DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement was considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical error in the expression “The method of claim 11, wavelength-converting layer being formed” in line 1. For examination purposes, “The method of claim 11, wavelength-converting layer being formed” in line 1 will be interpreted to read as “The method of claim 11, the wavelength-converting layer being formed”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8-11, 13, 16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A.
a. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the substrate" in lines 4; 8; 11; 12; 13; and 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in lines 4; 8; 11; 12; 13; and 18 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
b. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first substrate surface" in lines 8-9. This limitation is unclear to the examiner. For examination purposes, "the first substrate surface" in lines 8-9 will be interpreted to read as “the first surface of the substantially transparent substrate”.
B. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 1 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
C. Claim 6 recites the limitation "each particle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "each particle" in line 2 will be interpreted to reads "each luminescent particle".
D. Claim 8 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 1 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
E. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 1 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
F. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 2 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
G.
a. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the substrate" in lines 4; 6; 9; 11, 13; and 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in lines 4; 6; 9; 11, 13; 19 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
b. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first substrate surface" in lines 9-10. This limitation is unclear to the examiner. For examination purposes, "the first substrate surface" in lines 9-10 will be interpreted to read as “the first surface of the substantially transparent substrate”.
H. Claim 13 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 2 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
I. Claim 16 recites the limitation "each particle" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "each particle" in line 2 will be interpreted to reads "each luminescent particle".
J. Claim 18 recites the limitation "the substrate" in lines 1; and 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in lines 1; and 2 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
K. Claim 19 recites the limitation "the substrate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in line 3 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
L. Claim 20 recites the limitation "the substrate" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the substrate" in lines 2-3 will be interpreted to reads "the substantially transparent substrate".
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8-9; 11 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8-9; 10 and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,027,651 B2 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2009/0191659 A1 and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0359795 A1.
U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2009/0191659 A1 addresses the substantially transparent substrate thickness deficiency of instant claims 1; and 11; U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 addresses the wavelength-converting layer sidewall coating deficiencies of claims 1; and 11; and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0359795 A1 addresses the nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium of claims 1; and 11.
Instant Claim(s) 1, 8-9; 11 and 18
Patented Claim(s) 1, 8-9; 10 and 18-19
1. A wavelength-converted light-emitting device comprising:
(a) a substantially transparent substrate having opposite first and second surfaces and sidewalls connecting the first and second surfaces, a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm;
(b) a semiconductor diode structure on the first surface of the substrate, including a light-emitting active region within the semiconductor diode structure that is arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range, at least a portion of the first output light entering the substrate through the first substrate surface; and
(c) a wavelength-converting layer on the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate, the wavelength-converting layer comprising a multitude of luminescent particles that are bound together or to the substrate by a transparent inorganic coating medium substantially index-matched with the substrate, a nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles being less than 20 µm, a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium on the luminescent particles being less than 700 nm, a nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer being less than 50 µm, the luminescent particles absorbing incident first output light exiting the substrate and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range that differs from the first output wavelength range.
1. A wavelength-converted light-emitting device comprising:
a transparent substrate having opposite first and second surfaces and sidewalls connecting the first and second surfaces;
a semiconductor diode structure on the first surface of the substrate, including one or more light-emitting active layers that are arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range, at least a portion of the first output light entering the substrate through the first substrate surface;
a wavelength-converting layer on the second surface of the substrate and having a nonzero thickness less than about 50. microns, the wavelength converting layer comprising a multitude of luminescent particles characterized by a nonzero D50 less than about 20. microns embedded in a transparent inorganic medium substantially index-matched with the substrate, at least some of the luminescent particles being embedded entirely within the inorganic medium, the luminescent particles absorbing incident first output light exiting the substrate and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range that differs from the first output wavelength range;
an optical sidewall coating arranged so as to obstruct lateral propagation of first or second output light exiting the substrate through the sidewalls; an optical sidewall structure that is interposed between at least a portion of the substrate sidewalls and the optical sidewall coating and arranged so as to redirect at least a portion of first or second output light exiting the substrate through the sidewalls to propagate toward or within the wavelength-converting layer; and
an adhering layer interposed between the second substrate surface and the wavelength-converting layer, the optical sidewall structure and the adhering layer forming a single, continuous structure, and being in direct contact with the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate, respectively, the adhering layer and the optical sidewall structure comprising a multitude of transparent inorganic particles characterized by a nonzero D50 less than about 1.0 μm embedded in a transparent inorganic adhering medium substantially index-matched to the substrate.
