Detailed Action
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PARK (US 20210118958 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses a display device (display device DD) comprising:
a display panel (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0057]; display pane DP) comprising a first region (area A1), a second region (area A2), and a bending region (bending area BA) located along a first direction (direction DR1), the bending region (bending area BA) being between the first and second regions (area A1 and area A2);
a plurality of sensing electrodes (Fig. 6; sensing electrodes SNE) on the first region (area A1);
a data driver (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0055], [0061]; data driver DDV) on the second region (area A2);
sensing lines (Figs. 6 and 9 and [0113], [0115]; sensing lines SNL) on the first region (area A1) connected to the sensing electrodes (sensing electrodes SNE), and extending in the first direction (direction DR1) toward opposite sides of the data driver (data driver DDV) opposite to each other in a second direction (direction DR2) crossing the first direction (direction DR1); and
a cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; layer TS-IL, layer TFE, or layer INS3) on the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL).
Regarding claim 10, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; layer TS-IL, layer TFE, or layer INS3) is located on the first region (area A1), the bending region (bending area BA), and the second region (area A2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1; PARK’958) in view of PARK (US 20230157128 A1; PARK’128).
Regarding claim 2, PARK’958 discloses the display device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture. However, PARK’128 discloses a display device, comprising a cover layer (cover layer 620) of sensing lines (touch sensing lines TL), wherein the cover layer (cover layer 620) comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture ([0184]; silane (SiH4)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PARK’128 to the display device of PARK’958 to prevent the external moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the touch sensor.
7. Claims 3-5, 7-8, 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1).
Regarding claim 3, PARK discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; e.g., cover layer TS-IL, TFE, or INS3) covering portions of the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) adjacent to the data driver (data driver DDV), but does not disclose the driving cover layer covering the data driver. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK, comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a; [0049]) covering a display driver (display driver 24; [0040]) and portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b; [0040]) adjacent to the display driver (display driver 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 4, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 3, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer TS-IL) is located on the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 5, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 3, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein: an opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is defined in the driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a); and the opening (opening GR) overlaps with portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 5, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is adjacent to the opposite sides of the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 5, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) does not overlap with the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses a display device (display device DD) comprising:
a display panel (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0057]; display pane DP) comprising a first region (area A1), a second region (area A2), and a bending region (bending area BA) located along a first direction (direction DR1), the bending region (bending area BA) being between the first and second regions (area A1 and area A2);
a plurality of sensing electrodes (Fig. 6; sensing electrodes SNE) on the first region (area A1);
a data driver (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0055], [0061]; data driver DDV) on the second region (area A2);
sensing lines (Figs. 6 and 9 and [0113], [0115]; sensing lines SNL) on the first region (area A1) connected to the sensing electrodes (sensing electrodes SNE), and extending in the first direction (direction DR1) toward opposite sides of the data driver (data driver DDV) opposite to each other in a second direction (direction DR2) crossing the first direction (direction DR1); and
a driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer comprising a layer TS-IL and/or a layer TFE) covering portions of the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) adjacent to the data driver (data driver DDV).
PARK does not disclose the driving cover layer covering the data driver, and wherein an opening overlapping with portions of the sensing lines in a plan view is defined in the driving cover layer. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK, comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a; [0049]) covering a display driver (display driver 24; [0040]) and portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b; [0040]) adjacent to the display driver (display driver 24), and wherein an opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) overlapping with portions of the signal lines (signal lines 23b) in a plan view is defined in the driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 12, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer comprising a layer TS-IL and/or a layer TFE) is located on the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 13, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 12, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is defined to be adjacent to the opposite sides of the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 14, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 13, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) does not overlap with the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 15, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses further comprising a cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer INS3 or cover layer TFE) between the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) and the driving cover layer (cover layer TS-IL or cover layer TFE).
Regarding claim 18, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer INS3 or cover layer TFE) is located on the first region (area A1), the bending region (bending area BA), and the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 20, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein, when the bending region is bent (Fig. 14), a portion located in the bending region of a sensing line (Fig. 14; sensing line SNL in the bending area BA) from among the sensing lines is located more inward than other portions of the sensing line located in the first and second regions (Fig. 14; sensing line SNL in the areas A1 and A2).
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1; PARK’958) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and further in view of PARK (US 20230157128 A1; PARK’128).
Regarding claim 16, PARK’958 in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture. However, PARK’128 discloses a display device, comprising a cover layer (cover layer 620) of sensing lines (touch sensing lines TL), wherein the cover layer (cover layer 620) comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture ([0184]; silane (SiH4)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PARK’128 to the display device of PARK’958 in view of UOGISHI to prevent the external moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the touch sensor.
9. Claims 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and further in view of JEONG (US 20200185641 A1).
Regarding claim 6, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the opening passes through the driving cover layer and the cover layer. However, JEONG (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 11) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the opening (e.g., Fig. 11; opening 250) passes through the cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, cover layer 210, or Fig. 10, cover layer 220/230, or Fig. 8, cover layer 230) and the driving cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, Fig. 10, or Fig. 8, cover layer 240). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 17, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the opening passes through the cover layer and the driving cover layer. However, JEONG (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 11) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the opening (e.g., Fig. 11; opening 250) passes through the cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, cover layer 210, or Fig. 10, cover layer 220/230, or Fig. 8, cover layer 230) and the driving cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, Fig. 10, or Fig. 8, cover layer 240). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
10. Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and further in view of SIM (US 20220102477 A1).
Regarding claim 9, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 3, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer TFE) on the cover layer (cover layer INS3); and a cover portion (cover layer TS-IL) on the insulating layer (insulating layer TFE). PARK does not disclose the cover portion comprising a black material. However, SIM discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the driving cover layer comprises a cover portion (cover layer 190) comprising a black material ([0087]; black material). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SIM to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI to prevent the external light from penetrating into the display device.
Regarding claim 19, PARK in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer 23c; [0049]) on the data driver (display driver 24); UOGISHI also discloses a cover portion (cover layer 23a) on the insulating layer (insulating layer 23c), but does not disclose the cover portion comprising a black material. However, SIM discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer 160) and a cover portion (cover layer 190) comprising a black material ([0087]; black material) on the insulating layer (insulating layer 160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SIM to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI to prevent the external light from penetrating into the display device.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623