DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu Fei et al (CN Pat Num 107465154, herein referred to as Hu) in view of Ekholm et al (Pub Num 2019/0190245, herein referred to as Ekholm). Hu discloses a joint (Figs 1-3) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 4), while enhancing the reliability and speeding up the installation time (Paragraph 74). With respect to claim 1, Hu discloses a joint (Fig 3) for joining a first electric cable (top cable) and a second electric cable (bottom cable), wherein each cable (top and bottom cables) comprising an electric conductor (top 6 and bottom 6), an insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1, respectively) surrounding the electric conductor (top 6 & bottom 6), and a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1), wherein the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1, respectively) comprises an inner semiconducting layer (top and bottom 3), an insulating layer (top and bottom 2) and an outer semiconducting layer (top and bottom 1), wherein the joint (Fig 3) comprises an electrical conductor joint (5) electrically connecting end sections of the two electrical conductors (top and bottom 6), an insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8) comprising an inner layer made of a first polymeric semiconducting material (4) surrounding the electric conductor joint (5), an intermediate insulating layer (8) made of a polymeric insulating material (Paragraph 28) covering an external surface of the inner semiconducting layer (top and bottom 3), an outer layer (7) made of a second polymeric semiconducting material (Paragraph 29) covering an external surface of the insulating layer (top and bottom 2), a water barrier layer (12) surrounding the insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8), wherein the water barrier layer (12) is made of pre-formed water barrier elements (top 12 & bottom 12) and a filler (13) filling the space between the insulation system joint (4, 5, 6, 8) and the water barrier layer (12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claims 2-3, Hu discloses that the water barrier layer (12) is made of a lead-free material, such as copper (Paragraph 32). With respect to claim 8, Hu discloses that the filler (13) comprises a low viscosity melted polymer (Paragraph 33, i.e. liquid sealant that solidifies). With respect to claim 10, Hu discloses that the joint (Fig 3) further comprises a polymeric sheath layer (10) surrounding the water barrier layer (12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 11, Hu disclose that the joint (Fig 3) further comprises a reinforcement layer (11) surrounding the water barrier layer (12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 12, Hu discloses that the reinforcement layer (11) may be a bare metallic tape with direct contact between the water barrier (12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 13, Hu discloses a method for manufacturing an electric cable joint (Fig 3), comprising the steps of: b) providing a first and a second electric cables (top and bottom 6), wherein each cable (top and bottom cables) comprising an electric conductor (top 6 and bottom 6), an insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1, respectively) surrounding the electric conductor (top 6 & bottom 6), and a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1), and a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1), c) joining the respective end sections of the electric conductors (top and bottom 6) of the first electric cable and of the second electric cable to form an electric conductor joint (5), d) surrounding the electric conductor joint (5) with an insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8) and e) placing pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 12) over the insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8) and f) jointing the pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 12) together and to the water barriers (metallic sheath) of the first electric cable and of the second electric cable (Paragraph 32), wherein the method further comprising the step of filling with a filler (13) in the space between the insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8) and the water barrier (top and bottom 12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 14, Hu discloses a cable (top and bottom cables) comprising two cable sections (top section & bottom section) and a joint (Fig 3), each cable (top cable and bottom cable) comprising an electric conductor (top and bottom 6), an insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1) surrounding the electric conductor (top and bottom 6), and a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1), wherein the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1, respectively) comprises an inner semiconducting layer (top and bottom 3), an insulating layer (top and bottom 2) and an outer semiconducting layer (top and bottom 1), wherein the joint (Fig 3) comprises an electrical conductor joint (5) electrically connecting end sections of the two electrical conductors (top and bottom 6), an insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8) comprising an inner layer made of a first polymeric semiconducting material (4) surrounding the electric conductor joint (5), an intermediate insulating layer (8) made of a polymeric insulating material (Paragraph 28) covering an external surface of the inner semiconducting layer (top and bottom 3), an outer layer (7) made of a second polymeric semiconducting material (Paragraph 29) covering an external surface of the insulating layer (top and bottom 2), a water barrier layer (12) surrounding the insulation system joint (4, 5, 7, 8), wherein the water barrier layer (12) is made of pre-formed water barrier elements (top 12 & bottom 12) and a filler (13) filling the space between the insulation system joint (4, 5, 6, 8) and the water barrier layer (12, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 18, Hu discloses that the filler (13) comprises a low viscosity melted polymer (Paragraph 33, i.e. liquid sealant that solidifies). With respect to claim 19, Hu discloses that the step of filling is performed through one or more holes (located at 17) in the pre-formed water barrier elements (top 12), wherein the hole is then sealed (via plug 17, Paragraph 33). With respect to claim 20, Hu discloses that the joint (Fig 3) further comprises a polymeric sheath layer (10) surrounding the water barrier layer (12, Paragraph 33).
