Claim Objections
The objections to the Claim 9 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to
the Claim 9.
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “A device…, the device comprising: a heatsink removably attached to the electronic component,…” to avoid antecedent issues and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “A device…, the device comprising: a heatsink removably attached to an electronic component,…”. (Examiner notes Applicant’s remarks that “the term “an electronic component” appears in the preamble of Claims 1 and 11 and that all subsequent recitations of the phrase “the electronic component” are proper”, but the Examiner respectfully disagrees and would like to state that “an electronic component” in the preamble is intended use and not positively reciting or claiming “an electronic component” until the limitations recite “the device comprising: a heatsink removably attached to an electronic component,…”)
Claim 11 recites “A method…, the method comprising:… and the electronic component in an internal volume of a casing,…” to avoid antecedent issues and for clarity and consistency, the limitations should be changed to read “A method…, the method comprising:… and an electronic component in an internal volume of a casing,…”. (Similarly with the Claim Objection to Claim 1 as per above, the Examiner would like to note “an electronic component” in the preamble is intended use and not positively reciting or claiming “an electronic component” until the limitations recite “A method…, the method comprising:… and an electronic component in an internal volume of a casing,…”)
Claim 2-8, 10 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 1 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Claim 12-18, 20 are also objected to since they depend on Claim 11 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8 10-15, 17-18, 20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LIAO et al. (US 2024/0381585 - hereinafter, "Liao").
With respect to Claim 1, Liao teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
A device (120) [for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment] (Examiner notes “for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment” is intended use, as stated in the MPEP,
2114 (ii): Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A
claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed
apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed
apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all
the structural limitations of the claim. Above statement within brackets “[ ]” does
not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the
claimed structural limitations.), the device (120) comprising:
a heatsink (123) removably attached to an electronic component (122), wherein the heatsink (123) comprises a series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) configured to direct a cooling fluid (112) to flow over the electronic component (122), where the cooling fluid (112) absorbs heat from the electronic component (122);
a casing (128) comprising: an internal volume (interval space of the casing (128)) containing the heatsink (123) and the electronic component (122), and an inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and an outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”);
a micropump (124) configured to actuate in order to forcefully direct the cooling fluid (112) through the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123); and
a first conduit (126), connected to the micropump (124), configured to direct the cooling fluid (112) to the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128),
wherein the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) are oriented such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes (in paragraph [0027], “When the heat sink has cooling fins but has no internal tubes, a connecting tube may be attached or placed directly adjacent to one side of the heat sink such that the dielectric coolant is directed to flow between cooling fins or channels of the heat sink… In that example, the size and orientation of the connecting tube and the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink may be optimized for the particular dielectric coolant and target operating temperature”, the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink could be “oriented such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes”) within the heatsink (123) and above the electronic component (122, see Figure 1), and
wherein each baffle (each cooling fin of the plurality of cooling fins) of the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles (in paragraph [0027], “When the heat sink has cooling fins but has no internal tubes, a connecting tube may be attached or placed directly adjacent to one side of the heat sink such that the dielectric coolant is directed to flow between cooling fins or channels of the heat sink… In that example, the size and orientation of the connecting tube and the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink may be optimized for the particular dielectric coolant and target operating temperature”, the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink could “extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles”).
With respect to Claim 2, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the micropump (124) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 3, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the heatsink (123) is formed as an enclosed structure (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 provides a large surface area for dissipating heat from the electronic component 122. The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) comprising a heatsink inlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (126) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to enter) and a heatsink outlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (127) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to exit).
With respect to Claim 4, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3, in paragraph [0029])
wherein the first conduit (see Figure 3) comprises a manifold (see Figure 3) including a series of branches (211+212) configured to connect the micropump (124) to a plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) such that the cooling fluid (112) is directed from the micropump (124) to the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2).
