DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 62/900,291; 62/704,565; 16/948,289; 17/213,802; 17/326,711; 17/403,373; 17/954,118; and 17/989,601, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The applications fail to provide support for at least the duct adapter and bleed airflow generator recited in the claims of the present application. Only Application Nos. 63/476,452 and 63/493,070 are considered to provide support for at least some of the claims in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0086851 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter referred to as Zhang) in view of US Patent No. 5,403,367 to De Villiers et al. (hereinafter referred to as De Villiers) and US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0146165 to Gehlhoff et al. (hereinafter referred to as Gehlhoff).
In regard to claims 1 and 17, Zhang discloses a hydraulic fracturing unit, as shown in figure 1, having a chassis (3), a gas turbine engine (7) supported by the chassis, an air inlet assembly (6) connected to the gas turbine engine and adapted to supply intake air to the gas turbine engine, and a hydraulic fracturing pump (10) positioned along the chassis and connected to the gas turbine engine. The air inlet assembly (6) is shown to have an air intake housing at least partially enclosing the air inlet assembly of the gas turbine engine. As discussed in paragraph [0029], the air intake assembly includes an air intake filter, an air intake silencer, and air intake piping. Zhang, however, does not disclose the specific filter used.
As discussed in column 1 lines 6 – 12, De Villiers discloses a filter system that can be used to filter intake air into an industrial engine, such as a gas turbine engine. As shown in figure 1, the filter system (10) includes a filtration housing (16) with a filtration chamber defined therein. The pre-filter zone (18) includes at least one pre-cleaner (30) positioned along the filtration housing upstream of the filtration chamber such that the ambient air passes therethrough. The at least one pre-cleaner (30) comprises at least one inertial separator, as shown in more detail in figure 2, configured to separate a first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the ambient air to provide a flow of at least partially filtered intake air. An additional filter (36) is positioned along the filtration chamber downstream of the at least one inertial separator (30). The filter (36) is configured to receive the at least partially filtered intake air from the at least one inertial separator and separate a second portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the at least partially filtered intake air to provide the filtered intake air into the filtration chamber.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to include a filtration system in the air inlet assembly comprising: a filtration housing connected to the air inlet assembly of the gas turbine engine and having a filtration chamber defined therein; at least one pre-cleaner positioned along the filtration housing upstream of the filtration chamber such that the ambient air passes therethrough, the at least one pre-cleaner comprising at least one inertial separator configured to separate a first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the ambient air to provide a flow of at least partially filtered intake air; and one or more additional filters positioned along the filtration chamber downstream of the at least one inertial separator, the one or more filters configured to receive the at least partially filtered intake air from the at least one inertial separator and separate a second portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the at least partially filtered intake air to provide the filtered intake air into the filtration chamber as suggested by De Villiers as this is a known filtration system to use with a gas turbine engine.
Further, neither Zhang nor De Villiers discloses a bleed air system in fluid communication with the pre-cleaner. De Villiers only discloses a dust bowl (32) that can be periodically cleaned to remove the particulates separated by the pre-cleaner. As best shown in figure 15, Gehlhoff discloses a similar filtration system having a pre-cleaner (14) and an additional filter (20). Gehlhoff includes a similar port (82) on the pre-cleaner where separated particulates can be removed. Gehlhoff further includes ducting (62, 44) connected to a vacuum source (46) formed by a fan (94) that acts as a bleed air system in fluid communication with the pre-cleaner. This bleed air system is capable of generating a substantially continuous bleed air flow through the pre-cleaner to create a static pressure or suction sufficient to substantially draw the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, separated from the ambient air, out of the pre-cleaner with the bleed air flow. As discussed in paragraph [0066], the use of the bleed air system improves the efficiency of the pre-cleaner (14), which can further improve the service life of the main filter (20).
Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang and De Villiers to include a bleed air system, having a duct adapter and an airflow generator, in fluid communication with the pre-cleaner as suggested by Gehlhoff in order to improve the efficiency of the pre-cleaner.
In regard to claim 2, as discussed above, Gehlhoff discloses the bleed airflow generator having one or more fans connected to the duct adapter. The fan is operable to draw the bleed air flow through and out of the at least one inertial separator so as to create a static pressure sufficient to draw the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, separated from the ambient air out of the at least one inertial separator and the duct adapter with the bleed air flow.
In regard to claim 3, as shown in figures 15, 17, and 19 of Gehlhoff, the fan (94) forming the bleed airflow generator includes at least one fan box having one or more fans housed therein, wherein the at least one fan box is located along the duct adapter (62, 44) coupled to the at least one inertial separator.
