DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mounting bracket of claims 9 and 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because reference number 19 does not point to anything portion of the Figure (Fig. 4G). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: [0083] discloses mounting bracket 23, 23 is not in the Figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 11032943 B2) in view of Gordon (US 20230091814 A1) and L’Ecuyer (US 20240276680 A1).
As to Claim 1, Li discloses:
A liquid-cooled cabinet (heat dissipation apparatus 100, see Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an inner liner (container 10) having an open accommodation chamber (accommodation space 11) internally provided with a flow equalizing plate (deflector 137), wherein a coolant cavity (diversion channel 1353) for coolant injection is formed between the flow equalizing plate 137 and a bottom surface (bottom plate 111) of the accommodation chamber 11 (1353 between 137 and 111), the flow equalizing plate 137 is provided with multiple rows of first through-holes (deflector holes 1371) for a coolant to pass through (col. 3, Lines 36-38 “When the coolant liquid overflows the diversion channel 1353, the coolant liquid overflows upward through the deflector hole 1371”), space above each row of the first through-holes 1371 is configured for deploying an electronic device 200 (200 disposed above holes 1371 in space 11; col. 2, Lines 8-10 “The plurality of heat-generating electrical devices 200 can be installed inside of the container 10 and can be submerged in the coolant liquid”), and a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
at least one liquid inlet 127 arranged on a first sidewall and a second sidewall (side plates 113) of the inner liner 10 (see Figs. 1-2, inlet 127 disposed on both sides 113), wherein a drainage portion 138 is arranged on a bottom of the first sidewall 113 and a bottom of the second sidewall 113 (col. 3, Lines 25-26 “The restriction box 138 is fixedly disposed on the second side plate 113 and covers the liquid inlet 127”), a splitter cavity 136 is arranged below the drainage portion 138 (136 disposed below 138, see Fig. 3), a top surface of the splitter cavity 136 is flush with the flow equalizing plate 137 (136 flush with 1353, 137 flush with 1353), the liquid inlet 127 leads to the drainage portion 138 (col. 3, Lines 25-26 “The restriction box 138 is fixedly disposed on the second side plate 113 and covers the liquid inlet 127”), and the first sidewall 113 and the second sidewall 113 are two opposite sidewalls of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 2, Lines 19-20 “the two second side plates 113 are oppositely disposed”);
at least one liquid outlet 128 arranged on the first sidewall 113 and the second sidewall 113 (see Figs. 1-2, outlet 128 disposed on both sides 113), wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet;
a backwater cavity (liquid outlet portion 134) arranged on the first sidewall and the second sidewall (134 corresponds to both outlets 128 on second side plates 113) and keeping away from the drainage portion 138 (134 separate from 138), wherein an inlet 1391 of the backwater cavity 134 is positioned in upper space of the accommodation chamber 10 (opening 1391 of guide groove 139 disposed in upper portion of 10; opening 1391 extends to top of 10), an outlet 140 of the backwater cavity 134 is connected to the liquid outlet 128 (col. 4, Lines 55-62 “The guide pipe 140 covers the first liquid outlet 128, and the first liquid outlet 128, the guide pipe 140, and the guide groove 139 communicate with each other. When the liquid level of the coolant liquid is higher than the guide groove 139, the coolant liquid will be discharged from the container 10 through the guide groove 139, the guide pipe 140, and the first liquid outlet 128”), and the upper space is space above the electronic device 200 (region between 200 and top of 10); and
a top cap (cover plate 30) covering an opening 15 of the accommodation chamber 11 (col. 2, Lines 12-15 “The container 10 defines a first opening 15, one end of the cover plate 30 is movably connected to the bracket 20 and can cover the first opening 15 of the container 10”).
Li does not disclose:
a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet.
