CTFR 18/539,691 CTFR 87522 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments The claim objection set forth in the prior Office action is withdrawn. Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered and are partly persuasive. At page 7, applicant recognizes that the Office action relied on two operating aspects of Feuerstack in connection with the rejections of the independent claims. The examiner emphasizes that these aspects are relied upon in the Office action to support alternative grounds of rejection. For purposes of the discussion that follows, the examiner adopts applicant’s terminology for these two operating aspects as a “heating mode” and a “traction-power mode”. The claim rejections based on Feuerstack’s heating mode are withdrawn in view of the amendments the independent claims. However, the alternative claim rejections based on the normal operation (traction-power mode) of Feuerstack’s system 100 of Figs. 1-2 is maintained. In particular, as discussed at pages 9-10 of the prior Office action, by means of the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d (see, e.g., Fig. 2), the output voltage of each of the energy supply branches Z1-Z3 can be varied, by virtue of appropriate actuation in a stepped manner, from a maximum negative value up to a maximum positive value (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). In this way, it is possible to provide an n-phase supply voltage, for example for an electric machine 2 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). Accordingly, in Fig. 1, each of output connection 1a, 1b, 1c will output a stepped voltage having a phase that differs from the stepped voltages output at the other output connections. Because of this, there will necessarily exist periodic points in time during which the stepped voltage output from output connection 1a, for example, will be non-zero for example (i.e., at least one coupling device 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to discharge current) and the stepped voltage output from output connection 1b will be 0 (i.e., all coupling devices 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to not discharge current). Conversely, there will necessarily exist different periodic points in time during which the stepped voltage output from output connection 1a will be zero for example (i.e., all coupling devices 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) not to discharge current) and the stepped voltage output from output connection 1b will be non-zero (i.e., at least one coupling device 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to discharge current). In general then, when any given energy supply branch Z1-Z3 is controlled to output zero current, the other two energy supply branches Z1-Z3 will be controlled to output non-zero current by virtue of the differing phases. More generally, the examiner notes in Feuerstack’s system 100 there will necessarily be a pair of energy storage modules 3 in respective different energy supply branches that are operated such that when the first one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to enable a first discharge current, the second one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to disable a second discharge current, and vice versa. For example, in a case where the pair of energy storage modules 3 are such that their operation results in the maximum positive voltage for their respective energy supply branch, it is clear that the pair of energy storage modules 3 will necessarily operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable discharge their currents because the maximum positive voltage occurs at different times in different energy supply branches. Accordingly, the claimed operations in amended claim 1 (an similar operations in claims 14 and 20) of requesting a first cell level inverter unit to enable a first discharge current for powering an electric traction machine and requesting a second cell level inverter unit to disable a second discharge current, and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current for powering the electric traction machine and requesting the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current will necessarily be satisfied during the normal operation of Feuerstack’s system 100 of Figs. 1-2, noting in Feuerstack’s system 100 that electric machine 2 may be an electric traction machine of a vehicle (see, e.g. Feuerstack, paragraph 46). Applicant’s remarks at page 7-8 (“Feuerstack contains no teaching of disabling one energy supply branch while another is enabled for propulsion”, “This behavior does not constitute selective enablement or disablement of inverter branches. It is merely a consequence of AC waveform generation”) are not persuasive. In either of the examples discussed above (e.g., one energy supply branch stepping through zero voltage output while a different energy supply branch steps through a non-zero voltage output, and vice versa, or one energy supply branch stepping through a maximum voltage output while a different energy supply branch steps through a non-maximum voltage output, and vice versa), the examiner maintains there will be a pair of cell-level inverters (i.e., energy storage modules 3) in the respective branches that operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable their discharge currents. