DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18/540,559 RCE filed on 08/10/2026.
Claims 1, 2 14, 18 are amended
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The examiner states that based upon the applicants amendments, the claims are still read on by IRVING with regards to “wherein the fourth linkage is oriented non-parallel to a centerline of the machine.” (fig. 2 based on the surface of the linkage of 16, the surface of the linkage is perpendicular to the center line of the machine.) Since the applicant has not created a related reference point with regards to the centerline of the machine and the orientation of the linkage, the examiner using broadest reasonable interpretation is free to interpret the limitation broadly that would allow other surfaces on the linkage in reference to the centerline to read on the claim. Additionally the centerline does not have a reference point and thus can be freely interpreted to be a centerline off any point. The examiner states that this is merely one example based on the broadest reasonable interpretation for such a term, and other reference points may be applicable.
The second claim as amended as now rejected by DUBIEL that discloses the angle of the linkage assembly. The examiner states DUBIEL discloses the angle with regards to extension of the linkage assembly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3- 6, 8, 10 – 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being unpatentable over US Patent 6249992 – Irving et al. hereinafter as IRVING
Regarding Claim 1
IRVING discloses:
1. A snow wing assembly for a machine, comprising:
a moldboard; (Fig. 2 - Blade 12)
a linkage assembly comprising:
a first linkage coupled to the moldboard; (Fig. 2 – first linkage - pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17 , moldboard – blade 12)
a second linkage pivotally coupled to the first linkage at a first outboard end of the second linkage; (Fig. 2 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 couple to first linkage - pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17, first outboard end of bottom box beam 18, moldboard – blade 12)
a third linkage pivotally coupled to the first linkage at a second outboard end of the third linkage; and ( Fig. 2 – Third Linkage - One cylinder 21, first linkage pivot hinge outer U-shaped plate 17, second outboard end of third linkage one cylinder 21)
a fourth linkage coupled to the machine and pivotally coupled to a first inboard end of the second linkage and a second inboard end of the third linkage; ( Fig. 2 – fourth linkage - inner U-shaped plate 16, coupled to tractor, connected to inboard end of second linkage - bottom box beam 18, and second inboard end of the third linkage - One cylinder 21)
wherein the third linkage is selectively adjustable to vary a distance between the second outboard end and the second inboard end for tilting the moldboard. ( Fig. 2 –wherein third linkage - One cylinder 21 can adjust distance)
wherein the fourth linkage is oriented non-parallel to a centerline of the machine. (fig. 2 based on the surface of the linkage of 16, the surface of the linkage is perpendicular to the center line of the machine.)
Regarding Claim 3
IRVING discloses claim 1
3. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, the second linkage comprising a hydraulic actuator and at least one side member, the at least one side member defining an opening, the opening configured to receive at least one hydraulic hose in fluid communication with the hydraulic actuator. ( fig.4 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 has a lower cylinder 22, second linkage has a side member on the bottom box beam 18, based on broadest reasonable interpretation the side member defining an opening is interpreted such that the side member connects to the top of bottom box beam and creates an opening between second linkage and hydraulic cylinders)
Regarding Claim 4
IRVING discloses claim 1
4. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, wherein the third linkage is a hydraulic cylinder (Fig. 4 – third linkage - hydraulic cylinder 21)
Regarding Claim 5
IRVING discloses claim 1
5. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, the moldboard comprising an outboard side (Fig. 1 the side piece that is on the outboard side of the blade) and an inboard side opposite the outboard side(Fig. 2 - the side piece that is on the inboard side of the blade toward the hinge of outer U-shaped plate 17), wherein an extension of the third linkage is configured tilt the outboard side downwards relative to the inboard side.( fig. 4 - extending cylinder 21 would tilt outboard side downwards)
Regarding Claim 6
IRVING discloses claim 1
6. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, the moldboard comprising an outboard side ( Fig. 1 the side piece that is on the outboard side of the blade)and an inboard side opposite the outboard side(Fig. 2 - the side piece that is on the inboard side of the blade toward the hinge of outer U-shaped plate 17), wherein a retraction of the third linkage is configured tilt the outboard side upwards relative to the inboard side. ( fig. 4 - retracting cylinder 21 would tilt outboard side upwards)
Regarding Claim 8
IRVING discloses claim 1
8. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, wherein the moldboard is pivotally coupled to the first linkage at a pivot( fig. 4 – blade 12 pivotally coupled to the hinge 27 connected to first linkage pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17) , the linkage assembly further comprising a rear linkage assembly including an actuator configured to selectively rotate the moldboard relative to the first linkage about the pivot to rotate the moldboard between a deployed position and a stowed position. (fig. 5 - hydraulic cylinder 35 to pivot the angle of the blade relative to the first linkage)
Regarding Claim 10
IRVING discloses claim 8
10. The snow wing assembly of claim 8, the moldboard comprising a bottom, the actuator configured to retract to move the moldboard to a stowed position, the stowed position including the bottom of the moldboard positioned substantially parallel with a ground surface and above a rear wheel of the machine. ( FIG. 9 is a view of a vehicle with the blade raised parallel to the vehicle, and see 8. A side wing plow assembly as claimed in claim 7 wherein the blade is adapted to swing into a transport (stowed) position in which the blade is raised and substantially parallel to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle.)
