DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 8, 9, 10, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419.
Regarding claim 1, Folman discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 2, Folman discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 400 nm, or 500 nm, or 600 nm, or 700 nm, 800 nm, or 1µm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 3, Folman discloses that the low-PDOS structured electrode layer is formed of tungsten (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [Folman: 0089]). According to DiFoggio U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0205841, “tungsten has a sound speed of 4290 m/sec” [DiFoggio: 0020].
Regarding claim 8, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer comprises only the low-PDOS layer (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride, and the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from silicon carbide, silicon nitride, or tungsten” [0089]).
Regarding claim 9, Folman discloses that the substrate is of sapphire or fused silica or silicon (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride, and the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from silicon carbide, silicon nitride, or tungsten” [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, Folman discloses a method of manufacturing a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: providing a substrate of a dielectric material or a semiconductor material (“The substrate can be fabricated from sapphire, alumina, or aluminum nitride” [0089]); and forming a structured electrode layer disposed above the substrate (“each one of the bases of second set of electrodes is disposed on the substrate upon one of the gradations in locations suitable for performing quantum manipulation on ions” [0091]), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“a first set of electrodes and a second set of electrodes for trapping ions and for quantum manipulations” [Abstract]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a low phonon density of states (low-PDOS) layer, the low-PDOS layer being of TiN or TiW or Ti or W (“the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). However, Folman does not disclose the thickness of the structured electrode layer and therefore does not disclose a structured electrode layer having a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm.
Leibrandt discloses a micro-fabricated device for controlling trapped ions, the micro-fabricated device comprising: a substrate 201; and a structured electrode layer 204 and 205 disposed above the substrate (as illustrated in figure 3), wherein the structured electrode layer forms a plurality of electrodes 204 and 205 of an ion trap configured to trap ions in a space above the structured electrode layer (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212” [0027]), wherein the structured electrode layer comprises a thickness of equal to or greater than 100 nm (“A thickness of the first RF electrode 204, the second RF electrode 205, the RF ground electrodes, and the ion trapping region 212 can be sufficient to form the trapping potential field in the ion trapping region 212. It is contemplated that the thickness of the individual electrodes independently can be from 50 μm to 10 mm, e.g., 300 μm” [0027]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the electrode thickness disclosed in Leibrandt in order to select an electrode thickness that is sufficient to form a trapping region, such that the electrodes can be utilized in forming an ion trap (as desired in both Folman and Leibrandt).
Regarding claim 13, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer is formed by lithography including etching the low-PDOS layer (“To make such a thick mask with a high spatial resolution of a few microns, a special photolithography process was established with a very thick photo-resist” [0278]).
Claim(s) 4, 7, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419 in further view of Ramsey U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0263999.
Regarding claim 4, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). The specification of the immediate application identifies, at paragraph [0054] that gold (Au) is a noble (inert) metal material, and at paragraph [0005], the specification of the immediate application identifies tungsten (W) as an example of a low-PDOS material (Folman teaches that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). Further, Bashkirov et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0133071 teaches that gold is an inert metal (“inert metal (e.g., gold…” [Bashkirov: 0121]). However, Folman does not disclose that the top, gold, layer has a thickness in a range of 5 nm to 40 nm.
Ramsey discloses an “ion trap mass analyzer 20” [0103] “As shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B and 2C” [0103] which “includes three closely spaced apart electrodes (conductors)” [0103], wherein “the CIT electrodes 21, 22, 23… include, but are not limited to, one or more of metals such as… gold, plated or coated metals or substrates such as stainless steel with one-sided gold plating (Au/SS)… The conductors can be a solid (e.g., continuous surface) conductor or a mesh conductor or thin films of conductive material on a substrate. The term "thin film" refers to coatings that have a thickness of between about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gold coating for electrodes of an ion trap, as disclosed in Folman with the gold layer thickness disclosed in Ramsey in order to select an optimal thickness for conducting selected voltages to form electrodes in an ion trap, wherein the thickness of the layer would determine the amount of voltage that an electrode (to which the layer is applied) may conduct, and such a voltage may be selected to a different level depending upon the ion trapping scheme, specific ions to be trapped, or for some other purpose of controlling the motion of ions through a spectrometry device.