In regard to claims 4, 10, 22, and 25, Gehlhoff discloses the bleed air system having a conduit coupled to the at least one inertial separator. None of Zhang, De Villiers, or Gehlhoff specifically discloses wherein the at least one inertial separator comprises a plurality of inertial separators arranged along opposite sides of the filtration chamber. Zhang generally discloses the air inlet assembly (6) that appears to multiple sections and portions on opposite sides of the chassis. Additionally, the use of multiple inertial separators represents a mere duplication of parts. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that multiple inertial separators could be used in parallel to allow for a higher air flow into the air inlet. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include a plurality of inertial arranged along opposite sides of the filtration chamber in order to allow for a higher air flow into the air inlet. In this case each inertial separator would include its own bleed system. Thus, the at least one bleed airflow generator would comprise a plurality of fans each in fluid communication with an associated one of the plurality of inertial separators. Each one of the plurality of fans is capable of drawing the bleed air flow through and out of the associated one of the plurality of inertial separators so as to create a static pressure sufficient to draw the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, separated from the ambient air out of the associated one of the plurality of inertial separators and along the conduit with the bleed air flow. The bottom of each inertial separator includes a port that connects to the duct adapter. This port can be considered at least one pre-cleaner bypass positioned along a lower portion of the inertial separator and configured to receive and bypass the first portion of the particles, liquids, or combination thereof, separated from the ambient air into the duct adapter.
In regard to claim 5, as shown in figures 1 – 3 of De Villiers, the at least one inertial separator comprises a body having an interior panel, an exterior panel, and a separation cavity defined between the interior panel and the exterior panel. The vortex tubes (30) form a plurality of separator tubes. Each separator tube (30) has an air flow inlet tube (48) having a proximal end connected to the exterior panel, extending toward the interior panel, and terminating at a distal end, the air flow inlet tube defining an interior cross-sectional area. The vortex generator (50) forms a diverter arranged along the air flow inlet tube and configured to cause turbulence in the ambient air entering the air flow inlet tube as the ambient air flows from the proximal end of the air flow inlet tube toward the distal end of the air flow inlet tube. An air outlet tube (56) is connected to the interior panel and extends into the distal end of the air flow inlet tube. The air outlet tube (56) has an exterior cross-sectional area smaller than an interior cross-sectional area of the air flow inlet tube (48).
In regard to claim 6, as best shown in figure 2 of De Villiers, the air outlet tube (56) comprises an interior passage defining: a first separator flow path along which the at least partially filtered intake air is directed to exit the air outlet tube; and wherein a second separator flow path is defined between an exterior surface of the air outlet tube (56) and the interior surface of the air flow inlet tube (48) to enable the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, separated from the ambient air to be discharged from the separator tube.
In regard to claim 7, as best shown in figure 2 of De Villiers, the diverter (50) comprises one or more stator blades having one or more curved surfaces configured to cause the ambient air entering the air flow inlet tube to swirl as the ambient air passes the one or more stator blades.
In regard to claim 8, as further shown in figures 1 – 3 of De Villiers, the interior panel of the at least one inertial separator comprises a plurality of interior holes, and wherein each of the air outlet tubes (56) is connected to the interior panel such that an interior passage of the air outlet tube provides a first separator flow path for the at least partially filtered intake air to exit through the interior passage of the air outlet tube and through the interior hole of the interior panel; and wherein: each air flow inlet tube (48) is connected to an exterior surface of a corresponding air outlet tube (56) and at least partially defines a second separator flow path for the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof to be separated from the ambient air and directed into the separation cavity.
In regard to claim 9, as best shown in figure 2 of De Villiers, one or more of an interior passage of the air flow inlet tube (48), an interior passage of the air outlet tube (56), or an exterior passage defined between the air flow inlet tube and the air outlet tube has a substantially circular cross-sectional shape.
In regard to claim 11, De Villiers discloses a filtration system having an additional filter (36). This filter can be considered a “pre-filter” or a “final filter”, as broadly recited in the claim.
In regard to claim 12, as discussed above, the at least one bleed airflow generator comprises at least one fan located along the conduit coupled to the at least one inertial separator. The at least one fan can be considered to be located at a position along the conduit selected to substantially minimize a pressure drop of the bleed air flow after exiting the at least one inertial separator.
In regard to claim 13, given the orientation of the inlet (120) and the outlet (96), as shown in figures 17 and 19 of Gehlhoff, the at least one fan or blower (94) is a centrifugal fan.
