DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-14 and 16-20 are pending
Claims 7, 9 and 15 have been canceled
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12 and 20 have been amended
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended to require “directing the acid precursors through a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix the acid precursors into a homogenous acid” this process is describe in the specification as an alternative mixing method to the static mixer and the injection mixer, discussed in the filed specification in para. 46-51 and shown in fig. 6A-C where each mixing method on its own is described as forming a homogenous acid mixture. Therefore, it appears that these mixing methods are not contemplated by applicant to be combined but rather always alternatives to one another. However, claims 8, 10, 14 and 16 recite a combination of mixing methods, which does not appear to be supported by the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al. US 2020/0399779 (US’779) in view of Kim et al. US 2017/0062242 (US’242).
Regarding claim 1, US’779 teaches a method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer (methods and apparatus for reducing or eliminating the formation of deposits such as insoluble conductive deposits on surfaces in electrochemical plating equipment, semiconductor electrochemical plating equipment includes the wafer 100, including semiconductor wafer or other type substrate or workpiece, para. 2-3, 20, 30, 33, 39), the method comprising: removing the wafer from an electroplating solution (step 502 includes removing the electrochemical plating equipment including the wafer 100 from an electroplating solution, para. 31-33 and 39); mixing acid precursors (MSA may include 1M MSA, and may be diluted in water 50:1, para. 34); rinsing the wafer with an acid, wherein the acid contacts a residual electroplating solution on the wafer (the electrochemical plating equipment or one or more surfaces thereof, such as those shown in wafer 100, are removed from the electroplating solution and rinsed by contacting with a rinse agent having a pH between 2 and 4.5, acidic, para. 32-33 and 39) and forms a rinsate (a rinsate or mixture is formed including the rinse agent and any residual electroplating solution disposed atop the electrochemical plating equipment or a surface thereof, including wafer 100, para. 33 and 39); and removing the rinsate from the wafer (in block 506, removing the rinsate from the electrochemical plating equipment or a surface thereof.).
US’779 does not teach the mixing includes directing the acid precursors through a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix the acid precursors into a homogenous acid.
US’242 teaches a chemical liquid supply apparatus where two or more chemical liquids flowing in the length extending type pipe 142 (a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix) may make a rotational movement rather than a linear movement, and thus, the two or more chemical liquids may be smoothly mixed with each other, so that a concentration of a chemical element in the process fluid injected by the injection nozzle 132 is not substantially changed over time (homogenous) (abstract, para. 71-78, see fig. 3). Therefore, the mixing of the MSA water mixture in the method of US’779 can include a length extending type pipe to mix the MSA mixture to homogenize the flow so that a concentration of the mixture in the process fluid is not substantially changed over time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’779 to include wherein mixing the acid comprises: directing the acid precursors through a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix the acid precursors into a homogenous acid because US’242 teaches it homogenize the flow so that a concentration of the mixture in the process fluid is not substantially changed over time and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claims 2-4, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 1. US’779 further teaches wherein the acid has a pH ranging from about 0 to about 5.5, with regard to claim 2, wherein the acid has a pH of 4 or lower, with regard to claim 3 and wherein the acid has a pH of 2 or lower, with regard to claim 4 (the pH can be about 2, para. 34-35).
Regarding claims 5, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 1. US’779 further teaches wherein the acid comprises carbonic acid (para. 36).
Regarding claims 6, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 1. US’779 further teaches wherein the acid comprises methane sulfonic acid (MSA) (para. 34-35).
Regarding claims 11, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 1. US’779 further teaches wherein the acid is applied under conditions sufficient to prevent precipitation of organometallic or metallic precursors (para. 20-21 and 39-40).
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’779 in view of US’242 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US 2005/0252547 (US’547).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 7.
US’779 does not teach wherein mixing the acid further comprises: using a static mixer to mix the acid precursors in a separate container, with regard to claim 8 and wherein mixing the acid precursors further comprises: injection mixing the acid precursors, with regard to claim 10.
US’547 teaches a method of chemical delivery including liquid delivery module 117 of FIG. 2 the liquid delivery module 117 being adapted to reduce and/or eliminate wide variation in the chemistry dilution factor during liquid dispensing. The liquid delivery module 117 includes a mixing element 139. The mixing element 139 may be adapted to mix and/or homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery. The mixing element 139 may be one of any suitable type of mixing element, such as a static mixer, a dynamic mixer, an inductive mixer, a diffuser, a blender, etc. The liquid delivery module 117 may further include one or more check valves 141 between at least one of the inputs 121, 123 and the first joint 125. The check valves 141 may also contribute to good blending and/or mixing of the DI water and liquid chemistry (injection mixing). For example, the check valves 141 may induce rotation in at least one of the respective input flows, which may be beneficial for blending purposes upon confluence of the input flows (abstract, para. 19-21). Therefore, the mixing of the MSA water mixture in the modified method of US’779 can further include the static mixing and/or the injection mixing of US’547 to homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’779 to include mixing the acid further comprises: using a static mixer to mix the acid precursors in a separate container, with regard to claim 8 and wherein mixing the acid precursors further comprises: injection mixing the acid precursors, with regard to claim 10 because US’547 teaches it homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery and it is prima facie obvious to combine two methods each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third method to be used for the very same purpose the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art, see MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 12-13, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bergman et al. US 2020/0399779 (US’779) in view of Kim et al. US 2017/0062242 (US’242).
