DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to the amendment filed on 3/4/26. Claims 2-3 and 11-12 have been cancelled. Therefore, Claims 1, 4-10 and 13-17 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka et al. (Morioka; US 20070229026 A1) in view of Kadirvel et al. (US 20180254641 A1), further in view of Meibner et al. (Meibner; US 20210392416 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Morioka discloses a battery measurement apparatus (Abstract, [0019]) connected to a battery module (Figs 1-2) in which a plurality of storage batteries (1 of Figs 1-2) are combined, the battery measurement apparatus comprising:
a measurement unit (part of control circuity 7 of Fig 3, 97 of Fig 15 including tamper detection section 96 of Fig 15) that measures a battery state of each of the storage batteries ([0019] battery pack houses a plurality of batteries and the control circuit detects electrical characteristics of each battery); and
a determination unit (part of control circuity 7 of Fig 3, 97 of Fig 15 including tamper detection section 96 of Fig 15) that determines whether a replacement of any one of the storage batteries has occurred based on the measured battery states ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery), wherein
the determination unit determines that a storage battery has occurred in the case where a parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of a predetermined range ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded) and a parameter indicating the battery state of other storage batteries ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any other battery; [0026]) or
Morioka teaches indicating the battery state of the storage battery ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded); and the determination unit determines that the storage battery of the plurality of storage batteries has been replaced in a case where (i) the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of the predetermined range ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery) and (ii) the parameter indicating the battery state of another battery detects voltage on any other battery; [0026]).
Morioka does NOT specify measuring a battery state of the battery module and does NOT specify measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state.
However, Morioka teaches that the control circuit can detect battery replacement when battery pack shutdown occurs ([0025]), suggesting monitoring the battery module.
In the same field of endeavor, Kadirvel teaches battery packs that include multiple battery cells and are monitored using a reduced amount of circuitry and battery systems that accounts for battery cell changes over aging and temperature. The system includes a battery pack 222 having two battery cells, battery cell 1 210 and battery cell 2 220, and measures a parameter for the individual cells ([0041] Battery management unit 230 may measure various aspects of battery cell 1 210 and battery cell 2 220, such as battery cell voltages and currents).
Kadirvel teaches measuring a battery state of the battery module ([0018] gas gauge may monitor the current, temperature, and voltage of the battery pack; [0077] Gas gauge 1210 may be placed in series with both battery cells 210 and 220 to monitor current into and out of the battery pack).
The combination does NOT teach static battery measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel measuring a battery module in order to provide battery systems using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as taught by Kadirvel ([0006]).
In the same field of endeavor, Meibner discloses methods for monitoring battery voltage measurements for a vehicle battery, wherein the battery voltage measurements are obtained from a voltage measuring unit connected to or incorporated into a telematics device. Meibner discloses measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state ([0012] By monitoring the battery voltage measurements in the first time window corresponding to an engine off state, the resting voltage profile of the battery is being monitored. What is meant by the resting voltage profile is the vehicle battery voltage as a function of time as measured in an engine off state (rather than the vehicle being at rest or standstill with the engine on e.g. at traffic lights). When a battery is replaced with a different one, a step change in the resting voltage magnitude is observed; [0015] step change in voltage magnitude is compared with a threshold value to determine whether to automatically identify a battery replacement event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Morioka and Kadirvel with Meibner in order to provide a way of automatically detecting when a vehicle battery is replaced, and for automatically detecting various health-related events and state-related events in general for a vehicle battery, as suggested by Meibner ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding the new limitations:
Morioka discloses the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery includes a plurality of parameters including at least voltage control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power. If battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded [NOTE: the predetermined range is less than or equal to the stored voltage value; outside the predetermined range is greater than the stored voltage value]), but doesn’t specify impedance.
Kadirvel discloses detecting the internal impedance of a battery ([0012] If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed; [NOTE: the cell of the battery is the internal part of the battery; also, a battery cell’s impedance is generally equivalent to the battery’s internal impedance as both describe the total opposition to current flow within the battery]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel using impedance in order to provide battery systems that may monitor multiple battery cells using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as suggested by Kadirvel ([0006]).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Morioka discloses the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery includes
characteristics ranges within which are of the plurality of parameters are capable of being identified depending on characteristics of the storage battery ([0024], [0026] control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power. If battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded); and
the determination unit determines, when each of the plurality of parameters acquired by the measurement unit is out of the characteristics range of each parameter, that the parameter is out of the predetermined range, that the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is out of the predetermined range ([0024], [0026]; [0106] if battery voltages are again measured under the same conditions and any battery voltage has changed from its stored voltage value by more than specified limits, battery replacement is concluded and a tamper signal is issued), but doesn’t specify impedance.
