DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 8 in the reply filed on 03/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/31/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/14/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Watanabe (US 10092997).
Watanabe discloses:
8. A grinding method of a workpiece with a grinding wheel (10) comprising:
grinding a surface of the workpiece (see Fig. 6, surface of workpiece W is grinded by surfaces 21, 22 of grinding wheel 10) with a wear-accelerated portion (21) of the grinding wheel,
the grinding wheel includes an annular wheel base (13) and
a plurality of grinding stones arrayed in an annular pattern on a side of one surface of the wheel base (see Fig. 1, grinding stones A),
the grinding stones each include a base portion (22) having a mounting surface (mounting surface between 13 and A, seen in Fig. 2) where the base portion is mounted on the wheel base and
the wear-accelerated portion that has a grinding surface to be brought into contact with the workpiece and is more prone to wearing than the base portion (Col. 8 lines 1-7 discloses a surface 17a of wear accelerated portion 21 being brought into contact with the bottom surface 48 of the work piece W; Col. 5 lines 29-44 discloses portion 22 has a high hardness and is unlikely to be worn away and discloses portion 21 has a low hardness and is relatively likely to be worn away), and,
after the wear-accelerated portion has been lost, grinding the workpiece by the base portion (Col. 8 discloses that after the wear-accelerated portion Di has been lost as seen in Fig. 7, the grinding wheel continues to be used to grind the workpiece W with grinding base portion 22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Preston et al. (US 6196911) discloses a grinding wheel for grinding a workpiece, comprising: an annular wheel base 220; and a plurality of grinding stones 14 arrayed in an annular pattern on a side of one surface of the wheel base, wherein the grinding stones each include a base portion (base portion 50, part of section 40) having a mounting surface where the base portion is mounted on the wheel base 220, and a wear-accelerated portion (layers between hard particle layers 70, 72, 74) that has a grinding surface to be brought into contact with the workpiece and is more prone to wearing than the base portion.
Turner (US 2600815) discloses a grinding wheel 17 for grinding a workpiece, comprising: an annular wheel base 16; and a plurality of grinding stones 18, 19 arrayed in an annular pattern on a side of one surface of the wheel base, and a wear-accelerated portion 19 that has a grinding surface to be brought into contact with the workpiece and is more prone to wearing than the base portion.
Ryan (US 2309016) discloses a composite grinding wheel with two different materials, with one layer wearing more rapidly than the other
Neumann (US 5503592) discloses: a grinding wheel for grinding a workpiece, comprising: an annular wheel base 11; and wherein the grinding stones each include a base portion having a mounting surface where the base portion is mounted on the wheel base 16, and a wear-accelerated portion 18 that has a grinding surface to be brought into contact with the workpiece and is more prone to wearing than the base portion.
/DUSTIN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 April 30, 2026