Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 03/06/2026. Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-9 and 11-14 have been amended. Claims 3 and 10 have been cancelled, and claim 15 has been added. Claims 1-2, 4-9 and 11-15 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 03/06/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the specification.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §101 rejection of claims 1-14 are persuasive. Applicant has shown that the specification provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or a technical field. The claims include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement as described in the specification. Therefore, the U.S.C. §101 rejection has been overcome.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections of claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN-110488332-A; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses:
A method for providing correction information (see at least Abs; “According to the positioning information processing method based on the network RTK technology, the server determines the geographical partition where the server is located according to the coordinate information of the user; only the atmosphere correction information of the grid points of the geographic partition corresponding to the user needs to be sent to the user terminal, thereby reducing the network transmission amount, and improving the transmission efficiency…”), the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor, grid data (see translation at least [0026] – [0027]; “A method for processing location information based on network RTK technology, the method comprising: Obtain atmospheric correction information, geographic zoning, and grid point distribution maps…”) from a correction service (see translation at least [0004]; “Network RTK technology, also known as base station RTK, is a new technology built on the basis of conventional RTK and differential GPS. It typically involves establishing multiple GPS reference stations in an area, usually three or more, to form a mesh coverage of the area. GPS correction information is calculated and broadcast based on one or more of these base stations, thereby providing real-time corrections for GPS users in the area.”);
searching the grid data for a nearest base station to a grid point (see translation at least [0114]; “Specifically, the nearest base station to the grid point is determined based on the grid point coordinates, the coordinates of the base station are obtained, and the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station is calculated to obtain grid point correction information.”);
repackaging the grid data (see translation at least [0038]; “The grid point observation data are encoded according to the grid point correction information and atmospheric correction information”) in response to locating the nearest grid point (see translation at least [0123]; “The grid point correction information is obtained based on the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station. This eliminates the need to calculate the correction information of all grid points within the user's coordinate partition, reducing the computational load on the server. Based on the grid point correction information, atmospheric correction information, and grid point observation data, the coordinate information is corrected to obtain accurate positioning.”); and
transmitting the repackaged grid data to a user equipment (see translation at least [0039]; “The encoded grid point observation data is sent to the positioning module interface for conventional RTK calculation to obtain high-precision positioning results.”).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach searching for a nearest grid point to a base station. Zhang does teach searching for the nearest base station to a grid point (see [0114], quoted above).
While Zhang teaches finding the base station that is closest to a given grid point, performing a calculation to find a grid point that is closest to a given base station is a predictable variation, essentially reversing the direction of the calculation. As such, the modification constitutes an equivalent, non-inventive step that a person having ordinary skill in the art would implement without undue experimentation. Thus, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang in view of the rationale of substituting, reversing, or reordering elements.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the repackaging the grid data includes reformatting the grid to a 1x1 grid corresponding with the nearest grid point (see translation at least [0123]; “The aforementioned positioning information processing method based on network RTK technology determines the grid point closest to the coordinate information based on the coordinate information. The grid point correction information is obtained based on the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station. This eliminates the need to calculate the correction information of all grid points within the user's coordinate partition, reducing the computational load on the server. Based on the grid point correction information, atmospheric correction information, and grid point observation data, the coordinate information is corrected to obtain accurate positioning.”).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the grid data includes a plurality of grid points (see translation at least [0129]; “Specifically, based on the grid point distribution map, the coordinates of grid points within the corresponding geographical partition are obtained…”, and wherein the searching the grid data includes
generating respective locations for the plurality of grid points based on reference point information (see translation at least [0128]; “Specifically, the grid point distribution map of the user's geographical region can be matched with the user's coordinate information to determine the grid point distribution map corresponding to the coordinate information.”), and
searching for the nearest grid point based on the respective locations of the plurality of grid points (see translation at least [0129]; “Specifically, based on the grid point distribution map, the coordinates of grid points within the corresponding geographical partition are obtained, and the grid point closest to the coordinate information is determined based on the grid point coordinates and user coordinate information.”).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of claim 4. Zhang further teaches:
further comprising:
determining whether the grid data has a NxM shape (see translation at least [0090]; “Among them, grid point distribution is a combination of grid points obtained from geographical partitioning, including the number of grid points and coordinates, and grid point information can be obtained based on grid point distribution.” Interpretation is made in light of the instant specification, paragraph [0081]; “At step S405, the LMS 130 may determine whether a grid included in the grid information has a NxM shape. For example, the LMS 130 may check whether a number of steps corresponding to longitude (N) and/or latitude (M) in a correction points message included with the correction information are non-zero.”) ),
wherein the searching the grid data includes searching the grid data in response to determining that the grid data has the NxM shape (see translation at least [0129]; “Specifically, based on the grid point distribution map, the coordinates of grid points within the corresponding geographical partition are obtained, and the grid point closest to the coordinate information is determined based on the grid point coordinates and user coordinate information.”).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses:
