DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 2-4, while including reference numbers, do not include a text describing the components or steps shown. It is requested that Applicant include text to briefly describe the components or steps shown to provide drawings that are more readily understood and are more helpful to a viewer of the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claims 15-20 are drawn to a computer-readable storage medium, where the medium is not limited to statutory (non-transitory) embodiments. Furthermore, the specification does not limit the medium to non-transitory embodiments. Thus, the claimed scope of the medium includes transmission medium carrying/storing transitory signals. It is suggested that applicant recite a “non-transitory” computer-readable medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Verbridge (US 2019/0126761 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Verbridge teaches a method for multi-stage charging control of a vehicle, comprising: determining a charging stage capability (see step 1504) of a charging source (battery charger 1503); upon determining that the charging stage capability includes multi-stage charging (for example 450 V or 900 V and associated current levels), determining a first charging criteria (for example, slow or 450 V charging); selecting a first charging circuit configuration based on the first charging criteria (see step 1512), wherein the first charging circuit configuration includes a first combination of cell groups of a rechargeable energy storage system of the vehicle (a parallel circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the first charging circuit configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 12-15, the abstract, and paras. 0005-0006, 0020-0022, 0039-0061, 0112-0139).
Regarding claim 2, Verbridge teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a second charging criteria (for example, fast or 900 V charging); selecting a second charging circuit configuration based on the second charging criteria (determining a different switch configuration), wherein the second charging circuit configuration includes a second combination of cell groups of the rechargeable energy storage system (a series circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the second charging circuit configuration (fast charging the series combination of battery packs at 900 V).
Regarding claim 3, Verbridge teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the charging source includes a charging station (for example, battery charger 110 or 1503), another vehicle, a power bank, or a grid (the battery charger may be connected to a power transmission grid, see para. 0047).
Regarding claim 4, Verbridge teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first charging criteria includes at least one of: an available power of the charging source (whether the battery charger is a slow 400 V or fast 900 V charger), present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128), a user charging duration limit, a user charging cost limit, a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130), or an accessory load of the vehicle (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 5, Verbridge teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the second charging criteria includes at least one of: an update of an available power of the charging source (for example, availability or connection of a fast 900 V charger), an update of a present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128, will be updated as the steps repeat), a lapse of time associated with a user input charging duration, an accrued cost associated with a user input cost, an update of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130. Note that the steps of Fig. 15 may repeat and a fault or temperature condition will be updated, see para. 0131), or an update of an accessory load (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 6, Verbridge teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the selection of the second charging circuit configuration is performed upon an occurrence of a transition event, wherein the transition event includes one of: a match between a charging capability of the first charging circuit configuration and a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration (for example, a match between the connection of a fast 900 V charger and the charging capability of the series circuit configuration of the battery packs), a match between a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration and an available power limit or a maximum power output limit of the charging source (a match between the series charging capability of the battery packs and a power output limit of the charger 110 or 1503, see paras. 0047), a reduction of an accessory load of the first charging circuit configuration to a power below a power threshold (see paras. 0130, 0133, 0136 and 0137), an increase of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system or the cell groups above a temperature threshold, or a lapse of a specified time duration.
Regarding claim 8, Verbridge teaches a system for multi-stage charging control of a vehicle, comprising: a processor (control circuit 310 may include a processor, see para. 0058); and memory or storage comprising an algorithm or computer instructions (control circuit includes memory storing instructions, see para. 0059), which when executed by the processor, performs an operation comprising: determining a charging stage capability (see step 1504) of a charging source (battery charger 1503); upon determining that the charging stage capability includes multi-stage charging (for example 450 V or 900 V and associated current levels), determining a first charging criteria (for example, slow or 450 V charging); selecting a first charging circuit configuration based on the first charging criteria (see step 1512), wherein the first charging circuit configuration includes a first combination of cell groups of a rechargeable energy storage system of the vehicle (a parallel circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the first charging circuit configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 12-15, the abstract, and paras. 0005-0006, 0020-0022, 0039-0061, 0112-0139).
Regarding claim 9, Verbridge teaches the system of claim 8, the operation further comprising: determining a second charging criteria (for example, fast or 900 V charging); selecting a second charging circuit configuration based on the second charging criteria (determining a different switch configuration), wherein the second charging circuit configuration includes a second combination of cell groups of the rechargeable energy storage system (a series circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the second charging circuit configuration (fast charging the series combination of battery packs at 900 V).
Regarding claim 10, Verbridge teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the charging source includes a charging station (for example, battery charger 110 or 1503), another vehicle, a power bank, or a grid (the battery charger may be connected to a power transmission grid, see para. 0047).
Regarding claim 11, Verbridge teaches the system of claim 8, wherein the first charging criteria includes at least one of: an available power of the charging source (whether the battery charger is a slow 400 V or fast 900 V charger), present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128), a user charging duration limit, a user charging cost limit, a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130), or an accessory load of the vehicle (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 12, Verbridge teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the second charging criteria includes at least one of: an update of an available power of the charging source (for example, availability or connection of a fast 900 V charger), an update of a present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128, will be updated as the steps repeat), a lapse of time associated with a user input charging duration, an accrued cost associated with a user input cost, an update of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130. Note that the steps of Fig. 15 may repeat and a fault or temperature condition will be updated, see para. 0131), or an update of an accessory load (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 13, Verbridge teaches the system of claim 9, wherein the selection of the second charging circuit configuration is performed upon an occurrence of a transition event, wherein the transition event includes one of: a match between a charging capability of the first charging circuit configuration and a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration (for example, a match between the connection of a fast 900 V charger and the charging capability of the series circuit configuration of the battery packs), a match between a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration and an available power limit or a maximum power output limit of the charging source (a match between the series charging capability of the battery packs and a power output limit of the charger 110 or 1503, see paras. 0047), a reduction of an accessory load of the first charging circuit configuration to a power below a power threshold (see paras. 0130, 0133, 0136 and 0137), an increase of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system or the cell groups above a temperature threshold, or a lapse of a specified time duration.