Regarding Claim 11
IRVING discloses claim 10
11. The snow wing assembly of claim 10, wherein in the stowed position, a portion of the moldboard extending across a portion of a window of the machine defines an upper viewing window above a top of the moldboard and a lower viewing window below the bottom of the moldboard. ( fig. 9 and fig. 1 - based on the driver and the angles of the images, the driver should be about view the of the blade upper and lower portions of the blade as it is sits parallel)
Regarding Claim 12
IRVING discloses claim 1
12. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, the moldboard comprising a bottom, wherein the linkage assembly is configured to extend non-perpendicularly from a centerline of the machine such that at least a portion of the bottom is visible from a cab of the machine. ( moldboard has a bottom and should be visible based on fig. 9 and fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 13
IRVING discloses claim 1
13. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, the second linkage including a first aperture and the fourth linkage including a second aperture, the first aperture and the second aperture configured to receive a pin, the pin configured to prevent the second linkage from rotating relative to the fourth linkage with the pin received in the first aperture and the second aperture. (Fig. 2 – second linkage – 18, has an aperture, fourth linkage 16 and a second aperture, and a pin 19 prevents linkage rotation relative to fourth linkage 16)
Regarding Claim 14
IRVING discloses
14. A linkage assembly for a machine, comprising:
a first linkage defining a first axis; (fig. 2 – First linkage – pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17)
a second linkage pivotally coupled with the first linkage at a first outboard end of the second linkage; (Fig. 2 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 couple to first linkage - pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17, first outboard end of bottom box beam 18, moldboard – blade 12)
a third linkage pivotally coupled with the first linkage at a second outboard end of the third linkage; ( Fig. 2 – Third Linkage - One cylinder 21, first linkage pivot hinge outer U-shaped plate 17, second outboard end of third linkage one cylinder 21)
a fourth linkage configured to couple with the machine, the fourth linkage pivotally coupled with a first inboard end of the second linkage and a second inboard end of the third linkage, ( Fig. 2 – fourth linkage - inner U-shaped plate 16, coupled to tractor, connected to inboard end of second linkage - bottom box beam 18, and second inboard end of the third linkage - One cylinder 21)
wherein the third linkage is selectively adjustable to alter an orientation of the first axis with respect to a ground surface. ( Fig. 2 –wherein third linkage - One cylinder 21 can adjust distance to change orientation)
wherein the linkage assembly extends non-perpendicularly from a centerline of the machine and toward a front or a rear of the machine(fig. 2 linkage 18 - wherein the linkage when raised into most upwards position is angled to a non-perpendicular plane to the centerline.)
Regarding Claim 15
IRVING discloses claim 14:
15. The linkage assembly of claim 14, wherein the third linkage is extendable to rotate the first linkage about a second axis, wherein the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at the second axis. ( fig. 2 – extending cylinder 21 rotates first linkage about a second axis.)
