DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 are pending.
Claims 8 and 15 have been cancelled.
Claims 1, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 17 have been amended.
An action on the merits for claims 1-7, 9-14, and 16-20 follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). However, should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)- (d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non English application.
Specification
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s replacement of the title of the invention to a new title
which is more clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The objection to the title is hereby withdrawn.
With respect to the abstract, Examiner maintains the previous objection noted in the NF dated
May 5, 2026.
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment to the abstract dated August 5, 2026, which is
appreciated. The amendment does result in the abstract having a more narrative format in terms of its
sentence structure. It still, however, primarily tracts the structure of the claim, and thus the main focus
and nature of the inventive concept and what is new is not readily apparent. Therefore, it may not be
clear to a reader whether they need to consult the full patent text for details. Please see MPEP
608.01(b)IIB.
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s replacement of Paragraph [0053] of the specification.
The objection to the specification is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed August 5th, 2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the associated claim amendments. A new rejection has been made to address the newly amended limitations.
Claim Objections
Acknowledgement is made to the correction of minor informalities of Claim 1. The objection to the claim is hereby withdrawn
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a ceramic material on the first agate layer” should read “a ceramic material on the first gate layer.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 20210181590 A1), hereinafter Hong in view of Kim et al. (US 20160049615 A1), hereinafter Kim615 and Kim et al. (KR 20150027683 A), hereinafter Kim683.
Regarding Claim 1, Hong teaches a display apparatus ((100); Fig. 1, (schematic), Fig. 2 (circuit diagram), Fig. 3 (plan-view), Fig. 4 (cross-sectional view), Paragraph [0061]), comprising:
A display panel (110) including a first substrate (410) and a second substrate (310);
a color filter layer ("color filter," (421); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0111]) on the first substrate (410);
a plurality of gate lines ((GL); Fig. 1, Paragraphs [0053]) and data lines (DL) on the second substrate ((310); data line and gate line are shown to be on the second substrate in Fig. 4 as the gate electrode may be some region of the gate line, Paragraph [0089]) configured to form a plurality of sub-pixels ("any one pixel," (P); Paragraph [0061]);
a thin film transistor ((TR) Paragraph [0065]) in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (plurality of (P)) on the second substrate (310);
a pixel electrode ("second electrode," (372); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0067]) and a common electrode ("first conductive material layer," (210) including “first electrode” (371) and “first conductive layer,” (212) formed in the same process of the same material; Paragraphs [0067] and [0078]) in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (plurality of (P));
a common line ("common voltage," (Vcom) is implicitly provided by a common line; Paragraph [0066]) on the second substrate (310) to apply a signal to the common electrode ((371), (212); a common voltage is applied to the (371) when it is the common electrode, Paragraph [0101]); and
a light shielding layer (“second conductive layer,” (222); Paragraph [0078]),
wherein the light shielding layer (222) includes a first light shielding layer ("may include at least one among Molybdenum (Mo) […];” Paragraph [0075]) configured to absorb the light (metal material absorbs light; Paragraph [0076]) and a second light shielding layer ("second conductive layer […] may be formed in a multi-layered structure comprising at least two of the above metals;" Paragraph [0075]) made of a metal ("Mo," Paragraph [0075]). (Note: a composition of second conductive layer (221) may be the same as a composition of second conductive layer (222); Paragraph [0078] and the second conductive layer may have multiple layers made of different metal materials, Paragraph [0075]).
Hong does not explicitly teach
a light shielding layer under the common line,
and wherein a gate electrode of the thin film transistor includes a first gate layer, a second gate layer, and a third gate layer, and wherein the first light shielding layer is disposed on the same layer as the second gate layer and the second light shielding layer is disposed on the same layer as the third gate layer.