In regard to claim 14, as discussed in paragraph [0073], the bleed airflow generator in Gehlhoff can be powered by an electric or hydraulic motor coupled to the fan.
In regard to claims 15 and 31, as discussed above, De Villiers does not disclose a bleed system but has a dust bowl that is periodically cleaned. Predictably, the bleed system could be operated to allow for periodic cleaning. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a timer linked to the at least one bleed airflow generator would allow for periodic cleaning out of the accumulated particulates. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include at least one timer linked to the at least one bleed airflow generator; wherein the timer is activated as the at least one bleed airflow generator is actuated to generate the bleed air flow, and, upon expiration of the timer, the at least one bleed airflow generator is deactivated in order to allow for periodic removal of the particulates separated by the inertial separator.
In regard to claims 16 and 32, as discussed in paragraph [0015], Zhang discloses an air intake silencer connected to the air intake filter. Zhang does not explicitly disclose one or more sound attenuation baffles positioned within the filtration chamber. Predictably, in the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff, the intake silencer connected to the air intake filter could be provided within the filtration chamber. Further, sound attenuation baffles are well-known in the art to be used for silencing or limiting noise. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include one or more sound attenuation baffles within the filtration chamber as these provide a well known means to act as a silencer. The one or more sound attenuation baffles inherently will attenuate sound generated during operation of the gas turbine engine.
In regard to claim 18, as discussed above in regard to claim 4, the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff can be modified to include a plurality of inertial separators with a plurality of fans. The inertial separators together form the pre-cleaner. The plurality of fans are located along a conduit coupled to the pre-cleaner and are operable to generate and draw the bleed air flow through and out of the pre-cleaner.
In regard to claim 19, as discussed in paragraph [0073], the bleed airflow generator in Gehlhoff can be powered by an electric or hydraulic motor coupled to the fan. In the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff having a plurality of fans, each one would include a motor. When the bleed air system is operating, the motors are configured to drive the fans to generate the substantially continuous bleed air flow.
In regard to claim 20, as shown in figures 24 – 27 of Gehlhoff, the fan speed can be variably controlled, which inherently requires a variable speed controller to control a speed of the motors.
In regard to claim 21, as discussed above in regard to claim 4, the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff can be modified to include a plurality of inertial separators with a plurality of fans. Where the fans are mounted does not affect the function of the bleed air system. The fans would need to be mounted along a conduit coupled to one or more of the plurality of inertial separators. Predictably, a plurality of the fans could be mounted together in a “fan box”. It would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include at least one fan box located along a conduit coupled to one or more of the plurality of inertial separators having a plurality of fans mounted therein as this represents a mere rearrangement of parts that does not affect the function of the bleed air system.
In regard to claim 23, as shown in figures 1 – 3 of De Villiers, the at least one inertial separator comprises a body having an interior panel, an exterior panel, and a separation cavity defined between the interior panel and the exterior panel. The vortex tubes (30) form a plurality of separator tubes. Each separator tube (30) has an air flow inlet tube (48) having a proximal end connected to the exterior panel, extending toward the interior panel, and terminating at a distal end, the air flow inlet tube defining an interior cross-sectional area. The vortex generator (50) forms a diverter arranged along the air flow inlet tube and configured to cause turbulence in the ambient air entering the air flow inlet tube as the ambient air flows from the proximal end of the air flow inlet tube toward the distal end of the air flow inlet tube. An air outlet tube (56) is connected to the interior panel and extends into the distal end of the air flow inlet tube. The air outlet tube (56) has an exterior cross-sectional area smaller than an interior cross-sectional area of the air flow inlet tube (48).
In regard to claim 24, as best shown in figure 2 of De Villiers, the air outlet tube (56) comprises an interior passage defining: a first separator flow path along which the at least partially filtered intake air is directed to exit the air outlet tube; and wherein a second separator flow path is defined between an exterior surface of the air outlet tube (56) and the interior surface of the air flow inlet tube (48) to enable the first portion of the particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, separated from the ambient air to be discharged from the separator tube.
In regard to claim 26, De Villiers discloses a filtration system having an additional filter (36). This filter can be considered a “pre-filter” or a “final filter”, as broadly recited in the claim.
In regard to claim 27, as discussed above, the bleed air system comprises at least one fan in fluid communication with the pre-cleaner, and configured to generate the bleed air flow through the pre-cleaner.
In regard to claim 28, given the orientation of the inlet (120) and the outlet (96), as shown in figures 17 and 19 of Gehlhoff, the at least one fan or blower (94) is a centrifugal fan.