Kadirvel discloses detecting the impedance of a battery ([0012] If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed).
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Morioka discloses the battery measurement apparatus is provided with a notification unit that issues, when d the determination unit determines that the storage battery has been replaced,, a notification of the replacement ([0097] the alarm signal is sent by the tamper detection section 96, N=5 of Fig 20).
Regarding Claim 9, Morioka discloses a method for measuring performed by a battery measurement apparatus connected to a battery module in which a plurality of storage batteries (1 of Figs 1-2) are combined (Abstract, [0019]), the method comprising:
battery pack houses a plurality of batteries and the control circuit detects electrical characteristics of each battery); and
determining whether a replacement of any one the storage batteries has occurred based on the measured battery states ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery), wherein
replacement of a storage battery of the plurality of storage battery is determined to have occurred in a case where a parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of a predetermined range ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded) and a parameter indicating the battery state of other storage batteries ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any other battery; [0026]) or parameter indicating the battery state of the battery module is also determined to be out of a predetermined range.
Morioka teaches indicating the battery state of the storage battery ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded); and the determination unit determines that the storage battery of the plurality of storage batteries has been replaced in a case where (i) the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of the predetermined range ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery) and (ii) the parameter indicating the battery state of another batterydetects voltage on any other battery; [0026]).
Morioka does NOT specify measuring a battery state of the battery module and does NOT specify measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state.
However, Morioka teaches that the control circuit can detect battery replacement when battery pack shutdown occurs ([0025]), suggesting monitoring the battery module.
Kadirvel teaches measuring a battery state of the battery module ([0018] gas gauge may monitor the current, temperature, and voltage of the battery pack; [0077] Gas gauge 1210 may be placed in series with both battery cells 210 and 220 to monitor current into and out of the battery pack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel measuring a battery module in order to provide battery systems using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as suggested by Kadirvel ([0006]).
The combination does NOT teach static battery measurements.
Meibner discloses measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state ([0012] By monitoring the battery voltage measurements in the first time window corresponding to an engine off state, the resting voltage profile of the battery is being monitored. What is meant by the resting voltage profile is the vehicle battery voltage as a function of time as measured in an engine off state (rather than the vehicle being at rest or standstill with the engine on e.g. at traffic lights). When a battery is replaced with a different one, a step change in the resting voltage magnitude is observed; [0015] step change in voltage magnitude is compared with a threshold value to determine whether to automatically identify a battery replacement event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Morioka and Kadirvel with Meibner in order to provide a way of automatically detecting when a vehicle battery is replaced, and for automatically detecting various health-related events and state-related events in general for a vehicle battery, as suggested by Meibner ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding the new limitations:
Morioka discloses the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery includes a plurality of parameters including at least voltage control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power. If battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded [NOTE: the predetermined range is less than or equal to the stored voltage value; outside the predetermined range is greater than the stored voltage value]), but doesn’t specify impedance.
Kadirvel discloses detecting the internal impedance of a battery ([0012] If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed; [NOTE: the cell of the battery is the internal part of the battery; also, a battery cell’s impedance is generally equivalent to the battery’s internal impedance as both describe the total opposition to current flow within the battery]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel using impedance in order to provide battery systems that may monitor multiple battery cells using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as suggested by Kadirvel ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 10, Morioka discloses a battery measurement apparatus (Abstract, [0019]) connected to a battery module in which a plurality of storage batteries are combined, the battery measurement apparatus comprising a processor programmed (0095]) to:
acquire measurements of (i) a battery state of each of the storage batteries ([0019] battery pack houses a plurality of batteries and the control circuit detects electrical characteristics of each battery) and (ii
determine whether a replacement of any one of the storage batteries has occurred based on the measured battery states ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery), wherein
the processor is programmed to determine that a storage battery of the plurality of storage batteries has been replaced in a case where (i) a parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of a predetermined range ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded) and (ii) a parameter indicating the battery state of other storage batteries ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any other battery, [0026]).
Morioka teaches indicating the battery state of the storage battery ([0019]-[0023] detects voltage on any given battery; [0026] if battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded); and the determination unit determines that the storage battery of the plurality of storage batteries has been replaced in a case where (i) the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of the predetermined range ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery) and (ii) the parameter indicating the battery state of another batterydetects voltage on any other battery; [0026]).
Morioka does NOT specify measuring a battery state of the battery module and does NOT specify measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state.
