Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,6,8-12,14-18,20-23,25-27 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, ( CN115602091) in view of D2 ( CN111834410A).
Pertaining to claim1 and 29, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) a display panel or display apparatus and a display device, and specifically discloses (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 1-62) that, as shown in Figure 4, the display panel further comprises a first type of signal lines 3 located in a display region 2 and extending in a first direction X. A partial first type of signal line 3 is disconnected on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the first direction X, the partial first type of signal line 3 comprising a first nail segment 4 and a first vein segment 5, wherein the first vein segment 5 is located between two adjacent light apertures 1 and the first nail segment 4 is located on the side of the outermost light aperture 1 away from the first vein segment 5. Therein, outermost light aperture 1 refers to the first light aperture 1 and the last light aperture 1 of the at least two light apertures 1 arranged along the first direction X. The display panel further comprises a first connection line 6, one end of the first connection line 6 being electrically connected with one first vein segment 5, the other end of the first connection line 6 being electrically connected with the first nail segment 4 or another first vein segment 5, and at least part of the first connection line 6 being located at the display area 2. By providing a first connection line 6 extending at least within the display area 2, it is not only possible to truncate the signal lines 3 of the first type on both sides of the light aperture 1 with the first connection line 6 (one first nail segment 4 and one first nail segment 5, or two first line segments 5) are connected, enabling communication of signal transmission pathways, moreover, it is also possible to reduce the number of windings required to connect the first type of signal lines 3 within the first non-display region 7 surrounding the light aperture 1, thereby effectively reducing the width of the bezel at the periphery of the light aperture 1, that is, reducing the area of the area between the light aperture 1 and the display region 2 that does not emit light, to effectively improve the effect of full screen display. The display panel includes a first type of signal lines 101 extending in a first direction X and a second type of signal lines 102 extending in a second direction Y, wherein the first type of signal lines 101 can be used to transmit scan signals, light emission control signals, and the like, and the second type of signal lines 102 can be used to transmit data signals, and the like. As shown in Figure 5, the display panel also includes a second type of signal lines 8 located in the display area 2 and extending in a second direction y. A partial second type of signal line 8 is disconnected on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction Y, the partial second type of signal line 8 comprising a second nail segment 9 and a second vein segment 10, wherein the second nail segment 9 and the second vein segment 10 are respectively located on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction Y, the second direction Y intersecting the first direction x. The display panel further comprises a second connection line 11, both ends of which are electrically connected to the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10, respectively, and at least part of which is located at the display area 2. By providing a second connection line 11 extending at least within the display area 2, it is also possible to further reduce the number of windings connecting the second type of signal line 8 required in the first non-display region 7, provided that the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10 are guaranteed to be electrically connected to each other, thereby narrowing the border width at the periphery of the light aperture 1 to a greater extent. Especially when neither the first connection line 3 nor the second type of signal line 8 need to be electrically connected by winding, no winding can be provided in the first non-display region 7, at which point the first non-display region 7 can even be eliminated, resulting in a bezel-less design (equivalent to comprising a display region and a light-transmitting region; the display region at least partially surrounds the light transmissive region; the display area includes: a plurality of signal lines arranged in a first direction, the signal lines extending in a second direction; the first direction and the second direction intersect; a plurality of connection lines for connecting signal lines located on both sides of the light transmitting zone along the second direction; the connection lines comprise a plurality of connection lines of a first type, at least portions of which are located at the display regions; the first type of connection line comprises an edge connection line, which is the first type of connection line of which the distance from the light transmissive zone is the largest). A first insulating layer 76 is also provided between the signal lines of the first type 3 and the signal lines of the second type 8, and a second insulating layer 77 is also provided between the signal lines of the second type 8 and the first connection line 6, the second connection line 11.
D1 is silent about a common line, the common line comprising a first type of common line, at least part of the first type of common line being located in the display area; and the portion of the first type of common line is located on the side of the edge connection line close to the light transmissive region.
However, in the same field of endeavor, D2 teaches a display device, it is specifically disclosed (see specification paragraphs 39 to 131, Figs. 1 to 9) that a current generated in the common electrode E2 of the light emitting element LE inside the display area DA may move to the common electrode E2 inside the peripheral area PA, and the current may flow along the first display common voltage line 231 passing through the display area DA from the upper side to the lower side of the peripheral common voltage line 210. In view of D2, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate this teaching into that of D1 so that the voltage drop of the common voltage ELVSS can be minimized or reduced. Further, luminance uniformity of the display device may be improved by minimizing or reducing the voltage drop of the common voltage ELVSS
Pertaining to claim 6, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271 of the specification, Figures 4-5) that a display panel comprises at least two light-transmissive apertures 1 arranged along a first direction x and a display region 2 surrounding each light-transmissive aperture 1 (equivalent to a display panel comprising at least two light-transmissive regions). Between the two light-transmissive regions are signal lines 3 of the first type. In conjunction with D2, a common voltage line from top to bottom is provided in order to improve brightness uniformity, so in particular, the common line further comprises a third common line, at least part of which being located between two adjacent light-transmissive zones.