Kim615 teaches a display apparatus (“display device” (100); Figs. 2 (plan view) and 6 (sectional view), Paragraph [0127]), comprising:
a light shielding layer ((210) comprising 212, 215, 216) under the common line (260c),
and wherein a gate electrode (“gate electrode,” (230); Fig. 6, Paragraph [0117]) of the thin film transistor (“transistors;” Paragraph [0128]) includes a first gate layer (“conductive layer,” (232); Paragraph [0069] refers to same element number as in Fig. 4), a second gate layer (“first blocking layer,” (235); Paragraph [0112]), and a third gate layer (“second blocking layer,” (236); Paragraph [0112]), and wherein the first light shielding layer (“first [light] blocking layer,” (215); Paragraph [0109]) is disposed on the same layer as the second gate layer (235) and the second light shielding layer (“second [light] blocking layer,” (216); Paragraph [0109]) is disposed on the same layer as the third gate layer (236).
(Note: According to Paragraph [0041] of the present disclosure, the positional relationship “om” may include other parts located between the respective elements and thus the specified elements are implicitly “disposed on” the same layer even though other elements may interfere or may be a different distance away. The word “on” is also understood in accordance with the plain meaning of the term as to mean “in contact with” and not necessarily above, consistent with the present disclosure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim615 into the device of Hong such that the device contains a light shielding layer under the common line. This is because a light shielding layer under the common line prevents the reflection of external light by signal lines and electrodes in the display device. A light shielding layer is able to prevent reflection by absorbing external light or causing it to destructively interfere for the added and obvious benefit of preventing the degradation of visibility, brightness, and contrast ratio caused by the reflection of external light (Paragraphs [0120], [0121]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Kim615 into the apparatus of Hong such that the gate electrode includes first, second, and third gate layers and that the first light shielding layer is disposed on the same layer as the second gate layer and the second light shielding layer is disposed on the same layer as the third gate layer. By including a gate electrode with a multi-layered structure including a conductive layer and multiple light-blocking layers, the gate electrode may play a role in blocking out external light (Paragraph [0121]) for the added benefit of reducing reflectivity in the area where the gate electrode is formed (Paragraph [0141]) which improves overall visibility of the apparatus.
Hong as modified by Kim615 further does not explicitly teach
a backlight unit facing the first substrate and configured to supply light to the display panel.
Kim683 teaches a display device (“liquid crystal display device,” (100); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), comprising at least:
a backlight unit (110) facing the first substrate (“color filter substrate,” (120)) and configured to supply light to the display panel (dp).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the backlight unit of Kim683 into the display apparatus of Hong modified by Kim615 in order to supply light to the display panel. This is because including a backlight provides the necessary light needed to form an image on a liquid crystal display panel (Paragraphs [0005] and [0032]).
Regarding Claim 5, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a connection electrode (“second connection electrode,” (BR2); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0107]) configured to connect the common line (line providing “Vcom”), the light shielding layer (222) and the common electrode ((371), (212)). (Note: the connection electrode (BR2) connects the common electrode (371), (212) to the TFT through the drain electrode (D), Fig. 4; the light shielding layer (222) is connected to the TFT gate electrode (G) as shown in Fig. 5, a perpendicular view to Fig. 4, and is thereby indirectly electrically connected to the connection electrode.)
Regarding Claim 6, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the common electrode ((371, 212)) is on the second substrate (310) and the light shielding layer (222) is on the common electrode (segment (212); Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 6, wherein the thin film transistor (TR) includes:
a gate insulating layer (“gate insulating film,” (330); Paragraph [0088]) configured to connect the gate electrode (G);
a semiconductor layer (“active layer,” (A); Paragraph [0092]) on the gate insulating layer;
a source electrode ((S); Paragraph [0093]) and a drain electrode ((D); Paragraph [0093]) on the semiconductor layer (A); and
a passivation layer (“protection layer,” (350); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0099]) configured to cover the source electrode (S) and the drain electrode (D).
