DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 recites, “wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance of the robot”.
Applicant’s published specification in several sections recites, “… power limit constraints in the control strategy determination may facilitate an intelligent tradeoff of power provided to actuators associated with certain joints relative to other joints that may be important to achieve a desired behavior.“; “determining the motor control information”, “power limit information……….to determine the motor control information…..”; “ please refer to sections 0091 0097; etc of applicant’s specification.
The applicant submits that “foregoing amendments may be found at least at paragraphs [0089], [0093], [0099], and [0104] of the Specification as filed”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s specification does not particularly recite the added limitation,
“wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance of the robot”. The specification does not particularly teach or recite, “the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power……….. while maintaining the balance of the robot”.
This is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Bellicoso (US 12168300) in view of Shein (US Pub 2011/0190933).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Bellicoso discloses a controller for a robot (computing system, motion control module of robot; abstract; col. 1, lines 25 to col. 2, line 39; figs. 3-11), the robot including a plurality of joints (col. 1, lines 47-64; lines 65; col. 2, lines 19-64), the controller programmed to execute a plurality of instructions that, when executed by a processor of a computing device perform a method comprising:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12), the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory to perform a desired behavior [col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12 , lines 26-60) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62) and power limit information [col. 14, lines 36-67; citing, “checks ………, whether certain metrics of the robot (such as joint limits, power output, or other metrics) have been violated….”] associated with a power system (1112; col. 20, lines 6-34) of the robot (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-52) the motor control information including joint torque information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, lines 31-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, 13-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62).
Bellicoso checks certain metrics of the robot so that motor control information is based on power limit information, wherein the power limit information includes checks to make sure that power output for the power system is not violated. As such claimed “power limit information” is tantamount to Bellicoso recited checking for power output not being violated of the power system.
Assuming that Bellicoso did not recite, the motor control information being based on power limit information, as argued by applicant, the examiner introduces Shein.
Shein teaches of a controller (140, fig. 15-17; abstract; sec 0010, 0070, 0073) for a robot, the robot including a plurality of joints, the controller programmed to execute a plurality of instructions (sec 0010-0013, 0028, 0073, 0074) that, when executed by a processor of a computing device perform a method comprising:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors (36, 46, 55, 72, 74, 1526, 1527; sec 0061, 0065, 0076, 0104) associated with the plurality of joints (71, 73; sec 0016, 0017, 0062, 0063) the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory (figs. 28, 29, 31, 31; sec 0019, 0029, 0075, 0094, 0102, 0107, 0115-0118) to perform a desired behavior and power limit information (sec 0075, 0076, 0114, 0115) associated with a power system (90; sec 0115, 0120, etc) of the robot, the motor control information including joint torque (sec 0096) information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior while maintaining balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot,
wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot (sec 0076, 0077); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior sec 0061, 0065, 0075, 0076, 0104, 0114, 0115)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ballicoso such that a motor control information perfroms a desired behavior of the robot while managing power thereof respecting a power limit associated with a power system on the robot.
Regarding claim 2, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving the robot trajectory (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12, lines 26-60), wherein determining the motor control information comprises performing an optimization based on the robot trajectory (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67), wherein the optimization includes a power limit constraint based on the power limit information (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67).
Regarding claim 3, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 2, wherein performing an optimization includes minimizing a cost function (col. 1, lines 47-64; col. 5, lines 29-45) associated with at least one objective, wherein minimizing the cost function is subject to one or more constraints including the power limit constraint (col. 1, lines 47-64; col. 5, lines 29-45; col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67).
Regarding claim 4, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 3, wherein the at least one objective includes a balance objective for the robot (col. 18, lines 6-19).
Regarding claim 5, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 3, wherein the one or more constraints includes limits of each of the plurality of motors (col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 6, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 3, wherein the one or more constraints includes environmental constraints (col. 1, lines 28-46; col. 2, lines 40-63; col. 6, lines 45-67).
Regarding claim 7, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the motor control information includes instantaneous motor currents for each of the plurality of motors (col. 3, 13-38; col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 8, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the joint torque information includes a plurality of joint torques for the plurality of joints (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12),
Regarding claim 9, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
determining based, at least in part, on the power limit information associated with a power system of the robot, the robot trajectory (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-52).
Regarding claim 10, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 9, wherein determining the motor control information comprises performing an optimization based on the robot trajectory (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12, lines 26-60), wherein the optimization includes a power limit constraint based on the power limit information (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-52).
Regarding claim 11, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the robot trajectory includes a plurality of forces that the robot should apply on its environment to achieve the desired behavior (col. 1, lines 28-46; col. 2, lines 40-63; col. 6, lines 45-67), and a plurality of accelerations for the plurality of joints (col. 1, lines 47-64; col. 3, 39-54; col. 4, lines 6-24).