Pertaining to claim 8, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figure 6) that Figure 6 has explicitly disclosed: further comprising a first non-display area, the first non-display area partially surrounding the display area; the light-transmissive region adjacent to the first non-display region comprises a first end on a side of the light-transmissive region proximal to another of the light-transmissive regions and a second end on a side of the light-transmissive region proximal to the first non-display region; the signal line comprises a first signal line; the first signal line is a smaller distance from the first end than from the second end; the portion of the first type of connection line that is electrically connected to the first signal line is located between the second end and the first non-display region.
Pertaining to claim 9, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 4-5) that, as shown in Figure 5, the display panel further comprises a second type of signal lines 8 located in the display area 2 and extending in a second direction y. A partial second type of signal line 8 is disconnected on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the partial second type of signal line 8 comprising a second nail segment 9 and a second vein segment 10, wherein the second nail segment 9 and the second vein segment 10 are respectively located on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the second direction y intersecting the first direction x. The display panel further comprises a second connection line 11, both ends of which are electrically connected to the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10, respectively, and at least part of which is located at the display area 2. By providing a second connection line 11 extending at least within the display area 2, provided that the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10 are guaranteed to be electrically connected to each other, it is also possible to further reduce the number of windings connecting the second type of signal lines 8 required to be provided in the first non-display region 7, the border width of the perimeter of the light aperture 1 is then narrowed to a greater extent (equivalent to the first type of connection line comprising at least a fourth connection line and a fifth connection line, the light transmitting zone being located between the fourth connection line and the fifth connection line). In connection with D2, a common voltage line from top to bottom is provided in order to improve luminance uniformity, so the first type of common line further comprises a fourth common line, which is also easily obtained in order to reach a routing area where the common voltage line is increased in order to reduce voltage drop, between the fourth connection line and the fifth connection line.
Pertaining to claim 10, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271 of the specification, Figure 40): the number of signal lines 3 of the first type in a first sub non-display region 54 (equivalent to the light transmitting region comprising at least two sub light transmitting regions, the display panel comprising a second non-display region between two adjacent sub light transmitting regions) to which the first dummy pixel circuits 56 are electrically connected, less than the number of signal lines 3 of the first type to which the pixel circuit 20 is electrically connected to reduce the number of signal lines 3 of the first type provided in the first sub non-display area 54, improve the light transmittance of the first sub non-display area 54, enable more ambient light to be transmitted through the first sub non-display area 54 into the sensing element 55, and improve the accuracy of facial recognition. In connection with Comparative Document 2, providing the first type of common line includes a fifth common line, at least partially located in the second non-display area, to improve luminance uniformity is also readily available to achieve a placement area where the common voltage line is increased to reduce voltage drop.
Pertaining to claim 11-12, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and a non-display region between two light-transmissive regions in view of D2, depending on the position of the common line, part of the fifth common line extending from the display area to the second non-display area and another part of the fifth common line ending at the edge of the second non-display area.
Pertaining to claim 14-16, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 1-2) that the display panel further comprises pixel circuits 20 and first dummy pixel circuits 56, the first dummy pixel circuits 56 are located in the first non-display region 7, and the pixel circuits 20 and at least part of the first dummy pixel circuits 56 are each electrically connected to the signal lines 3 of the first type. The first dummy pixel circuit 56 is used to ensure uniformity of pattern density, optimizing the etching effect. The first dummy pixel circuit 56 is not used to drive the light-emitting element D to emit light, and thus, even reducing the number of signal lines 3 of the first type to which the first dummy pixel circuit 56 is connected in the first sub non-display region 54 does not affect the proper function of the display panel. The number of signal lines 3 of the first type to which the first dummy pixel circuits 56 are electrically connected in the first sub-non-display region 54, less than the number of signal lines 3 of the first type to which the pixel circuits 20 are electrically connected, to reduce the number of signal lines 3 of the first type provided in the first sub non-display region 54, increasing the light transmittance of the first sub-non-display region 54 and allowing more ambient light to be emitted into the inductive element 55 through the first sub-non-display region 54 increases the accuracy of facial recognition (equivalent to a display panel comprising a plurality of sub-pixels comprising electrically connected pixel driving circuits and light emitting elements; the second non-display region comprises dummy pixels; the sub-pixel comprises a pixel driving circuit, a connection electrode, and a light-emitting element; wherein the pixel driver circuit is electrically connected to the light-emitting element through the connection electrode). D1 in particular in a direction perpendicular to a plane in which the display panel lies, the dummy pixels and the fifth common line partially overlap to increase light transmittance; and the dummy pixels do not include connection electrodes; at least part of the fifth common line is disposed on the same layer as the connection electrode. The dummy pixels do not include light-emitting elements; the arrangement of at least part of the fifth common line in the same layer as electrodes of the light emitting elements in the sub-pixels is conventional in the art.