However, Gordon discloses:
a main body of the electronic device (electronic equipment 20; see Figs. 1-2) is provided with a second through-hole (screens 27, Fig. 2), such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device 20 through the second through-hole 27 (Par. 0022 “The electronic equipment 20 may include upper and lower screens 27 configured to allow the flow of dielectric fluid 322 from the immersion coolant tank 310 to flow in and out thereof”; “Alternatively, or additionally, the screens 27 may be included on all or part of the lateral sides of the electronic equipment 20, such as a lower portion of the lateral sides to take advantage of cooler dielectric fluid flowing near the bottom of the immersion coolant tank 310”);
in order to provide cooler dielectric fluid from the bottom of the immersion tank to the internal region of the electronic equipment (Par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li as further suggested by Gordon e.g., providing:
a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
in order to provide cooler dielectric fluid to the internal region of the electronic equipment.
Further, L’Ecuyer discloses:
wherein a position of the liquid outlet (fluid outlet 32) is higher than a position of the liquid inlet (fluid inlet 30; Par. 0017 “fluid outlet 32 may be positioned above fluid inlet 30, where having fluid inlet 30 and fluid outlet 32 vertically spaced and/or aligned may improve efficient use of space within tank 20”);
in order to improve efficient use of space within the tank 20 (Par. 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon as further suggested by L’Ecuyer e.g., providing:
wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet;
in order to improve efficient use of space within the tank/liner.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 2, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer discloses:
wherein a first guide bar 143 is arranged on a third sidewall (side plates 112) of the accommodation chamber 10, and a second guide bar 143 is arranged on a fourth sidewall (side plates 112) of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 4, Lines 6-8 “The support member 143 is used to carry the electronic devices 200. In the embodiment, the support member 143 is disposed on a surface of the first side plate 112”; Li), the first guide bar 143 and the second guide bar 143 being configured to guide the electronic device 200 to enter the accommodation chamber 10 (143 guide/carry electronic devices 200), the third sidewall 112 and the fourth sidewall 112 being two opposite sidewalls of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 2, Lines 18-19 “The two first side plates 112 are oppositely disposed”; Li).
As to Claim 10, Li discloses:
A data center computer room comprising a computer room and a liquid-cooled cabinet (heat dissipation apparatus 100, see Figs. 1-3), wherein the liquid-cooled cabinet 100 comprises:
an inner liner (container 10) having an open accommodation chamber (accommodation space 11) internally provided with a flow equalizing plate (deflector 137), wherein a coolant cavity (diversion channel 1353) for coolant injection is formed between the flow equalizing plate 137 and a bottom surface (bottom plate 111) of the accommodation chamber 11 (1353 between 137 and 111), the flow equalizing plate 137 is provided with multiple rows of first through-holes (deflector holes 1371) for a coolant to pass through (col. 3, Lines 36-38 “When the coolant liquid overflows the diversion channel 1353, the coolant liquid overflows upward through the deflector hole 1371”), space above each row of the first through-holes 1371 is configured for deploying an electronic device 200 (200 disposed above holes 1371 in space 11; col. 2, Lines 8-10 “The plurality of heat-generating electrical devices 200 can be installed inside of the container 10 and can be submerged in the coolant liquid”), and a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
at least one liquid inlet 127 arranged on a first sidewall and a second sidewall (side plates 113) of the inner liner 10 (see Figs. 1-2, inlet 127 disposed on both sides 113), wherein a drainage portion 138 is arranged on a bottom of the first sidewall 113 and a bottom of the second sidewall 113 (col. 3, Lines 25-26 “The restriction box 138 is fixedly disposed on the second side plate 113 and covers the liquid inlet 127”), a splitter cavity 136 is arranged below the drainage portion 138 (136 disposed below 138, see Fig. 3), a top surface of the splitter cavity 136 is flush with the flow equalizing plate 137 (136 flush with 1353, 137 flush with 1353), the liquid inlet 127 leads to the drainage portion 138 (col. 3, Lines 25-26 “The restriction box 138 is fixedly disposed on the second side plate 113 and covers the liquid inlet 127”), and the first sidewall 113 and the second sidewall 113 are two opposite sidewalls of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 2, Lines 19-20 “the two second side plates 113 are oppositely disposed”);
at least one liquid outlet 128 arranged on the first sidewall 113 and the second sidewall 113 (see Figs. 1-2, outlet 128 disposed on both sides 113), wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet;
a backwater cavity (liquid outlet portion 134) arranged on the first sidewall and the second sidewall (134 corresponds to both outlets 128 on second side plates 113) and keeping away from the drainage portion 138 (134 separate from 138), wherein an inlet 1391 of the backwater cavity 134 is positioned in upper space of the accommodation chamber 10 (opening 1391 of guide groove 139 disposed in upper portion of 10; opening 1391 extends to top of 10), an outlet 140 of the backwater cavity 134 is connected to the liquid outlet 128 (col. 4, Lines 55-62 “The guide pipe 140 covers the first liquid outlet 128, and the first liquid outlet 128, the guide pipe 140, and the guide groove 139 communicate with each other. When the liquid level of the coolant liquid is higher than the guide groove 139, the coolant liquid will be discharged from the container 10 through the guide groove 139, the guide pipe 140, and the first liquid outlet 128”), and the upper space is space above the electronic device 200 (region between 200 and top of 10); and
a top cap (cover plate 30) covering an opening 15 of the accommodation chamber 11 (col. 2, Lines 12-15 “The container 10 defines a first opening 15, one end of the cover plate 30 is movably connected to the bracket 20 and can cover the first opening 15 of the container 10”).
