DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-18, in the reply filed on August 11, 2026, is acknowledged.
Newly submitted claims 25-26, are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: Claims 25-26, are directed to the using of a photosensitive coating, and claim 1 is a composition and is not limited to any particular process of using.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 25-26, are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by U. S. Patent No. 5,389,496 (hereinafter referred to as Calvert).
Calvert, in col 3, lines 45-68, and in col 4, discloses a coating of a substrate with a photosensitive material the coating includes metal, materials that comprise photoisomerizable ligating groups, precursors etc., wherein the precursor material enable ligand complexation via binding metals (claimed bridging ligand) (see col 7, lines 45-55), and in col 8, lines 1-47, Calvert discloses that the groups on the substrate that bind the metals (Ni or Pd) includes bipyridyl groups and bipyridine. Calvert, in col 7, lines 5-18, discloses that the groups present on the substrate includes photoisomerizable groups such as azobenzene and that thereby Calvert discloses coating a composition that comprises the same claimed components and possess the same claimed properties and include the components that undergo photoisomerization upon exposure, and in col 7, lines 18-29, Calvert, discloses that the transformations of the ligating groups present on the substrate such as azobenzene, occurs at the same claimed wavelengths (100-700nm) during exposure, and the exposure wavelengths include visible wavelengths, UV and X-ray i.e., Calvert’s photosensitive composition that comprises metal, ligands (bridging ligands) and photoisomerizable ligands such as azobenzene will inherently and necessarily transform in the claimed manner upon exposure to different wavelengths (claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, and 11-12).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9, and 11-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0221661 (hereinafter referred to as Bowles).
Bowles, in the abstract, in [0005], [0125], [0126], discloses that the photosensitive coating composition includes metals, photochromic material such as spirobenzopyran, fulgides etc., (see [0071]-[0077]) that display activated and unactivated states (claimed open and closed phase) upon irradiation ([0012], 100nm-800nm wavelength) of the photosensitive material that constitute the photosensitive coating, and is the same claimed photosensitive ligand, and ligands that formed metal complexes such bipyridine (see [0068], claimed N-donor linker) and is the same claimed photosensitive composition that comprises the same claimed components. Bowles, in [0125], discloses that the metal can be ferromagnetic or paramagnetic and includes Fe and transition metals (that are paramagnetic) (claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 11-12) Bowles, in [0052], discloses that the organic photochromic material in the photosensitive material composition undergoes activated and unactivated state and Bowles, in [0064], and [0071], discloses that the exposure of the composition to different wavelengths results in different responses i.e., at a first wavelength exposure the photochromic material in the photosensitive composition results in a first color, and upon exposure to a second wavelength the photosensitive composition displays a different color (second color) and is the same claimed photochemical transformation of two different states (claimed open and closed phase). Bowles, in [0052], discloses that the composition can demonstrate an activated and unactivated state based on the exposure wavelengths the composition was subjected to, and Bowles, in [0064], discloses that based on the irradiation wavelength a detectable response is generated in the photosensitive material such the wavelength emitted, or the wavelength of the radiation passing through the photosensitive material (radar or spectral signature), or the color displayed due to the irradiation or even the response to IR radiation ([0183]). Bowles, teaches in [0071], that photochromic material in the photosensitive coating is thermally reversible and are capable of switching from between a first and second state in response to actinic radiation and respond in the form of thermal energy (temperature profile, IR signature etc.) (claims 13-17). Bowles teaches the same claimed photosensitive composition and will inherently and necessarily possess the same claimed acoustic characteristics in its activated and unactivated (first and second state) (claim 18).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18, are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,629,654. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,629,654 fully encompasses claims 1-18 of the instant application.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sally A. Merkling can be reached on (571) 272-6297. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 October 28, 2026.