DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Note: The amendment of June 17th 2026 has been considered.
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 2-5 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 6-18 are pending in the current application.
Claims 6-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 1 is examined in the current application.
Any rejections not recited below have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In light of the amendments filed on June 17th 2026, the obviousness rejections of claims 1-5 under USC §103 have been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 USC §103 over in view of Matsuno et al., (WO 2022/114234 A1) in view of Witteveen et al., (USPatPub. 2021/0045409 A1) (see discussion, below).
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuno et al., (WO 2022/1143234 A1) in view of Witteveen et al., (USPatPub. 2021/0045409 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Matsuno discloses a fat composition comprising encapsulated edible oil/fats to be injected/combined into meat substitutes to have the texture of, and appear as, marbleized meat (see Matsuno top of page 1 and page 31). Matsuno discloses the encapsulated edible fat may comprise stabilizers, excipients (i.e., granular material containing oil or fat) (see Matsuno bottom four paragraphs on page 5) and that the encapsulation is comprises alginate (i.e., an edible crosslinkable polymer) that is crossed linked with a divalent or a trivalent metal cations (see Matsuno bottom three paragraphs on page 6 to fifth paragraph on page 7), but fails to disclose the dimensions and recited in the claim; However, Witteveen discloses meat substitute compositions where granulated oils/fats (fats with gelled carbohydrates) are incorporated and injected into the meat substitute to mimic the appearance and texture of real marbleized meat (see Witteveen abstract and paragraphs [0004]-[0025]). Witteveen also discloses figures depicting the meat substitute products where the incorporated granulated oils/fat are lumps that appear to have the shape and/or the dimensional ratios recited in claim 1 (see Witteveen figures 1a, 1b and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have modified Matsuno and to have incorporated the encapsulated oils/fats into the meat substitute with the claimed shape and dimensional ratios, in order to attain a substitute meat product that has the appearance and texture of real marbleized meat, and thus arrive at the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendments filed on June 17th 2026, the obviousness rejections of claims 1-5 under USC §103 have been withdrawn; However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 USC §103 over in view of Matsuno et al., (WO/2022114234 A1) in view of Witteveen et al., (USPatPub. 2021/0045409 A1) (see discussion, above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792
/ERIK KASHNIKOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792