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 8-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by US 2015/0044520 to Feuerstack et al. (Feuerstack) . Teachings of Feuerstack are summarized at the outset. Feuerstack discloses in Fig. 1 a system 100 for voltage conversion of DC voltage provided by energy storage modules 3 into an n-phase AC voltage (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31). The system 100 comprises an energy storage device 1 having energy storage modules 3, which are connected in series in energy supply branches (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31). By way of example, Fig. 1 shows three energy supply branches Z1, Z2 and Z3, which are suitable for generating a three-phase AC voltage, for example for a three-phase machine (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31). The system 100 in Fig. 1 may be used to feed an electric machine 2 (Fig. 1 and paragraph 31). Feuerstack discloses in Fig. 2 an exemplary embodiment of an energy storage module 3 of the energy storage device 1 of Fig. 1, with the energy storage module 3 including a coupling device 7 that may be in the form of a full-bridge circuit having two coupling elements 7a, 7c and two coupling elements 7b, 7d (Fig. 2 and paragraph 37). Coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d in Fig. 2 can be actuated, for example by means of the control device 6 in Fig. 1, such that the energy storage cell module 5 is selectively switched between the output connections 3a and 3b or such that the energy storage cell module 5 is bypassed (Fig. 2 and paragraph 37). By means of the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d, the output voltage of each of the energy supply branches Z1-Z3 can be varied, by virtue of appropriate actuation in a stepped manner, from a maximum negative value up to a maximum positive value (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). In this way, it is possible to provide an n-phase supply voltage, for example for an electric machine 2 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). For this purpose, phase lines 2a, 2b, 2c can be connected to the respective output connections 1a, 1b, 1c, wherein the phase lines 2a, 2b, 2c for their part can be connected to phase connections of the electric machine 2 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). The examiner notes that the coupling device 7 of each energy storage module 3 functions as an inverter, i.e., the switches of the coupling device 7 are operated to provide an AC waveform at output connections 3a and 3b from a DC input provided by the associated energy storage cell modules 5. Turning to claim 1 in view of Feuerstack’s teachings discussed above, Feuerstack discloses a method comprising: requesting a first cell level inverter unit to enable a first discharge current for powering an electric traction machine and requesting a second cell level inverter unit to disable a second discharge current, and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current for powering the electric traction machine and requesting the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current. In particular, by means of the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d (see, e.g., Fig. 2), the output voltage of each of the energy supply branches Z1-Z3 can be varied, by virtue of appropriate actuation in a stepped manner, from a maximum negative value up to a maximum positive value (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). In this way, it is possible to provide an n-phase supply voltage, for example for an electric machine 2 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 42). Accordingly, in Fig. 1, each of output connection 1a, 1b, 1c will output a stepped voltage having a phase that differs from the stepped voltages output at the other output connections. Because of this, there will necessarily exist periodic points in time during which the stepped voltage output from output connection 1a, for example, will be non-zero for example (i.e., at least one coupling device 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to discharge current) and the stepped voltage output from output connection 1b will be 0 (i.e., all coupling devices 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to not discharge current). Conversely, there will necessarily exist different periodic points in time during which the stepped voltage output from output connection 1a will be zero for example (i.e., all coupling devices 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) not to discharge current) and the stepped voltage output from output connection 1b will be non-zero (i.e., at least one coupling device 7 of the energy storage modules 3 of energy supply branch Z1 requested (controlled) to discharge current). In general then, when any given energy supply branch Z1-Z3 is controlled to output zero current, the other two energy supply branches Z1-Z3 will be controlled to output non-zero current by virtue of the differing phases. More generally, the examiner notes in Feuerstack’s system 100 there will necessarily be a pair of energy storage modules 3 in respective different energy supply branches that are operated such that when the first one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to enable a first discharge current, the second one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to disable a second discharge current, and vice versa. For example, in a case where the pair of energy storage modules 3 are such that their operation results in the maximum positive voltage for their respective energy supply branch, it is clear that the pair of energy storage modules 3 will necessarily operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable discharge their currents because the maximum positive voltage occurs at different times in different energy supply branches. Accordingly, the claimed operation in amended claim 1 of requesting a first cell level inverter unit to enable a first discharge current for powering an electric traction machine and requesting a second cell level inverter unit to disable a second discharge current, and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current for powering the electric traction