Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of KIM (US 20180062090 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses a display device (display device DD) comprising:
a display panel (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0057]; display pane DP) comprising a first region (area A1), a second region (area A2), and a bending region (bending area BA) located along a first direction (direction DR1), the bending region (bending area BA) being between the first and second regions (area A1 and area A2);
a plurality of sensing electrodes (Fig. 6; sensing electrodes SNE) on the first region (area A1);
a data driver (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0055], [0061]; data driver DDV) on the second region (area A2);
sensing lines (Figs. 6 and 9 and [0113], [0115]; sensing lines SNL) on the first region (area A1) connected to the sensing electrodes (sensing electrodes SNE), and extending in the first direction (direction DR1) toward opposite sides of the data driver (data driver DDV) opposite to each other in a second direction (direction DR2) crossing the first direction (direction DR1); and
a cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; layer TS-IL, layer TFE, or layer INS3) on the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL).
PARK discloses a cover layer on the sensing lines, but does not disclose configured to absorb moisture introduced from outside. However, KIM (Figs. 1 and 4) discloses a display device comprising a display panel (OLED display 150) and a touch sensor (touch sensor 112; [0075]), and a cover layer (Figs. 13-15; cover layer 132; [0169] and [0173]) on the sensing lines (conductive sensing lines; [0169] and [0102]-[0103]), configured to absorb moisture introduced from outside ([0169] and [0173]; moisture absorbing). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from KIM to the cover layer of the display device of PARK to prevent the external moisture from penetrating into the touch sensor.
Regarding claim 10, PARK in view of KIM discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover layer (cover layer 132) is located on the first region (area A1), the bending region (bending area BA), and the second region (area A2).
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1; PARK’958) in view of KIM (US 20180062090 A1) and further in view of PARK (US 20230157128 A1; PARK’128).
Regarding claim 2, PARK’958 in view of KIM discloses the display device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture. However, PARK’128 discloses a display device, comprising a cover layer (cover layer 620) of sensing lines (touch sensing lines TL), wherein the cover layer (cover layer 620) comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture ([0184] and [0158]; silane (SiH4) absorbing moisture via hydrolysis reaction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PARK’128 to the display device of PARK’958 in view of KIM to prevent the external moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the touch sensor.
6. Claims 3-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of KIM (US 20180062090 A1) and further in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1).
Regarding claim 3, PARK in view of KIM discloses the display device of claim 1, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses the display device further comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; e.g., cover layer TS-IL, TFE, or INS3) covering portions of the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) adjacent to the data driver (data driver DDV), but does not disclose the driving cover layer covering the data driver. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK, comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a; [0049]) covering a display driver (display driver 24; [0040]) and portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b; [0040]) adjacent to the display driver (display driver 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK in view of KIM. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 4, PARK in view of KIM and further in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 3, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer TS-IL) is located on the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 5, PARK in view of KIM and further in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 3, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein: an opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is defined in the driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a); and the opening (opening GR) overlaps with portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK in view of KIM for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 7, PARK in view of KIM and further in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 5, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is adjacent to the opposite sides of the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK in view of KIM for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 8, PARK in view of KIM and further in view of UOGISHI and further in view of UOGISHI discloses the display device of claim 5, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) does not overlap with the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI to the display device of PARK in view of KIM for the same reason above.
7. Claims 11-15, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and further in view of OKANISHI (US 20140329167 A1).
Regarding claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses a display device (display device DD) comprising:
a display panel (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0057]; display pane DP) comprising a first region (area A1), a second region (area A2), and a bending region (bending area BA) located along a first direction (direction DR1), the bending region (bending area BA) being between the first and second regions (area A1 and area A2);
a plurality of sensing electrodes (Fig. 6; sensing electrodes SNE) on the first region (area A1);
a data driver (Figs. 3 and 6 and [0055], [0061]; data driver DDV) on the second region (area A2);
sensing lines (Figs. 6 and 9 and [0113], [0115]; sensing lines SNL) on the first region (area A1) connected to the sensing electrodes (sensing electrodes SNE), and extending in the first direction (direction DR1) toward opposite sides of the data driver (data driver DDV) opposite to each other in a second direction (direction DR2) crossing the first direction (direction DR1); and
a driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer comprising a layer TS-IL and/or a layer TFE) covering portions of the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) adjacent to the data driver (data driver DDV).
PARK does not disclose the driving cover layer covering the data driver, and wherein an opening overlapping with portions of the sensing lines in a plan view is defined in the driving cover layer. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK, comprising a driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a; [0049]) covering a display driver (display driver 24; [0040]) and portions of the sensing lines (signal lines 23b; [0040]) adjacent to the display driver (display driver 24), and wherein an opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) overlapping with portions of the signal lines (signal lines 23b) in a plan view is defined in the driving cover layer (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; cover layer 23a). UOGISHI does not disclose the opening to allow moisture introduced from outside to be evaporated through the opening. However, it is a common sense that air flow may pass upwardly through an opening to assist in evaporating an accumulated moisture. The examiner further cites OKANISHI as a reference. OKANISHI (e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4, 8-9, and 11) discloses one or more openings to allow moisture introduced from outside to be evaporated through the opening (e.g., Figs. 1, 3-4, 8-9, and 11; opening 12 allows moisture to be evaporated; [0102]). Applicant may further refer to MEUNIER (US 20210106464A1). MEUNIER also teaches one or more openings to allow moisture introduced from outside to be evaporated through the opening (Fig. 12 and [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI and OKANISHI and MEUNIER to the display device of PARK. The combination and motivation would be to provide a driving cover layer not only to reduce a bend-induced stresses but also to reduce accumulated moisture from outside.
