CTNF 18/538,984 CTNF 91297 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Title 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (see MPEP § 606.01). This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: “Light emitting display device having a Multi-Sided Light-Shielding Pattern for Light Emission Control ” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Regarding claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the emission area” in line(s) 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “an emission area”. Thus, the examiner recommends amending the limitation to “[[the]] an emission area”. Further regarding claim 1, the claim recites “with respect to a plane”. This phrase is likely intended to mean “in a plan vie” or “from a top-down perspective”. Thus, the “with respect to a plane” creates ambiguity. If the plane is not defined (e.g. “a plane parallel to the substrate”), the geometric relationship is indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “x-y plane parallel to a surface of the substrate” as disclosed in [0062] of the SPEC. Thus, the examiner recommends amending the limitation to “with respect to a plane parallel to a top surface of the substrate ”. Regarding claim 2, the claim recites the limitation “the plurality of sub pixels” in line(s) 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “a plurality of sub pixels”. Thus, the examiner recommends amending the limitation to “[[the]] a plurality of sub pixels”. Regarding claim 13, the claim recites the limitation “the overlapping emission area” in line(s) 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “overlapping emission area between the second light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern and the second edge of the emission area” as recited in the claim 12. Thus, the examiner recommends amending the claim 13 to “13. The light emitting display device according to claim [[11]] 12 , wherein a center of the lens with respect to the plane is closer to the first direction than a center of [[the]] overlapping emission area between the second light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern and the second edge of the emission area ”. Regarding claims 2-21, because of their dependency on claim 1, these claims are also rejected for the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 8, 14-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Choi (US 20160064694) . Regarding claim 1. Fig 1 (a cross-sectional view of OLED display), Fig 2 (a cross-sectional view of OLED device layer) and Fig 3 (a plan of OLED display) of Choi disclose A light emitting display device [0034], comprising: a substrate 10 [0050], a sub pixel ([0052]: P1/P2/P3) on the substrate (Fig 1); a light emitting diode (Fig 1, [0049]: OLED in 20) within the sub pixel; a light shielding pattern 51 [0059] on the light emitting diode and enclosing a part of the emission area of the light emitting diode with respect to a plane (Fig 1: refer to ‘OP1’); and a lens 60/70 [0058] which is on the light shielding pattern, the lens corresponding to the emission area, the lens refracting light from the emission area (Fig 1). Regarding claim 2. Choi discloses The light-emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting diode comprising: an anode 210 [0053] disposed on the substrate and disposed so as to correspond to each of the plurality of sub pixels (Fig 2); an emission layer 220 [0053] disposed on the anode (Fig 2); a cathode disposed 230 [0053] on the emission layer (Fig 2); an encapsulation layer 30 [0049] disposed on the cathode (Fig 1/Fig 2); wherein the light shielding pattern is disposed on the encapsulation layer (Fig 1). Regarding claim 3. Choi discloses The light-emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the light shielding pattern has a shape partially surrounding edges of the emission area with respect to the plane (Fig 3: Choi discloses completely surrounding edges, thus, inherently includes all limitations of the "partial" of the claim. Accordingly, Choi teaches the claim 3). Regarding claim 8. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the emission area has a quadrangular shape with respect to the plane (Fig 3) and wherein the emission area includes: a first edge (left edge) and a third edge (right edge) which extend in a first direction (D1) and are parallel to each other (Fig 3); and a second edge (top edge) and a fourth edge (bottom edge) which extend in a second direction (D2) perpendicular to the first direction and are parallel to each other (Fig 3), and the light shielding pattern includes a first light shielding unit (the portion of 51 on the first edge) parallel to the first edge, a second light shielding unit (the portion of 51 on the second edge) parallel to the second edge, and a third light shielding unit (the portion of 51 on the third edge) parallel to the third edge (Fig 3). Regarding claim 14. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein a first distance between a first side surface of the emission area and a side surface of the lens adjacent to the first side surface of the emission area is different from a second distance between a second side surface which is an opposite side surface of the first side surface of the emission area and a second side surface of the lens adjacent to the second side surface of the emission area (Fig 3: Choi discloses a square shape of pixel and the lens is locate on the center area. And the first distance between a center of left vertical portion in the left side and the lens is shorter than the second distance between the upper corner of the right vertical portion in the right side and the lens). Regarding claim 15. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 14, wherein the first side surface of the lens overlaps the first light shielding unit and the second side surface of the lens does not overlap the light shielding pattern (Fig 3: Choi discloses two lens 60/70. The lens 60 overlaps the first light shielding unit and further the lens 70 does not overlap the light shielding pattern). Regarding claim 16. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 15, wherein the first distance is shorter than the second distance (Fig 3: Choi discloses a square shape of pixel and the lens is locate on the center area. And the first distance between a center of left vertical portion in the left side and the lens is shorter than the second distance between the upper corner of the right vertical portion in the right side and the lens). Regarding claim 17. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the lens is a half-cylindrical lens (Fig 1). Regarding claim 18. