DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Assefa ( USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 20 11/0049655 , hereinafter Assefa ) in view of Yakabe (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 201 6/ 0197268 , hereinafter Yakabe ). Re claim 1 Assefa discloses in Fig 9 a magnetoresistive random access memory[ 0013] (MRAM), comprising: a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) having a reference layer(722/718) , a free layer(722/718) and a tunnel barrier(720)[0017] disposed between the reference layer(722/718) and the free layer(722/718) ; and a bottom electrode(208) being centrally disposed to be located within a periphery(414) of the MTJ. Assefa does not disclose a bottom electrode( 208) being centrally disposed to be located within a periphery(414) of the MTJ, the bottom electrode(208) having sloped sidewalls that slope inwardly to connect to the MTJ. Yakabe discloses in Fig 20 the bottom electrode ( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) having sloped sidewalls that slope inwardly to connect to the MTJ (13/14/15)[0028 of Yakabe ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yakabe to the teachings of Assefa in order to minimize damage [ 0007 , Yakabe ]. In doing so, a bottom electrode( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) being centrally disposed to be located within a periphery(414) of the MTJ(13/14/15)[0028 of Yakabe ], Re claim 2 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 1, wherein the sloped sidewalls define a volume, the volume being filled with a dielectric material ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 3 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 1, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) is disposed within a dielectric layer and the dielectric layer extends to the periphery(414) of the MTJ. Re claim 4 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 3, wherein the dielectric layer is free of the bottom electrode( 208) outside the periphery(414) . Re claim 5 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 1, wherein the sloped sidewalls form an acute angle with a bottom portion of the bottom electrode( 208) . Re claim 6 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 1, wherein the sloped sidewalls include a concave profile ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 7 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 1, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) includes at least two layers of conductive material. Re claim 8 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 7, wherein the at least two layers of conductive material include at least two layers of different conductive materials ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 9 Assefa discloses in Fig 9 a magnetoresistive random access memory[0013] (MRAM), comprising: a metal cap(Cu trench104/106)[0014] ; a bottom electrode(208) having sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016] ; and a magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) having a reference layer(722/718) , a free layer(722/718) and a tunnel barrier(720)[0017] disposed between the reference layer(722/718) and the free layer(722/718) , the MTJ having a periphery(414) (since 414 borders this may be interpreted as a pheriphery ) ; the bottom electrode(208) being centrally disposed to be located within the periphery(414) , Assefa does not disclose a bottom electrode( 208) having sloped sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016] , the sloped sidewalls sloping inwardly to connect to the MTJ and outwardly to connect to the metal cap(Cu trench104/106)[0014]. Yakabe discloses in Fig 20 a bottom electrode( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) having sloped sidewalls, the sloped sidewalls sloping inwardly to connect to the MTJ(13/14/15)[0028 of Yakabe ] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yakabe to the teachings of Assefa in order to minimize damage [0007, Yakabe ]. In doing so, a bottom electrode( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) having sloped sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016], the sloped sidewalls (19A/12 of Yakabe ) sloping inwardly to connect to the MTJ(13/14/15)[0028 of Yakabe ] and outwardly to connect to the metal cap(Cu trench104/106)[0014]. Re claim 10 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 9, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) is disposed within a dielectric layer and the dielectric layer extends to the periphery(414) of the MTJ. Re claim 11 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 10, wherein the dielectric layer is free of the bottom electrode( 208) outside the periphery(414) . Re claim 12 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 10, wherein the sloped sidewalls of the bottom electrode( 208) are connected at a bottom portion of the bottom electrode(208) . Re claim 13 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 10, wherein the sloped sidewalls include a concave profile ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 14 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 10, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) includes at least two layers of conductive material. Re claim 15 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 14, wherein the at least two layers of conductive material include at least two layers of different conductive materials ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 16 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 10, wherein the sloped sidewalls form an acute angle with a bottom portion of the bottom electrode( 208) . Re claim 17 Assefa discloses in Fig 9 a magnetoresistive random access memory[ 0013] (MRAM), comprising: a bottom electrode(208) on a metal cap(Cu trench104/106)[0014] , the bottom electrode(208) having sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016] , the bottom electrode(208) being centrally disposed on the metal cap(Cu trench104/106)[0014] Assefa does not disclose the bottom electrode( 208) having sloped sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016] , the bottom electrode(208) having sloped sidewalls sloping inwardly to connect to a ferromagnetic layer. Yakabe discloses in Fig 20 the bottom electrode( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) having sloped sidewalls sloping inwardly to connect to a ferromagnetic layer [0176] . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Yakabe to the teachings of Assefa in order to minimize damage [0007, Yakabe ]. In doing so, the bottom electrode( 19A/12 of Yakabe ) having sloped sidewalls that define a dielectric-filled volume[0016], Re claim 18 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 17, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) is disposed within a dielectric layer and the dielectric layer extends to a periphery(414) of the ferromagnetic layer, the dielectric layer being free of material of the bottom electrode(208) outside the periphery(414) . Re claim 19 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 17, wherein the sloped sidewalls include a concave profile ( Fig 20 of Yakabe ) . Re claim 20 Assefa and Yakabe disclose the MRAM as recited in claim 17, wherein the bottom electrode( 208) includes at least two layers of conductive material. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT PATRICIA D VALENZUELA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9242 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 10am-6pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT William Partridge can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1402 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812