With respect to Claim 5, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3, in paragraph [0029])
further comprising: a plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122), in paragraph [0029]) disposed in the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128), wherein each heatsink (123-1+123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is removably attached to one electronic component (corresponding electronic component (122)) of the plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122), see Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 7, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: a second conduit (127) connected to the heatsink (123), the second conduit (127) being configured to direct the cooling fluid (112) from the heatsink (123) to the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 8, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) are positioned at a same height of the casing (128), where a height of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 10, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the micropump (124) is separated in a horizontal direction (see Figure 1) from the inlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023]) of the casing (128) such that a gap (see Figure 1) exists between the micropump (124) and the inlet orifice (see Figure 1), the gap (see Figure 1) being configured to direct a portion of the cooling fluid (112) to enter the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) such that the micropump (124), the first conduit (126), the heatsink (123), and the electronic component (122) are immersed in the cooling fluid (112) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 11, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
A method [for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment] (Examiner notes “for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment” is intended use, as stated in the MPEP,
2114 (ii): Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A
claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed
apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed
apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all
the structural limitations of the claim. Above statement within brackets “[ ]” does
not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the
claimed structural limitations.), the method comprising:
containing a heatsink (123), a micropump (124), a first conduit (126) connected to the micropump (124), and an electronic component (122) in an internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of a casing (128), where the casing (128) comprises an inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and an outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”);
actuating the micropump (124) to forcefully direct a cooling fluid (112) through a series of baffles of the heatsink;
directing the cooling fluid (112) to the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) of the heatsink (123) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) with the first conduit (126) connected to the micropump (124);
absorbing heat from the electronic component (122) with the cooling fluid (112), where the cooling fluid (112) is directed to flow over the electronic component (122) by the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) removably attached to the electronic component (122), and
directing the cooling fluid (112) out of the casing (128) with the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023]),
wherein the method further comprises orienting the series of baffles of the heatsink such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes (in paragraph [0027], “When the heat sink has cooling fins but has no internal tubes, a connecting tube may be attached or placed directly adjacent to one side of the heat sink such that the dielectric coolant is directed to flow between cooling fins or channels of the heat sink… In that example, the size and orientation of the connecting tube and the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink may be optimized for the particular dielectric coolant and target operating temperature”, the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink could be “orienting the series of baffles of the heatsink such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes”) within the heatsink (123) and above the electronic component (122, see Figure 1), and
wherein each baffle (each cooling fin of the plurality of cooling fins) of the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles (in paragraph [0027], “When the heat sink has cooling fins but has no internal tubes, a connecting tube may be attached or placed directly adjacent to one side of the heat sink such that the dielectric coolant is directed to flow between cooling fins or channels of the heat sink… In that example, the size and orientation of the connecting tube and the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink may be optimized for the particular dielectric coolant and target operating temperature”, the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink could be “extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles”).
With respect to Claim 12, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning the micropump (124) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 13, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: forming the heatsink (123) as an enclosed structure (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 provides a large surface area for dissipating heat from the electronic component 122. The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) comprising a heatsink inlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (126) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to enter) and a heatsink outlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (127) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to exit).
With respect to Claim 14, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the first conduit (126) comprises a manifold (see Figure 3) including a series of branches (211+212), and the method further comprises: connecting the micropump (124) to a plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) with the series of branches (211+212) of the manifold (see Figure 3) such that the cooling fluid (112) is directed from the micropump (124) to the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2).
With respect to Claim 15, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: removably attaching each heatsink (123-1 or 123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) to one electronic component (corresponding electronic components (122)) of a plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122)) disposed in the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 17, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: directing the cooling fluid (112) from the heatsink (123) to the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) of the casing (128) with a second conduit (127).
With respect to Claim 18, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning the inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and the outlet orifice (see Figure 1) at a same height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128), where a height of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 20, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: directing a portion of the cooling fluid (112) to enter the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) by way of a gap (see Figure 1) between the micropump (124) and the inlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) such that the micropump (124), the first conduit (126), the heatsink (123), and the electronic component (122) are immersed in the cooling fluid (112) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Waddell et al. (US 11,252,847 - hereinafter, "Waddell").