Regarding claim 15, Verbridge teaches a computer-readable storage medium having a computer-readable program code embodied therewith (control circuitry 310 includes memory storing instructions, see para. 0059), the computer-readable program code executable by one or more computer processors (control circuitry 310 includes a processor to execute the instructions, see para. 0058) to perform an operation for multi-stage charging control of a vehicle, the operation comprising: determining a charging stage capability (see step 1504) of a charging source (battery charger 1503); upon determining that the charging stage capability includes multi-stage charging (for example 450 V or 900 V and associated current levels), determining a first charging criteria (for example, slow or 450 V charging); selecting a first charging circuit configuration based on the first charging criteria (see step 1512), wherein the first charging circuit configuration includes a first combination of cell groups of a rechargeable energy storage system of the vehicle (a parallel circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the first charging circuit configuration (see Figs. 1-3, 12-15, the abstract, and paras. 0005-0006, 0020-0022, 0039-0061, 0112-0139).
Regarding claim 16, Verbridge teaches, the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, the operation further comprising: determining a second charging criteria (for example, fast or 900 V charging); selecting a second charging circuit configuration based on the second charging criteria (determining a different switch configuration), wherein the second charging circuit configuration includes a second combination of cell groups of the rechargeable energy storage system (a series circuit configuration of battery packs); and charging the rechargeable energy storage system via the second charging circuit configuration (fast charging the series combination of battery packs at 900 V).
Regarding claim 17, Verbridge teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the first charging criteria includes at least one of: an available power of the charging source (whether the battery charger is a slow 400 V or fast 900 V charger), present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128), a user charging duration limit, a user charging cost limit, a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130), or an accessory load of the vehicle (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 18, Verbridge teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the second charging criteria includes at least one of: an update of an available power of the charging source (for example, availability or connection of a fast 900 V charger), an update of a present charging capabilities of the cell groups (for example, battery characteristics step 1506, para. 0126 and/or a fault status of the cell groups step 1510, para. 0128, will be updated as the steps repeat), a lapse of time associated with a user input charging duration, an accrued cost associated with a user input cost, an update of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system (temperature is one of the fault conditions of the battery packs, see para. 0081-0082, 0096-0100, 0124, 0128 and 0130. Note that the steps of Fig. 15 may repeat and a fault or temperature condition will be updated, see para. 0131), or an update of an accessory load (vehicle load 280, see paras. 0067-0068).
Regarding claim 19, Verbridge teaches the computer-readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the selection of the second charging circuit configuration is performed upon an occurrence of a transition event, wherein the transition event includes one of: a match between a charging capability of the first charging circuit configuration and a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration (for example, a match between the connection of a fast 900 V charger and the charging capability of the series circuit configuration of the battery packs), a match between a charging capability of the second charging circuit configuration and an available power limit or a maximum power output limit of the charging source (a match between the series charging capability of the battery packs and a power output limit of the charger 110 or 1503, see paras. 0047), a reduction of an accessory load of the first charging circuit configuration to a power below a power threshold (see paras. 0130, 0133, 0136 and 0137), an increase of a temperature of the rechargeable energy storage system or the cell groups above a temperature threshold, or a lapse of a specified time duration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbridge (US 2019/0126761 A1) in view of Lee (US 2024/0100994 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, the teachings of Verbridge as applied to claims 2, 9 and 16, have been discussed above. Regarding claim 20, Verbridge also teaches wherein the charging source includes a charging station (for example, battery charger 110 or 1503), another vehicle, a power bank, or a grid (the battery charger may be connected to a power transmission grid, see para. 0047).
Verbridge teaches wherein the first charging circuit configuration represents a 300V or 450V parallel circuit configuration, and wherein the second charging circuit configuration represents an 900V series circuit configuration, and that the voltage in parallel or series is based on the voltage of the individual battery packs (see paras. 0039 and 0056). Verbridge does not specifically teach a 400V parallel circuit configuration or a 800V series circuit configuration.
Lee teaches a battery system (battery pack 10, including battery modules 11) for electric vehicles wherein the first charging circuit configuration represents a 400V parallel circuit configuration (see Fig. 1), and wherein the second charging circuit configuration represents an 800V series circuit configuration (see Fig. 2) (also see Figs. 3-5, the abstract and paras. 0011, 0018, 0019, 0042-0061).
In view of the teachings of Lee, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to include with Verbridge, wherein the first charging circuit configuration represents a 400V parallel circuit configuration, and wherein the second charging circuit configuration represents an 800V series circuit configuration, since the specific voltages used are based upon the battery pack specifications and Lee teaches that 400V and 800V charging infrastructure is known (see at least para. 0011). Thus, the use of 400V and 800V would provide compatibility with these conventional chargers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the additional references cited in the attached PTO-892, which are directed to vehicle charging systems.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859