Li does not disclose:
a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet.
However, Gordon discloses:
a main body of the electronic device (electronic equipment 20; see Figs. 1-2) is provided with a second through-hole (screens 27, Fig. 2), such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device 20 through the second through-hole 27 (Par. 0022 “The electronic equipment 20 may include upper and lower screens 27 configured to allow the flow of dielectric fluid 322 from the immersion coolant tank 310 to flow in and out thereof”; “Alternatively, or additionally, the screens 27 may be included on all or part of the lateral sides of the electronic equipment 20, such as a lower portion of the lateral sides to take advantage of cooler dielectric fluid flowing near the bottom of the immersion coolant tank 310”);
in order to provide cooler dielectric fluid from the bottom of the immersion tank to the internal region of the electronic equipment (Par. 0022).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li as further suggested by Gordon e.g., providing:
a main body of the electronic device is provided with a second through-hole, such that the coolant enters the main body of the electronic device through the second through-hole;
in order to provide cooler dielectric fluid to the internal region of the electronic equipment.
Further, L’Ecuyer discloses:
wherein a position of the liquid outlet (fluid outlet 32) is higher than a position of the liquid inlet (fluid inlet 30; Par. 0017 “fluid outlet 32 may be positioned above fluid inlet 30, where having fluid inlet 30 and fluid outlet 32 vertically spaced and/or aligned may improve efficient use of space within tank 20”);
in order to improve efficient use of space within the tank 20 (Par. 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon as further suggested by L’Ecuyer e.g., providing:
wherein a position of the liquid outlet is higher than a position of the liquid inlet;
in order to improve efficient use of space within the tank/liner.
Regarding the preamble, “A data center computer room comprising a computer room and a liquid-cooled cabinet”, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“where a patentee defines a structurally complete invention in the claim body and uses the preamble only to state a purpose or intended use for the invention, the preamble is not a claim limitation”); Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d at 152, 88 USPQ2d at 480-81.
In the instant case, the term “A data center computer room comprising a computer room” can be broadly interpreted because the claims do not set forth the overall size/dimensions of the room or details of the room. Thus " A data center computer room comprising a computer room” is being interpreted as a room/area capable of housing competing elements/electronics and a cooling structure. Thus, the limitation “A data center computer room comprising a computer room” merely recite the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Accordingly, the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction.
Further, if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
In the instant case, the prior art heat dissipation apparatus of Li is capable of being in a computing room of a datacenter.