Regarding claim 12, US’779 teaches a method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer (methods and apparatus for reducing or eliminating the formation of deposits such as insoluble conductive deposits on surfaces in electrochemical plating equipment, semiconductor electrochemical plating equipment includes the wafer 100, including semiconductor wafer or other type substrate or workpiece, para. 2-3, 20, 30, 33, 39), the method comprising: directing a methane sulfonic acid (MSA) mixture (MSA may include 1M MSA, and may be diluted in water 50:1, para. 34); rinsing the wafer with the MSA mixture, wherein the MSA mixture contacts residual electroplating solution on the wafer (the electrochemical plating equipment or one or more surfaces thereof, such as those shown in wafer 100, are removed from the electroplating solution and rinsed by contacting with a rinse agent including diluted methane sulfonic acid (MSA), para. 31-35 and 39) and forms a rinsate (a rinsate or mixture is formed including the rinse agent and any residual electroplating solution disposed atop the electrochemical plating equipment or a surface thereof, including wafer 100, para. 33 and 39); and removing the rinsate from the wafer (in block 506, removing the rinsate from the electrochemical plating equipment or a surface thereof).
US’779 does not teach the directing includes directing the MSA mixture through a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix the acid into a homogenous mixture.
US’242 teaches a chemical liquid supply apparatus where two or more chemical liquids flowing in the length extending type pipe 142 (a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix) may make a rotational movement rather than a linear movement, and thus, the two or more chemical liquids may be smoothly mixed with each other, so that a concentration of a chemical element in the process fluid injected by the injection nozzle 132 is not substantially changed over time (homogenous) (abstract, para. 71-78, see fig. 3). Therefore, the mixing of the MSA water mixture in the method of US’779 can include a length extending type pipe to mix the MSA mixture to homogenize the flow so that a concentration of the mixture in the process fluid is not substantially changed over time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’779 to include wherein mixing the MSA mixture comprises: directing the MSA mixture through a rinse line of a length sufficient to mix the acid into a homogenous mixture because US’242 teaches it homogenize the flow so that a concentration of the mixture in the process fluid is not substantially changed over time and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 13, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 12. US’779 further teaches mixing the MSA mixture before rinsing the wafer (MSA may include 1M MSA, and may be diluted in water 50:1, para. 34)
Regarding claims 17, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 12. US’779 further teaches herein the MSA mixture is applied under conditions sufficient to prevent precipitation of organometallic or metallic precursors (para. 20-21 and 34-40).
Regarding claims 18-20, the modified method of US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 12. US’779 further teaches wherein the MSA mixture has a pH ranging from about 0 to about 5.5, with regard to claim 18, wherein the MSA mixture has a pH of 4 or lower, with regard to claim 19 and wherein the MSA mixture has a pH of 2 or lower, with regard to claim 20 (the pH of the methane sulfonic acid can be about 2, para. 34-35).
Claim(s) 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US’779 in view of US’242 as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US 2005/0252547 (US’547).
Regarding claims 14 and 16, US’779 teaches the method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer of claim 12.
US’779 does not teach wherein mixing the MSA comprises: using a static mixer to mix the MSA mixture in a separate container, with regard to claim 14 and wherein mixing the MSA mixture comprises: injection mixing the MSA mixture, with regard to claim 16.
US’547 teaches a method of chemical delivery including liquid delivery module 117 of FIG. 2 he liquid delivery module 117 being adapted to reduce and/or eliminate wide variation in the chemistry dilution factor during liquid dispensing. The liquid delivery module 117 includes a mixing element 139. The mixing element 139 may be adapted to mix and/or homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery. The mixing element 139 may be one of any suitable type of mixing element, such as a static mixer, a dynamic mixer, an inductive mixer, a diffuser, a blender, etc. The liquid delivery module 117 may further include one or more check valves 141 between at least one of the inputs 121, 123 and the first joint 125. The check valves 141 may also contribute to good blending and/or mixing of the DI water and liquid chemistry (injection mixing). For example, the check valves 141 may induce rotation in at least one of the respective input flows, which may be beneficial for blending purposes upon confluence of the input flows (abstract, para. 19-21). Therefore, the mixing of the MSA water mixture in the modified method of US’779 can further include the static mixing and/or the injection mixing of US’547 to homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of US’779 to include wherein mixing the MSA comprises: using a static mixer to mix the MSA mixture in a separate container, with regard to claim 14 and wherein mixing the MSA mixture comprises: injection mixing the MSA mixture, with regard to claim 16 because US’547 teaches it homogenize the flow of dilute liquid chemistry prior to delivery and it is prima facie obvious to combine two methods each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third method to be used for the very same purpose the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art, see MPEP 2144.06.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 12 to incorporate subject matter of claims 9 and 15 into claims 1 and 12 and include subject matter regarding the mixing step has changed the scope of claims 1 and 12. Therefore, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1 and 12 is made under 103 as obvious over US’779 in view of US’242 which includes both the rejection of claims 1 and 12 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 5-1-25 and the rejection of claims 9 and 15 as stated in the non-final office action relevant to subject matter incorporated into claims 1 and 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8-29-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments that, Kim fails to disclose reduction of cross-contamination in entirety, has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. The preamble “A method of reducing cross-contamination on a wafer” recited the intended purpose of the claimed method, however, it does not limit to the recited steps. The operative steps recited after the preamble fully define the method and the resulting reduction in cross-contamination occurs naturally as a result of performing the steps. Therefore, it is not required that the mixing step on its own explicitly must reduce cross-contamination. It is sufficient for kim to teach that the mixing results in a homogeneous mixture. As discussed above, Bergman teaches a methods and apparatus for reducing or eliminating the formation of deposits such as insoluble conductive deposits on surfaces in electrochemical plating equipment. The mixing step of Kim would not impact the cleaning steps performed in Bergman, and therefore performing the recited steps of claims 1 and 12, as taught by Bergman in view of Kim, would inherently result in the claims reduction of cross-contamination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713