible with a third portion of the map. Pfeifle teaches causing an update to the data to indicate that the portion of the map is compatible with one or more additional portions of the map (See at least Pfeifle FIG. 7 and Paragraph 50 “In some systems, all of the neighboring tiles that have references to tile 4712 may be recompiled. The references from the neighboring tiles to tile 4712 may point to an object list such as a list of road segments. As this list of road segments changes if new links are added or deleted, the references from the neighboring tiles are readjusted and, consequently, tiles 4711, 4713, 1033 and 1034 are re-computed. Although tiles 4713 and 1034 need to be recompiled, adjacent tile 1035 does not necessarily need to be r-compiled. If the link list of recompiled tiles in which no changes of the link geometry/topology took place, i.e. no links were added or deleted, does not change, then the tiles with references to them do not need to be r-compiled. This determination may be made by a compiler.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include causing an update to the data to indicate that the portion of the map is compatible with one or more additional portions of the map, as taught by Pfeifle as disclosed above, such that a second update to the compatibility data to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is also compatible with a third portion of the map while the compatibility data is associated with the locked state, in order to ensure an accurate map after an update (Pfeifle Paragraph 1 “The following disclosure relates to updating navigational map data, or more particularly, systems and algorithms for updating, applying, and checking version dependencies for hybrid navigation.”). With respect to claim 5, and similarly claim 25, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches causing the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with the unlocked state to being associated with the locked state; causing, while the portion of the map is associated with the locked state, an update to the portion of the map to occur; and based at least on the update to the portion of the map being complete, causing the portion of the map to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins fails to explicitly disclose determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment and that the second portion of the map is switched from the unlocked state to the locked state, updated, and switched from the locked state to the unlocked state. Pfeifle teaches determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment, as taught by Pfeifle as disclosed above, such that the second portion of the map is switched from the unlocked state to the locked state, updated, and switched from the locked state to the unlocked state, in order to ensure an accurate map after an update (Pfeifle Paragraph 1 “The following disclosure relates to updating navigational map data, or more particularly, systems and algorithms for updating, applying, and checking version dependencies for hybrid navigation.”). With respect to claim 6, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins in view of Pfeifle teach determining that the second portion of the map includes at least one border with the first portion of the map, wherein the determining the second portion of the map is based at least on the second portion of the map including the at least one border with the first portion of the map (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 35 “The tile data may be collected by a vehicle, or individual, driving routes in the real world. Tile data may also refer to data that when constituted together make up the map data for a region of a map such as a city, state, county, country, or some combination thereof. The tile data stored in the database 408 may be data related to one or more vehicles traveling along a route or routes. A user of the mobile device may indicate that they wish to receive routing data from point A to point B. The tile data may indicate whether or not road links between adjacent tiles are compatible with each other, and thus able to form a route when pieced together. Additionally, the version compatibility matrix may indicate that any tiles stored in the database 408 are compatible with each other.”). With respect to claim 7, and similarly claim 26, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches causing data associated with the first portion of the map to switch from being associated with the unlocked state to being associated with the locked state; and based at least on the update to the data being complete, causing the data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins, however, fails to explicitly disclose determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment; causing the data associated with the second portion of the map to switch from being associated with the unlocked state to being associated with the locked state, causing, while the data is associated with the locked state, an update to data to indicate that the second portion of the map is compatible with the portion of the map as updated. Pfeifle teaches determining, based at least on the portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”). causing, while the data is associated with the locked state, an update to data to indicate that the second portion of the map is compatible with the first portion of the map as updated ( See at least Pfeifle FIG. 7 and Paragraph 50 “In some systems, all of the neighboring tiles that have references to tile 4712 may be recompiled. The references from the neighboring tiles to tile 4712 may point to an object list such as a list of road segments. As this list of road segments changes if new links are added or deleted, the references from the neighboring tiles are readjusted and, consequently, tiles 4711, 4713, 1033 and 1034 are re-computed. Although tiles 4713 and 1034 need to be recompiled, adjacent tile 1035 does not necessarily need to be r-compiled. If the link list of recompiled tiles in which no changes of the link geometry/topology took place, i.e. no links were added or deleted, does not change, then the tiles with references to them do not need to be r-compiled. This determination may be made by a compiler.