Regarding Claim 16
IRVING discloses claim 14
16. The linkage assembly of claim 14, wherein at least the second linkage comprises an actuator, the actuator selectively adjustable to rotate the second linkage relative to the fourth linkage. ( fig.4 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 has a lower cylinder 22, adjust to rotate relative to the fourth linkage 16 )
Regarding Claim 18
IRVING discloses
18. A snow wing assembly for a machine, comprising:
a first linkage assembly, comprising:
a first linkage; (fig. 2 – First linkage – pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17)
a second linkage coupled with the first linkage at a first outboard end of the second linkage and pivotable about a tilt axis; (Fig. 2 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 couple to first linkage - pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17, first outboard end of bottom box beam 18, moldboard – blade 12)
a third linkage comprising a first actuator, the third linkage coupled with the first linkage at a second outboard end of the third linkage; ( Fig. 2 – Third Linkage - One cylinder 21, first linkage pivot hinge outer U-shaped plate 17, second outboard end of third linkage one cylinder 21)
a fourth linkage configured to couple with the machine, the fourth linkage pivotally coupled with the second linkage at a first inboard end of the second linkage and the third linkage at a second inboard end of the third linkage; ( Fig. 2 – fourth linkage - inner U-shaped plate 16, coupled to tractor, connected to inboard end of second linkage - bottom box beam 18, and second inboard end of the third linkage - One cylinder 21)
a second linkage assembly coupled, at a third inboard end of the second linkage assembly, to the machine, the second linkage assembly comprising a second actuator; and ( fig.4 – second linkage - bottom box beam 18 has a lower cylinder 22)
a moldboard comprising an outboard side ( Fig. 1 the side piece that is on the outboard side of the blade) and an inboard side opposite the outboard side(Fig. 2 - the side piece that is on the inboard side of the blade toward the hinge of outer U-shaped plate 17), the moldboard coupled with the first linkage on the inboard side and pivotable about an angle axis, (fig. 2 and fig.4 - First linkage is pivot hinge with outer U-shaped plate 17, second actuator – cylinder 22 – pivots about axis 24 for an angle axis)the moldboard pivotally coupled with a third outboard end of the second linkage assembly on the outboard side, the first actuator configured to rotate the moldboard about the tilt axis( third linkage – cylinder 21 tilts about axis of pin 20) and the second actuator configured to rotate the moldboard about the angle axis. (second actuator – cylinder 22 – pivots about axis 24 for an angle axis)
wherein the linkage assembly extends non-perpendicularly from a centerline of the machine and toward a front or a rear of the machine(fig. 2 linkage 18 - wherein the linkage when raised into most upwards position is angled to a non perpendicular plane to the centerline.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6249992 – Irving et al. hereinafter as IRVING in view of US PG Pub 20140068975 – Dubiel et al. hereinafter as DUBIEL
Regarding Claim 2 IRVING discloses claim 1
IRVING discloses of a snow wing assembly with a linkage assembly extends from the centerline of the machine, DUBIEL discloses of a snow wing assembly wherein the assembly extends outwardly at angle
2. The snow wing assembly of claim 1, wherein, in a plan view, the linkage assembly extends outwardly non-perpendicularly from the centerline of the machine at an angle of between 45 degrees and 75 degrees toward the rear of the machine.(para. 0033 and fig. 13 - wherein the linkage assembly of 825 becomes parallel at an angle when in a plow position, The parallel of the linkage provide optimize geometry for plowing)
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Angle)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for IRVING’s snow wing assembly with a linkage assembly to be able to have a linkage assembly that extends outwardly non- perpendicularly from the center line of the machine at an angle towards the rear of the machine as taught by DUBIEL. IRVING would be motivated to combine with DUBIEL as the specific geometry of the linkage would create a parallel line in the plowing position to achieve a particular effective geometry for plowing. (DUBIEL - para. 0033 and fig. 13 - wherein the linkage of 825 to the plow is parallel to the plow this provided in the plowing position for optimum geometry, the angle of 825 with regards to the angle of the plow are parallel)
Additionally, DUBIEL discloses wherein the angle of the linkage assembly is 45 – 75 degree. Geometric angles ranges relative to the centerline of the machine are known for effecting plowing conditions. As a result, the angle ranges relative to the centerline of the machine of 45 – 75 degrees is a results effective variable. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention to utilize the angle range of 45 – 75 degrees of the linkage assembly as it has been held that the routine optimization of a results effective variable is obvious in this case to achieve operating conditions for optimum effectiveness of plowing geometry. (DUBIEL - para. 0033 and fig. 13 - wherein the linkage of 825 to the plow is parallel to the plow this provided in the plowing position for optimum geometry, the angle of 825 with regards to the angle of the plow are parallel)
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6249992 – Irving et al. hereinafter as IRVING in view of CA3129773 – Niemela et al. hereinafter as NIEMELA
Regarding Claim 9
IRVING discloses claim 8
IRVING discloses the rear linkage assembly of the snow plow
NIEMELA discloses of a snow plow that has a linkage that includes a relief valve configured to prevent a pressure within the actuator from exceeding a threshold amount. (page 20, first paragraph - The hydraulic cylinder 214 may include a relief valve or otherwise be hydraulically linked to the actuator 220 in a manner such that upon an impact event at the blade assembly 116, the hydraulic pressure increase in the hydraulic cylinder 214 from the impact at the blade assembly 116 directs high pressure fluid to the actuator 220 to force the entire blade assembly 116 upwardly to further reduce or eliminate damage to the apparatus 210 or vehicle 112 )
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for IRVING’s rear linkage assembly of the snow plow wing that has an actuator to utilize a linkage that includes a relief value to prevent a pressure within the actuator from exceed a threshold amount as taught by NIEMELA. This would allow IRVING to redirect high pressure and to eliminate damage to the plow or vehicle. (page 20, first paragraph - … relief valve or otherwise be hydraulically linked to the actuator 220 in a manner such that upon an impact event …reduce or eliminate damage to the apparatus 210 or vehicle 112 )
Claim(s) 7, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6249992 – Irving et al. hereinafter as IRVING in view of US PG Pubs 20130300095 – Wrensch et al. hereinafter as WRENSCH
Regarding Claim 7
IRVING discloses claim 1
IRVING discloses wherein the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage.