Additionally, all claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined/modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination/modification would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S.___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
As to Claim 11, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer discloses:
wherein a first guide bar 143 is arranged on a third sidewall (side plates 112) of the accommodation chamber 10, and a second guide bar 143 is arranged on a fourth sidewall (side plates 112) of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 4, Lines 6-8 “The support member 143 is used to carry the electronic devices 200. In the embodiment, the support member 143 is disposed on a surface of the first side plate 112”; Li), the first guide bar 143 and the second guide bar 143 being configured to guide the electronic device 200 to enter the accommodation chamber 10 (143 guide/carry electronic devices 200), the third sidewall 112 and the fourth sidewall 112 being two opposite sidewalls of the accommodation chamber 10 (col. 2, Lines 18-19 “The two first side plates 112 are oppositely disposed”; Li).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 11032943 B2) in view of Gordon (US 20230091814 A1) and L’Ecuyer (US 20240276680 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 11 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (US 20230042343 A1).
As to Claim 3, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer does not disclose:
wherein a first mounting plate is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, a second mounting plate is arranged on the fourth sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are respectively provided with a mounting hole; when the electronic device is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, a nut on the electronic device is locked with the mounting hole.
However, Hashimoto discloses:
wherein a first mounting plate (fixing portions 100; see Fig. 5) is arranged on the third sidewall (inner wall 90A; Fig. 3-5) of the accommodation chamber (inner structure 88; Par. 0058 “the fixing portions 100 are formed by bent pieces formed at upper end portions of the inner walls 90”), a second mounting plate 100 is arranged on the fourth sidewall 90B of the accommodation chamber 88 (fixing portions 100 on wall 90B), the first mounting plate 100 and the second mounting plate 100 are respectively provided with a mounting hole 104; when the electronic device 32 is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar (rails 94, correspond to 143 of Li), a nut 84 on the electronic device 32 is locked with the mounting hole 104 (Par. 0060 “the panel fasteners 84 are disposed so as to be coaxial with the respective screw holes 104. By screwing screw portions of the panel fasteners 84 into the screw holes 104, the flanges 76 are fixed to the fixing portions 100. Also, when the flanges 76 are fixed to the fixing portions 100, the electronic device 32 is fixed to the tank body 24 by using the housing unit 28”);
in order to fix the electronic device to the housing unit (Par. 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer as further suggested by Hashimoto e.g., providing:
wherein a first mounting plate is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, a second mounting plate is arranged on the fourth sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are respectively provided with a mounting hole; when the electronic device is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, a nut on the electronic device is locked with the mounting hole;
in order to fix the electronic device to the housing unit/accommodation chamber.
As to Claim 12, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer does not disclose:
wherein a first mounting plate is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, a second mounting plate is arranged on the fourth sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are respectively provided with a mounting hole; when the electronic device is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, a nut on the electronic device is locked with the mounting hole.
However, Hashimoto discloses:
wherein a first mounting plate (fixing portions 100; see Fig. 5) is arranged on the third sidewall (inner wall 90A; Fig. 3-5) of the accommodation chamber (inner structure 88; Par. 0058 “the fixing portions 100 are formed by bent pieces formed at upper end portions of the inner walls 90”), a second mounting plate 100 is arranged on the fourth sidewall 90B of the accommodation chamber 88 (fixing portions 100 on wall 90B), the first mounting plate 100 and the second mounting plate 100 are respectively provided with a mounting hole 104; when the electronic device 32 is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar (rails 94, correspond to 143 of Li), a nut 84 on the electronic device 32 is locked with the mounting hole 104 (Par. 0060 “the panel fasteners 84 are disposed so as to be coaxial with the respective screw holes 104. By screwing screw portions of the panel fasteners 84 into the screw holes 104, the flanges 76 are fixed to the fixing portions 100. Also, when the flanges 76 are fixed to the fixing portions 100, the electronic device 32 is fixed to the tank body 24 by using the housing unit 28”);
in order to fix the electronic device to the housing unit (Par. 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon and L’Ecuyer as further suggested by Hashimoto e.g., providing:
wherein a first mounting plate is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, a second mounting plate is arranged on the fourth sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are respectively provided with a mounting hole; when the electronic device is inserted in place under a guidance of the first guide bar and the second guide bar, a nut on the electronic device is locked with the mounting hole;
in order to fix the electronic device to the housing unit/accommodation chamber.
Claims 4-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 11032943 B2) in view of Gordon (US 20230091814 A1), L’Ecuyer (US 20240276680 A1) and Hashimoto (US 20230042343 A1) as applied to claims 3 and 12 above, and further in view of Li (CN 214545184 U).
