DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (on page 7) that the electrode structure of Folman is part of an embodiment of a 2-layer trap; Applicant contends that in a 2-layer trap, ions are trapped between the electrodes, not in a space above the electrodes as required in claim 1. In a 2-layer trap, ions are trapped between the electrodes – meaning that the ions are trapped above at least some of the electrodes (and below others of the electrodes), and claim 1 includes limitations regarding the electrodes below the trapping space (and is silent regarding the presence or absence of any other electrodes above the trapping space). Therefore, a teaching of electrodes configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (as in Folman and Leibrandt) anticipates this limitation of the claim (regardless of the presence or location of any additional electrodes).
In Folman, ions a trapped in a quantum manipulation zone 302a (“moving of an ion or several ions from the trapping zone 302b to the quantum manipulation zone 302a through translation zone 302c by means of magnetic fields, laser radiation, or a combination of both” [0233]) between “three pairs” [0231] of electrodes and are therefore trapped above the three “lower linear electrode(s) 305l” [0231].
In Leibrandt, ions are trapped in an ion trapping region 212, which, as illustrated in figure 1, is located above at least electrodes 208, 209, and 205.
Since claim 1 recites a device “comprising” the claimed structured electrode layer, it may also comprise other elements not recited in the claim. Therefore, lacking any specific recitation that no electrodes are present above the space in which the ions are trapped, the claimed recitation of a structured electrode layer “configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer” is reasonably anticipated by Folman and Leibrandt, which each trap ions in a space above a structured electrode layer (regardless of the presence of additional electrodes above the trapping space).
Regarding Applicant’s argument (on page 8) that the Office’s conclusion that Folman’s core layer can be considered a low-PDOS layer is completely unsupported; claim 1 of the immediate application identifies that materials “TiN or TiW or Ti or W” are examples of low-PDOS layers, and Folman discloses that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089] (element W, in claim 1 is commonly understood to mean the elemental abbreviation for tungsten – as evidenced by, for example, Notte U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0111069 in paragraph [0154]: “tungsten (W)”).
Applicant contends that Folman is silent with respect to phonon density of states and vibrational decoupling from the substrate. This argument is moot because the claim specifically identifies that the material from which Folman is made (tungsten) is a low-PDOS material, and therefore it is understood that Folman sufficiently performs any intended functionality of the claimed material (since it is made from the same material).
Applicant contends that a low-PDOS layer would not be practical in Folman’s 2-layer trap – but Folman has formed the low-PDOS layer tungsten and therefore anticipates this limitation of the claim regardless of any intent on behalf of Folman or of Applicant’s disclosure.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (on page 12) that Ramsey does not suggest a top layer of gold deposited over another layer; Folman is relied upon for teaching this limitation. Page 7 of the Non-Final Rejection 3/11/2026 identifies that Folman teaches a top layer of an inert metal (gold) material disposed over the low-PDOS (tungsten) layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from silicon carbide, silicon nitride, or tungsten” [0089]. Ramsey is merely relied upon in this capacity for teaching “gold plating” [0100] on an electrode (similar to the electroplated electrodes of Folman).
Regarding Applicant’s argument that there would be no reason to reduce the thickness of Folman’s gold layer (disclosed in paragraph [0042] as 3µm) to the claimed thickness of 5 nm to 40 nm; Ramsey clearly provides such a reasoning by articulating that the thickness of gold plating on an electrode (where Folman discloses a 3µm gold plating on an electrode) can be in a range from “about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100]. This range includes the 3µm gold plating of Folman, and demonstrates that it would be obvious to optimize such a thickness from the 3µm gold plating of Folman down to a value as low as about 1 nm (or up to a value as high as 10 µm) – where this range is inclusive of the claimed 5 nm to 40 nm. Since Ramsey demonstrates the obviousness of varying this thickness, it is clear that reducing a thickness of 3µm to a thickness of 5 nm to 40 nm requires only ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 10 with respect to claims 14 and 15; these claims include similar limitations to those of claim 1. Since claim 14 defines that “W” (Tungsten) is a low-PDOS layer, the tungsten layer of Folman is a low-PDOS layer and therefore performs the intended functions of claim 14 (configured to reduce heating of trapped ions by reducing surface electric field noise through vibrational decoupling from the substrate) at least because the claim specifies that this function (configured to reduce heating of trapped ions by reducing surface electric field noise through vibrational decoupling from the substrate) is performed merely by the selection of material (including “W” – tungsten).