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment and causing, while the data is associated with the locked state, an update to data to indicate that the second portion of the map is compatible with the first portion of the map as updated, as taught by Pfeifle as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data associated with the second portion of the map to switch from being associated with the unlocked state to being associated with the locked state, updated, and switched from the locked state to the unlocked state, in order to ensure an accurate map after an update (Pfeifle Paragraph 1 “The following disclosure relates to updating navigational map data, or more particularly, systems and algorithms for updating, applying, and checking version dependencies for hybrid navigation.”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 117149937 A) (“Zhang”) (Translation Attached) in view of Bhattacharjee (US 20040205066 A1) (“Bhattacharjee”) in view of Collins (US 20230332923 A1) (“Collins”) further in view of Pfeifle (US 20170122750 A1) (“Pfeifle”) further in view of Li (CN 106933831 A1) (“Li”) (Translation Attached) With respect to claim 8, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teaches causing the update to the first portion of the map and the causing the update to the compatibility data (See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029) ( See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins fail to explicitly disclose a first update stage associate with the map, after the first update stage associated with the map, causing, during a second updating stage associated with the map, the second portion of the map and second compatibility data associated with the second portion of the map to switch from being associated with the u nlocked state to being associated with the locked state; causing, during the second update stage and while the second portion of the map and the second compatibility data are associated with the locked state, an update to the second portion of the map and an update to the second compatibility data to occur; and based at least on the update to the second portion of the map and the update to the second compatibility data being complete, causing the second portion of the map and the second compatibility data to switch from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state. Pfeifle teaches determining, based at least on the portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment (See at least Pfeifle Paragraph 69 “At act 1102, the processor 1002 or communication interface 1006 receives a routing request for routing data through a network 406. At act 1104, the processor 1002 identifies at least a path segment from the routing request. The path segment extends at least from a first map tile to a second map tile from the routing request.”). causing, while the data is associated with the locked state, an update to data to indicate that the second portion of the map is compatible with the first portion of the map as updated ( See at least Pfeifle FIG. 7 and Paragraph 50 “In some systems, all of the neighboring tiles that have references to tile 4712 may be recompiled. The references from the neighboring tiles to tile 4712 may point to an object list such as a list of road segments. As this list of road segments changes if new links are added or deleted, the references from the neighboring tiles are readjusted and, consequently, tiles 4711, 4713, 1033 and 1034 are re-computed. Although tiles 4713 and 1034 need to be recompiled, adjacent tile 1035 does not necessarily need to be r-compiled. If the link list of recompiled tiles in which no changes of the link geometry/topology took place, i.e. no links were added or deleted, does not change, then the tiles with references to them do not need to be r-compiled. This determination may be made by a compiler.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include determining, based at least on the first portion of the map, a second portion of the map corresponding to a second area of the environment and causing, while the data is associated with the locked state, an update to data to indicate that the second portion of the map is compatible with the first portion of the map as updated, as taught by Pfeifle as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data associated with the second portion of the map to switch from being associated with the unlocked state to being associated with the locked state, updated, and switched from the locked state to the unlocked state, in order to ensure an accurate map after an update (Pfeifle Paragraph 1 “The following disclosure relates to updating navigational map data, or more particularly, systems and algorithms for updating, applying, and checking version dependencies for hybrid navigation.”). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins in view of Pfeifle fails to explicitly disclose a first update stage and that the second update occurs after the first update stage. Li teaches causing an update after the portion of the map switches from being associated with the second state to being associated with the unlocked state (See at least Li Paragraph 96 “Locking means that users are not allowed to update the indoor map data. Unlocking means allowing users to update the indoor map data.” | Paragraphs 143-144 “The locking unit 135 is used to lock the indoor map data after the update operation receiving unit 130 receives the update operation sent by the user to update the indoor map data. The unlocking unit 155 is used to set the indoor map data to an unlocked state after the indoor map update data sending unit 150 sends the indoor map update data to the server.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins in view of Pfeifle to include causing an update after the portion of the map switches from being associated with the locked state to being associated with the unlocked state, as taught by Li as disclosed above, such that the second update occurs after the first update stage, in order to ensure accurate and efficient map updates (Li Paragraph 96 “By using locking and unlocking, confusion caused by performing multiple operations on a point of interest within a short period of time is prevented.”