machine and requesting the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current will necessarily be satisfied during the normal operation of Feuerstack’s system 100 of Figs. 1-2, noting in Feuerstack’s system 100 that electric machine 2 may be an electric traction machine of a vehicle (see, e.g. Feuerstack, paragraph 46). Feuerstack further discloses: wherein the method is for operating a battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells comprising a first single battery cell and a second single battery cell and a plurality of cell level inverter units comprising the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit (see Feuerstack as discussed above, e.g., Figs. 1-2, Feuerstack’s system 100 of Figs. 1-2 includes a plurality of cell level inverter units (coupling device 7 of each energy storage module 3) comprising the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit; in either of the examples discussed above (e.g., one energy supply branch stepping through zero voltage output while a different energy supply branch steps through a non-zero voltage output, and vice versa, or one energy supply branch stepping through a maximum voltage output while a different energy supply branch steps through a non-maximum voltage output, and vice versa), there will be a pair of cell-level inverters (i.e., energy storage modules 3) in the respective branches that operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable their discharge currents; this pair of cell-level inverters (i.e., energy storage modules 3) constitutes the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit as claimed; note that Feuerstack’s system 100 of Figs. 1-2 includes a battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells comprising a first single battery cell and a second single battery cell, e.g., in Figs. 1-2 battery cell 5a connected to coupling device 7 of the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit); and wherein each of the cell level inverter units is electrically coupled to a single battery cell out of the plurality of battery cells or to a group of battery cells comprising a first group of battery cells and a second group of battery cells out of the plurality of battery cells (Feuerstack, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 35, energy storage modules 3 also in each case comprise an energy storage cell module 5 with one or more series-connected energy storage cells 5a, 5k; also see paragraph 36, the number of energy storage cells 5a to 5k in the energy storage module 3 shown by way of example in FIG. 2 is two, wherein any other number of energy storage cells 5a to 5k is likewise possible , however; Feuerstack therefore discloses arrangements in which each of the cell level inverter units is electrically coupled to a single (one) battery cell out of the plurality of battery cells, as well as arrangements in which each of the cell level inverter units is electrically coupled to a group of battery cells (e.g., four battery cells) which implicitly includes a first group of battery cells and a second group of battery cells). Regarding claim 2, Feuerstack discloses wherein requesting the first cell level inverter unit to enable the first discharge current and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current is performed in accordance with a predefined pattern (see Feuerstack as applied to claim 1, noting that operation of energy storage modules 3 of Figs. 1-2, including the pair of cell-level inverters (i.e., energy storage modules 3) constituting the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit as claimed, are necessarily operated in accordance with a predetermined pattern in order to produce a three-phase AC current/voltage for electric machine 2). Regarding claim 3, Feuerstack discloses wherein at least one of the first discharge current and the second discharge current is enabled for a predefined time (see Feuerstack as applied to claim 1, it is implicit that the stepping of the discharge currents produced by energy storage modules 3 in order to produce the voltage waveforms output by each branch at output connections 1a, 1b, 1c requires the discharge currents output by each energy storage module 3 to be enabled for a predefined time; also see paragraph 10, in order to set an output voltage of an energy storage module, the coupling units are actuated in a pulse-width-modulated (PWM) manner; as a result, it is possible to output a desired average value as energy storage module voltage by targeted variation of the switch-on and switch-off times; also see paragraph 42, in order to obtain, for example, an average voltage value between two voltage steps which are predefined by the stepping of the energy storage cell modules 5, the coupling elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d of an energy storage module 3 can be actuated in a clocked manner, for example in pulse-width modulation (PWM)). Regarding claim 8, Feuerstack discloses wherein the first single battery cell or the first group of battery cells and the second single battery cell or the second group of battery cells are arranged adjacent to one another (see Feuerstack as applied to claim 1, at least in the case in which each of the cell level inverter units is electrically coupled to a group of battery cells (e.g., four battery cells) which implicitly includes a first group of battery cells and a second group of battery cells, the first and second groups of cell will be arranged adjacent to one another). Regarding claim 9, Feuerstack discloses wherein the method further comprises determining an environmental temperature or receiving the environmental temperature (Feuerstack, e.g., paragraph 21, heating method is performed if the temperature environment of the energy storage cells falls below a first