Further, since claim 14 specifies that the thickness can be greater than the PDOS thickness threshold (specified in claim 15), and Leibrandt of 50µm (50,000 nm), which is thicker than the threshold values specified in claim 15, Leibrandt teaches a thickness equal to or greater than a PDOS thickness threshold, as specified in claim 14.
Regarding Applicant’s argument on page 11 with respect to claim 16, claim 16 includes the alternative recitations of either “an exposed top surface” or “a top layer of an inert metal”. As discussed above, Folman teaches an electroplated gold layer on top of the low-PDOS tungsten layer (see paragraph [0042] of Folman).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, 13, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419.
Regarding claim 1, Folman discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 2, Folman discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 400 nm, or 500 nm, or 600 nm, or 700 nm, 800 nm, or 1µm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 3, Folman discloses that the low-PDOS structured electrode layer is formed of tungsten (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [Folman: 0089]). According to DiFoggio U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0205841, “tungsten has a sound speed of 4290 m/sec” [DiFoggio: 0020].
Regarding claim 8, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer comprises only the low-PDOS layer (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride, and the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from silicon carbide, silicon nitride, or tungsten” [0089]).
Regarding claim 9, Folman discloses that the substrate is of sapphire or fused silica or silicon (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride, and the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from silicon carbide, silicon nitride, or tungsten” [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, Folman discloses a method of manufacturing a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: providing a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and forming a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 13, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer is formed by lithography including etching the low-PDOS layer (“To make such a thick mask with a high spatial resolution of a few microns, a special photolithography process was established with a very thick photo-resist” [0278]).
Regarding claim 14, Folman discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer being configured to reduce heating of trapped ions by reducing surface electric field noise through vibrational decoupling from the substrate, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than a PDOS thickness threshold.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than a PDOS thickness threshold (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027] – claim 15 identifies that the PDOS thickness threshold can be between 100nm and 1µm, and the thickness of 50µm, disclosed in Leibrandt is greater than this PDOS thickness threshold of 1µm).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 15, Folman discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than a PDOS thickness threshold.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than a PDOS thickness threshold (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027] – claim 15 identifies that the PDOS thickness threshold can be between 100nm and 1µm, and the thickness of 50µm, disclosed in Leibrandt is greater than this PDOS thickness threshold of 1µm).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Claim(s) 4, 7, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419 in further view of Ramsey U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0263999.
Regarding claim 4, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). The specification of the immediate application identifies, at paragraph [0054] that gold (Au) is a noble (inert) metal material, and at paragraph [0005], the specification of the immediate application identifies tungsten (W) as an example of a low-PDOS material (Folman teaches that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). Further, Bashkirov et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0133071 teaches that gold is an inert metal (“inert metal (e.g., gold…” [Bashkirov: 0121]). However, Folman does not disclose that the top, gold, layer has a thickness in a range of 5 nm to 40 nm.
Ramsey discloses an “ion trap mass analyzer 20” [0103] “As shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B and 2C” [0103] which “includes three closely spaced apart electrodes (conductors)” [0103], wherein “the CIT electrodes 21, 22, 23… include, but are not limited to, one or more of metals such as… gold, plated or coated metals or substrates such as stainless steel with one-sided gold plating (Au/SS)… The conductors can be a solid (e.g., continuous surface) conductor or a mesh conductor or thin films of conductive material on a substrate. The term "thin film" refers to coatings that have a thickness of between about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gold coating for electrodes of an ion trap, as disclosed in Folman with the gold layer thickness disclosed in Ramsey in order to select an optimal thickness for conducting selected voltages to form electrodes in an ion trap, wherein the thickness of the layer would determine the amount of voltage that an electrode (to which the layer is applied) may conduct, and such a voltage may be selected to a different level depending upon the ion trapping scheme, specific ions to be trapped, or for some other purpose of controlling the motion of ions through a spectrometry device.