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 17, wherein at least three edges of the lens overlap the light shielding pattern with respect to the plane (Fig 1/Fig 3: refer to the lens 60). Regarding claim 19. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1, further comprising: a light shielding member enclosing the lens (Fig 3). Regarding claim 21. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1, further comprising; an optical gap layer between the light shielding pattern and the lens (Fig 1/Fig 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4-7, 9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20160064694) in view of Xu (US 20160283001) . Regarding claim 4. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1. But Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein the light shielding pattern has a shape which is open in a first direction with respect to the plane and encloses the other edges excluding one edge of the emission area corresponding to the first direction. However, Xu discloses the light shielding pattern 11 has a shape (U-shape when viewed form right, because one side if not covered, which means ‘open’ edge) which is open in a first direction with respect to the plane and encloses the other edges excluding one edge of the emission area corresponding to the first direction (Fig 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Choi’s device to have the Xu’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced transmittance of the touch display device, but also simplifying process steps, reducing the production cost and improving the production efficiency [0045]. Regarding claim 5. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 4, Xu discloses wherein the light shielding pattern has a U shape which is open in the first direction (Fig 3: when viewed from the right side). Regarding claim 6. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 5, Choi discloses wherein the light shielding pattern is spaced apart from the emission area with a selected interval with respect to the plane (Fig 1/Fig 3). Regarding claim 7. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 1. But Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein the emission area has a quadrangular shape with respect to the plane and the light shielding pattern has a shape enclosing the remaining edges excluding one edge. However, Xu discloses the emission area (R/G/B) has a quadrangular shape with respect to the plane and the light shielding pattern 11 has a shape enclosing the remaining edges excluding one edge (Fig 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Choi’s device to have the Xu’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced transmittance of the touch display device, but also simplifying process steps, reducing the production cost and improving the production efficiency [0045]. Regarding claim 9. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein the second light shielding unit is coupled to the first light shielding unit and the third light shielding unit (Fig 3). But Choi does not explicitly disclose the light shielding pattern has a shape in which a portion corresponding to the fourth edge of the emission area is open. However, Xu discloses the light shielding pattern has a shape (U-shape, because one side if not covered, which means ‘open’ edge) in which a portion corresponding to the fourth edge of the emission area is open (Fig 3). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Choi’s device to have the Xu’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced transmittance of the touch display device, but also simplifying process steps, reducing the production cost and improving the production efficiency [0045]. Regarding claim 10. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 9, Xu discloses wherein an interval between the second light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern and the second edge of the emission area is smaller than an interval between the first light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern (Fig 3 of Xu discloses rectangular shape of pixels, which shows vertical width is substantially greater than horizontal width in each pixel. Thus, the interval between the vertical portion 11 and another vertical portion of 11 in adjacent pixel is essentially smaller than the interval between top horizontal portion of 11 and another top horizontal portion of 11 in the adjacent pixel). Regarding claim 11. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 10, Xu discloses wherein the first edge of the emission area is smaller than an interval between the third light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern and the third edge of the emission area (Fig 3 of Xu discloses rectangular shape of pixels, which show vertical width is substantially greater than horizontal width in each pixel. Thus, the interval between the vertical portion 11 and another vertical portion of 11 in adjacent pixel is essentially smaller than the interval between bottom horizontal portion of 11 and another bottom horizontal portion of 11 in the adjacent pixel). Regarding claim 12. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 9, Choi discloses wherein the second light shielding unit of the light shielding pattern overlaps the second edge of the emission area (Fig 1/Fig 3). Regarding claim 13. Choi in view of Xu discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 11, Choi discloses wherein a center of the lens with respect to the plane is closer to the first direction than a center of the overlapping emission area (Fig 3: because the lens is located in the center area whereas the shielding shout located on the edge of the emission area). Regarding claim 20. Choi discloses The light emitting display device according to claim 19. But Choi does not explicitly disclose wherein the light shielding member is a touch electrode. However, Xu disclose wherein the light shielding member 11 is a touch electrode [0034]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Choi’s device to have the Xu’s structure for the purpose of providing enhanced transmittance of the touch display device, but also simplifying process steps, reducing the production cost and improving the production efficiency [0045]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Changhyun Yi whose telephone number is (571)270-7799. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday: 8A-4P. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached on 571-272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/538,984 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/538,984 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812