Regarding Claim 9, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein
the first gate layer (Kim615, (232); paragraph [0071] refers to same material as (232) regarding Fig. 6) is formed of the same material (Kim615, “Ag;” Paragraphs [0071] and [[0089]) as the common electrode (Kim615, (278); Paragraph [0089]),
the second gate layer (Kim615, 235) is formed of the same material (Kim615, “made of metal oxides;” Paragraph [0112]) as the first light shielding layer (Kim615, “first [light] blocking layer,” (215); Paragraph [0109]), and
the third gate layer (Kim615, 236) is formed of the same material (“made of black-based light-absorbent material;” Paragraph [0112])) as the second light shielding layer (Kiim615, “second [light] blocking layer,” (216); Paragraph [0109].
Regarding Claim 10, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the pixel electrode (372) is on the passivation layer ((350); Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 10, wherein a contact hole ((CH2); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0109]) is formed in the passivation layer (350) and the connection electrode (BR2) is formed in the contact hole (CH2).
Regarding Claim 12, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the connection electrode (BR2) is formed of the same material (“using the same material;” Paragraph [0106]) as the pixel electrode (372).
Claim 13 is rejected as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Kim615, Kim683, and further in view of Shin et al. (US20200033994A1), hereinafter Shin.
Regarding Claim 13, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 1.
Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 does not explicitly teach
a display apparatus wherein adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels share the data line.
Shin teaches at least
a display apparatus (“display device;” Figs. 1 (block diagram) and 4 (plan view), Paragraph [0037]) wherein adjacent sub-pixels (“sub-pixels;” Paragraph [0045]) of the plurality of sub-pixels share the data line (“commonly connected to a single data line (DL1, …); Paragraph [0042])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shin into the apparatus of Hong modified by Kim615 and Kim683 such that adjacent sub-pixels of the plurality of sub-pixels share the data line. This is because connecting adjacent sub-pixels halves the number of needed data lines compared to other display panels. This has the added and obvious benefit of reducing the number of data integrated circuits needed which saves cost and space while maintaining resolution (Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 2 is rejected as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Kim615, Kim638, and further in view of Fujikawa et al. (US5592317A), hereinafter Fujikawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 teaches the display apparatus of claim 1.
Hong as modified by Kim683 and Kim615 does not explicitly teach where the first light shielding layer is formed of material having an extinction coefficient (K) of 0.6<k<1.2.
Fujikawa teaches a first light shielding layer (“second antireflection film,” (130); Fig. 1, Col. 6, Line 1-4) formed of a material having an extinction coefficient (K) of 0.6<k<1.2 (“extinction coefficient […] =1.1;” Col.6, Lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Fujikawa into the apparatus of Hong modified by Kim615 and Kim683 such that the first light shielding layer is formed of a material having an extinction coefficient between 0.6 and 1.2. Having an intermediate value extinction coefficient, neither a particularly large or particularly small value, within the claimed range allows the second antireflection film’s extinction coefficient to be between the extinction coefficient of the layers on either side of it. This increase of extinction coefficient between layers (and therefore increase in index of refraction) reduces the overall quantity of light reaching the substrate by reflecting light at different points so that it destructively interferes. This has the benefit of suppressing the reflection of light towards the display screen and improving visibility (Col. 6, Lines 20-43).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Kim615, Kim638, Fujikawa, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 20210080822 A1), hereinafter Chang.
Regarding Claim 3, Hong as modified by Kim615, Kim638, and Fujikawa teaches the display apparatus of claim 2.
Hong as modified by Kim615, Kim638, and Fujikawa does not explicitly teach where the first light shielding layer is formed of a composite material of the metal and a ceramic material.
Chang teaches at least a first light shielding layer (“light blocking layer,” (120); Fig. 1A, Paragraph [0046]) formed of a composite material of the metal (“Mo;” Paragraph [0046]) and a ceramic material (“Nb2O5;” Paragraph [0046]). (Note: the light blocking layer (120) may be formed of a combination of Mo and Nb2O5 within one layer, thereby being a composite material, Paragraph [0046].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Chang into the invention of Hong as modified by Kim615, Kim638, and Fujikawa such that the first light shielding layer is formed of a composite material of the metal and a ceramic material. Forming the first light shielding layer out of a composite material of a metal and ceramic material realizes a low transmittance value of the light shielding layer ranging from 0% to 18%. This has the benefit of reducing the amount of light that passes through to a small percentage which would improve visibility in the device (Paragraphs [0045] and [0047]).