As to Claim 4, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer and Hashimoto does not disclose:
wherein a flow baffle is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the flow baffle being arranged behind the first mounting plate to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit of the electronic device.
However, Li discloses:
wherein a flow baffle (wire channel 30b; see Fig. 2) is arranged on the third sidewall (11; corresponds to 112 of Li) of the accommodation chamber (inside of cabinet 10; Par. 0091 “a second wire channel 30b can be provided between the cable management frame 20b and the outer surface of the first sidewall 11”), the flow baffle 30a being arranged behind the first mounting plate (arranged behind side wall 11, therefore behind 143 of Li) to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit (PDU 130) of the electronic device 110 (provides a barrier between liquid within cabinet 10 and the PDU 30, disposed outside of cabinet, but within cabinet shell 50);
in order to provide a fixed support for cable management frame and guide power cables from electronic devices to PDU 130 (Par. 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer and Hashimoto as further suggested by Li e.g., providing:
wherein a flow baffle is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the flow baffle being arranged behind the first mounting plate to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit of the electronic device;
in order to provide a fixed support for cable management frame and guide power cables from electronic devices to PDU.
As to Claim 5, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a filling block (portion of 136 directly below 138 of Li ‘943) arranged between the drainage portion 138 and the backwater cavity 134 (region of 136 directly below 138 is fluidly between 138 and 134 of Li ‘943).
As to Claim 6, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a first protective element (first bracket 21 of Li ‘943) formed by welding metal tubes and sleeved on an outer edge of the inner liner 10 (col. 4, Lines 14-17 “The first bracket 21 and the second bracket 22 are rectangular bodies with edges formed by square tubes. The first bracket 21 is used to carry and receive the container 10”), wherein a metal tube comprised in a first sidewall of the first protective element 21 forms a gap allowing the liquid inlet 127 and the liquid outlet 128 to stretch out, and a metal tube comprised in a second sidewall of the first protective element 21 forms a gap allowing the liquid inlet 127 and the liquid outlet 128 to stretch out (see Figs. 1-2, 127 and 128 stretch out on both sides from 21 via openings in bracket 21; Li ‘943).
As to Claim 7, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a second protective element (second bracket 22; Li ‘943) sleeved on an outer edge of the first protective element (col. 4, Lines 21-22 “The second bracket 22 is used to receive the first bracket 21 and the container 10”), a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the second protective element being circular metal tubes (col. 4, Lines 23-24 “the first bracket 21 and the second bracket 22 may be metal pipe outer frames”).
Li, Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li do not explicitly disclose:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element being metal plates.
However, Li ‘184 further discloses:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element (walls of cabinet shell 50; Par. 0097 “The outer shell of the rack 50 is fitted onto the outside of the rack body 10”) being metal plates (see case law below);
in order to protect the components and improve the overall appearance of the cabinet (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li as further suggested by Li ‘184 e.g., providing:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element being metal plates;
in order to protect the components and improve the overall appearance of the cabinet.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to Claim 8, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
wherein the top cap (30 of Li ‘943) comprises a cap body (body of 30) and a reinforcer (lock member 33) fitting with each other (33 disposed on 30), the cap body is exposed to air (top of 30 exposed to air), the reinforcer 33 faces towards the coolant in the accommodation chamber 10 (when in closed position, lock 33 faces down and toward inside of container 10), and a visible window (transparent plate 32) is arranged on the top cap 30 (col. 4, Lines 27-28 “a transparent plate 32 is embedded in the cover plate 30”; Li ‘943).
As to Claim 9, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
wherein the inlet of the backwater cavity (134 of Li ‘943) is provided with a mounting bracket configured for mounting a liquid level meter (depth gauge 142; 142 mounted/fixed on 113, indirectly mounted/fixed to 134 via 113; Li ‘943).
As to Claim 13, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer and Hashimoto does not disclose:
wherein a flow baffle is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the flow baffle being arranged behind the first mounting plate to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit of the electronic device.
