DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/20/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the details of claim 11 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. That is, the combination of a so-called “prevention unit” (see instant 300) together in the same embodiment as a so-called “rotation restriction and releasing portion” (see instant 402). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “rotation restricting and releasing portion” in claim 4; “pressing and releasing portion” in claim 7; “operation portion” in claim 8; “attachment portion” in claim 10; and “prevention unit,” “biasing unit,” “releasing unit” in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020019638 A (hereinafter “Ogura”).
Regarding claim 1 Ogura discloses a method for climbing and descending using an ascender (1), the ascender (1) including a differential reduction drive (RD, see annotated fig. below) that includes an input shaft (7) configured to be driven by a rotary power tool (see paragraph 6) and an output shaft (8) coupled to a pulley (20) allowing a rope (110) to be wound, reduces a forward rotational speed (i.e. reduction gearing 5 reduces the relative speed from 7 to 8) applied to the input shaft (7), and transmits the reduced forward rotational speed to the output shaft (8),the method comprising:
driving the input shaft (7) by the power tool (see paragraph 6) and rotating the pulley (20) forward, in a state in which one end side of the rope (110) is located in a high position (e.g. see position of rope in fig. 16) to ensure a fulcrum, the rope (110) is wound from an inlet side to an outlet side (see fig. 16) of the pulley (20) of the ascender (1), a weight of a user (see par. 56) is supported by the ascender (1), and the rotary power tool (see paragraph 6) is coupled to the input shaft (7), to move the rope (110) from the inlet side to the outlet side (e.g. see fig. 16) of the pulley (20) and to ascend the user (par. 56); and
rotating the pulley (20) reversely to descend the user in a state in which the rotary power tool (see paragraph 6) is detached from the input shaft (7)
(see paragraph 40:
“when it is desired to release the limitation by the limiting means 60 in a state where a tensile force is applied to the inlet side of the suspension rope 110 (140, 141) and move the suspension rope 110 (140, 141) from the inlet portion 32 to the outside, by winding and hooking the outlet-side rope 110a (140a, 14 la) around the hook portions 80 and 81 in advance, it is possible to prevent the suspension rope 110 (140, 141) from suddenly moving in the opposite direction when the limiting means 60 is released. In addition, it is also possible to apply a friction brake by moving while sliding on the latching portions 80 and 81.”
),
wherein the input shaft (7) of the ascender (1) is provided with a one-way clutch portion (60) that allows a forward rotation (counterclockwise in fig. 10) and prevents a reverse rotation (clockwise in fig. 10), wherein the forward rotation of the pulley (20) is performed by restricting rotation of the one-way clutch portion (60) about the input shaft (7) and driving the input shaft (7) to rotate forward in a climbing direction by the rotary power tool (see paragraph 6), and
wherein the reverse rotation of the pulley (20) is performed by releasing the rotation restriction of the one-way clutch portion (60) about the input shaft (7) and allowing the pulley (20) and the reduction drive (RD) to rotate reversely (see par. 40) by a tension generated in an inlet-side rope (110) to which the weight of the user is applied (see par. 40).
Regarding claim 3 Ogura discloses the above ascender, and further discloses wherein rotation of the one-way clutch portion (60) about the input shaft (7) is restricted by being applied with a brake (ratchet), and rotation restriction about the input shaft (7) is released by releasing the brake (ratchet).
Regarding claim 4 Ogura discloses an ascender comprising:
a differential reduction drive (RD, see annotated figure below) that includes an input shaft (7) configured to be driven by a rotary power tool (see paragraph 41) and an output shaft (8) coupled to a pulley (20) allowing a rope (110) to be wound around, reduces a forward rotational speed (i.e. reduction gearing 5 reduces the relative speed from 7 to 8) of the input shaft (7), and transmits the reduced forward rotational speed to the output shaft (8);
a one-way clutch portion (60) detachably or undetachably attached to the input shaft (7), allowing forward rotation of the input shaft (7), and preventing reverse rotation (see par. 18); and
a rotation restricting and releasing portion (61) configured to restrict and release rotation (see par. 18) of the one-way clutch portion (60) about an axis of the input shaft (7).