Regarding Claim 4, Hong as modified by Kim615, Kim638, Fujikawa, and Chang further teaches the display apparatus of claim 3, wherein the metal of the first light shielding layer (Chang, (120)) includes Mo or MoOx (Chang, “Mo;” Paragraph [0046]), and the ceramic material of the first light shielding layer (Chang, (120)) includes Nb2O5 (Chang, “Nb2O5;” Paragraph [0046]).
Claims 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto et al. (US 20160293342 A1), hereinafter Yumoto.
Regarding Claim 14, Hong teaches a display apparatus ((100); Fig. 1, (schematic), Fig. 2 (circuit diagram), Fig. 3 (plan-view), Fig. 6 (cross-sectional view), Paragraph [0061]), comprising:
a first substrate (410);
a second substrate (310) configured as a screen on the first substrate (410) to display an image (display panel (110) displays an image and is shown to include a plurality of pixels P that each contain a second substrate (310); Fig. 1, Paragraph [0053]);
a color filter layer ("color filter," (421); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0111]) on the first substrate (410);
a plurality of sub-pixels ("any one pixel," (P); Paragraph [0061]) on the second substrate (310);
((TR) Paragraph [0065]) in each of the plurality of sub-pixels (plurality of (P)) on the second substrate (310); and
a gate electrode (G) in the thin film transistor (TR) having a plurality of gate layers (“multi-layered structure;” Paragraph [0089]).
Hong does not explicitly teach
a backlight unit facing the first substrate; and
a printed circuit board attached to the second substrate and configured to control transmission of light onto the second substrate.
Kim683 teaches a display apparatus, comprising at least;
Kim683 teaches a display device (“liquid crystal display device,” (100); Fig. 2, Paragraph [0032]), comprising at least:
a backlight unit (110) facing the first substrate (“color filter substrate,” (120)); and
a printed circuit board (140) attached to the second substrate (130) and configured to control transmission of light onto the second substrate (130).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the backlight unit and printed circuit board of Kim683 into the display apparatus of Hong modified by Kim615. This is because including a backlight supplies the necessary light needed to form an image on a liquid crystal display panel (Paragraphs [0005] and [0032]). Including a printed circuit board attached to a second substrate supplies a driving signal for controlling transmission of light to the substrate (Paragraph [0033]) and directly forming the printed circuit board prevents the need to bend the circuit board around the substrate with the obvious benefit of improving workability, thereby creating a display with a narrow bezel area and minimizing the non-display area (Paragraph [0034]).
Hong as modified by Kim683 additionally does not explicitly teach wherein the gate electrode includes a first gate layer formed of a metal oxide material, a second gate layer formed of a composite material of a metal and a ceramic material on the first agate layer, and a third gate layer formed of the metal on the second gate layer.
Kim615 teaches at least a display apparatus (“display device” (100); Figs. 2 (plan view) and 6 (sectional view), Paragraph [0127]) wherein the gate electrode (“gate electrode,” (230); Fig. 6, Paragraph [0117]) includes a first gate layer (“first blocking layer,” (235); Paragraph [0112]) formed of a metal oxide material (“made of metal oxides;” Paragraph [0112]), a second gate layer (“second blocking layer,” (236); Paragraph [0112]) formed on the first gate layer (235), and a third gate layer (“conductive layer,” (232); Paragraph [0069] refers to same element as in Fig. 6) formed of the metal (“at least one of […] Mo;” Paragraph [0071]) on the second gate layer (236),
Hong as modified by Kim683 and Kim615 additionally does not explicitly teach a second gate layer formed of a composite material of a metal and a ceramic material.
