DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lan et al. (20230197554) in view of Horiuchi et al. (20010026010)
Regarding Claim 1, in Fig. 3, Lan et al. discloses a device comprising: a die 310 including: a set of contacts 312 coupled to a first side of the die; and active circuitry 310 coupled to the set of contacts; a thermal interposer layer (TIL) 344 adjacent to the first side of the die, the TIL including a thermally conductive material having one or more though hole vias (THVs) aligned with one or more first contacts of the set of contacts; and a set of conductive connectors 332 that are coupled to the one or more first contacts and that extend through the THVs. Lan et al. fails to disclose the newly added limitation of first thermal interface material (TIM) filling gaps between the set of conductive connectors and the thermally conductive material of the TIL. However, Horiuchi discloses a semiconductor packaging structure where the required limitation is disclosed in paragraphs 0086 and 0091 and in Figs. 4-10 as elements 21/29/30 (please compare the paragraph 0049 of the instant application as published (20250201662) to paragraphs 0086 and 0091 of Horiuchi in terms of materials)
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the required filling material in Lan et al. as taught by Horiuchi et al in order to have thermal conduction/dissipation through the matching materials. (i.e. the materials of the instant application and Horiuchi match to each other)
With respect to the newly added limitations in claim 1, such limitations are disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0040,0041 and 0042 where alumina/ceramic material 144 has a thermal conductivity 30-40 W/mK which is greater than molding material’s (element 134) thermal conductivity around 1.3 W/mK. Please schedule for an interview for further explanation. Examiner is readily available for an interview.
Regarding Claim 2, in Lan et al, in Figs 1-3, wherein the TIL is between the die and the package substrate, and wherein a conductive connector of the set of conductive connectors extends through the thermally conductive material via a THV of the one or more THVs to couple a first contact of the one or more first contacts to a second contact of the second set of contacts
Regarding Claim 3, in Lan et al., in Lan et al., at least one THV of the one or more THVs has an oblong cross-section.
Regarding Claim 4, in Lan et al., in Lan et al, one conductive connector of the set of conductive connectors 332 corresponds to a non-circular thermal bar that extends through the at least one THV having the oblong cross-section.
Regarding Claim 5, in Lan et al, at least one THV of the one or more THVs has a substantially circular cross-section.
Regarding Claim 6, in Lan et al., in paragraph 0036, at least one of the set of conductive connectors includes copper. Further see paragraphs 0086 and 0091 of Horiuchi for materials.
Regarding Claim 7, in Lan et al., in paragraphs 0032 and 035, the thermally conductive material includes alumina ceramic.
Regarding Claim 8, in Lan et al, in paragraphs 0046 and 0048, the thermally conductive material includes aluminum nitride.
Regarding Claim 9, in Lan et al, in paragraphs 0030 and 0031 the thermally conductive material includes silicon carbide (SiC).
Regarding Claim 10, in Lan et al, in paragraphs 0031 and 0032, the die corresponds to a chiplet that is separated from a package substrate by the TIL.
Regarding Claim 11, in paragraphs 0031 and 0032 of Lan et al, a second chiplet that is separated from the package substrate by a second TIL.
Regarding Claim 12, in Lan et al, TIL dissipates heat from the die.
Regarding Claim 13, in Lan et al,: a heat sink; and thermal interface material (TIM) adjacent to a second side of the die that is opposite the first side, wherein the second TIM is between the heat sink and the die.
Regarding Claim 14, in Lan et al, in paragraphs 0059, 0061 and 0062, a high-bandwidth memory (HBM) module including a set of second conductive connectors that extend through the HBM module and that are aligned with the set of conductive connectors.
Regarding Claim 15, Lan discloses method of fabrication comprising: forming a thermal interposer layer (TIL) 344 including a thermally conductive material having one or more through hole vias (THVs); forming a set of conductive connectors 332 that are coupled to one or more first contacts of a die, the die including a set of contacts coupled to a first side of the die, wherein the die includes active circuitry coupled to the set of contacts, and wherein the set of contacts includes the one or more first contacts; and attaching the TIL to the die with the set of conductive connectors extending through the one or more THVs to couple to the one or more first contacts. Lan et al. fails to disclose the newly added limitation of first thermal interface material (TIM) filling gaps between the set of conductive connectors and the thermally conductive material of the TIL. However, Horiuchi discloses a semiconductor packaging structure where the required limitation is disclosed in paragraphs 0086 and 0091 and in Figs. 4-10 as elements 21/29/30 (please compare the paragraph 0049 of the instant application as published (20250201662) to paragraphs 0086 and 0091 of Horiuchi in terms of materials)
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the required filling material in Lan et al. as taught by Horiuchi et al in order to have thermal conduction/dissipation through the matching materials. (i.e. the materials of the instant application and Horiuchi match to each other)
With respect to the newly added limitations in claim 1, such limitations are disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0040,0041 and 0042 where alumina/ceramic material 144 has a thermal conductivity 30-40 W/mK which is greater than molding material’s (element 134) thermal conductivity around 1.3 W/mK. Please schedule for an interview for further explanation. Examiner is readily available for an interview.
