Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the gradient region". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai (20230369439).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches an field effect transistor comprising:
a source (par. 92); a drain (par. 92); a semiconductor (par. 92) extending between the source and the drain;
a gate (par. 92) located over the semiconductor; and
a gate stack (par. 92) formed between the semiconductor material and the gate, the gate stack including a dielectric layer (fig. 8D: 12) abutting the semiconductor material, and a diffusion barrier layer (fig. 8D: 10) abutting the gate, the gate stack including a gradient region between the dielectric layer and the diffusion barrier (please see fig. 8D which shows the oxygen gradient region between 10 and 12)
wherein the stoichiometry of the materials in the gradient region changes from the stoichiometry of the dielectric material to the stoichiometry of the diffusion barrier (please see fig. 8D which shows the oxygen gradient region between 10 and 12).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 1 wherein the change in stoichiometry in the gradient region is substantially monotonic (please see fig. 8D).
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 1 wherein the diffusion barrier also serves as an adhesion layer for the gate (the material taught in par. 111 are known to have adhesive properties).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 1 wherein the materials in the gradient region have stoichiometric ratios in the form of XOiNj where X is the base material, Oi is the oxygen content and Nj is the nitrogen content (par. 111).
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 4 wherein the base material X is hafnium (par. 111).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 4 wherein the base material X is zirconium (par. 111).
Regarding claim 7, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 1 wherein the semiconductor is tin oxide (par. 117).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches an transistor of claim 1 wherein the semiconductor is IGZO (par. 117).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by O'Meara (20070077701).
Regarding claim 9, O'Meara teaches an gate stack for use in a field effect transistor (par. 16) having a source (par. 116: 113), a drain (par. 116: 114) a semiconductor (par. 116: 112) connecting the source and the drain and having a gate (par. 116: 117) located over the semiconductor, comprising:
a dielectric material (fig. 3C: 304b) abutting the semiconductor;
a diffusion barrier (fig. 3C: 304a) abutting the gate; and
a gradient material between the dielectric material and the diffusion barrier, the gradient region comprising a graded transition between the dielectric material and the diffusion barrier to reduce stressed between the dielectric material and the diffusion barrier (par. 24-41 teaches 304a is expected to act as a good diffusion barrier between the gate electrode material and the non-etched portion 304b).
NOTE: Please see 112 rejection above.
Regarding claim 10, O'Meara teaches an gate stack of claim 9 where the dielectric material has the form of XO, the diffusion barrier has the form XN and the gradient material has the form XO.sub.iN.sub.j, where i decreases and j increases in the gradient region, from the region adjacent the dielectric material to the region adjacent the diffusion barrier (par. 24-41 teaches this).
Regarding claim 11, O'Meara teaches an gate stack of claim 10 wherein X is hafnium (par. 24-41 teaches this material).
Regarding claim 12, O'Meara teaches an gate stack of claim 11 wherein the diffusion barrier also acts as an adhesion layer for the gate (as taught in par. 24-41, the materials taught are known to have adhesive properties).
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818