DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because “the element 230 which is indicated a 2nd curve is not in the right area”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 line 8 recites: “the second direction,.” Should be --the second direction. --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 8888507).
As per claim 1: Chen discloses a socket terminal 2 (as shown in fig. 5) comprising: a first end extending in a first direction; a first curved portion extending from the first end in the first direction and curved in a second direction intersecting the first direction; a second curved portion extending from the first curved portion in the first direction and curved in a third direction opposite to the second direction; a third curved portion extending from the second curved portion in the first direction and curved in the third direction; and a second end extending from the third curved portion in a direction opposite to the first direction (see attached fig. 5, regarding the socket terminal’s structure applied to the instant invention). However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the 2nd end curve at least twice from the third curve portion are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claims 2-4: Chen discloses the socket terminal 2, and the aforementioned limitations. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claim 5: Chen discloses a socket connector 2 comprising: a mold portion defining an inner space (see fig. 1; wherein the base portions 31 of the second conducting terminals 3 are fixedly mounted in the plug part 13 of the electrically insulative connector body 1 by insert molding); and socket terminal 2 disposed in the inner space of the mold portion (as shown in figs. 2-5), wherein each of the socket terminals 2 includes: a first end extending in a first direction; a first curved portion extending from the first end in the first direction and curved in a second direction intersecting the first direction; a second curved portion extending from the first curved portion in the first direction and curved in a third direction opposite to the second direction; a third curved portion extending from the second curved portion in the first direction and curved in the third direction; and a second end extending from the third curved portion in a direction opposite to the first direction (see attached fig. 5, regarding the socket terminal’s structure applied to the instant invention). However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the 2nd end curve at least twice from the third curve portion are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claims 6-8: Chen discloses the socket connector 2; and the aforementioned limitations. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claims 9; and 11: Chen discloses the socket connector 2; where the mold portion covers at least a portion of the first end (as shown in fig. 5); and wherein an inner surface of the first curved portion contacts the mold portion (as shown in fig. 5).
As per claim 10: Chen discloses the socket connector 2. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein an inner surface of the first curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion.
On the other hand, Chen showed an inner surface of the third curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion to further provide a clearance space for fitting as well as enhance a stable and reliable connection for the second conducting terminals when in contact to the first conducting terminals. However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having an inner surface of the first curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion can only deal with common sense in the art of the connector, because such modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal after all, and would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the inner surface of the first curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion. Further, applicant has not disclosed that the inner surface of the first curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the prior art of record.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the inner surface of the first curved portion is spaced apart from the mold portion as taught by the instant invention to further provide a clearance space for fitting as well as enhance a stable and reliable connection for the second conducting terminals when in contact to the first conducting terminals.
As per claims 12-13: Chen discloses the socket connector 2, wherein the mold portion includes: a bottom portion 131; a first sidewall and a second sidewall opposite to each other, wherein each of the first sidewall and the second sidewall protrudes from the bottom portion in the second direction; and a third sidewall and a fourth sidewall intersecting the first sidewall and the second sidewall, and opposite to each other, wherein each of the third sidewall and the fourth sidewall protrudes from the bottom portion in the second direction (as shown in figs. 1,4; and wherein the base portions 31 of the second conducting terminals 3 are fixedly mounted in the plug part 13 of the electrically insulative connector body 1 by insert molding, enabling the first arm portions 321 to extend upwardly along the inner side of the positioning protruding member 132 into the recessed mating chamber 10, the connection portions 32 to be supported on the topmost edge of the positioning protruding member 132 and the second arm portions 322 to clamp on the outer side of the positioning protruding member 132); and wherein the socket terminals 2 protrude from the first sidewall and the second sidewall (as shown in figs. 1, 4).
As per claim 14: Chen discloses a connector assembly (as shown in fig. 3) comprising: a socket connector 1 including a mold portion defining an inner space and socket terminals 2 disposed in the inner space of the mold portion (as shown in figs. 1-2); and a plug connector 3 including plug terminals coupled to the socket terminals 1 (as shown in fig. 2), respectively, wherein each of the socket terminals 2 includes: a first end extending in a first direction; a first curved portion extending from the first end in the first direction and curved in a second direction intersecting the first direction; a second curved portion extending from the first curved portion in the first direction and curved in a third direction opposite to the second direction; a third curved portion extending from the second curved portion in the first direction and curved in the third direction; and a second end extending from the third curved portion in a direction opposite to the first direction (see attached fig. 5, regarding the socket terminal’s structure applied to the instant invention). However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the 2nd end curve at least twice from the third curve portion are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end curved at least twice from the third curve portion as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claims 15, and 17: Chen discloses the connector assembly (as shown in fig. 3), and the aforementioned limitations. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plug terminals contact the second end.
On the other hand, Chen showed each of the plug terminals 3 contacts the first curve portion (as shown in fig. 6). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the plug terminals contact the second end also can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal or the plug terminals after all but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the socket terminals and the plug terminals are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having each of the plug terminals contact the second end as taught by the instant invention but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector.
As per claims 16, and 18-19: Chen discloses the connector assembly (as shown in fig. 3), and the aforementioned limitations. However, Chen does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape.
On the other hand, Chen is showed the 2nd end of the socket terminal is slight curve down (as shown in the attached fig. 5). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the 2nd end curved at least twice from the third curve portion can only dealing with change in shape with the manufacture desire, because just the modification still would not change the function of the socket terminal but to further enhance a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations as recited above are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a secure and stable connection between board to board connector. Since, a change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the socket terminal of Chen by having the second end includes: a first bent portion extending from the third curved portion and curved in the second direction; and a second bent portion extending from the first bent portion and curved in the third direction; and wherein the second end has an S-like shape; and wherein the second end has an L-like shape as taught by the instant invention to further a stable, reliable and secure connection to the other conducting terminals of the board to board connector. Further, it appears that the prior art of record would perform equally well compare to the instant invention as recited above.
As per claim 20: Chen discloses the connector assembly (as shown in fig. 3), and wherein an inner surface of the first curved portion contacts the mold portion (as shown in fig. 5).
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831