Regarding claim 7, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). This structure of gold electroplated electrodes can be taken to be a structured electrode layer – in such a case, the gold electroplating over tungsten functions as the claimed structured electrode layer (having a low-PDOS layer and a top layer) without any other structural elements (other structural elements may be attached thereto, but would not be considered the “structured electrode layer”).
Regarding claim 11, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). The specification of the immediate application identifies, at paragraph [0054] that gold (Au) is a noble (inert) metal material, and at paragraph [0005], the specification of the immediate application identifies tungsten (W) as an example of a low-PDOS material (Folman teaches that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). Further, Bashkirov et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0133071 teaches that gold is an inert metal (“inert metal (e.g., gold…” [Bashkirov: 0121]). However, Folman does not disclose that the top, gold, layer has a thickness in a range of 5 nm to 40 nm.
Ramsey discloses an “ion trap mass analyzer 20” [0103] “As shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B and 2C” [0103] which “includes three closely spaced apart electrodes (conductors)” [0103], wherein “the CIT electrodes 21, 22, 23… include, but are not limited to, one or more of metals such as… gold, plated or coated metals or substrates such as stainless steel with one-sided gold plating (Au/SS)… The conductors can be a solid (e.g., continuous surface) conductor or a mesh conductor or thin films of conductive material on a substrate. The term "thin film" refers to coatings that have a thickness of between about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gold coating for electrodes of an ion trap, as disclosed in Folman with the gold layer thickness disclosed in Ramsey in order to select an optimal thickness for conducting selected voltages to form electrodes in an ion trap, wherein the thickness of the layer would determine the amount of voltage that an electrode (to which the layer is applied) may conduct, and such a voltage may be selected to a different level depending upon the ion trapping scheme, specific ions to be trapped, or for some other purpose of controlling the motion of ions through a spectrometry device.
Regarding claim 16, Folman discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt). However, although Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]), The specification of the immediate application identifies, at paragraph [0054] that gold (Au) is a noble (inert) metal material, and at paragraph [0005], the specification of the immediate application identifies tungsten (W) as an example of a low-PDOS material (Folman teaches that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]), and Bashkirov et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0133071 teaches that gold is an inert metal (“inert metal (e.g., gold…” [Bashkirov: 0121]), Folman does not disclose that the top, gold, layer has a thickness in a range of 5 nm to 40 nm.
Ramsey discloses an “ion trap mass analyzer 20” [0103] “As shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B and 2C” [0103] which “includes three closely spaced apart electrodes (conductors)” [0103], wherein “the CIT electrodes 21, 22, 23… include, but are not limited to, one or more of metals such as… gold, plated or coated metals or substrates such as stainless steel with one-sided gold plating (Au/SS)… The conductors can be a solid (e.g., continuous surface) conductor or a mesh conductor or thin films of conductive material on a substrate. The term "thin film" refers to coatings that have a thickness of between about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100]. It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gold coating for electrodes of an ion trap, as disclosed in Folman with the gold layer thickness disclosed in Ramsey in order to select an optimal thickness for conducting selected voltages to form electrodes in an ion trap, wherein the thickness of the layer would determine the amount of voltage that an electrode (to which the layer is applied) may conduct, and such a voltage may be selected to a different level depending upon the ion trapping scheme, specific ions to be trapped, or for some other purpose of controlling the motion of ions through a spectrometry device.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419 in further view of Blain U.S. Patent No. 6,870,158.
Regarding claim 5, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Regarding claim 6, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Regarding claim 12, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881