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 9-10 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 117149937 A) (“Zhang”) (Translation Attached) in view of Bhattacharjee (US 20040205066 A1) (“Bhattacharjee”) in view of Collins (US 20230332923 A1) (“Collins”) further in view of Gonopolskiy (US 20170322037 A1) (“Gonopolskiy”) . With respect to claim 9, and similarly claim 27, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teach determining that a first part of the portion of the map is proximate to a second part of the second portion of the map (See at least Collins FIG. 7) and causing the compatibility data to update to indicate that the first portion of the map as updated is compatible with the second portion of the map See at least Zhang FIG. 1 and Paragraphs 67-n0029 “Figure 1 shows a flowchart of a map updating method according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in Figure 1, this map update method includes the following steps: In step S101, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is locked; In step S102, the map data within the target work area in the map update database is updated; In step S103, map change data between the map data within the target work area before the update and the map data within the target work area after the update is determined; In step S104, map update data is pushed to the map publishing server; the map update data includes the map change data and the target work area; In step S105, the operation permission for map data within the target operation area in the map update database is unlocked. In this embodiment, the map update method can be executed by the map update server. As shown in Figure 2, in the existing technology, when map data needs to be updated in the target work area during the map update process, the map service scheduling system initiates a map update task. After receiving the map update task, the map update server locks the map data in the target work area in the map update database and sends the map collection data and the map data in the target work area to the production operation terminal. The production operation terminal performs production operations on the map data in the target work area and returns the map operation data to the map update server after completing the production operation. In some embodiments, the production operation end can be a map operation platform end, which can provide operation interfaces for map operators so that they can perform operations on the map. The operation platform end can also be a fully automated operation platform that performs operations on the map by running automated operation programs.”) (See at least Bhattacharjee FIG. 11 and Paragraphs 149-151 “This is illustrated in FIG. 11, which shows operation 1100 for scanning an MDC table 30 with isolation level RS. The MDC table 30 is initially locked IS (S1101). As a block is scanned it is locked IS (S1102). If the scan has any dimension predicates, it is determined whether the current block satisfies them (S1104). If predicates are satisfied or there aren't any block predicates, and it is determined that the block contains at least one row (S1106), the block is scanned, with each row in the block being locked (shared lock) prior to being scanned (S1112). If row predicates exist, it is determined whether the row qualifies (S1114), i.e. the row satisfies the row predicates. If not, the row is unlocked (S1118) and the scan of the block's rows continues (S1106). If the row predicates do qualify, or no row predicates exist, the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is checked (S1115). If the flag is set, it is known that at least one row has previously been found to qualify, the block lock has already been incremented. Consequently, the scan of the block continues (S1106). If the flag is not set, it is known that no row has previously been found to qualify. In this case, the duration of the block lock is incremented (S1116), the READ_BLOCK_KEPT flag is set (S1117), and the row remains locked as the scan of the block continues (S1106). Rows are processed in this manner until the end of the block is reached at which time the block is “unlocked”; i.e., its lock duration is decreased by one (S 1108). Notably, if any row in the block qualified predicates (or effectively qualified because no predicates exist) the block may remain locked even after it is “unlocked” in S1108 to reflect that fact. Further blocks in the MDC table 30 are processed similarly. If a block fails to qualify the block predicates (S1104), or the block qualifies block predicates but contains no qualifying rows (S1106), the block is unlocked (in this case fully, i.e. lock duration for this scan becomes zero) (S1108). The scan continues until the end of the MDC table 30 is reached (S1110). The table lock IS placed in S1101 at the beginning of operation 1100 is then removed (S1120) and operation 1100 is complete.”) map (See at least Collins FIG. 7 and Paragraphs 78-82) . Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins fail to explicitly disclose that the compatibility data is updated based at least on the part of the first portion of the map not being updated. Gonopolskiy teaches that the first portion of the map is not updated (See at least Gonopolskiy FIG. 8 and Paragraphs 77-78 “If it is determined at block 310 that map update information/data is not available for all of the two or more tiles sharing the boundary corresponding to the non-empty change set, then the previous map information/data provided as the old change set is used/displayed at block 314. For example, the old change set information/data may be used. In another example, the previous version of the map may be used. For example, the user apparatus 20 may use/display previous map information/data provided as the old change set. For example, the user apparatus may comprise means, such as a processor 22, user interface 28, and/or the like, for using/displaying the previous map information/data provided as the old change set for the two or more tiles sharing the boundary corresponding to the non-empty change set. In various embodiments, if a tile is a new map version tile and it shares a boundary with a previous version map tile that corresponds to a non-empty change set, the used/displayed tile is the new version map tile except for the links of the broken cluster that comprise the non-empty change set. For example, if tile A is a new version map tile and shares a boundary with previous version map tile B that corresponds to a non-empty change set, the old change set information/data may be used/displayed for the portion of tile A along the boundary between tile A and tile B. If tile A shares another boundary with new version map tile C, new change set information/data may be used/displayed along the boundary between tile A and tile C. Thus, the newest map information/data is used/displayed whenever it is possible to do so while keeping the map locally connected and functional.