8. The device of claim 1, the substrate and the inorganic coating medium having substantially the same chemical composition.
8. The device of claim 1, the substrate and the inorganic medium having substantially the same chemical composition.
9. The device of claim 1, the substrate comprising sapphire and the inorganic coating medium comprising aluminum oxide.
9. The device of claim 8, the substrate comprising sapphire and the inorganic medium comprising aluminum oxide.
11. A method for making a wavelength-converted light-emitting device, the method comprising:
(A) forming a semiconductor diode structure on a first surface of a substantially transparent substrate, the substrate having opposite first and second surfaces and sidewalls connecting the first and second surfaces, a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm, the semiconductor diode structure including a light-emitting active region within the semiconductor diode structure that is arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range, at least a portion of the first output light entering the substrate through the first substrate surface; and
(B) forming on the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate a wavelength-converting layer, the wavelength-converting layer comprising a multitude of luminescent particles that are bound together or to the substrate by a transparent inorganic coating medium substantially index-matched with the substrate, a nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles being less than 20 µm, a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium on the luminescent particles being less than 700 nm, a nonzero thickness of the wavelength converting layer being less than 50 µm, the luminescent particles absorbing incident first output light exiting the substrate and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range that differs from the first output wavelength range.
10. A method for making a wavelength-converted light-emitting device, the method comprising:
forming a semiconductor diode structure on a first surface of a substantially transparent substrate having opposite first and second surfaces and sidewalls connecting the first and second surfaces, the semiconductor diode structure including one or more light-emitting active layers within the semiconductor diode structure that are arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range, at least a portion of the first output light entering the substrate through the first substrate surface;
forming (i) an adhering layer on the second substrate surface and (ii) an optical sidewall structure on at least a portion of the substrate sidewalls, the optical sidewall structure and the adhering layer forming a single, continuous structure, and being in direct contact with the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate, respectively, the adhering layer and the optical sidewall structure comprising a multitude of transparent inorganic particles characterized by a nonzero D50 less than about 1.0 μm embedded in a transparent inorganic adhering medium substantially index-matched to the substrate, the optical sidewall structure being arranged so as to redirect at least a portion of first or second output light exiting the substrate through the sidewalls to propagate toward or within the wavelength-converting layer; and
forming a wavelength-converting layer on, or adhering the wavelength converting layer to, the adhering layer, the wavelength-converting layer having a nonzero thickness less than about 50. microns and comprising a multitude of luminescent particles characterized by a nonzero D50 less than about 20. microns embedded in a substantially transparent inorganic medium substantially index-matched with the substrate, at least some of the luminescent particles being embedded entirely within the inorganic medium, the luminescent particles absorbing incident first output light exiting the substrate and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range that differs from the first output wavelength range.
18. The method of claim 11, (i) the substrate and the inorganic coating medium having substantially the same chemical composition, or (ii) the substrate comprising sapphire and the inorganic coating medium comprising aluminum oxide.
18. The method of claim 10, the substrate and the inorganic medium having substantially the same chemical composition.
19. The method of claim 18, the substrate comprising sapphire and the inorganic medium comprising aluminum oxide.
A. Patented claim 1 fails to disclose a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm; a wavelength-converting layer on the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate; and a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium on the luminescent particles being less than 700 nm.