Regarding Claim 16, in Lan, filling gaps between the set of conductive connectors and the thermally conductive material.
Regarding Claim 17, in Lan, forming solder bumps 338 on the set of conductive connectors; and electrically connecting one or more second contacts of a package substrate to the solder bumps.
Regarding Claim 18, in Lan, at least one THV of the one or more THVs has an oblong cross-section.
Regarding Claim 19, in Lan, at least one conductive connector of the set of conductive connectors corresponds to a non-circular thermal bar that extends through the at least one THV having the oblong cross-section.
Regarding Claim 20, in Lan, at least one THV of the one or more THVs has a substantially circular cross-section.
Regarding Claim 21, in Lan, in paragraphs 0030.0035 and 0036, at least one of the set of conductive connectors includes copper.
Regarding Claim 22, in paragraphs 0032 and 0035 of Lan, the thermally conductive material includes alumina ceramic.
Regarding Claim 23, in Lan, the thermally conductive material includes aluminum nitride.
Regarding Claim 24, in Lan, the thermally conductive material includes silicon carbide (SiC).
Regarding Claim 25, in Lan, the die corresponds to a chiplet that is separated from a package substrate by the TIL.
Regarding Claim 26, in Lan, wherein the TIL dissipates heat from the die.
Regarding Claim 27, Lan disclose a device comprising: a first chiplet including: a first set of contacts coupled to a first side of the first chiplet; and first active circuitry coupled to the first set of contacts; a first thermal interposer layer (TIL) 344 adjacent to the first side of the first chiplet, the first TIL including first thermally conductive material having one or more first though hole vias (THVs) aligned with one or more first contacts of the first set of contacts; a first set of conductive connectors 332 that are coupled to the one or more first contacts and that extend through the first THVs; and a package substrate including a set of substrate contacts, one or more first substrate contacts of the set of substrate contacts coupled to the first set of conductive connectors.
Lan et al. fails to disclose the newly added limitation of first thermal interface material (TIM) filling gaps between the set of conductive connectors and the thermally conductive material of the TIL. However, Horiuchi discloses a semiconductor packaging structure where the required limitation is disclosed in paragraphs 0086 and 0091 and in Figs. 4-10 as elements 21/29/30 (please compare the paragraph 0049 of the instant application as published (20250201662) to paragraphs 0086 and 0091 of Horiuchi in terms of materials)
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the required filling material in Lan et al. as taught by Horiuchi et al in order to have thermal conduction/dissipation through the matching materials. (i.e. the materials of the instant application and Horiuchi match to each other)
With respect to the newly added limitations in claim 1, such limitations are disclosed in Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0032, 0033, 0035, 0036, 0040,0041 and 0042 where alumina/ceramic material 144 has a thermal conductivity 30-40 W/mK which is greater than molding material’s (element 134) thermal conductivity around 1.3 W/mK. Please schedule for an interview for further explanation. Examiner is readily available for an interview.
Regarding Claim 28, in paragraphs 0031 and 0032 of Lan it is disclosed a second chiplet including: a second set of contacts coupled to a second side of the second chiplet; and second active circuitry coupled to the second set of contacts; a second TIL adjacent to the second side of the second chiplet, the second TIL including second thermally conductive material having one or more second THVs aligned with one or more second contacts of the second set of contacts; and a second set of conductive connectors that are coupled to the one or more second contacts and that extend through the second THVs, one or more second substrate contacts of the set of substrate contacts coupled to the second set of conductive connectors.
Regarding Claim 29, in Lan, a first THV of the one or more first THVs has an oblong cross-section.
Regarding Claim 30, in Lan, a first conductive connector of the first set of conductive connectors corresponds to a non-circular thermal bar that extends through the first THV.
Examiner is including following 3 pertinent prior art references that are not relied upon on this rejection but that disclose thermal interface structure with high thermal conductivity for interface heat dissipation for semiconductor packages
Lee et al. 20210272880
Wan et al. 20210118756
Nootens et al. 20220278021
Conclusion
/FAZLI ERDEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 9/5/2026