However, Morioka teaches that the control circuit can detect battery replacement when battery pack shutdown occurs ([0025]), suggesting monitoring the battery module.
Kadirvel teaches measuring a battery state of the battery module ([0018] gas gauge may monitor the current, temperature, and voltage of the battery pack; [0077] Gas gauge 1210 may be placed in series with both battery cells 210 and 220 to monitor current into and out of the battery pack).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel measuring a battery module in order to provide battery systems using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as suggested by Kadirvel ([0006]).
The combination does NOT teach static battery measurements.
Meibner discloses measuring, as a static state where a load current is not flowing at a load connected to the battery module a battery state ([0012] By monitoring the battery voltage measurements in the first time window corresponding to an engine off state, the resting voltage profile of the battery is being monitored. What is meant by the resting voltage profile is the vehicle battery voltage as a function of time as measured in an engine off state (rather than the vehicle being at rest or standstill with the engine on e.g. at traffic lights). When a battery is replaced with a different one, a step change in the resting voltage magnitude is observed; [0015] step change in voltage magnitude is compared with a threshold value to determine whether to automatically identify a battery replacement event).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Morioka and Kadirvel with Meibner in order to provide a way of automatically detecting when a vehicle battery is replaced, and for automatically detecting various health-related events and state-related events in general for a vehicle battery, as suggested by Meibner ([0004]-[0005]).
Regarding the new limitations:
Morioka discloses the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery includes a plurality of parameters including at least voltage control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power. If battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded [NOTE: the predetermined range is less than or equal to the stored voltage value; outside the predetermined range is greater than the stored voltage value]), but doesn’t specify impedance.
Kadirvel discloses detecting the internal impedance of a battery ([0012] If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed; [NOTE: the cell of the battery is the internal part of the battery; also, a battery cell’s impedance is generally equivalent to the battery’s internal impedance as both describe the total opposition to current flow within the battery]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Kadirvel using impedance in order to provide battery systems that may monitor multiple battery cells using a reduced amount of circuitry and that may account for battery cell changes over aging and temperature, as suggested by Kadirvel ([0006]).
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, Kadirvel and Meibner in view of Erhart (EP 3614483 A1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Morioka disclosesidentifies batteries A, B, C to determine correct order);
the determination unit determines that the storage battery has been replaced in indicating the battery state of the storage battery is determined to be out of the predetermined range ([0026], [0106] if battery voltages are again measured under the same conditions and any battery voltage has changed from its stored voltage value by more than specified limits, battery replacement is concluded and a tamper signal is issued; N=2 of Fig 20) and information acquiredbattery ([0019] control circuit judges battery replacement based on changes in the electrical characteristics of each battery; N=5 concludes batteries exchanged)
In the same field of endeavor, Erhart discloses a battery module, wherein RFID tags are attached to at least one battery cell and configured to measure a temperature of the at least one battery cell.
Erhart discloses an identification tag used to identify a storage battery and acquire temperature information regarding the storage battery (Abstract RFID tags (20) are attached to at least one battery cell (10) and configured to measure a temperature of the at least one battery cell…radio frequency receivers (30) are configured to wirelessly supply energy to the RFID tags (20) and to receive a temperature signal sent by at least one of the RFID tags; [0040] RFID tag receives the message and then responds with its identification and other information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Erhart using RFID technology in order to provide a method of temperature measurement of battery cells within a battery module and a corresponding assembly of a battery module that allows for a reduction of productions costs and production time with regard to the implementation of a temperature measurement into a battery module, as suggested by Erhart ([0009]).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, Kadirvel and Meibner in view of Watanabe et al. (Watanabe; US 6285163 B1).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Morioka discloses the battery measurement apparatus comprises an environmental information acquiring unit that acquires environmental information related to an environment where the storage battery is disposed ([0062] disassembly detection switch 6 shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 is a light sensor that detects external light when the case 2 is opened; [0085] battery pack of the figure is provided with temperature sensors 42 to detect battery temperature…If battery temperature detected by the temperature sensors 42 becomes greater than a specified temperature, the control circuit 37 turns the charging switch 33 off), but doesn’t teach the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is corrected based on the environmental information and the determination unit determines whether the parameter is out of the predetermined range while taking the environmental information into consideration.
In the same field of endeavor, Watanabe discloses for estimating the charged state of a battery, capable of accurately estimating a state of charge even though the battery repeats charging/discharging in short cycles.