However,
A. U.S. Patent Application 2009/0191659 A1 discloses in FIG. 3 a nonzero thickness of a substantially transparent substrate (single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) 320; [0013]; [0016]-[0017] and [0092]) being less than 60 µm (less than 20 micro meters; [0016]).
B. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 discloses in FIG. 2 a wavelength-converting layer (phosphor member 11; [0053]) on a second surface (upper plane) and sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of a substrate (sapphire 13; [0053]).
C. U.S. Patent Application 2022/0359795 A1 discloses in FIG. 7C a nonzero thickness of an inorganic coating medium (Al2O3 22; [0077]) on luminescent particles (phosphor particles 21; [0077]) being less than 700 nm (around 500 nm; [0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify patented claim 1 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application 2009/0191659 A1 to provide a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm for improving transparency of the substrate, and to improve crystallinity or electrical characteristics of the semiconductor diode structure ([0093]),
to further modify patented claim 1 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 to provide wavelength conversion of light emitted from multiple surfaces of a substrate for a more uniform emitted color pattern ([0010] and [0054]), and
to even further modify patented claim 1 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application 2022/0359795 A1 to provide a nonzero thickness of an inorganic coating medium on luminescent particles being less than 700 nm for forming a stable wavelength-converting layer capable of light scattering which in turn enables beneficially directed (collimated) light emitted from the wavelength-converting layer ([0077]).
B. Patented claim 10 fails to disclose a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm; forming on the second surface and the sidewalls of the substrate a wavelength-converting layer; and a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium on the luminescent particles being less than 700 nm.
However,
A. U.S. Patent Application 2009/0191659 A1 discloses in FIG. 3 forming a nonzero thickness of a substantially transparent substrate (single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) 320; [0013]; [0016]-[0017] and [0092]) being less than 60 µm (less than 20 micro meters; [0016]).
B. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 discloses in FIG. 2 forming a wavelength-converting layer (phosphor member 11; [0053]) on a second surface (upper plane) and sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of a substrate (sapphire 13; [0053]).
C. U.S. Patent Application 2022/0359795 A1 discloses in FIG. 7C forming a nonzero thickness of an inorganic coating medium (Al2O3 22; [0077]) on luminescent particles (phosphor particles 21; [0077]) being less than 700 nm (around 500 nm; [0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to modify patented claim 10 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application 2009/0191659 A1 to provide a nonzero thickness of the substrate being less than 60 µm for improving transparency of the substrate, and to improve crystallinity or electrical characteristics of the semiconductor diode structure ([0093]),
to further modify patented claim 10 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0311405 A1 to provide wavelength conversion of light emitted from multiple surfaces of a substrate for a more uniform emitted color pattern ([0010] and [0054]), and
to even further modify patented claim 10 with the teachings of U.S. Patent Application 2022/0359795 A1 to provide a nonzero thickness of an inorganic coating medium on luminescent particles being less than 700 nm for forming a stable wavelength-converting layer capable of light scattering which in turn enables beneficially directed (collimated) light emitted from the wavelength-converting layer ([0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10; and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LOPEZ (US 2022/0216378 A1-IDS prior, hereafter Lopez) in view of SONG (US 2009/0191659 A1, hereafter Song).