Pertaining to claim 17, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 1-2 of the specification) that when only one light aperture 103 is provided in a display panel, see Figure 1, for signal lines 102 of the second type that are disconnected on the upper and lower sides of the light aperture 103, typically a winding 105 is provided within a corresponding bezel 104 of the light aperture 103 to connect the two. D1 also has disclosed that connection of signal lines on both sides of a light transmissive region is achieved by wire winding (equivalent to a connection line further comprising a connection line of a second type located on a side of the second non-display region proximal to the sub-light transmissive region, the connection line of the second type partially surrounding the sub-light transmissive region).
Pertaining to claim 18, D2 teaches (see specification paragraphs 39 to 131, Figs. 1 to 9) that a current generated in the common electrode E2 of the light emitting element LE inside the display area DA may move to the common electrode E2 inside the peripheral area PA, and the current may flow along the first display common voltage line 231 passing through the display area DA from the upper side to the lower side of the peripheral common voltage line 210. Thus, the voltage drop of the common voltage ELVSS can be minimized or reduced. Further, luminance uniformity of the display device may be improved by minimizing or reducing the voltage drop of the common voltage ELVSS. A peripheral common voltage line 210 may be located in a peripheral region PA of the substrate 110 to surround the display region DA (equivalent to the display panel including a first non-display region at least partially surrounding the display region, the first non-display region including a common bus electrically connected to a plurality of the first type of common lines).
Pertaining to claim 20, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 4 5) that, as shown in Figure 5, the display panel further comprises a second type of signal lines 8 located in the display area 2 and extending in a second direction y. A partial second type of signal line 8 is disconnected on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the partial second type of signal line 8 comprising a second nail segment 9 and a second vein segment 10, wherein the second nail segment 9 and the second vein segment 10 are respectively located on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the second direction y intersecting the first direction x. The display panel further comprises a second connection line 11, both ends of which are electrically connected to the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10, respectively, and at least part of which is located at the display area 2. By providing a second connection line 11 extending at least within the display area 2, provided that the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10 are guaranteed to be electrically connected to each other, it is also possible to further reduce the number of windings connecting the second type of signal lines 8 required in the first non-display region 7, in turn narrowing the border width at the periphery of the light aperture 1 to a greater extent (equivalent to the first type of connection lines comprising first and second sub connection lines electrically connected across each other). In view of D2, it is easy to think that the common lines are arranged in the same manner as the connection lines of the first type, since the common lines are arranged in parallel with the data lines or the scan lines, and thus it is easy to obtain the common lines of the first type including the first sub-common line and the second sub-common line electrically connected to each other in particular. Whereas a simplified process of arranging mutually parallel lines with the same layer is a common technique in the art. Thus, in particular, the first sub-connection line and the first sub-common line are arranged parallel to each other and in the same layer; the second sub-connection line and said second sub-common line are arranged parallel to each other and in the same layer.
Pertaining to claim 21-23, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 1-2) that when only one light aperture 103 is provided in a display panel, see Figure 1, for signal lines 102 of the second type that are disconnected on the upper and lower sides of the light aperture 103, typically a winding 105 is provided within a corresponding bezel 104 of the light aperture 103 to connect the two. D1 has disclosed connection of signal lines on both sides of the light transmitting zone by wire winding. A common line connecting the two sides of the light transmitting area in the same winding manner is thus also readily available. In particular, different layer designs through the form of vias are all conventional connections in the art to simplify the process same layer setup. D1 has also disclosed that the signal lines connecting the two sides of the light-transmitting zones are circularly wound lines, so that the shape of the orthogonal projection of the second type of common lines on the plane in which the display panel lies, including zigzag or donut.
Pertaining to claim 25, D2 teaches to improve brightness uniformity, a common voltage line from top to bottom is provided, so in particular, the common lines further comprise a third type of common line, a portion of which is located on a side of the edge connection line remote from the light transmitting
Pertaining to claim 26, D2 teaches a common voltage line from top to bottom in order to improve luminance uniformity.