Watanabe discloses a parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is corrected based on the environmental information and the determination unit determines whether the parameter is out of the predetermined range while taking the environmental information into consideration (Col 6 Lines 61-66 when the pseudo-SOC estimating means 14, the electromotive force estimating means 16, the voltage change estimating means 18, and the dynamic voltage change estimating means 20 carry out respective estimating operations, correction is carried out in consideration of a battery temperature).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Watanabe using temperature to correct a parameter in order to provide a method for estimating a degraded state of battery by accurately measuring variations of internal resistance of the battery while the battery is used and of correctly ascertaining the degraded state of battery, as suggested by Watanabe (Col 2 Lines 36-39).
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morioka, Kadirvel and Meibner in view of YAMASAKI (Yamasaki; US 20200364661 A1).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Morioka discloses history data of the battery state ([0024], [0026] control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power), but doesn’t teach the storage battery is mounted on a vehicle, the battery measurement apparatus comprises a communication unit that transmits and receives information related to the battery state of the storage battery; and history data of the battery state of the storage battery is stored in an external memory unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamasaki discloses a server uses a travel history of an electric-powered vehicle to estimate the deterioration state of a battery, and stores the estimated deterioration state in association with information for identifying the electric-powered vehicle.
Yamasaki discloses a storage battery (450 of Fig 1) is mounted on a vehicle (400 of Fig 1); the battery measurement apparatus is provided with a communication unit that transmits and receives information related to the battery state of the storage battery ([0079] At S152, electric-powered vehicle 400 transmits, to server 100, travel history information including a vehicle ID and a travel history); and history data of the battery state of the storage battery is stored in an external memory unit ([0010] battery information management method comprises: (i) at the server, acquiring a travel history from an electric-powered vehicle on which a replaceable battery is mounted; [0138] server 100 stores the travel history of one electric-powered vehicle 400, and the battery deterioration information on battery 450 mounted on electric-powered vehicle 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Morioka with Yamasaki using the system for a vehicle battery and recording data at a server in order to ensure improper batteries are not used on an electric vehicle and to protect stored battery data in a backup device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Arguments:
Applicant argues that the amended independent claims thus require a configuration in which "internal impedance" is used and battery replacement is at least party determined when this "internal impedance" falls outside of a "predetermined range." At least this additional feature is not taught by the cited references.
Having tacitly acknowledged that Morioka lacks such a feature, the Office contends in the Office Action that "Kadirvel discloses detecting the impedance of a battery." Office Action, P9. The Office particularly cites that reference's [0012], which discloses that "calculated battery cell impedances may be compared to an expected profile of impedance as a function of age and temperature. If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed." Kadirvel, [0012]. Kadirvel thus merely determines that the battery pack in use has deteriorated due to a change in internal impedance and then notifies the user to replace or repair the battery pack. It accordingly does not in fact disclose using a change in "internal impedance" as a criterion for "determin[ing] that a storage battery of the plurality of storage batteries has been replaced," as required by the independent claims of this application.
It is respectfully submitted that Morioka determines, when each of the plurality of parameters acquired by the measurement unit is out of an estimated range estimated based on a history of each parameter, that the parameter indicating the battery state of the storage battery is out of the predetermined range ([0024], [0026] control circuit can compare the voltage value stored in the memory section prior to low-voltage shutdown with the battery voltage after restoration of power. If battery voltage after restoring battery pack operation is greater than the voltage value stored in the memory section, battery replacement can be concluded [NOTE: the predetermined range is less than or equal to the stored voltage value; outside the predetermined range is greater than the stored voltage value]).
Kadirvel discloses detecting the internal impedance of a battery ([0012] If the calculated battery cell impedances depart significantly from the expected profile, the user may be notified that a battery pack replacement or repair may be needed; [NOTE: the cell of the battery is the internal part of the battery; also, a battery cell’s impedance is generally equivalent to the battery’s internal impedance as both describe the total opposition to current flow within the battery]).
Morioka teaches the predetermined range and Kadirvel teaches the internal impedance. Together the combination reads on the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Moore et al. (Moore; US 7245107 B2) discloses a charging and discharging strategy for a rechargeable battery pack is disclosed. The strategy involves monitoring and learning the battery pack's condition (a cycle life parameter) in terms of its progression through its life cycle. The life cycle parameter may be determined as a function of both time (i.e., the battery pack's age) as well as the number of discharge/recharge cycles. The strategy intentionally under-utilizes the battery during the initial stages of its life, based on the cycle life parameter, by charging it to a first level less than the maximum state of charge. Moore teaches the known practice of tracking battery impedance (Col 7 lines 38-57) including internal impedance (Col 5 Lines 45-60).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689