DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the current application.
Claims 1-5 and 13-15 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 6-12 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 6-12 in the reply filed on December 4th 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-5 and 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 4th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL Zhao et al., “Rheological properties and microstructure of a novel starch-based emulsion gel produced by one-step emulsion gelation: Effect of oil content” (from Carbohydrate Polymers 281 (2022) 119061) in view of NPL Lu et al., “Nanostarch: Preparation, Modification, and Application in Pickering Emulsions” (from Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 2021, 6929-6942), NPL Ge et al., “Characterizations of Pickering emulsions stabilized by starch nanoparticles: Influence of starch variety and particle size” (from Food Chemistry 234 (2017) 339-347) and Ren et al., “Pickering emulsion: A multi-scale stabilization mechanism based on modified lotus root starch/xanthan gum nanoparticles” (from International Journal of Biological Macromolecules 233 (2023) 123459).
Regarding claim 6-12: Zhao discloses a method of making a o/w pickering emulsion gel where a water starch suspension is homogenized with oil (e.g., corn oil) (see Zhao sections 2.2-2.6). Since a water suspension of an immiscible substance (e.g., starch) is formed through vigorous mixing/homogenization, Zhao meets the claimed two homogenization steps. Furthermore, Zhao discloses homogenizing the water starch suspension with the oil (i.e., the second homogenization step) at a rotational speed of 13,400 rpm for 2 minutes followed by a heating at 80°C for 50 minutes (i.e., gelation) (see Zhao sections 2.2-2.6). Zhao also discloses that the o/w pickering emulsions with internal-phase (i.e., oil phase) ranging from 20-70%, provided improved gel (see Zhao abstract). Since the oil content in Zhao overlaps the oil content in claim 6, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
While Zhao discloses using starch as the polysaccharide, with particles size smaller than 150µm (see Zhao sections 2.3-2.4), Zhao fails to discloses nano starch particles at the claimed content and the claimed gelation temperature; However, Lu and Ge disclose using about 2.5 g/L to 20g/L nano starch particles (i.e., particle size 100nm to 220nm) in o/w pickering emulsion gel comprising 25%-50% internal phase (i.e., oil), provided a shelf-stable gel (see Lu Ge, abstract; section 3.6; Lu sections 5.1 and 5.2.2). Therefore it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to modify Zhao and to substitute the starch with nano starch particles comprising the claimed particle size and relative content in order to attain a shelf stable gel, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
As to the hydrocolloid (i.e., curdlan) in claims 6 and 11: Neither, Zhao, Lu, nor Ge, disclose a curdlan; However, Ren discloses that adding about 2g/L to about 10g/L of xanthan gum to o/w pickering emulsions, forms a starch/xanthan network with increased gel’s strength (see Ren abstract; section 2.2, 2.3, 2.5, 2.6.1); Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to further modify Zhao and to have added a Gallen (e.g., xanthan) at the claimed content, in order to attain an o/w pickering emulsion gel with increased gel strength, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792