DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 1, line 9, "measurements" change to --measurement--.
Regarding Claim 17, line 3, 5-6, "computer-readable storage media" change to --non-transitory computer-readable storage media--. Otherwise, it will invoke 35 USC §101.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Pub. No. 2003/0133133 A1 by Fujiwara et al. (hereinafter Fujiwara).
Regarding Claim 1, Fujiwara teaches a method of determining a boundary of a substrate (Par. [0067, 0072]) on a pre-aligner (Fig. 1 @ 40. Par. [0058]), the method comprising:
loading the substrate (Fig. 1 @ 91. Par. [0058]) with a film (Abstract, Par. [0002, 0004]) onto the pre-aligner (Fig. 1 @ 40. Par. [0058]);
measuring a substrate edge of the substrate (Abstract, Par. [0064, 0067, 0078], Claim 1);
determining a substrate center of the substrate (Par. [0122]) based on the substrate edge (Par. [0194]);
measuring a film edge of the film on the substrate (Abstract, Par. [0057, 0064, 0077-0078], Claim 1); and
determining a film edge shape of the film edge relative to the substrate center based on the measurements of the film edge (Par. [0119, 0154]).
Regarding Claim 2, Fujiwara teaches the substrate is a semiconductor wafer (Par. [0002]).
Regarding Claim 5, Fujiwara teaches a sensor for measuring the substrate edge of the substrate and the film edge while the substrate is rotating on the pre-aligner (Par. [0058, 0064-0065, 0194]).
Regarding Claim 6, Fujiwara teaches the sensor is a camera for capturing images while the substrate is rotating on the pre-aligner (Par. [0058, 0064-0065, 0194]: CCD thus teaches camera, i.e. the CCD camera).
Regarding Claim 7, Fujiwara teaches the camera captures a plurality of images for determining at least four locations that are equidistant from the layout center to determine the substrate edge (Fig. 4, 30, 39, Par. [0150, 0156-0157, 0159]).
Regarding Claim 8, Fujiwara teaches the camera captures a plurality of images for determining at least twelve locations to determine the film edge (Fig. 30, 39, Par. [0150, 0156-0157, 0159]).
Regarding Claim 10, Fujiwara teaches the film on the substrate is formed by removing material from the film in an edge bead removal (EBR) process to form the edge of the film (Par. [0004]).
Regarding Claim 15, Fujiwara teaches a semiconductor wafer pre-aligner comprising: a semiconductor wafer rotation stage (Fig. 1 @ 40. Par. [0058]);
an edge detection system configured to measure a semiconductor wafer edge of a semiconductor wafer loaded onto the semiconductor wafer rotation stage (Abstract, Par. [0064, 0067, 0078], Claim 1); and
a film edge detection system configured to measure a film edge of a film on the semiconductor wafer loaded onto the semiconductor wafer rotation stage (Abstract, Par. [0057, 0064, 0077-0078], Claim 1) while (Par. [0064]) the edge detection system measures the semiconductor wafer edge (Abstract, Par. [0064, 0067, 0078], Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Fujiwara teaches the edge detection system includes a laser edge detector that obtains a semiconductor wafer location of the semiconductor wafer edge (Fig 1 @ 21, 60, Par. [0059]: a halogen lamp, for emitting illumination light of a constant observation wave range (e.g., 400 nm to 800 nm), i.e. the laser. Par. [0061], [0064]: CCD, i.e. the edge detector. In combination teaches the laser edge detector), wherein the film edge detection includes a camera for obtaining images of a film edge on a semiconductor wafer loaded onto the semiconductor wafer rotation system (Par. [0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3-4, 12-14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara in view of US Patent Pub No. 2020/0292934 A1 by Simpson et al (hereinafter Simpson).
Regarding Claim 3, Fujiwara teaches the substrate and the measured substrate edge (See Claim 1 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach determining a layout center of a field to be imprinted on the substrate based on the measured substrate edge.
However, Simpson teaches determining a layout center of a field to be imprinted on the substrate based on the measured substrate edge (Fig. 4, Par. [0036, 0069-0070]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Simpson such that determining a layout center of a field to be imprinted on the substrate based on the measured substrate edge is accomplished such that imprinting process produces better results (Simpson, Par. [0036]).
Regarding Claim 4, Fujiwara teaches the substrate edge and the pre-aligner (See Claim 1 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach is measured relative to a notch on the pre-aligner.
However, Simpson teaches a notch (Par. [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Simpson such that the substrate edge is measured relative to a notch on the pre-aligner is accomplished in order to aid in alignment (Simpson, Par. [0038]).
Regarding Claim 12, Fujiwara teaches the film edge shape and the substrate (See Claim 1 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach generating a partial field drop pattern based on the film edge shape; and
depositing the partial field drop pattern on a partial field of the substrate.
However, Simpson teaches generating a partial field drop pattern based on the film edge shape (Fig. 4A, 4B, Par. [0012-0013, 0070-0071]); and
depositing the partial field drop pattern on a partial field of the substrate (Fig. 4A, 4B, Par. [0012-0013, 0070-0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Simpson such that generating a partial field drop pattern based on the film edge shape; and depositing the partial field drop pattern on a partial field of the substrate is accomplished such that imprinting process produces better results (Simpson, Par. [0036]).
Regarding Claim 13, Fujiwara as modified by Simpson teaches the partial field drop pattern is deposited on the partial field to fill up to the edge of the film without extending beyond the edge of the film (Simpson, Fig. 4A, 4B).
