DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 1, line 5, the word “referemce” should be replaced with the word --reference--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mosing et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0262341), hereinafter “Mosing”.
With respect to Claim 1, Mosing, Figures 1-12, teaches a clamp for holding a flexible slender structure comprising:
- a housing 10 with a through hole 11, where the through hole 11 comprises a tapered section (See Figure 9A), and
- a gripping element 12 arranged in the tapered section of the through hole 11, movable in the axial direction of the through hole, where the gripping element has an outer surface facing the walls of the through hole 11 and an inner surface configured to grip the flexible slender structure, and where a movement of the gripping element in the axial direction in the through hole causes a radial movement of at least a part of the gripping element.
With respect to Claim 2, Mosing further teaches actuating means initiating movement of the gripping element in the axial direction in the through hole. See Paragraph [0035].
With respect to Claim 3, Mosing further teaches where the actuating means comprises at least one hydraulic cylinder arranged in a first end portion of the housing comprising an opening for the through hole and being connected to the gripping element. See Paragraph [0035], line 12.
With respect to Claim 4, Mosing further teaches where the friction between the outer surface of the gripping element and the housing is lower than the friction between the inner surface of the gripping element and the flexible slender structure when the flexible slender structure is held by the clamp.
With respect to Claim 5, Mosing further teaches where the inner surface of the gripping element comprises a number of protrusions configured to penetrate or deform the surface of the flexible slender structure. (See Figure 9A).
With respect to Claim 6, Mosing further teaches where the gripping element is removable and replaceable.
With respect to Claim 7, Mosing further teaches where a blocking element 920 is arranged in the through hole for limiting the axial movement of the gripping element.
With respect to Claim 8, Mosing further teaches where the blocking element 920 is movable and can be fixed in different positions along the central axis of the through hole, thereby providing an adjustable grip force.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 6-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Powell (U.S. Patent No. 3,675,278).
With respect to Claim 1, Powell, Figures 1-2, teaches a clamp for holding a flexible slender structure comprising:
- a housing 10 with a through hole 18, where the through hole 18 comprises a tapered section (See Column 2, line 22), and
- a gripping element 37,38 arranged in the tapered section of the through hole 11, movable in the axial direction of the through hole, where the gripping element has an outer surface facing the walls of the through hole 18 and an inner surface configured to grip the flexible slender structure, and where a movement of the gripping element in the axial direction in the through hole causes a radial movement of at least a part of the gripping element.
With respect to Claim 2, Powell further teaches actuating means initiating movement of the gripping element in the axial direction in the through hole. See Paragraph [0035].
With respect to Claim 4, Powell further teaches where the friction between the outer surface of the gripping element and the housing is lower than the friction between the inner surface of the gripping element and the flexible slender structure when the flexible slender structure is held by the clamp.
With respect to Claim 6, Powell further teaches where the gripping element is removable and replaceable.
With respect to Claim 7, Powell further teaches where a blocking element 17 is arranged in the through hole for limiting the axial movement of the gripping element.
With respect to Claim 9, Powell further teaches where the housing comprises at least two housing parts 25 which can be locked together by locking means 33.
With respect to Claim 10, Powell further teaches where the two housing parts 25 are connected by a hinged connection. See Column 2, lines 8-10.
With respect to Claim 11, Powell further teaches where the locking means are bolts 32.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell as applied to Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Mosing et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0262341), hereinafter “Mosing”.
With respect to Claim 3, Powell is advanced above.
Powell teaches all the elements of the clamp except for
where the actuating means comprises at least one hydraulic cylinder arranged in a first end portion of the housing comprising an opening for the through hole and being connected to the gripping element.
However, Mosing teaches where the actuating means comprises at least one hydraulic cylinder arranged in a first end portion of the housing comprising an opening for the through hole and being connected to the gripping element. See Paragraph [0035], line 12.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide at least one hydraulic cylinder for the gripping element, as taught by Mosing, for the purpose of increasing the gripping force that would not be able to be achieved by manual force.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Powell as applied to Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-7, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Brown (U.S. Patent No. 3,748,702).
With respect to Claim 5, Powell is advanced above.
Powell teaches all the elements of the clamp except for
where the inner surface of the gripping element comprises a number of protrusions configured to penetrate or deform the surface of the flexible slender structure.
However, Brown, Figures 1-2, teaches where the inner surface of the gripping element comprises a number of protrusions 14 configured to penetrate or deform the surface of the flexible slender structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use protrusions, as taught by Brown, because such would increase the grip on the material and would avoid slippage of the material while being gripped.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/WILLIAM A. RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654