predetermined limit value; it is therefore implicit in Feuerstack’s arrangement that an environmental temperature of the energy storage cells is determined). Regarding claim 10, Feuerstack discloses wherein the method is executed when the environmental temperature is inferior to an environmental temperature threshold (Feuerstack, e.g., paragraph 16, it is also possible to heat the energy storage cells during normal operation of the energy storage device; also see, e.g., paragraph 46, energy storage cells 5a to 5k can in this way be heated during usual operation of the system 100, too, by virtue of a high-frequency charge-redistribution current being superposed on the low-frequency operating current; the examiner notes that Feuerstack’s operation as discussed above in connection with claim 1 is regarded as normal operation; Feuerstack therefore discloses that normal operation may occur simultaneously with the heating operation, with Feuerstack’s heating operation being performed responsive to a determination that the temperature environment of the energy storage cells is below a temperature threshold). Regarding claim 11, Feuerstack discloses wherein the method further comprises determining a battery system temperature or receiving the battery system temperature (Feuerstack, e.g., paragraph 21, heating method is performed if the temperature environment of the energy storage cells falls below a first predetermined limit value; it is therefore implicit in Feuerstack’s arrangement that an environmental temperature of the energy storage cells is determined). Regarding claim 12, Feuerstack discloses wherein the method is executed when the battery system temperature is inferior to battery system temperature threshold (Feuerstack, e.g., paragraph 16, it is also possible to heat the energy storage cells during normal operation of the energy storage device; also see, e.g., paragraph 46, energy storage cells 5a to 5k can in this way be heated during usual operation of the system 100, too, by virtue of a high-frequency charge-redistribution current being superposed on the low-frequency operating current; the examiner notes that Feuerstack’s operation as discussed above in connection with claim 1 is regarded as normal operation; Feuerstack therefore discloses that normal operation may occur simultaneously with the heating operation, with Feuerstack’s heating operation being performed responsive to a determination that the temperature environment of the energy storage cells is below a temperature threshold). Claim 13 recites wherein the plurality of battery cells further comprises a third single battery cell, the plurality of cell level inverter units further comprises a third cell level inverter unit, and the group of battery cells further comprises a third group of battery cells and wherein the method further comprises requesting the third cell level inverter unit that is electrically coupled to the third single battery cell, to enable a third discharge current originating from the third single battery cell or the third group of battery cells, and further requesting the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current, and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to disable the second discharge current . As discussed above in connection with claim 1, in Feuerstack’s system 100 there will necessarily be a pair of energy storage modules 3 in respective different energy supply branches that are operated such that when the first one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to enable a first discharge current, the second one of the pair of energy storage modules 3 is operated to disable a second discharge current, and vice versa. For example, in a case where the pair of energy storage modules 3 are such that their operation results in the maximum positive voltage for their respective energy supply branch, it is clear that the pair of energy storage modules 3 will necessarily operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable discharge their currents because the maximum positive voltage occurs at different times in different energy supply branches. This same reasoning is extendable to claim 12, recognizing that Feuerstack’s system 100 includes three energy supply branches. Accordingly, in a case where each branch has a corresponding energy storage module 3 which when operated results in the maximum positive voltage for that energy supply branch, it is clear that the three energy storage modules 3 will necessarily operate in an alternating manner to enable/disable discharge their currents because the maximum positive voltage occurs at different times in the different energy supply branches. The normal operation of Feuerstack’s system 100 across all three phases therefore discloses the subject matter of claim 13. Claim 14 recites a system comprising, a plurality of battery cells comprising a first single battery cell and a second single battery cell and a plurality of cell level inverter units comprising a first cell level inverter unit and a second cell level inverter unit, wherein each of a cell level inverter unit out of the plurality of cell level inverter units is electrically coupled to a single battery cell out of the plurality of battery cells or to a group of battery cells comprising a first group of battery cells and a second group of battery cells out of the plurality of battery cells; and a data processing apparatus, wherein the data processing apparatus is communicatively coupled to one or more of the plurality of the cell level inverter units; and wherein the data processing apparatus is operable to: request the first cell level inverter unit to enable a first discharge current for powering an electric traction machine and request the second cell level inverter unit to disable a second discharge current, and