However, Li discloses:
wherein a flow baffle (wire channel 30b; see Fig. 2) is arranged on the third sidewall (11; corresponds to 112 of Li) of the accommodation chamber (inside of cabinet 10; Par. 0091 “a second wire channel 30b can be provided between the cable management frame 20b and the outer surface of the first sidewall 11”), the flow baffle 30a being arranged behind the first mounting plate (arranged behind side wall 11, therefore behind 143 of Li) to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit (PDU 130) of the electronic device 110 (provides a barrier between liquid within cabinet 10 and the PDU 30, disposed outside of cabinet, but within cabinet shell 50);
in order to provide a fixed support for cable management frame and guide power cables from electronic devices to PDU 130 (Par. 0091).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer and Hashimoto as further suggested by Li e.g., providing:
wherein a flow baffle is arranged on the third sidewall of the accommodation chamber, the flow baffle being arranged behind the first mounting plate to prevent the coolant from entering a power supply unit of the electronic device;
in order to provide a fixed support for cable management frame and guide power cables from electronic devices to PDU.
As to Claim 14, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a filling block (portion of 136 directly below 138 of Li ‘943) arranged between the drainage portion 138 and the backwater cavity 134 (region of 136 directly below 138 is fluidly between 138 and 134 of Li ‘943).
As to Claim 15, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a first protective element (first bracket 21 of Li ‘943) formed by welding metal tubes and sleeved on an outer edge of the inner liner 10 (col. 4, Lines 14-17 “The first bracket 21 and the second bracket 22 are rectangular bodies with edges formed by square tubes. The first bracket 21 is used to carry and receive the container 10”), wherein a metal tube comprised in a first sidewall of the first protective element 21 forms a gap allowing the liquid inlet 127 and the liquid outlet 128 to stretch out, and a metal tube comprised in a second sidewall of the first protective element 21 forms a gap allowing the liquid inlet 127 and the liquid outlet 128 to stretch out (see Figs. 1-2, 127 and 128 stretch out on both sides from 21 via openings in bracket 21; Li ‘943).
As to Claim 16, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
a second protective element (second bracket 22; Li ‘943) sleeved on an outer edge of the first protective element (col. 4, Lines 21-22 “The second bracket 22 is used to receive the first bracket 21 and the container 10”), a first sidewall and a second sidewall of the second protective element being circular metal tubes (col. 4, Lines 23-24 “the first bracket 21 and the second bracket 22 may be metal pipe outer frames”).
Li, Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li do not explicitly disclose:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element being metal plates.
However, Li ‘184 further discloses:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element (walls of cabinet shell 50; Par. 0097 “The outer shell of the rack 50 is fitted onto the outside of the rack body 10”) being metal plates (see case law below);
in order to protect the components and improve the overall appearance of the cabinet (Par. 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the related art(s) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li as further suggested by Li ‘184 e.g., providing:
a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall of the second protective element being metal plates;
in order to protect the components and improve the overall appearance of the cabinet.
Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
As to Claim 17, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
wherein the top cap (30 of Li ‘943) comprises a cap body (body of 30) and a reinforcer (lock member 33) fitting with each other (33 disposed on 30), the cap body is exposed to air (top of 30 exposed to air), the reinforcer 33 faces towards the coolant in the accommodation chamber 10 (when in closed position, lock 33 faces down and toward inside of container 10), and a visible window (transparent plate 32) is arranged on the top cap 30 (col. 4, Lines 27-28 “a transparent plate 32 is embedded in the cover plate 30”; Li ‘943).
As to Claim 18, the obvious modification of Li in view of Gordon, L’Ecuyer, Hashimoto and Li discloses:
wherein the inlet of the backwater cavity (134 of Li ‘943) is provided with a mounting bracket configured for mounting a liquid level meter (depth gauge 142; 142 mounted/fixed on 113, indirectly mounted/fixed to 134 via 113; Li ‘943).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shah (US 20230225076 A1), Matsumoto (US 20180084671 A1) and McManis (US 20220151097 A1) disclose immersion cooling modules.
/MATTHEW SINCLAIR MUIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2835