Pertaining to claim 27, D1 teaches ( see fig.4 of D1 Above) and discloses (see paragraphs 80-271, Figures 4-5) that a display panel includes a first type of signal lines 101 extending in a first direction x and a second type of signal lines 102 extending in a second direction y, wherein the first type of signal lines 101 can be used to transmit scan signals, light emission control signals, etc., and the second type of signal lines 102 can be used to transmit data signals, etc. As shown in Figure 5, the display panel also includes a second type of signal lines 8 located in the display area 2 and extending in a second direction y. A partial second type of signal line 8 is disconnected on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the partial second type of signal line 8 comprising a second nail segment 9 and a second vein segment 10, wherein the second nail segment 9 and the second vein segment 10 are respectively located on both sides of the light aperture 1 in the second direction y, the second direction y intersecting the first direction x. The display panel further comprises a second connection line 11, both ends of which are electrically connected to the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10, respectively, and at least part of which is located at the display area 2. By providing a second connection line 11 extending at least within the display area 2, provided that the second nail segment 9 and the second nail segment 10 are guaranteed to be electrically connected to each other, it is also possible to further reduce the number of windings connecting the second type of signal lines 8 required to be provided in the first non-display region 7, in turn, the border width at the periphery of the light aperture 1 is narrowed to a greater extent, the portion of the first connection line 6 extending in the first direction x and the portion of the second connection line 11 extending in the first direction x are arranged in the same layer and on a side of the first type of signal line 3, the second type of signal line 8 facing away from the substrate 75, the portion extending in the second direction y in the second connection line 6 and the portion extending in the second direction y in the second connection line 11 are arranged in the same layer and on the side of the signal lines 3 of the first type and the signal lines 8 of the second type facing away from the substrate 75 (equivalent to the signal lines comprising data lines; the first type of connection line comprises a first sub-connection line and a second sub connection line which are interdigitated electrically connected; the extension directions of the second sub-connection line and the data line are parallel to each other, and the second sub-connection line and the data line are arranged in the same layer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2-5,7,13,19,24 and 28 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art of record of D1, ( CN115602091) in view of D2 ( CN111834410A) teaches the limitation of claim 1 and 29, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 2 including “wherein the type-I common lines comprise a first common line insulated from and crossed with the edge connecting line; the display area comprises a first pixel driving circuit and a second pixel driving circuit that are arranged adjacent to each other along an extension direction of the first common line, and the first pixel driving circuit and the second pixel driving circuit are located at a side of the edge connecting line adjacent to the light transmission area; and the first common line overlaps with the first pixel driver circuit, and at least part of the type-I connecting lines parallel to the first common line overlaps with the second pixel driving circuit.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
The closest prior art of record of D1, ( CN115602091) in view of D2 ( CN111834410A) teaches the limitation of claim 1 and 29, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 3 including “wherein the type-I common lines comprise a second common line insulated from and crossed with the edge connecting line; and the display area comprises at least one first pixel driving circuit group, the first pixel driving circuit group comprises pixel driving circuits arranged along an extension direction of the second common line; along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, the at least one first pixel driving circuit group overlaps with the second common line and does not overlap with part of the type-I connecting lines parallel to the second common line.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
The closest prior art of record of D1, ( CN115602091) in view of D2 ( CN111834410A) teaches the limitation of claim 1 and 29, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 7 including “wherein the display area comprises a first display sub-area located between two adjacent light transmission areas, the first display sub-area comprises a pixel driving circuits arranged along an arranging direction of two adjacent light transmission areas, x first connecting lines along the arranging direction of two adjacent light transmission areas, y third common lines along the arranging direction of two adjacent light transmission areas; where, x+y≤a; and the two adjacent light transmission areas are arranged along the first direction or the second direction..” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
The closest prior art of record of D1, ( CN115602091) in view of D2 ( CN111834410A) teaches the limitation of claim 1 and 29, but it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 13 including “further comprising sub-pixels, wherein one of the sub-pixels comprise a pixel driving circuit and a light-emitting element that are electrically connected to each other; and in the second non-display area, the part of the fifth common line that extends from the display area to the second non-display area and the another part of the fifth common line that terminates at the edge of the second non-display area are located in a same layer and are adjacent to each other, and a distance between the part of the fifth common line that extends from the display area to the second non-display area and the another part of the fifth common line that terminates at the edge of the second non-display area is smaller than or equal to a width of one pixel driving circuit of the pixel driving circuits.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 19 including “wherein part of the type-I connecting lines and part of the type-I common lines are located in the first non-display area; and in the first non-display area, the type-I common lines partially overlap with the type-I connecting lines along a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 24 including “wherein the common lines further comprise a type-III common line, part of the type-III common line is located at a side of the edge connecting line away from the light transmission area.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
it does not finally teach or suggest, singularly or in combination, at least the limitations of the dependent claim 29 including “wherein the first shielding layer is disposed in a same layer as the first connecting sub-line.” in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
/MAMADOU L DIALLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897