While Hu discloses the preform water barrier elements (top and bottom 12, Paragraph 33) being jointed to the water barriers (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) of the first and second cables (top and bottom 6), Hu doesn’t necessarily disclose the preformed water barrier elements being welded to the water barrier of the first electrical cable and the second electrical cable (claims 1 & 14), nor the method of welding the preformed water barrier elements to the first electrical cable and the second electrical cable (claim 13), nor the pre-formed water barrier elements represent multipart water barrier elements forming in assembled form a tapered tubular water barrier element (claim 15), nor the pre-formed water barrier elements are welded to the water barrier of the first electric cable and the second electric cable so that the water barrier layer surrounding the insulation system joint and the water barrier layer of the first electric cable and the second electric cable form a continuous lead-free water barrier layer (claim 16), nor the pre-formed water barrier elements are a tubular element comprising a first cylindrical part, with an inner diameter equal to or slightly bigger than the outer diameter of the cable up to and including the water barrier that is desired joined; this part is intended to be welded to the water barrier of the power cable, a conical part, flaring from the first cylindrical part to a second cylindrical part; a second cylindrical part, with an inner diameter bigger than the outer diameter of the cable and the diameter of the intended joint, wherein this part is intended to be welded to the corresponding second cylindrical part of another pre-formed water barrier element, so that the pre-formed water barrier elements form a water barrier forming the water barrier for the joint (claim 17), nor a polyethylene-based adhesive is added between the polymeric sheath layer and the joint water barrier layer (claim 20).
Ekholm teaches a joint (Figs 2-7) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while providing a water type connection between the metallic sheath and the protective casing and ensuring to avoid the risk of water diffusing into the protective casing thereby preventing damage to the cable and electrical breakdown (Paragraph 11). With respect to claims 1 & 14, Ekholm discloses a joint (30, Fig 3) for joining a first electric cable (2) and a second electric cable (3, as shown in Fig 1), wherein each cable (2 & 3) comprises an electric conductor (2c and 3c), an insulation system (2b and 3b) surrounding the electric conductor (2c and 3c), and a water barrier (2a and 3a) of the cables (2 and 3) surrounding the insulation system (2b and 3b), wherein the joint (30, Fig 3) comprises an electrical conductor joint (as shown in Fig 1) electrically connecting end sections of the two electrical conductors (2c and 3c), and a preformed water barrier layer (4) surrounding the electrical conductor joint (as shown in Fig 1), wherein the water barrier layer (4) is made of pre-formed water barrier elements (top 4 & bottom 4) being welded to the water barriers (2a and 3a) of the first and second cables (2 & 3, via weld 34, Paragraph 62). With respect to claim 13, Ekholm teaches a method of welding the preformed water barrier elements (top and bottom 4) to the first electrical cable (2) and the second electrical cable (3, via 31, Paragraph 62-63). With respect to claim 15, Ekholm teaches that the pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 4) represent multipart water barrier elements (31a, 31c, 5) forming in assembled form a tapered tubular water barrier element (top and bottom 4). With respect to claim 16, Ekholm teaches that the pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 4) are welded to the water barrier (2a & 3a) of the first electric cable (2) and the second electric cable (3) so that the water barrier layer (4) surrounds the water barrier layer (2a & 3a) of the first electric cable (2) and the second electric cable (3, via 31, Paragraphs 62-63). With respect to claim 17, Ekholm teaches that the pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 4) are a tubular element comprising a first cylindrical part (31a), with an inner diameter equal to or slightly bigger than the outer diameter of the cable (2 & 3) up to and including the water barrier (2a & 3a) that is desired joined (Fig 3), wherein this part (31a) is intended to be welded (via 34) to the water barrier (2a & 3a of the power cable (2 and 3), a conical part (31c), flaring from the first cylindrical part (31c) to a second cylindrical part (5), a second cylindrical part (5), with an inner diameter bigger than the outer diameter of the cable (2 & 3) and the diameter of the intended joint (as shown in Fig 1), wherein this part (31c) is intended to be welded (via 35) to the corresponding second cylindrical part (5) of another pre-formed water barrier element (top and bottom 4), so that the pre-formed water barrier elements (top and bottom 4) form a water barrier forming the water barrier (4) for the joint (30, Paragraph 62-63).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the joint of Hu to comprise the water barrier to be welded to the water barriers of the first and second spliced cables configuration as taught by Ekholm because Ekholm teaches that such a configuration provides a joint (Figs 2-7) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while providing a water type connection between the metallic sheath and the protective casing and ensuring to avoid the risk of water diffusing into the protective casing thereby preventing damage to the cable and electrical breakdown (Paragraph 11).
With respect to claim 20, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the heat shrinkable tube of Hu to be comprise a polyethylene adhesive between the heat shrinkable layer and the joint water barrier layer, since it is well known in the art of cables that such an adhesive is commonly utilized to waterproof and protect the interior components, from which the heat shrinkable tube is trying to protect.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Pat Num 107465154) in view of Ekholm (Pub Num 2019/0190245), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Hu), further in view of Byung Ha (KR Pat Num 2018-0111457 A). Modified Hu discloses a joint (Figs 1-3) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 4), while enhancing the reliability and speeding up the installation time (Paragraph 74), as disclosed above with respect to claims 1 & 3. Specifically, with respect to claim 4, modified Hu discloses a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1).