In regard to claim 29, as shown in figures 26 – 27 of Gehlhoff, the fan speed can be variably controlled based on an engine speed or load. As shown in figure 26, Gehlhoff inherently includes a controller that can turn on the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is at or above a selected minimum speed, and turn off the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is below the selected minimum speed. It is noted that minimum speed can be zero. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include a gas turbine engine controller configured to monitor and control a speed of the gas turbine engine, and to turn on the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is at or above a selected minimum speed, and turn off the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is below the selected minimum speed in order to match the draw of the bleed system with the requirements of the engine.
In regard to claim 30, as discussed above, Gehlhoff discloses the bleed air system comprising at least one bleed airflow generator, the at least one bleed airflow generator comprising at least one fan, and at least one hydraulically, pneumatically or electrically powered motor coupled to the at least one fan.
In regard to claim 33, in operation, the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff, inherently performs a method of: operating a gas turbine engine; drawing ambient air into and through a filtration assembly in communication with an air inlet assembly connected to the gas turbine engine; passing the ambient air through one or more inertial separators of the filtration assembly to separate a first portion of one or more of particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the ambient air, and provide a flow of at least partially filtered intake air; passing the flow of at least partially filtered intake air through one or more additional filters to separate a second portion of the one or more of particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof, from the at least partially filtered intake air, thereby to provide further filtered intake air; supplying the further filtered intake air to the air inlet assembly; and as the gas turbine engine is operating to draw the ambient air into and through the filtration assembly, drawing a bleed air flow out of the one or more inertial separators to obtain a static pressure or suction sufficient to remove the first portion of the one or more of particles, liquids, and/or combination thereof, from the one or more inertial separators with the bleed air flow.
In regard to claim 34, as shown in figures 1 – 3 of De Villiers, passing the ambient air through one or more inertial separators comprises: passing the ambient air through an air flow inlet tube (48) and a diverter (50) connected to the air flow inlet tube and positioned to cause the ambient air entering the air flow inlet tube to swirl as the ambient air flows from a proximal end of the air flow inlet tube to a distal end of the air flow inlet tube to thereby generate swirling ambient air; and separating the first portion of the one or more of particles, liquids, and/or combinations thereof from the swirling ambient air via the separator tube.
In regard to claims 35, 36, and 41, as shown in figures 26 – 27 of Gehlhoff, the fan speed can be variably controlled based on an engine speed or load. As shown in figure 26, Gehlhoff inherently includes a controller that can turn on the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is at or above a selected minimum speed, and turn off the at least one fan when the speed of the gas turbine engine is below the selected minimum speed. It is noted that minimum speed can be zero. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to draw the bleed air flow out of the one or more inertial separators by turning on one or more fans when a speed of the gas turbine engine reaches or exceeds a selected minimum speed and turning off the one or more fans when the speed of the gas turbine engine falls below the selected minimum speed in order to match the draw of the bleed system with the requirements of the engine.
In regard to claims 37 and 38, alternately, as discussed above, De Villiers does not disclose a bleed system but has a dust bowl that is periodically cleaned. Predictably, the bleed system could be operated to allow for periodic cleaning. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a timer linked to the at least one bleed airflow generator would allow for periodic cleaning out of the accumulated particulates. Further, two timers could be used where a first determines how long the fans run and a second determines how long the fans are off for. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to include two timers linked to the at least one bleed airflow generator, wherein the one timer turns the fans on after it has expired and the other turns the fans off after it has expired in order to allow for periodic removal of the particulates separated by the inertial separator.
In regard to claim 39, as discussed in paragraph [0015], Zhang discloses an air intake silencer connected to the air intake filter. Zhang does not explicitly disclose one or more sound attenuation baffles positioned within the filtration chamber. Predictably, in the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff, the intake silencer connected to the air intake filter could be provided within the filtration chamber. Further, sound attenuation baffles are well-known in the art to be used for silencing or limiting noise. Thus, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff to pass the further filtered intake air through one or more sound attenuation baffles to attenuate sound generated during operation of the gas turbine engine as this provides a well-known means to silence/limit the noise of the system.
In regard to claim 40, as discussed above, the bleed air flow in the combination of Zhang, De Villiers, and Gehlhoff can be generated by turning on a plurality of fans in fluid communication with a plurality of inertial separators.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Other prior art references listed on the PTO-892 (Notice of References Cited) are considered to be of interest disclosing similar filtration systems.
/ROBERT CLEMENTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773