Regarding claim 7, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). This structure of gold electroplated electrodes can be taken to be a structured electrode layer – in such a case, the gold electroplating over tungsten functions as the claimed structured electrode layer (having a low-PDOS layer and a top layer) without any other structural elements (other structural elements may be attached thereto, but would not be considered the “structured electrode layer”).
Regarding claim 11, Folman discloses that the structured electrode layer further comprises a top layer of an inert metal material disposed over the low-PDOS layer (“Subsequently, an additional 3 µm of gold is electroplated onto the electrodes” [0042]). The specification of the immediate application identifies, at paragraph [0054] that gold (Au) is a noble (inert) metal material, and at paragraph [0005], the specification of the immediate application identifies tungsten (W) as an example of a low-PDOS material (Folman teaches that “the core layer of the electrode can be fabricated from… tungsten” [0089]). Further, Bashkirov et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2011/0133071 teaches that gold is an inert metal (“inert metal (e.g., gold…” [Bashkirov: 0121]). However, Folman does not disclose that the top, gold, layer has a thickness in a range of 5 nm to 40 nm.
Ramsey discloses an “ion trap mass analyzer 20” [0103] “As shown in FIGS. 1A, 1B, 2A, 2B and 2C” [0103] which “includes three closely spaced apart electrodes (conductors)” [0103], wherein “the CIT electrodes 21, 22, 23… include, but are not limited to, one or more of metals such as… gold, plated or coated metals or substrates such as stainless steel with one-sided gold plating (Au/SS)… The conductors can be a solid (e.g., continuous surface) conductor or a mesh conductor or thin films of conductive material on a substrate. The term "thin film" refers to coatings that have a thickness of between about 1 nm to about 10 µm” [0100].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the gold coating for electrodes of an ion trap, as disclosed in Folman with the gold layer thickness disclosed in Ramsey in order to select an optimal thickness for conducting selected voltages to form electrodes in an ion trap, wherein the thickness of the layer would determine the amount of voltage that an electrode (to which the layer is applied) may conduct, and such a voltage may be selected to a different level depending upon the ion trapping scheme, specific ions to be trapped, or for some other purpose of controlling the motion of ions through a spectrometry device.
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Folman et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2009/0321719 in view of Leibrandt et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0246419 in further view of Blain U.S. Patent No. 6,870,158.
Regarding claim 5, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Regarding claim 6, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Regarding claim 12, Folman discloses the claimed invention except that there is no explicit disclosure that the structured electrode layer further comprises a high conductivity metal layer disposed between the substrate and the low-PDOS layer, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm.
Blain discloses an ion trap device (“A microscale cylindrical ion trap” [Abstract]) comprising: a structured electrode layer comprising a high conductivity metal layer 272 disposed between a substrate 276 and an electrode layer 230, the high conductivity layer having a thickness in a range of 100 nm to 10 µm; wherein the high conductivity metal layer comprises Al or AlSiCu or Cu (“a substrate 276 is provided on which the multi-layer structure of the CIT array 200 can be fabricated… the ion collector layer 272 can be a 0.3-0.5 µm thickness of doped-silicon, aluminum, or tungsten. The collector dielectric layer 260 can be deposited on the ion collector layer 272 to provide for electrical isolation of the extraction endcap electrode layer 230 from the ion collector layer 272” [col. 12; lines 46-67]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Folman with the high conductivity metal layer of Blain in order to “collect the ion current that is ejected from [an] array of traps” [Blain: col. 10; lines 47-49], thereby establishing greater control over the formation of an effective electric field in an ion trap, thereby providing a desired amount of control over the trapping and/or separation of ions in the ion trap.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/Examiner, Art Unit 2881