/DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because they recite a signal per se: “a plurality of signals arranged in a sequence across the die stack, wherein the plurality of signals shift positions in the sequence between a first die and a second die included in the die stack.” (claim 1; claims 2-4, 6-8 11-13, and 15-20 also recite signals). Signals themselves are not patent eligible subject matter, and are not properly element of device claims. See MPEP 2106.03: “Even when a product has a physical or tangible form, it may not fall within a statutory category. For instance, a transitory signal, while physical and real, does not possess concrete structure that would qualify as a device or part under the definition of a machine, is not a tangible article or commodity under the definition of a manufacture (even though it is man-made and physical in that it exists in the real world and has tangible causes and effects), and is not composed of matter such that it would qualify as a composition of matter.” (Emphasis added.) See also In re Nuijten, 500 F3d 1346, 1355-1356: “A transitory signal made of electrical or electromagnetic variances is not made of ‘parts’ or ‘devices’ in any mechanical sense. While such a signal is physical and real, it does not possess concrete structure in the sense implied by these definitions. No part of the signal — the crests or troughs of the electromagnetic wave, or perhaps the particles that make it up (modern physics teaches that both features are present simultaneously) is a mechanical ‘device’ or ‘part.’ A propagating electromagnetic signal is not a ‘machine’ as that term is used in § 101.” Thus, a device claim that includes a signal as an element is not a proper device claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a plurality of signals arranged in a sequence across the die stack, wherein the plurality of signals shift positions in the sequence between a first die and a second die included in the die stack.” The most straightforward interpretation of this is that it refers to the signal passing through the die. Claims 2-4, 6-8 11-13, and 15-20 also recite signals, and have the same problem. Another interpretation would be that these refer to signal paths. As set forth in In re Miyazaki, “if a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. §112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2008). The examiner will here interpret this as referring to signal paths.
Claim 10 recites that “the sequence is arranged at a specific location relative to the first die; and the sequence is arranged at the specific location relative to the second die.” It is not clear what it means for a sequence to be arranged at a specific location. For present purposes the examiner will assume that this means that that this refers to the location of the signals (the pads).
Claims 13 and 14 recite methods of using the device: “an input signal that carries an input from the base die to each die included in the die stack; and wherein the plurality of signals carries parallel data from each die included in the die stack to the base die.”; “the input comprises test stimulus data, and the parallel data comprises a response to the input generated by each die included in the die stack.” A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.2d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Vogt, US 2013/0272049 A1.
Claim 1: Vogt discloses
a die stack (400); and
a plurality of signals (280) arranged in a sequence across the die stack, wherein the plurality of signals shift positions in the sequence between a first die and a second die included in the die stack (FIG. 4).
Claim 2: the plurality of signals comprises:
a first signal that is shifted in one direction relative to the sequence between the first die and the second die; and
second and third signals that are shifted in another direction opposite the one direction between the first die and the second die.
Claim 3:
the sequence comprises a first position, a second position, and a third position aligned across the die stack; and
the plurality of signals comprises:
a first signal coupled to the first position on the first die;
a second signal coupled to the second position on the first die; and
a third signal coupled to the third position on the first die (FIG. 4).
Claim 4:
the first signal is shifted to a final position in the sequence on the second die;
the second signal is shifted to the first position on the second die; and
the third signal is shifted to the second position on the second die (FIG. 4).
Claim 6: the plurality of signals comprises a fourth signal that is coupled to a fourth position in the sequence on the first die and is shifted to the third position on the second die (FIG. 4).
Claim 7:
the first signal is shifted to the third position on a third die (440)1 included in the die stack;
the second signal is shifted to the final position on the third die;
the third signal is shifted to the first position on the third die; and
the fourth signal is shifted to the second position on the third die.
Claim 8:
the first signal is shifted to the second position on a fourth die (460) included in the die stack;
the second signal is shifted to the third position on the fourth die;
the third signal is shifted to the final position on the fourth die; and
the fourth signal is shifted to the first position on the fourth die (FIG. 4).