However, modified Hu doesn’t necessarily disclose the water barrier layer of the cable being made of aluminum, an aluminum alloy of the AAlxxx series, AA5xxx series or the AA6xxx series according to the Aluminum Association Standard, iron, a Fe-alloy, stainless steel alloy SS316 or stainless steel alloy S32750 (claim 4).
Byung Ha teaches a joint (Figs 1-2) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while controlling the shape of both ends at the junction box (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claim 4, Byung Ha teaches a joint (200) for joining a first electric cable (100a) and a second electric cable (100b), wherein each cable (100a & 100b) comprising an electric conductor (11a & 11b), an insulation system (12, 14, & 16) surrounding the electric conductor (11a & 11b), and a water barrier (22) surrounding the insulation system (12, 14, & 16), wherein the insulation system (12, 14, & 16) comprises an inner semiconducting layer (12), an insulating layer (14) and an outer semiconducting layer (16), wherein the joint (200) comprises an electrical conductor joint (C) electrically connecting end sections of the two electrical conductors (11a & 11b), and a water barrier layer (250) surrounding the conductor joint (C), wherein the water barrier layer (4) is aluminum (Paragraph 124).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the high voltage joint of modified Hu to comprise the water barrier being formed of aluminum instead of copper configuration as taught by Byung Ha because Byung Ha teaches that such a configuration provides a joint (Figs 1-2) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while controlling the shape of both ends at the junction box (abstract) and since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (CN Pat Num 107465154) in view of Ekholm (Pub Num 2019/0190245), as applied to claim 1 above (herein referred to as modified Hu), further in view of Steinhaus et al (Pat Num 2022/0224088, herein referred to as Steinhaus). Modified Hu discloses a joint (Figs 1-3) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 4), while enhancing the reliability and speeding up the installation time (Paragraph 74), as disclosed above with respect to claims 1 & 3. Specifically, with respect to claims 5-7, modified Hu discloses a water barrier (located adjacent to top and bottom 11) surrounding the insulation system (top and bottom 3, 2, 1).
However, modified Hu doesn’t necessarily disclose the water barrier of the first and/or of the second electric cable is lead-free (claim 5), nor the water barrier of the first and/or of the second electric cable is made of aluminum, an aluminum alloy of the AAlxxx series, AA5xxx series or the AA6xxx series according to the Aluminum Association Standard, copper, a copper-alloy, a CuNi-alloy a CuNiSi-alloy age hardened to T6, iron, a Fe-alloy, stainless steel alloy SS316, or stainless steel alloy S32750 (claim 6), nor the water barrier of the first and/or of the second electric cable and the water barrier layer are made of the same material (claim 7).
Steinhaus teaches a joint (Figs 1-4) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while enhancing the reliability and speeding up the installation time (Paragraph 74). With respect to claim 5-7, Steinhaus discloses a joint (100C, Fig 2a) for joining a first electric cable (1a) and a second electric cable (1b), wherein each cable (1a & 1b) comprising an electric conductor (10a & 10b), an insulation system (12a, 13a, & 12b, 13b) surrounding the electric conductor (10a & 10b), and a water barrier (lead metal sheath, not numbered, Paragraph 17) surrounding the insulation system (12a, 13a, & 12b, 13b), wherein the insulation system (12a,13a, & 12b, 13b) comprises an inner semiconducting layer (not numbered), an insulating layer (12a & 12b) and an outer semiconducting layer (13a & 13b, Paragraph 16), wherein the joint (100C) comprises an electrical conductor joint (3) electrically connecting end sections of the two electrical conductors (12a & 12b, Paragraph 189), an insulation system joint (6) comprising an inner layer made of a first polymeric semiconducting material (32s) surrounding the electric conductor joint (3, Paragraph 189), an intermediate insulating layer (32t) made of a polymeric insulating material (Paragraph 188) covering an external surface of the inner semiconducting layer (32s), an outer layer (32r) made of a second polymeric semiconducting material (Paragraph 189) covering an external surface of the insulating layer (32t), a water barrier layer (4) surrounding the insulation system joint (6), wherein the water barrier layer (4) is made of pre-formed water barrier elements (4a & 4b), wherein the water barrier (metallic sheath) of the first and/or of the second electric cable (1a & 1b) and the water barrier layer (4) are made of the same material (i.e. copper, Paragraph 93 & 197).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the high voltage joint of modified Hu to comprise the water barrier being formed of the first and/or of the second electric cable to be made of the same material such as copper configuration as taught by Steinhaus because Steinhaus teaches a joint (Figs 1-4) for connecting high voltage cables (Paragraph 1), while enhancing the reliability and speeding up the installation time (Paragraph 74). and since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose high voltage cable joints comprising water barrier joints being welded to the water barrier layers of first and second cables.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
June 13, 2026