With respect to Claim 6, Liao teaches the limitations of Claim 5 as per above and Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein a first heatsink (123-1) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), and a second heatsink (123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), where a height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height.
Waddell, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first heatsink (122) of a plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a first height (see Figure 2) and a second heatsink (142) of the plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a second height (see Figure 2), different from the first height (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Waddell with Liao, such that a first heatsink of a plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height as taught by Waddell since doing so would the plurality of heatsink of Liao to be utilized to attach to the plurality of electronic components of Liao at different locations and heights1 within the internal volume of the casing.
With respect to Claim 16, Liao teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above and Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning a first heatsink (123-1) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), and positioning a second heatsink (123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), where a height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height.
Waddell, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first heatsink (122) of a plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a first height (see Figure 2) and a second heatsink (142) of the plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a second height (see Figure 2), different from the first height (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Waddell with Liao, such that a first heatsink of a plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height as taught by Waddell since doing so would the plurality of heatsink of Liao to be utilized to attach to the plurality of electronic components of Liao at different locations and heights2 within the internal volume of the casing.
Claims 1-5, 7-8 10-15, 17-18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Amos et al. (US 12,538,451 - hereinafter, "Amos").
With respect to Claim 1, Liao teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
A device (120) [for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment] (Examiner notes “for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment” is intended use, as stated in the MPEP,
2114 (ii): Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A
claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed
apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed
apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all
the structural limitations of the claim. Above statement within brackets “[ ]” does
not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the
claimed structural limitations.), the device (120) comprising:
a heatsink (123) removably attached to an electronic component (122), wherein the heatsink (123) comprises a series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) configured to direct a cooling fluid (112) to flow over the electronic component (122), where the cooling fluid (112) absorbs heat from the electronic component (122);
a casing (128) comprising: an internal volume (interval space of the casing (128)) containing the heatsink (123) and the electronic component (122), and an inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and an outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”);
a micropump (124) configured to actuate in order to forcefully direct the cooling fluid (112) through the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123); and
a first conduit (126), connected to the micropump (124), configured to direct the cooling fluid (112) to the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128),
wherein the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) are oriented within the heatsink (123) and above the electronic component (122).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the series of baffles are oriented such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes, and wherein each baffle of the series of baffles extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles.
Amos, however, teaches (in Figure 26A-26B) wherein a series of baffles (63b, see Figure 26A-26B) are oriented such that a fluid flow path (see Figure 26A-26B) of a cooling fluid (liquid coolant) is directed to wind in successive passes (see Figure 26A-26B), and wherein each baffle (an individual (63B)) of the series of baffles (63B) extends substantially across a length (see Figure 26A-26B) of a heatsink (heat sink, in column 26, lines 37-39, “The heat sink arrangement comprises: a mounting surface part 61; projections (in the form of pins) 62; baffles 63; retaining walls 64 and cover part 65”), leaving a small gap (the width of between baffles or the width of the flow path (see Figure 26A-26B)) for the cooling fluid (liquid coolant) to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles (63B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Amos with Liao, such that wherein a series of baffles are oriented such that a fluid flow path of a cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes, and wherein each baffle of the series of baffles extends substantially across a length of a heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles as taught by Amos since doing so would allow for circulation of the liquid coolant around the internal volume to promote movement of the liquid coolant and configured to cause the liquid coolant to flow in a channel of serpentine and/or spiral shape. (in column 28, lines 3-19)
With respect to Claim 2, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the micropump (124) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 3, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the heatsink (123) is formed as an enclosed structure (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 provides a large surface area for dissipating heat from the electronic component 122. The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) comprising a heatsink inlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (126) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to enter) and a heatsink outlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (127) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to exit).
With respect to Claim 4, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3, in paragraph [0029])
wherein the first conduit (see Figure 3) comprises a manifold (see Figure 3) including a series of branches (211+212) configured to connect the micropump (124) to a plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) such that the cooling fluid (112) is directed from the micropump (124) to the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2).