Claim 10 recites that “the sequence is arranged at a specific location relative to the first die; and the sequence is arranged at the specific location relative to the second die.” It is not clear what it means for a sequence to be arranged at a specific location. For present purposes the examiner will assume that this means that that this refers to the location of the signals (the pads). The pads are at the same location on each die.
Claim 12: Vogt discloses a base die (410) that is coupled to the die stack, wherein a number of dies (4) included in the die stack corresponds to a number of signals (4) included in the plurality of signals.
Claim 15: Vogt discloses
a base die (410);
a die stack (400) coupled to the base die; and
a plurality of signals (280) arranged in a sequence that spans from the base die across the die stack, wherein the plurality of signals shift positions in the sequence between each die included in the die stack (FIG. 4).
Claim 16: the plurality of signals comprises:
a first signal that is shifted in one direction relative to the sequence between a first die and a second die included in the die stack; and
second and third signals that are shifted in another direction opposite the one direction between the first die and the second die.
Claim 17:
the sequence comprises a first position, a second position, and a third position aligned across the die stack; and
the plurality of signals comprises:
a first signal coupled to the first position on the first die;
a second signal coupled to the second position on the first die; and
a third signal coupled to the third position on the first die.
Claim 18:
the first signal is shifted to a final position in the sequence on the second die;
the second signal is shifted to the first position on the second die; and
the third signal is shifted to the second position on the second die. See the annotated figure above.
Claim 19: the plurality of signals comprises a fourth signal that is coupled to a fourth position in the sequence on the first die and is shifted to the third position on the second die (FIG. 4).
Claim 20: Vogt discloses
coupling a base die (410) to a die stack (400);
arranging a plurality of signals (280) in a sequence across the die stack; and
shifting positions of the plurality of signals in the sequence between a first die and a second die included in the die stack (FIG. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt.
Claim 5 recites that “the final position in the sequence is the third position.” Vogt discloses 4 positions, but it would have been within ordinary skill in the art to determine how many connections are needed and to put in that many positions of pads in each chip. Changing the number of elements is not typically a source of patentability absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 9 recites that “the first die, the second die, the third die, and the fourth die are duplicates of one another.” Vogt does not precisely say this, but suggests it; all the dies are illustrated identically and they are referred to identically as “memory die layers 430, 440, 450, and 460.” No distinction is made, and thus Vogt suggests using the same dies.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt in view of Wendt, US 2006/0202712 A1.
Claim 11 recites that “the plurality of signals comprises multiple instances use of a clock signal distributed across the die stack.” Vogt does not mention clock signals, but this was a very common kind of signal, and it would have been obvious to have used such a signal. Also, see Wendt, FIG. 3, which shows shifting clock signals CLK0-CLK3 between dies 300-330. It would have been obvious to have had clock signals in Vogt as common and known in the art.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vogt in view of Gillingham, US 2011/0050320 A1.
Claim 13: Vogt does not disclose the details of the data transmission, but Gillingham [0046] - [0047] discloses
an input signal that carries an input from the base die to each die included in the die stack
“The controller sends a sequence of commands beginning with a Bank Activate (BA) Command to the DRAM with Device ID=00 (the first device in the stack in this example) along with address bits specifying Bank Address 0 and Row Address 0 (abbreviated as 0,0 in the diagram). After a period of time allowing the bank activation process to complete, the controller sends a Write Command (WR) to device 0 along with address bits specifying Bank Address 0 and Column Address 0 (abbreviated as 0,0 in the diagram) followed by a 2 byte burst of data to be written "55" and "AA". The controller then continues to issue similar pairs of BA and WR commands to each possible Device ID up to the maximum number supported by the controller or the system.”
and wherein the plurality of signals carries parallel data from each die included in the die stack to the base die.
“After completing the write operations the controller then reads each possible device in the stack to determine which ones are actually present.”
Gillingham does not disclose that the signals are parallel, but as Vogt has an architecture made for parallel signal transmission, it would have been obvious to have had parallel transmission.
It would have been obvious to have used such an process in order to
Claim 14: the input of Gillingham comprises test stimulus data (data to initiate the device), and the parallel data comprises a response to the input generated by each die included in the die stack (a response to indicate the die is present).
Conclusion
/PETER BRADFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897