Regarding claim 6 Ogura discloses the above ascender, and further discloses wherein the rotation restricting and releasing portion (61) includes a brake mechanism (i.e. ratchet and pawl; see figs. 10-11) that restricts the rotation of the one-way clutch portion (i.e. in that 62 can only turn counterclockwise in the position of fig. 10) by applying a brake (ratchet) and releases the rotation restriction by releasing the brake (as per fig. 11).
Regarding claim 10 Ogura discloses the above ascender, and further discloses a hook portion (81) allowing the rope (110) wound around the pulley (20) to be hooked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura.
Regarding claim 11 Ogura teaches the above apparatus, but the embodiment relied upon above fails to teach the specific prevention unit set forth in claim 11. This distinction appears to represent nothing more than obvious variation, as Ogura teaches such in a separate embodiment (see 1B in fig. 21). Ogura fig. 21 teaches a prevention unit (200) configured to prevent an inlet side of the rope (110) from being drawn out to outside (par. 43), wherein the prevention unit (200) includes:
a cam (208) configured to bite into the rope (110) to prevent movement when the rope (110) is moved in a direction of being drawn out from an inlet portion (at 203) to the outside, and to allow the movement by being separated from the rope (110) when the rope (110) is moved in an opposite direction (i.e. in ascension);
a biasing unit (i.e. “spiral spring (not shown) that constantly biases the cam 208 in the clockwise direction” in par. 43) configured to bias the cam (208) in a direction of biting into the rope (110); and a releasing unit (210) configured to release the restriction by separating the cam from the rope (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the prevention unit of Ogura fig. 21 (1B) to the previous embodiment of Ogura (1) with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to stop the rope during an uncontrolled descent.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura in view of US 4,974,475 (hereinafter “Lord”).
Regarding claims 2 and 5 Ogura teaches the apparatus and method above, and further teaches wherein a drive shaft (see par. 11) attached to the rotary power tool is coupled to the input shaft (7) to drive the input shaft (7). Ogura fails to teach the second one-way-clutch as set forth in claims 2 and 5. This is considered well-known in view of Lord. Lord teaches a cordless powered driver similar to the one in Ogura. Lord further teaches a drive shaft (16) is provided with a second one-way clutch portion that transmits a forward rotational force to the input shaft (16) and does not transmit a reverse rotational force (see 28, 40, 50, etc. which drive the selective ratcheting gear; see also col. 2 ll. 24-43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the selectively one-way powered tool of Lord to drive the device of Ogura with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to provide sufficient power to the device, and to easily change direction of motion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record does not anticipate or make obvious the entire combination of claim limitations required by claim 7.
Specifically, Ogura fails to teach the brake band, and accompanying structure present in claim 7. Noted is US Patent No. 4,310,972 (hereinafter “Isberg”). Isberg teaches a brake drum (28) with an associated brake band (31) on an outer periphery of the brake drum (see fig. 2); and a pressing and releasing portion (70) which constantly biases the brake band (31) into engagement (see col. 3 ll. 18-25) unless released by a lever (36) being actuated.
It is noted, however, that Isberg is a chainsaw, not a winch, and certainly not an ascender/descender style winch. It is further noted that Isberg’s band brake does not selectively restrict and release the rotation of a one-way clutch (i.e. clutch 26 of Isberg engages at a predetermined speed irrespective of the band brake; see col. 2 ll. 9-13). If (arguendo) Isberg were combined with Ogawa, the combination would result in an ascender with a constantly applied brake, not a “rotation restricting and releasing portion” which restricts/releases rotation of a one-way clutch, the rotation restricting and releasing portion having a brake mechanism which restricts the rotation of the one-way clutch, the brake mechanism comprising a brake drum, and brake band.
It does not appear obvious to combine these, or any other prior art references, to reach the total combination of recitations set forth in claim 7
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654