request the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current for powering the electric traction machine and request the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current; and wherein the system is a battery system , and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by Feuerstack for reasons identical to those discussed above in connection with claim 1, recognizing Feuerstack’s control device 6 (see, e.g., Fig. 1) operates to control the switching elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d (Fig. 2 and paragraph 38) and requests (controls) the switching operations of Feuerstack’s energy storage modules 3. Feuerstack’s control device 6 is therefore functionally equivalent to the data processing apparatus as claimed. Regarding claim 15, Feuerstack discloses wherein the system is a component of a drivetrain, and wherein the drivetrain comprises the electric traction motor that is electrically coupled to the battery system (Feuerstack discloses that the system is a component of a drivetrain, and that the drivetrain comprises the electric traction motor that is electrically coupled to the battery system; see Feuerstack, e.g., paragraphs 44, 46, 47). Regarding claim 16, Feuerstack discloses wherein the drivetrain a subsystem of a vehicle (Feuerstack discloses that the drivetrain is operable to be a subsystem of a vehicle; see Feuerstack, e.g., paragraphs 44, 46, 47). Regarding claim 18, Feuerstack discloses wherein the plurality of battery cells are arranged in one or more rows (Feuerstack, e.g., Fig. 1, noting that the energy storage modules 3 (Fig. 1) and therefore the energy storage cells 5, are arranged in one or more rows). Regarding claim 19, Feuerstack discloses wherein each of a cell level inverter unit of the plurality of cell level inverter units is operable to convert a direct current signal being provided by an associated battery cell of the plurality of battery cells into one of an alternating current signal and a group of alternating current signals (see Feuerstack as applied to claims 14 and 1, e.g., Figs. 1-2, the coupling device 7 of each energy storage module 3 functions as an inverter, i.e., the switches of the coupling device 7 are operated to provide an AC waveform at output connections 3a and 3b from a DC input provided by the associated energy storage cell modules 5) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feuerstack in view of US 2015/0222140 to Weissenborn et al. (Weissenborn) . Regarding claim 20, Feuerstack discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by a computer system a control device to perform operations comprising: requesting a first cell level inverter unit to enable a first discharge current for powering an electric traction machine and requesting a second cell level inverter unit to disable a second discharge current, and requesting the second cell level inverter unit to enable the second discharge current for powering the electric traction machine and requesting the first cell level inverter unit to disable the first discharge current; and wherein the instructions are the control device is operable for operating a battery system comprising a plurality of battery cells comprising a first single battery cell and a second single battery cell; and a plurality of cell level inverter units, comprising the first cell level inverter unit and the second cell level inverter unit; and wherein each of a cell level inverter unit of the plurality of cell level inverter units being electrically coupled to a single battery cell out of the plurality of battery cells or to a group of battery cells comprising a first group of battery cells and a second group of battery cells out of the plurality of battery cells, for reasons identical to those discussed above in connection with claims 1 and 14, recognizing Feuerstack’s control device 6 (see, e.g., Fig. 1) operates to control the switching elements 7a, 7b, 7c, 7d (Fig. 2 and paragraph 38) and requests (controls) the switching operations of Feuerstack’s energy storage modules 3. Feuerstack is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing that the control device 6 is implemented using a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon instructions executable by a computer system to perform the control actions. In related art, Weissenborn discloses that control of energy storage modules 1 can be suitably controlled using a computer program product, with the computer program product being run as hardware or software, for example, on a control device (Weissenborn, e.g., Fig. 2 and paragraph 43). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Feuerstack such that the control device 6 is implemented using a non-transitory computer readable medium operations having stored thereon instructions executable by a computer system to perform the control actions. In this way, in the same manner disclosed by Weissenborn, programmatic control of Feuerstack’s energy storage modules 3 by control device 6 can be obtained . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 4-7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL R MILLER whose telephone number is (571)270-1964. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5PM EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lee Rodak, can be reached at 571-270-5628. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 13 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 14 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 15 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 16 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 17 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 18 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 19 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/539,691 Page 20 Art Unit: 2858