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include that the first portion of the map is not updated, as taught by Gonopolskiy as disclosed above, such that the compatibility data is updated based at least on the part of the first portion of the map not being updated, in order to ensure accurate map information between portions (Gonopolskiy Paragraph 1 “Example embodiments relate generally to partial map updates. In particular, example embodiments generally relate to the use of mixed-version map tiles in hybrid navigation for partial map updates.”). With respect to claim 10, Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins teach determining that a first part of the portion of the map is proximate to a second part of the second portion of the map (See at least Collins FIG. 7). Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins fail to explicitly disclose causing the second part of the second portion of the map to not update based at least on the first part of the first portion of the map not being updated. Gonopolskiy teaches causing the second part of the second portion of the map to not update based at least on the first part of the first portion of the map not being updated (See at least Gonopolskiy FIG. 8 and Paragraphs 77-78 “If it is determined at block 310 that map update information/data is not available for all of the two or more tiles sharing the boundary corresponding to the non-empty change set, then the previous map information/data provided as the old change set is used/displayed at block 314. For example, the old change set information/data may be used. In another example, the previous version of the map may be used. For example, the user apparatus 20 may use/display previous map information/data provided as the old change set. For example, the user apparatus may comprise means, such as a processor 22, user interface 28, and/or the like, for using/displaying the previous map information/data provided as the old change set for the two or more tiles sharing the boundary corresponding to the non-empty change set. In various embodiments, if a tile is a new map version tile and it shares a boundary with a previous version map tile that corresponds to a non-empty change set, the used/displayed tile is the new version map tile except for the links of the broken cluster that comprise the non-empty change set. For example, if tile A is a new version map tile and shares a boundary with previous version map tile B that corresponds to a non-empty change set, the old change set information/data may be used/displayed for the portion of tile A along the boundary between tile A and tile B. If tile A shares another boundary with new version map tile C, new change set information/data may be used/displayed along the boundary between tile A and tile C. Thus, the newest map information/data is used/displayed whenever it is possible to do so while keeping the map locally connected and functional.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Zhang in view of Bhattacharjee in view of Collins to include causing the second part of the second portion of the map to not update based at least on the first part of the first portion of the map not being updated, as taught by Gonopolskiy as disclosed above, in order to ensure accurate map information between portions (Gonopolskiy Paragraph 1 “Example embodiments relate generally to partial map updates. In particular, example embodiments generally relate to the use of mixed-version map tiles in hybrid navigation for partial map updates.”). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY whose telephone number is (571)272-5653. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faris Almatrahi can be reached at 313-446-4821. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 2 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 3 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 4 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 5 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 6 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 7 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 8 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 9 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 10 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 11 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 12 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 13 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 14 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 15 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 16 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 17 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 18 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 19 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 20 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 21 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 22 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 23 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 24 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 25 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 26 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 27 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 28 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 29 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 30 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 31 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 32 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 33 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 34 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 35 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 36 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 37 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 38 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 39 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 40 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 41 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 42 Art Unit: 3667 Application/Control Number: 18/538,593 Page 43 Art Unit: 3667