A device for providing correction information, the device comprising (see translation at least [0040]; “A location information processing device based on network RTK technology, the device comprising…”):
at least one memory storing computer program code; and
at least one processor configured to execute the computer program code and cause the device to (see translation at least [0046]; “A computer device includes a memory and a processor, the memory storing a computer program, characterized in that the processor executes the computer program to implement the steps of the positioning information processing method based on network RTK technology.”),
receive grid data (see translation at least [0026] – [0027]; “A method for processing location information based on network RTK technology, the method comprising: Obtain atmospheric correction information, geographic zoning, and grid point distribution maps…”) from a correction service (see translation at least [0004]; “Network RTK technology, also known as base station RTK, is a new technology built on the basis of conventional RTK and differential GPS. It typically involves establishing multiple GPS reference stations in an area, usually three or more, to form a mesh coverage of the area. GPS correction information is calculated and broadcast based on one or more of these base stations, thereby providing real-time corrections for GPS users in the area.”),
search the grid data for a nearest base station to a point (see translation at least [0114]; “Specifically, the nearest base station to the grid point is determined based on the grid point coordinates, the coordinates of the base station are obtained, and the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station is calculated to obtain grid point correction information.”);
repackage the grid data (see translation at least [0038]; “The grid point observation data are encoded according to the grid point correction information and atmospheric correction information”) in response to locating the nearest grid point (see translation at least [0123]; “The grid point correction information is obtained based on the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station. This eliminates the need to calculate the correction information of all grid points within the user's coordinate partition, reducing the computational load on the server. Based on the grid point correction information, atmospheric correction information, and grid point observation data, the coordinate information is corrected to obtain accurate positioning.”), and
transmit the repackaged grid data for use by a user equipment (see translation at least [0039]; “The encoded grid point observation data is sent to the positioning module interface for conventional RTK calculation to obtain high-precision positioning results.”).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach searching for a nearest grid point to a base station. Zhang does teach searching for the nearest base station to a grid point (see [0114], quoted above).
While Zhang teaches finding the base station that is closest to a given grid point, performing a calculation to find a grid point that is closest to a given base station is a predictable variation, essentially reversing the direction of the calculation. As such, the modification constitutes an equivalent, non-inventive step that a person having ordinary skill in the art would implement without undue experimentation. Thus, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang in view of the rationale of substituting, reversing, or reordering elements.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses the device of claim 8. The remaining limitations of claim 9 are analogous to those of claim 2 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the device of claim 8. The remaining limitations of claim 11 are analogous to those of claim 4 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the device of claim 11. The remaining limitations of claim 12 are analogous to those of claim 5 and are rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to cause (see translation at least [0047]; “A computer-readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, characterized in that, when the computer program is executed by a processor, it implements the steps of the location information processing method based on network RTK technology.”) a communication device (see translation at least [0040] – [0045]; “A location information processing device based on network RTK technology, the device comprising: … The sending module is used to send the atmospheric correction information, geographic zoning, and grid point distribution map to the user terminal.”) to
receive grid data (see translation at least [0026] – [0027]; “A method for processing location information based on network RTK technology, the method comprising: Obtain atmospheric correction information, geographic zoning, and grid point distribution maps…”) from a correction service (see translation at least [0004]; “Network RTK technology, also known as base station RTK, is a new technology built on the basis of conventional RTK and differential GPS. It typically involves establishing multiple GPS reference stations in an area, usually three or more, to form a mesh coverage of the area. GPS correction information is calculated and broadcast based on one or more of these base stations, thereby providing real-time corrections for GPS users in the area.”),
search the grid data for a nearest base station to a grid point (see translation at least [0114]; “Specifically, the nearest base station to the grid point is determined based on the grid point coordinates, the coordinates of the base station are obtained, and the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station is calculated to obtain grid point correction information.”);
repackage the grid data (see translation at least [0038]; “The grid point observation data are encoded according to the grid point correction information and atmospheric correction information”) in response to locating the nearest grid point (see translation at least [0123]; “The grid point correction information is obtained based on the difference between the coordinates of the nearest grid point and the coordinates of the nearest base station. This eliminates the need to calculate the correction information of all grid points within the user's coordinate partition, reducing the computational load on the server. Based on the grid point correction information, atmospheric correction information, and grid point observation data, the coordinate information is corrected to obtain accurate positioning.”), and
transmit the repackaged grid data for use by a user equipment (see translation at least [0039]; “The encoded grid point observation data is sent to the positioning module interface for conventional RTK calculation to obtain high-precision positioning results.”).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach searching for a nearest grid point to a base station. Zhang does teach searching for the nearest base station to a grid point (see [0114], quoted above).
While Zhang teaches finding the base station that is closest to a given grid point, performing a calculation to find a grid point that is closest to a given base station is a predictable variation, essentially reversing the direction of the calculation. As such, the modification constitutes an equivalent, non-inventive step that a person having ordinary skill in the art would implement without undue experimentation. Thus, claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Zhang in view of the rationale of substituting, reversing, or reordering elements.