Regarding claim 12, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer comprising a layer TS-IL and/or a layer TFE) is located on the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 13, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 12, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) is defined to be adjacent to the opposite sides of the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI and OKANISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 14, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 13, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the opening (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16; opening GR) does not overlap with the data driver (display driver 24) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 15-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from UOGISHI and OKANISHI to the display device of PARK for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 15, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses further comprising a cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer INS3 or cover layer TFE) between the sensing lines (sensing lines SNL) and the driving cover layer (cover layer TS-IL or cover layer TFE).
Regarding claim 18, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the cover layer (Figs. 13 and 14; cover layer INS3 or cover layer TFE) is located on the first region (area A1), the bending region (bending area BA), and the second region (area A2).
Regarding claim 20, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 11, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein, when the bending region is bent (Fig. 14), a portion located in the bending region of a sensing line (Fig. 14; sensing line SNL in the bending area BA) from among the sensing lines is located more inward than other portions of the sensing line located in the first and second regions (Fig. 14; sensing line SNL in the areas A1 and A2).
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1; PARK’958) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and OKANISHI (US 20140329167 A1) and further in view of PARK (US 20230157128 A1; PARK’128).
Regarding claim 16, PARK’958 in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the cover layer comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture. However, PARK’128 discloses a display device, comprising a cover layer (cover layer 620) of sensing lines (touch sensing lines TL), wherein the cover layer (cover layer 620) comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture ([0184] and [0158]; silane (SiH4) absorbing moisture via hydrolysis reaction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from PARK’128 to the display device of PARK’958 in view of UOGISHI to prevent the external moisture or oxygen from penetrating into the touch sensor.
9. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and KIM (US 20180062090 A1) and further in view of JEONG (US 20200185641 A1).
Regarding claim 6, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of KIM discloses the display device of claim 5, but does not disclose wherein the opening passes through the driving cover layer and the cover layer. However, JEONG (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 11) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the opening (e.g., Fig. 11; opening 250) passes through the cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, cover layer 210, or Fig. 10, cover layer 220/230, or Fig. 8, cover layer 230) and the driving cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, Fig. 10, or Fig. 8, cover layer 240). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
10. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and OKANISHI (US 20140329167 A1) and further in view of JEONG (US 20200185641 A1).
Regarding claim 17, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, but does not disclose wherein the opening passes through the cover layer and the driving cover layer. However, JEONG (e.g., Figs. 6-7 and 11) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the opening (e.g., Fig. 11; opening 250) passes through the cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, cover layer 210, or Fig. 10, cover layer 220/230, or Fig. 8, cover layer 230) and the driving cover layer (e.g., Fig. 11, Fig. 10, or Fig. 8, cover layer 240). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI and OKANISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
11. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and KIM (US 20180062090 A1) and further in view of SIM (US 20220102477 A1).
Regarding claim 9, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of KIM discloses the display device of claim 3, PARK (Figs. 1, 3, 6, 9, and 13-14) discloses wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer TFE) on the cover layer (cover layer INS3); and a cover portion (cover layer TS-IL) on the insulating layer (insulating layer TFE). PARK does not disclose the cover portion comprising a black material. However, SIM discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the driving cover layer comprises a cover portion (cover layer 190) comprising a black material ([0087]; black material). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SIM to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI to prevent the external light from penetrating into the display device.
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over PARK (US 20210118958 A1) in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) and OKANISHI (US 20140329167 A1) and further in view of SIM (US 20220102477 A1).
Regarding claim 19, PARK in view of UOGISHI and further in view of OKANISHI discloses the display device of claim 15, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-4 and 15-16) discloses wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer 23c; [0049]) on the data driver (display driver 24); UOGISHI also discloses a cover portion (cover layer 23a) on the insulating layer (insulating layer 23c), but does not disclose the cover portion comprising a black material. However, SIM discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by PARK and UOGISHI, wherein the driving cover layer comprises: an insulating layer (insulating layer 160) and a cover portion (cover layer 190) comprising a black material ([0087]; black material) on the insulating layer (insulating layer 160). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from SIM to the display device of PARK in view of UOGISHI and OKANISHI to prevent the external light from penetrating into the display device.
Response to Arguments
13. Regarding claims 1 and 11, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of KIM (US 20180062090 A1), OKANISHI (US 20140329167 A1), and MEUNIER (US 20210106464 A1) have been used for new ground rejection.
In addition, applicant argues that PARK’128 does not disclose claim 2. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument. Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein the cover layer comprises a silane compound to absorb moisture”. PARK’128 discloses a display device, comprising a cover layer 620 of sensing lines TL, wherein the cover layer 620 comprises a silane, a same chemical compound as claimed in claim 2, which performs a same function (e.g., absorbing moisture) as claimed. In addition, it is well known that silane (SiH4) is a chemical compound, when SiH₄ contacts moisture, it absorbs moisture via hydrolysis reaction SiH₄ + 2H₂O → SiO₂ + 4H₂. Furthermore, PARK’128 discloses silane (SiH4) can be used to suppress moisture ([0184] and [0158]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623