DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 09/15/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2023-012299 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2009/0093117A1).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi teaches a bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] (50 comprising bound components) comprising:
a non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] having a first (bottom) surface and a second (top) surface opposite to the first (bottom) surface;
and at least one conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086] formed in the non-conductive layer (22), wherein the conductive pad (23) comprises:
a vertical pattern portion (VPP) extending from the first surface (top of 22) to the second surface (bottom of 22) in the non-conductive layer (22); and
at least one volume compensation portion (VCP) formed on a sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP) (see annotated fig. 11 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower region (LR) )][AltContent: textbox (Middle region (MR))][AltContent: textbox (Upper region (UR))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (VPP[img-media_image1.png])][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VCP)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 11 of Taguchi
Regarding claim 2, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 1. Taguchi also teaches wherein the vertical pattern portion (VPP) and the volume compensation portion (VCP) comprise the same conductive material (23) fig. 11 [0085-0086] (see annotated fig. 11 above), and the vertical pattern portion (VPP) and the volume compensation portion (VCP) is a single uniform body without any detectable boundary between them (23 shown as single piece of material).
Regarding claim 3, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 1. Taguchi also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP) (see annotated fig. 11 above) is formed on the entire (both right and left) sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP).
Regarding claim 4, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 3. Taguchi also teaches wherein a surface of the volume compensation portion (VCP) (see annotated fig. 11 above) facing the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] has an at least partially uneven structure (“scalloping shape (where fine unevenness is repeatedly formed)” [0084 Taguchi]).
Regarding claim 5, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 3. Taguchi also teaches wherein a surface of the volume compensation portion (VCP) (see annotated fig. 11 above) facing the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] has a bow (“scallop”) [0084] structure.
Regarding claim 6, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 1. Taguchi also teaches wherein each of the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] and the conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086] comprises an upper region (UR) adjacent to (beside) the first surface (top of 22) of the non-conductive layer (22) and a lower region (LR) adjacent to (beside) the second surface (bottom of 22) of the non-conductive layer (22) (see annotated fig. 11 above).
Regarding claim 7, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 6. Taguchi also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP) (see annotated fig. 11 above) is positioned in at least one (both) of the upper region (UR) and the lower region (LR) in the conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086].
Regarding claim 8, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 6. Taguchi also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP) (see annotated fig. 11 above) is formed in the upper region (UR) and the lower region (LR) of the conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086], and the volume compensation portion (VCP) in the upper region (UR) of the conductive pad (23) has a shape (quarter-circle) different from a shape (semi-circle) of the volume compensation portion (VCP) in the lower region (LR) of the conductive pad (23).
Regarding claim 9, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 6. Taguchi also teaches wherein each of the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] and the conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086] further comprises a middle region (MR) between the upper region (UR) and the lower region (LR), and the volume compensation portion (VCP) is positioned in at least one of the upper region (UR), the middle region (MR) and the lower region (LR) (see annotated fig. 11 above).
Regarding claim 11, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 1. Taguchi also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP) is positioned at an upper sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP) which is located at the first (top) surface or a lower sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP) which is located at the second (bottom) surface.