With respect to Claim 5, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 4 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3, in paragraph [0029])
further comprising: a plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122), in paragraph [0029]) disposed in the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128), wherein each heatsink (123-1+123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is removably attached to one electronic component (corresponding electronic component (122)) of the plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122), see Figure 3).
With respect to Claim 7, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: a second conduit (127) connected to the heatsink (123), the second conduit (127) being configured to direct the cooling fluid (112) from the heatsink (123) to the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 8, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) are positioned at a same height of the casing (128), where a height of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 10, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 1 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the micropump (124) is separated in a horizontal direction (see Figure 1) from the inlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023]) of the casing (128) such that a gap (see Figure 1) exists between the micropump (124) and the inlet orifice (see Figure 1), the gap (see Figure 1) being configured to direct a portion of the cooling fluid (112) to enter the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) such that the micropump (124), the first conduit (126), the heatsink (123), and the electronic component (122) are immersed in the cooling fluid (112) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 11, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
A method [for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment] (Examiner notes “for cooling an electronic component in a cooling fluid immersion environment” is intended use, as stated in the MPEP,
2114 (ii): Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A
claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed
apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed
apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all
the structural limitations of the claim. Above statement within brackets “[ ]” does
not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the
claimed structural limitations.), the method comprising:
containing a heatsink (123), a micropump (124), a first conduit (126) connected to the micropump (124), and an electronic component (122) in an internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of a casing (128), where the casing (128) comprises an inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and an outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”);
actuating the micropump (124) to forcefully direct a cooling fluid (112) through a series of baffles of the heatsink;
directing the cooling fluid (112) to the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) of the heatsink (123) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) with the first conduit (126) connected to the micropump (124);
absorbing heat from the electronic component (122) with the cooling fluid (112), where the cooling fluid (112) is directed to flow over the electronic component (122) by the series of baffles (plurality of cooling fins) of the heatsink (123) removably attached to the electronic component (122), and
directing the cooling fluid (112) out of the casing (128) with the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023]),
wherein the method further comprises orienting (in paragraph [0027], “When the heat sink has cooling fins but has no internal tubes, a connecting tube may be attached or placed directly adjacent to one side of the heat sink such that the dielectric coolant is directed to flow between cooling fins or channels of the heat sink… In that example, the size and orientation of the connecting tube and the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink may be optimized for the particular dielectric coolant and target operating temperature”, the fin pitch or other structural features of the heat sink could be “orienting the series of baffles within the heatsink”) the series of baffles within the heatsink (123) and above the electronic component (122, see Figure 1).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest orienting the series of baffles of the heatsink such that a fluid flow path of the cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes, and wherein each baffle of the series of baffles extends substantially across a length of the heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles.
Amos, however, teaches (in Figure 26A-26B) orienting a series of baffles (63b, see Figure 26A-26B) of a heatsink (heat sink, in column 26, lines 37-39, “The heat sink arrangement comprises: a mounting surface part 61; projections (in the form of pins) 62; baffles 63; retaining walls 64 and cover part 65”) such that a fluid flow path (see Figure 26A-26B) of a cooling fluid (liquid coolant) is directed to wind in successive passes (see Figure 26A-26B), and wherein each baffle (an individual (63B)) of the series of baffles (63B) extends substantially across a length (see Figure 26A-26B) of the heatsink (heat sink), leaving a small gap (the width of between baffles or the width of the flow path (see Figure 26A-26B)) for the cooling fluid (liquid coolant) to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles (63B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Amos with Liao, such that orienting a series of baffles of a heatsink such that a fluid flow path of a cooling fluid is directed to wind in successive passes, and wherein each baffle of the series of baffles extends substantially across a length of a heatsink, leaving a small gap for the cooling fluid to transfer into a next pass of the series of baffles as taught by Amos since doing so would allow for circulation of the liquid coolant around the internal volume to promote movement of the liquid coolant and configured to cause the liquid coolant to flow in a channel of serpentine and/or spiral shape. (in column 28, lines 3-19)
With respect to Claim 12, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning the micropump (124) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 13, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: forming the heatsink (123) as an enclosed structure (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The heat sink 123 provides a large surface area for dissipating heat from the electronic component 122. The heat sink 123 may be a cold plate or may have a plurality of cooling fins”) comprising a heatsink inlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (126) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to enter) and a heatsink outlet (see Figure 1, where conduit (127) connect to allow cooling fluid (112) to exit).