Yumoto teaches at least a thin film transistor (“thin-film transistor” of “semiconductor device,” (400); Fig. 6, Paragraph [0203]) comprising a gate layer (“gate electrode,” (420); Paragraph [0204]) formed of a composite material of a metal (“metal;” Paragraph [0204]) and a ceramic material (“conductive ceramic materials;” Paragraph [0204]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date iof the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yumoto with the device of Hong as modified by Kim615 and Kim683 such that the second gate electrode layer is formed of a composite material of a metal and a ceramic material. This is because such a material is preferable in terms of forming a favorable junction and adhesiveness with a metal oxide (Paragraph [0204]).
Regarding Claim 17, Hong as modified by Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, further comprising:
a transparent conductive layer (“first conductive layer,” (212); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0078], has the same composition as conductive layer (212), a “transparent conductive oxide”, Paragraph [0073]) on the second substrate (310); and
a light shielding layer (“second conductive layer,” (222); Paragraph) on the transparent conductive layer (212).
Regarding Claim 18, Hong as modified by Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto teaches the display apparatus of claim 17, wherein the light shielding layer (222) includes a first light shielding layer ("may include at least one among Molybdenum (Mo) […];” Paragraph [0075]) and a second light shielding layer ("second conductive layer […] may be formed in a multi-layered structure comprising at least two of the above metals;" Paragraph [0075]). (Note: a composition of second conductive layer (221) may be the same as a composition of second conductive layer (222); Paragraph [0078]).
Regarding Claim 19, Hong as modified by Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto teaches the display apparatus of claim 18,
Hong as modified by Kim683 and Kim615 does not explicitly teach wherein the second light shielding layer is formed of the same material as the second gate layer.
Kim615 further teaches a display apparatus (“display device” (100); Figs. 2 (plan view) and 6 (sectional view), Paragraph [0127]) wherein the second light shielding layer (“second light-blocking layer,” (216); Fig. 6, Paragraph [0117]) is formed of the same material as the second gate layer (Kim615, 236).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Kim615 into the device of Hong modified by Kim683 and Kim615 such that the second light shielding layer is formed of the same material as the second gate layer. Being made of the same light blocking material prevents the reflection of external light in the areas around both the gate electrode and the light shielding layer. A light shielding material in both structures is able to prevent reflection by absorbing external light or causing it to destructively interfere. This yields the added and obvious benefit of preventing the degradation of visibility, brightness, and contrast ratio caused by the reflection of external light (Paragraphs [0120], [0121]).
Regarding Claim 20, Hong as modified by Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto teaches the display apparatus of claim 14, further comprising:
a passivation layer (“protection layer,” (350); Fig. 4, Paragraph [0099]) configured to cover the thin film transistor.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Kim683, Kim615, Yumoto, and further in view of Mokhtarzadeh et al. (US20220059668A1), hereinafter Mokhtarzadeh.
Regarding Claim 16, Hong as modified by Kim683, Kim615, and Yumoto teaches the display apparatus of claim 14.
Hong as modified by Kim683 and Kim615 does not explicitly teach where the second gate layer is formed of a synthesized metal.
Mokhtarzadeh teaches a second gate layer (“electrode material,” (112) of gate electrode (113); Fig. 7a, Paragraph [0036]) formed of a synthesized metal (“rare-earth metal;” Paragraph [0053]). (Using the prior art applications rare-earth pincer ligand complex bonded to a rare-earth metal, rare-earth materials are “are enabled to be synthesized;” Paragraphs [0053] and [0020].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Mokhtarzadeh into the device of Hong modified by Kim683 and Kim615 such that the second gate layer is formed of a synthesized metal. This is because synthesizing rare-earth metals for use in a gate electrode can improve electrical performance by saturating a flatband voltage at a low thickness which is unobtainable by other conventional materials. A high flatband voltage with a low thickness has the added benefit of enabling smaller IC devices and would be obvious to incorporate in any transistor Paragraph [0020]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Davienne Monbleau can be reached on (571) 272-1945. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NOLAN GABRIEL STUESSY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/DAVIENNE N MONBLEAU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812