Regarding claim 12, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the controller is a whole-body controller and the plurality of joints include each joint of the robot that is associated with one or more of the plurality of motors (col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 13, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the power system of the robot is an electric power system including at least one battery, and the motor control information includes motor currents for each of the plurality of motors (col. 3, 13-38; col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 14, Bellicoso discloses the controller of claim 13, wherein the power limit information includes power that can be provided by the at least one battery and/or power that can be consumed by the at least one battery during recharging of the at least one battery (col. 3, 13-38; col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 15, Bellicoso discloses a robot (robot; abstract; col. 1, lines 25 to col. 2, line 39; figs. 3-11), comprising:
a plurality of joints (col. 1, lines 47-64; lines 65; col. 2, lines 19-64);
a plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12);
a power system configured to provide power to the plurality of motors (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-52);
data processing hardware (col. 20, lines 20-33); and
memory hardware in communication with the data processing hardware, the memory hardware storing instructions that when executed on the data processing hardware cause the data processing hardware to perform operations (col. 20, lines 20-33) comprising:
determining motor control information for the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12), the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12 , lines 26-60) to perform a desired behavior while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62) and power limit information [col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67; col. 14, lines 36-67; citing, “checks ………, whether certain metrics of the robot (such as joint limits, power output, or other metrics) have been violated….”] associated with the power system of the robot (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67), the motor control information including joint torque information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, lines 31-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62).
Bellicoso checks certain metrics of the robot so that motor control information is based on power limit information, wherein the power limit information includes checks to make sure that power output for the power system is not violated. As such claimed “power limit information” is tantamount to Bellicoso recited checking for power output not being violated of the power system.
Assuming that Bellicoso did not recite, the motor control information being based on power limit information, as argued by applicant, the examiner introduces Shein.
Shein teaches of a controller (140, fig. 15-17; abstract; sec 0010, 0070, 0073) for a robot, the robot including a plurality of joints, the controller programmed to execute a plurality of instructions (sec 0010-0013, 0028, 0073, 0074) that, when executed by a processor of a computing device perform a method comprising:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors (36, 46, 55, 72, 74, 1526, 1527; sec 0061, 0065, 0076, 0104) associated with the plurality of joints (71, 73; sec 0016, 0017, 0062, 0063) the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory (figs. 28, 29, 31, 31; sec 0019, 0029, 0075, 0094, 0102, 0107, 0115-0118) to perform a desired behavior and power limit information (sec 0075, 0076, 0114, 0115) associated with a power system (90; sec 0115, 0120, etc) of the robot, the motor control information including joint torque (sec 0096) information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior while maintaining balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot,
wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot (sec 0076, 0077); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior sec 0061, 0065, 0075, 0076, 0104, 0114, 0115)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ballicoso such that a motor control information perfroms a desired behavior of the robot while managing power thereof respecting a power limit associated with a power system on the robot.
Regarding claim 16, Bellicoso discloses the robot of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving the robot trajectory (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12, lines 26-60), wherein determining the motor control information comprises performing an optimization based on the robot trajectory (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67), wherein the optimization includes a power limit constraint based on the power limit information (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67).
Regarding claim 17, Bellicoso discloses the robot of claim 15, wherein the power system is an electric power system including at least one battery, and the motor control information includes motor currents for each of the plurality of motors (col. 3, 13-38; col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 18, Bellicoso discloses the robot of claim 17, wherein the power limit information includes power that can be provided by the at least one battery and/or power that can be consumed by the at least one battery during recharging of the at least one battery (col. 3, 13-38; col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60).
Regarding claim 19, Bellicoso discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising:
determining, by a computing system of a robot, motor control information for a plurality of motors associated with a plurality of joints the robot (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12), the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory to perform a desired behavior while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62) and power limit information associated with a power system of the robot (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12 , lines 26-60), the motor control information including joint torque information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, lines 31-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62).
Bellicoso checks certain metrics of the robot so that motor control information is based on power limit information, wherein the power limit information includes checks to make sure that power output for the power system is not violated. As such claimed “power limit information” is tantamount to Bellicoso recited checking for power output not being violated of the power system.
Assuming that Bellicoso did not recite, the motor control information being based on power limit information, as argued by applicant, the examiner introduces Shein.
Shein teaches of a controller (140, fig. 15-17; abstract; sec 0010, 0070, 0073) for a robot, the robot including a plurality of joints, the controller programmed to execute a plurality of instructions (sec 0010-0013, 0028, 0073, 0074) that, when executed by a processor of a computing device perform a method comprising:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors (36, 46, 55, 72, 74, 1526, 1527; sec 0061, 0065, 0076, 0104) associated with the plurality of joints (71, 73; sec 0016, 0017, 0062, 0063) the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory (figs. 28, 29, 31, 31; sec 0019, 0029, 0075, 0094, 0102, 0107, 0115-0118) to perform a desired behavior and power limit information (sec 0075, 0076, 0114, 0115) associated with a power system (90; sec 0115, 0120, etc) of the robot, the motor control information including joint torque (sec 0096) information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior while maintaining balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot,
wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot (sec 0076, 0077); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior sec 0061, 0065, 0075, 0076, 0104, 0114, 0115)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ballicoso such that a motor control information perfroms a desired behavior of the robot while managing power thereof respecting a power limit associated with a power system on the robot.