Regarding Claim 14, Fujiwara teaches the substrate (See Claim 1 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach manufacturing one or more articles, wherein manufacturing the one or more articles includes:
depositing drops of formable material on the substrate according to a partial field drop pattern;
bringing a shaping surface of one of a superstrate and a template into contact with the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate;
after bringing the shaping surface into contact with a fluid that has been deposited on the substrate, curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate; and
after curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate, processing the substrate so as to manufacture the one or more articles.
However, Simpson teaches manufacturing one or more articles, wherein manufacturing the one or more articles (Title, Par. [0001, 0024]) includes:
depositing drops of formable material on the substrate according to a partial field drop pattern (Fig. 4A, 4B, Par. [0013, 0024, 0070-0071]);
bringing a shaping surface of one of a superstrate and a template into contact with the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate (Par. [0024]);
after bringing the shaping surface into contact with a fluid that has been deposited on the substrate, curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate (Par. [0024]); and
after curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate, processing the substrate so as to manufacture the one or more articles (Par. [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Simpson such that manufacturing one or more articles, wherein manufacturing the one or more articles includes:
depositing drops of formable material on the substrate according to a partial field drop pattern;
bringing a shaping surface of one of a superstrate and a template into contact with the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate;
after bringing the shaping surface into contact with a fluid that has been deposited on the substrate, curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate; and
after curing the formable material that has been deposited on the substrate, processing the substrate so as to manufacture the one or more articles is accomplished in order to manufacture the articles (Simpson, Par. [0024]).
Regarding Claim 17, Fujiwara as modified by Simpson teaches a semiconductor wafer (Fujiwara, Par. [0002]) pre-aligner device for drop-pattern generation (Fujiwara, Par. [0004], Also see Claim 12 rejection above), the device comprising:
one or more computer-readable storage media (Fujiwara, Fig. 1 @ 50, Par. [0056, 0062-0063]); and
one or more processors that are in communication with the one or more computer-readable storage media and that cooperate with the one or more computer-readable storage media to cause the device to perform operations (Fujiwara, Fig. 1 @ 50, Par. [0056, 0062-0063]) comprising:
loading a semiconductor wafer (Fujiwara, Fig. 1 @ 91. Par. [0002, 0058]) with a film onto the semiconductor wafer pre-aligner (Fujiwara, Fig. 1 @ 40. Par. [0058]);
measuring a semiconductor wafer edge of the semiconductor wafer (Fujiwara, Abstract, Par. [0002, 0064, 0067, 0078], Claim 1);
determining a layout center of a field to be imprinted on the semiconductor wafer based on the measured semiconductor wafer edge (See Claim 3 rejection above);
measuring a film edge of the film on the semiconductor wafer (Fujiwara, Abstract, Par. [0002, 0057, 0064, 0077-0078], Claim 1); and
determining a film edge shape of the film edge relative to the layout center based on the measurements of the film edge (Fujiwara, Par. [0119, 0154], Fig. 4, 30, 39, Par. [0150, 0156-0157, 0159]).
Regarding Claim 19, Fujiwara teaches the film edge is measured (See Claim 1 rejection above) but does not explicitly teach at the same time that the wafer notch is determined.
However, Simpson teaches a notch (Par. [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Simpson such that the film edge is measured at the same time that the wafer notch is determined is accomplished in order to aid in alignment (Simpson, Par. [0038]).
7. Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara as applied to Claim 1 above in view of US Patent Pub No. 2008/0013089 A1 by Ishii et al (hereinafter Ishii).
Regarding Claim 9, Fujiwara teaches the substrate edge (See Claim 1 rejection above) and a plurality of coordinates (Par. [0159]) but does not explicitly teach is measured with a plurality of coordinates using a least squares approximation.
However, Ishii teaches the substrate edge is measured with a plurality of coordinates using a least squares approximation (Par. [0270]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious o one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujiwara by Ishii such that the substrate edge is measured with a plurality of coordinates using a least squares approximation is accomplished such that an outer shape reference coordinate system may be determined (Ishii, Par. [0270]).
Regarding Claim 11, Fujiwara teaches the film edge is measured with a plurality of coordinates using a least squares approximation (Same technique applied in Claim 9 can be used to implement Claim 11).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reason for Allowance
9. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
10. As to Claim 18, the prior arts of record alone or in combination fails to teach or suggest the claimed limitation of “the edge detection system comprises:
a first light source that produces a first measurement light and a first sensor that receives the first measurement light;
the film edge detection system comprises:
a second light source that produces a second measurement light and a second sensor that receives the second measurement light;
the first sensor is positioned such that the second measurement light detected by the first sensor is less than 1% of the first measurement light detected by the first sensor; and
the second sensor is positioned such that the first measurement light detected by the second sensor is less than 1% of the second measurement light detected by the second sensor” along with all other limitations of claim 18.
11. Fujiwara (US 2003/0133133 A1) teaches a method of determining a boundary of a substrate on a pre-aligner but fails to teach the claimed limitations.
Additional Prior Art
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The reference listed teaches of other prior art method/system of determining edge and notch of a wafer.
US Patent Pub. No. 2005/0013476 A1 by Simpkins (Fig. 1).
US Patent Pub. No. 2015/0370175 A1 by Simpkins (Fig. 1A).
Conclusion
/JAMIL AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877