Regarding claim 15, Zhang discloses the method of claim 4. Zhang further teaches:
wherein the reference point information defines a geographic location for grid point (1,1) of the plurality of grid points (see translation at least [0090]; “Specifically, the information of each grid point in a geographic region can be determined based on the grid point distribution of the geographic region, including the grid point's coordinates, the base station ID corresponding to the grid point, the satellite number of the grid point, and its ionospheric and tropospheric correction information. Among them, grid point distribution is a combination of grid points obtained from geographical partitioning, including the number of grid points and coordinates, and grid point information can be obtained based on grid point distribution.” Examiner notes that a geographic location is defined for every grid point.).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of the non-patent literature cited in the 12/19/2023 IDS, v(hereinafter Meeting #107).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of claim 1 and transmitting the repackaged grid data (see translation at least [0039]; “The encoded grid point observation data is sent to the positioning module interface for conventional RTK calculation to obtain high-precision positioning results.”). However, Zhang does not explicitly teach:
wherein the transmitting the repackaged grid data includes transmitting the repackaged grid data via a system information block.
Meeting #107 teaches:
wherein the transmitting the repackaged grid data includes transmitting the repackaged grid data via a system information block (see at least section 2.2.7; “When broadcast, the grid definition could be refreshed at the lowest acceptable rate. For example the entire grid definition could be spread over multiple SIB broadcasts, in which case the correction service grid definition might be built up by the UE over a time period of minutes to hours. This may cause initial service startup to be unacceptably slow. Alternatively each NodeB might broadcast only that segment of the grid definition immediately enclosing or surrounding the coverage area of the cell, since at that time the UE does not require any other gridded corrections.”).
Both Zhang and Meeting #107 teach broadcasting repackaged grid data to UEs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broadcast used in Zhang to employ a system information block (SIB) as taught by Meeting #107. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to broadcast using a SIB in order to make the grid definition immediately available to UEs, as recognized by Meeting #107 (see at least section 2.2.7; “The Network could broadcast the grid definition continuously so that any subscribing UE could immediately receive it when required.”).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses the device of claim 8. Zhang further teaches [note, what Zhang fails to teach is strike-through]:
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the device to transmit the repackaged grid data (see translation at least [0154]; “S422, the server sends the atmospheric correction information, geographic zoning, and grid point distribution map of the grid points to the user terminal.”)
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach sending the correction information to the base station, nor does Zhang teach wherein the base station is configured to transmit the repackaged grid data to the user equipment via a system information block.
Meeting #107 teaches:
transmit the repackaged grid data (see at least section 2.2.7; “The Network could broadcast the grid definition continuously so that any subscribing UE could immediately receive it when required.”) to the base station,
wherein the base station is configured to transmit the repackaged grid data to the user equipment via a system information block (see at least section 2.2.7; “When broadcast, the grid definition could be refreshed at the lowest acceptable rate. For example the entire grid definition could be spread over multiple SIB broadcasts, in which case the correction service grid definition might be built up by the UE over a time period of minutes to hours. This may cause initial service startup to be unacceptably slow. Alternatively each NodeB might broadcast only that segment of the grid definition immediately enclosing or surrounding the coverage area of the cell, since at that time the UE does not require any other gridded corrections.”).
Both Zhang and Meeting #107 teach broadcasting repackaged grid data to UEs. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the broadcast used in Zhang to employ a base station and system information block (SIB) as taught by Meeting #107. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to broadcast using a base station SIB in order to make the grid definition immediately available to UEs, as recognized by Meeting #107 (see at least section 2.2.7; “The Network could broadcast the grid definition continuously so that any subscribing UE could immediately receive it when required.”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Meng et al. (CN-115356755-A, hereinafter Meng).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches [note, what Zhang fails to teach is strike-through]:
further comprising:
determining (see translation at least [0090] – [0091]; “Specifically, the information of each grid point in a geographic region can be determined based on the grid point distribution of the geographic region, including the grid point's coordinates, the base station ID corresponding to the grid point, the satellite number of the grid point, and its ionospheric and tropospheric correction information… The satellite number of a grid point is the number of the satellite corresponding to that grid point. Since different satellites monitor information from different grid points, grid points in different zones correspond to satellites with different numbers.”);
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach that the satellites corresponding to a grid point are the visible satellites. Furthermore, Zhang does not explicitly teach removing information corresponding with satellites not included in the visible satellites from other data received from the correction service.
Meng, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
removing information corresponding with satellites not included in the visible satellites from other data received from the correction service (see translation at least [0069]; “To conserve storage space, only satellites visible to the user are broadcast to the user. This requires the user to first obtain its approximate location using standard point positioning, and then send its approximate location to the server via short message communication. Based on the approximate location sent by the user, the server selects a set number of satellites according to the set altitude cutoff angle and sends the correction data of these satellites to the user.
One of the operations on the server side using the approximate location of the user terminal is to determine the grid cell where the user terminal is located and broadcast the ionospheric correction and tropospheric correction for the corresponding grid cell.”).
Zhang broadcasts information to UEs to support RTK technology, and Meng broadcasts information to users to support PPP-RTK technology. Zhang determines the number of satellites used for each grid point, and Meng calculates the visible satellites used at each grid point. It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Zhang to include calculation of visible satellites and broadcast only correction data of those satellites to the user, as taught by Meng. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to include only the visible satellites in order to conserve storage space, as recognized by Meng (see Meng translation at least [0069]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648