Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0313617 to Yushin (“Yushin”).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7-11, 14-16 Yushin discloses lithium-ion batteries comprising anode, cathode, separator and electrolyte that may be used in modules that power electronic devices. Yushin at paragraph [0046]. The anode, separator, and cathode are stacked in that order and rolled to form a traditional jellyroll electrode assembly. Id. at paragraph [0048]. In some embodiments, Yushin discloses using layered current collectors for both anode and cathode where an inner polymeric core is coated on both sides by a metal. For the cathode, the metal chosen is aluminum, and its thickness may range from 0.1-4 microns and the polymer support has a thickness of 2-12 microns. Id. at paragraph [0129]. Positive electrode active material is applied to the cathode collector and negative electrode active material is applied to the anode collector.
The electrolyte system of Yushin includes LiPF6 salt in addition to one or more other salts. In particular, the combination of LiPF6 and LiFSI (lithium bis(fluorosulfonyl) imide – corresponding to x = 1 and R1 and R2 each a fluorine atom) in a 1:1 ratio are disclosed as being beneficial. Although percentage amounts of each salt in the electrolyte are not disclosed, the Office finds that absent a showing of unexpected results choice of salt amount is within the ordinary skill in the art to ensure an electrolyte having sufficient ion transport properties while maintaining viscosity and other required properties.
Further regarding claim 6, although Yushin does not disclose a bonding force between its polymer and metal the Office notes that Yushin discloses similar materials as those used by Applicant. Moreover, Yushin discloses that a challenge of layered collector/active material systems in jelly roll structures is delamination due to the need to roll into/against a tight radius. Thus, Yushin discloses a reason to ensure the bonding force between the support and metal are sufficient, and because the materials are similar to those used by Applicant, it is found that the claimed range is achievable.
Further regarding claim 12 and 13, Yushin discloses that other salts may be included in the electrolyte composition, including the additives listed in claim 12 (see at least difluorophosphate and difluorooxalate borate), where the amount is considered to be nothing more than the result of routine experimentation to balance the desired properties (freezing point, melting point, viscosity, ionic conductivity, etc.) of the electrolyte solution. Id. at paragraph [0136].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 and 7-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,424,618. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because although no single claim of the ‘618 overlaps completely with a pending claim, all subject matter claimed in the present claims is claimed in various combinations in the claims of the ‘618 patent.
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1727