With respect to Claim 14, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein the first conduit (126) comprises a manifold (see Figure 3) including a series of branches (211+212), and the method further comprises: connecting the micropump (124) to a plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) with the series of branches (211+212) of the manifold (see Figure 3) such that the cooling fluid (112) is directed from the micropump (124) to the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2).
With respect to Claim 15, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 14 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: removably attaching each heatsink (123-1 or 123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) to one electronic component (corresponding electronic components (122)) of a plurality of electronic components (corresponding electronic components (122)) disposed in the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 17, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: directing the cooling fluid (112) from the heatsink (123) to the outlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) of the casing (128) with a second conduit (127).
With respect to Claim 18, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning the inlet orifice (see Figure 1) and the outlet orifice (see Figure 1) at a same height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128), where a height of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
With respect to Claim 20, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 11 as per above, Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: directing a portion of the cooling fluid (112) to enter the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128) by way of a gap (see Figure 1) between the micropump (124) and the inlet orifice (see Figure 1, in paragraph [0023], “The housing 128 have open sections that allow the dielectric coolant 112 to enter (see arrow 151) and exit (see arrow 152) the electronic device 120. The electronic device 120 is thus cooled by the dielectric coolant 112 from inside and outside the electronic device 120.”) such that the micropump (124), the first conduit (126), the heatsink (123), and the electronic component (122) are immersed in the cooling fluid (112) within the internal volume (internal space of casing (128)) of the casing (128).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Amos in view of Waddell.
With respect to Claim 6, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 5 as per above and Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
wherein a first heatsink (123-1) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), and a second heatsink (123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) is disposed within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), where a height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height.
Waddell, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first heatsink (122) of a plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a first height (see Figure 2) and a second heatsink (142) of the plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a second height (see Figure 2), different from the first height (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Waddell with Liao, such that a first heatsink of a plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height as taught by Waddell since doing so would the plurality of heatsink of Liao to be utilized to attach to the plurality of electronic components of Liao at different locations and heights3 within the internal volume of the casing.
With respect to Claim 16, Liao as modified by Amos teaches the limitations of Claim 15 as per above and Liao further teaches (in Figure 1 and 3)
further comprising: positioning a first heatsink (123-1) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), and positioning a second heatsink (123-2) of the plurality of heatsinks (123-1+123-2) within the internal volume (internal space of the casing (128)) of the casing (128), where a height (see Figure 1) of the casing (128) is measured in a direction (vertical) orthogonal to a primary extension direction (horizontal) of the casing (128).
Liao fails to specifically teach or suggest a first heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height.
Waddell, however, teaches (in Figure 2) a first heatsink (122) of a plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a first height (see Figure 2) and a second heatsink (142) of the plurality of heatsinks (112+122+132+142) is disposed at a second height (see Figure 2), different from the first height (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Waddell with Liao, such that a first heatsink of a plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a first height and a second heatsink of the plurality of heatsinks is disposed at a second height, different from the first height as taught by Waddell since doing so would the plurality of heatsink of Liao to be utilized to attach to the plurality of electronic components of Liao at different locations and heights4 within the internal volume of the casing.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks to Claim 1 and 11 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) (Present remarks page 8-10) The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes the modified rejection to Claim 1 and 11 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as per above.
The Examiner respectfully notes if the Applicant does not believe the modified rejection to Claim 1 and 11 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as per above properly traverses the amendment to Claim 1 and 11, the Examiner provided rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Amos for Claims 1-5, 7-8 10-15, 17-18, 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2841
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841
1 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
2 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
3 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)
4 In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)