WRENSCH discloses of the second outboard end of the third linkage is couple to the first linkage via a float member, WRENSCH discloses:
the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount. (para. 0021 – wherein there is a float feature between the actuator 20 (third linkage) to the front arm (first linkage). The float feature is a bushing that is secured on the actuator ( third linkage).)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for IRVINGs linkages of the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage includes a float member between the third linkage and first linkage, such that the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount as taught by WRENSCH. This would allow IRVING to provide movement between the linkages to reduce excessive load. (WRENSCH - Para. 0021)
Regarding Claim 17
IRVING discloses claim 14
IRVING discloses wherein the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage.
WRENSCH discloses of the second outboard end of the third linkage is couple to the first linkage via a float member, WRENSCH discloses:
the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount. (para. 0021 – wherein there is a float feature between the actuator 20 (third linkage) to the front arm (first linkage). The float feature is a bushing that is secured on the actuator ( third linkage).)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for IRVINGs linkages of the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage includes a float member between the third linkage and first linkage, such that the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount as taught by WRENSCH. This would allow IRVING to provide movement between the linkages to reduce excessive load. (WRENSCH - Para. 0021)
Regarding Claim 20
IRVING discloses claim 18
IRVING discloses wherein the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage.
WRENSCH discloses of the second outboard end of the third linkage is couple to the first linkage via a float member, WRENSCH discloses:
the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount. (para. 0021 – wherein there is a float feature between the actuator 20 (third linkage) to the front arm (first linkage). The float feature is a bushing that is secured on the actuator ( third linkage).)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for IRVINGs linkages of the first outboard end of the second linkage is coupled to the first linkage at a pivot and the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage includes a float member between the third linkage and first linkage, such that the second outboard end of the third linkage is coupled to the first linkage via a float member, the float member slidably coupled to the second outboard end to allow the moldboard to freely rotate about the pivot by an amount as taught by WRENSCH. This would allow IRVING to provide movement between the linkages to reduce excessive load. (WRENSCH - Para. 0021)
Claim(s) 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 6249992 – Irving et al. hereinafter as IRVING in view of US PG Pub20220136193 – Weihl et al. hereinafter as WEIHL
Regarding Claim 19
IRVING discloses claim 18
IRVING discloses of a snow plow that has actuators WEIHL discloses an accumulator fluidly coupled with the second actuator, WEIHL further discloses:
an accumulator fluidly coupled with the second actuator and configured to allow the second actuator to retract by a predefined amount. (para. [0081] In one embodiment, the cap side 1147 of the actuator 1145 may include an accumulator (e.g., a reservoir or tank) for the compressible gas. The accumulator may be integrated into the cap side 1147 of the actuator 1145 or may be external to the actuator 1145.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for IRVING’s snow plow that utilizes hydraulic actuators to utilize hydraulic actuators with an accumulator in order to retract a certain predefined amount as disclosed in WEIHL. This would allow IRVING to facilitate longer travel of with an external accumulator as a lack of an accumulator may not have enough gas pressure through the range of motion to retract in response to an obstruction. ( para. 00116)
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671