Regarding claim 12, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 1. Taguchi also teaches wherein the (inner portions of) volume compensation portion (VCP) is spaced apart from the first (top of 22) and second surfaces (bottom of 22) and an area of (VPP of) the conductive pad (23) fig. 24 [0084] (conductive electrode) [0086] exposed through the first (top of 22) and second (bottom of 22) surfaces is the same as a cross-sectional area of the vertical pattern portion (VPP).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0288028A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a semiconductor device [see fig. 2, 0025] comprising:
a first semiconductor component (C3) fig. 2 [0026] including a first device layer (C3 comprising 110b) fig. 2 [0027] and a first bonding structure (151b, 153b, 155b) fig. 2 [0041-0043] electrically connected with the first device layer (110b); and
a second semiconductor component (C2) fig. 2 [0026] including a second device layer (110a) fig. 2 [0027] and a second bonding structure (151a, 153a, 155a) fig. 2 [0041-0043] electrically connected with the second device layer (110a) and hybrid-bonded (comprising metal-metal bonds in 155a/155b interface and insulator-insulator bonds in 140a/151b interface [0040-0043]) to the first bonding structure (151b, 153b, 155b),
wherein each of the first bonding structure (151b, 153b, 155b) and the second bonding structure (151a, 153a, 155a) comprises at least one conductive pad (surface of 155b and 155a [0043] for connections, respectively) exposed toward a bonding surface (top of 155b/155a = BS2/BS1) fig. 2 [0044] and a non-conductive layer (151b/151a) formed outside the conductive pad (155b/155a), and
wherein at least one of the conductive pads (155b/155a) in the first (comprising 155b) and second (comprising 155a) bonding structures comprises a vertical pattern portion (VPP 1-2) formed through the non-conductive layer and at least one volume compensation portion (VCP 1-2) formed on a sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP 1-2) (see annotated fig. 2 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VCP1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VCP2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (VPP1)][AltContent: textbox (VPP2)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: ][AltContent: rect]
Annotated fig. 2 of Lee
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the semiconductor device [see fig. 2, 0025] of claim 13. Lee also teaches wherein at least one of the volume compensation portions (VCP1-2) comprises at least one protrusion (VCP1-2 defined as collective protrusions from respective VPP 1-2) that laterally protrudes from a sidewall of the vertical pattern portion (VPP 1-2) (see annotated fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches the semiconductor device [see fig. 2, 0025] of claim 13. Lee also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP 1 and/or VCP2) comprises a plurality of protrusions (upper and lower protrusions) having different shapes (upper region has curved shape; lower region has rectangular shape) depending on a (vertical) thickness direction of the conductive pattern (155b/155a) fig. 2 [0041-0043].
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches the semiconductor device [see fig. 2, 0025] of claim 13. Lee also teaches wherein the first bonding structure (151b, 153b, 155b) fig. 2 [0041-0043] comprises an upper region (upper half) adjacent to the bonding surface (BS2) fig. 2 [0044] and a lower region (lower half) adjacent (nearby) to the first device layer (C3 comprising 110b) fig. 2 [0027], the second bonding structure (151a, 153a, 155a) fig. 2 [0041-0043] comprises an upper region (upper half) adjacent to the bonding surface (BS1) fig. 2 [0044] and a lower region adjacent to the second device layer (110a) fig. 2 [0027], and the volume compensation portion (VCP1 and VCP2) is positioned in at least one of the upper region (upper half) and the lower region (lower half) of the first (151b, 153b, 155b) and second (151a, 153a, 155a) bonding structures.
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches the semiconductor device [see fig. 2, 0025] of claim 16. Lee also teaches wherein the volume compensation portion (VCP) is formed in the upper region (upper half) and the lower region (lower half), and a (curved) shape of the volume compensation portion (VCP) in the upper region (upper half) is different from a (rectangular) shape of the volume compensation portion (VCP) in the lower region (lower half) (upper region has curved shape; lower region has rectangular shape).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi (U.S. PG Pub No US2009/0093117A1), as applied in claim 6 above, in view of Chung (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0093461A1).
Regarding claim 10, Taguchi teaches the bonding structure (50) fig. 11 [0084] of claim 6. Taguchi also teaches wherein the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084-0085] comprises a first dielectric layer (22) (SiN [0085]).
However, Taguchi teaches wherein the non-conductive layer (22) fig. 24 [0084] comprises a first dielectric layer (22) and a second dielectric layer alternately stacked, and the first (22) and second dielectric layers comprise materials having different etching selectivities (only one SiN dielectric layer taught [0085]).
Chung teaches a bonding structure (20) [see fig. 14F, 0046-0048] wherein the non-conductive layer (50) fig. 14G [0031, 0047] comprises a first dielectric layer (50A) [0031, 0047] and a second dielectric (50B) [0031, 0047] layer alternately stacked, and the first (50A) and second (50B) dielectric layers comprise materials having different etching selectivities (may be different material (SiN vs SiON) compositions with inherently different etch selectivities based on relative Nitrogen concentrations [0031]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the dielectric lining layer of Taguchi to comprise multiple layers having different relative compositions [0031, 0047] in order to favorably alter the relative composition and dielectric constants of the silicon-nitride-based liner [0028, 0031] so as to reduce parasitic capacitance [0028], as taught by Chung.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oganesian (US-20140206147-A1) and Bonkohara (US-20130313687-A1) teach other examples of through vias with curved surfaces.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 02/06/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892