Regarding claim 20, Bellicoso discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising:
receiving the robot trajectory (col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12, lines 26-60), wherein determining the motor control information comprises performing an optimization based on the robot trajectory (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67), wherein the optimization includes a power limit constraint based on the power limit information (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s statements about the interview conducted 08/18/2026 it is noted in the interview summary dated 08/18/2026 that applicant’s amendments will overcome the prior contrary to applicant’s remarks.
In addition, the applicant asserts that the prior art does not read on the amended claims. The applicant emphasized in their arguments that:
{Neither Belicoso nor Shein, considered alone or in combination, describes or suggests "determining motor control information for a plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints based on a robot trajectory to perform a desired behavior while maintaining a balance of the robot and power limit information associated with a power system of the robot, the motor control information including joint torque information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance of the robot, wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance of the robot………………………………….,”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant does not have possession for particularly the limitation, “wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance of the robot”.
Applicant’s specification does not particularly teach or recite, “the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power……….. while maintaining the balance of the robot”, emphasis added
Rather, applicant’s published specification in several sections recites, “… power limit constraints in the control strategy determination may facilitate an intelligent tradeoff of power provided to actuators associated with certain joints relative to other joints that may be important to achieve a desired behavior.“; “determining the motor control information”, “power limit information……….to determine the motor control information…..”; please refer to sections 0091 0097; etc of applicant’s specification.
This is new matter.
Shein teaches, “determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot (sec 0076, 0077)”.
In Belicoso there is motor control for the robot to achieve tasks. Belicoso also makes sure that while the robot is controlled using motors the robot balance must be maintained. As such Belicoso teaches:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints (transforming torques into a set of actuator or motor commands to move the each of one or more joints; col. 3, 13-38; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12), the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory to perform a desired behavior [col. 11, lines 55 to col. 12, lines 2; col. 12 , lines 26-60) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62) and power limit information [col. 14, lines 36-67; citing, “checks ………, whether certain metrics of the robot (such as joint limits, power output, or other metrics) have been violated….”] associated with a power system (1112; col. 20, lines 6-34) of the robot (col. 7, lines 26-36; col. 14, lines 36-52) the motor control information including joint torque information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, lines 31-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior (col. 3, 13-38; col. 4, lines 62 to col. 5, lines 3; actuators col. Lines 25 to col. 11, lines 12; col. 15, lines 7-35; col. 17, lines 33-60) while maintaining a balance of the robot (col. 18, lines 7-12, lines 57-62).
Assuming that Bellicoso did not particularly recite, “the motor control information being based on power limit information”, as argued by applicant, the examiner introduces Shein.
Shein teaches of a controller (140, fig. 15-17; abstract; sec 0010, 0070, 0073) for a robot, the robot including a plurality of joints, the controller programmed to execute a plurality of instructions (sec 0010-0013, 0028, 0073, 0074) that, when executed by a processor of a computing device perform a method comprising:
determining, by the computing device, motor control information for a plurality of motors (36, 46, 55, 72, 74, 1526, 1527; sec 0061, 0065, 0076, 0104) associated with the plurality of joints (71, 73; sec 0016, 0017, 0062, 0063) the motor control information being based, at least in part, on a robot trajectory (figs. 28, 29, 31, 31; sec 0019, 0029, 0075, 0094, 0102, 0107, 0115-0118) to perform a desired behavior and power limit information (sec 0075, 0076, 0114, 0115) associated with a power system (90; sec 0115, 0120, etc) of the robot, the motor control information including joint torque (sec 0096) information for the plurality of joints to perform the desired behavior while maintaining balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot,
wherein determining the motor control information comprises providing a distribution of different amounts of available power from the power system of the robot to actuate different joints of the plurality of joints in a manner that enables the robot to perform the desired behavior while maintaining the balance (sec 0019, 0028, 0029, 0107, 0108) of the robot (sec 0076, 0077); and
controlling the plurality of motors associated with the plurality of joints of the robot based, at least in part, on the motor control information to perform the desired behavior sec 0061, 0065, 0075, 0076, 0104, 0114, 0115)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Ballicoso such that a motor control information perfroms a desired behavior of the robot while managing power thereof respecting a power limit associated with a power system on the robot.
The rejection is deemed proper and is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657