Re claim 1, Lopez discloses in FIG. 2B (with references to FIGS. 1 and 2A) a wavelength-converted light-emitting device (100) comprising:
(a) a substantially transparent substrate (sapphire 114; [0025]-[0026]) having opposite first (bottom) and second (top) surfaces (horizontal planes) and sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) connecting the first (bottom) and second (top) surfaces (horizontal planes);
(b) a semiconductor diode structure (112; [0007]; [0020] and [0025]) on the first surface (bottom horizontal plane) of the substantially transparent substrate (114), including a light-emitting active region ([0007]; [0020] and [0025]) within the semiconductor diode (112) structure that is arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range (e.g. blue; [0007]; [0020] and [0025]), at least a portion of the first output light ([0007]; [0020] and [0025]) entering the substantially transparent substrate (114) through the first surface (bottom horizontal plane) of the substantially transparent substrate; and
(c) a wavelength-converting layer (116; [0025]) on the second surface (top horizontal plane) and the sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of the surface (bottom horizontal plane) substrate (114), the wavelength-converting layer (116) comprising a multitude of luminescent particles (116a; [0025]) that are bound together ([0026]) or to the substantially transparent substrate ([0026]) by a transparent inorganic coating medium (116b; [0026]) substantially index-matched ([0026]) with the substantially transparent substrate (114), a nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles (116a) being less than 20 µm ([0025]), a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium (116b) on the luminescent particles (116a) being less than 700 nm (0.20-0.70 microns; [0026]), a nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer (116) being less than 50 µm ([0025]), the luminescent particles (116a) absorbing incident first output light (blue; [0025]) exiting the substantially transparent substrate (114) and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range (yellow or red; [0025]) that differs from the first output wavelength range (blue).
Lopez fails to disclose a nonzero thickness of the substantially transparent substrate (114) being less than 60 µm.
However,
Song discloses in FIG. 3 a light-emitting device comprising: a 20 micron or less ([0016]) substantially transparent substrate (single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) 320; [0013]; [0016]-[0017] and [0092]); and a light emitting structure (330; [0092]) on a first surface (top horizontal plane) of the aluminum oxide substrate (320).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lopez by using the thickness of the single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) substrate of Song for the substantially transparent substrate of Lopez, such that the substantially transparent substrate has a nonzero thickness being less than 60 µm, improving transparency of the substrate, and to improve crystallinity or electrical characteristics of the semiconductor diode structure (Song; [0093]).
Re claim 2, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1,
But, fails to disclose the semiconductor diode structure (112) including one or more III-nitride semiconductor materials or mixtures or alloys thereof.
However, Lopez discloses UV emitting diodes based on III-V semiconductor materials ([0020]), and Song discloses III-V nitride-based light emitting devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use teachings of Lopez and Song to produce III-V nitride-based UV diodes, in addition to the blue diodes disclosed by Lopez, using the substantially transparent substrate discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 3, Lopez and Song disclose the device of claim 1, the nonzero thickness of the substantially transparent substrate being less than 50 µm (Song: 20 microns or less), as part of the substantially transparent substrate discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 4, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1, the nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer (116) being less than 30 µm (10-50 microns; [0025]).
Re claim 5, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1, the nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles (116a) being less than 10 µm (1-20 microns; [0025]).
Re claim 6, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1, the nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium (116b) on each luminescent particle (116a) being less than 400 nm (0.20-0.70 microns; [0026]).
Re claim 7, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1, the wavelength-converting layer (116) including a multitude of voids ([0026]) that result in optical scattering of light propagating ([0026]) within the wavelength-converting layer (116).
Re claims 8-9, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1, the substantially transparent substrate (114) and the inorganic coating medium (116) having substantially the same chemical composition (aluminum oxide; [0026]); and the substantially transparent substrate (114) comprising sapphire ([0026]) and the inorganic coating medium (116) comprising aluminum oxide ([0026]).
Re claim 10, Lopez discloses the device of claim 1 further comprising an optical side coating (120; [0028]) positioned against (on) the wavelength-converting layer (116) opposite (facing) at least one sidewall (left/right vertical planes) of the substantially transparent substrate.
Re claim 11, Lopez discloses in FIG. 2B (with references to FIGS. 1 and 2A) a method for making a wavelength-converted light-emitting device, the method comprising:
(A) forming a semiconductor diode structure (112; [0007]; [0020] and [0025]) on a first surface (bottom horizontal plane) of a substantially transparent substrate (sapphire 114; [0025]-[0026]), the substantially transparent substrate (114) having opposite first (bottom) and second (top) surfaces (horizontal planes) and sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) connecting the first (bottom) and second (top) surfaces (horizontal planes), the semiconductor diode structure (112) including a light-emitting active region ([0007]; [0020] and [0025]) within the semiconductor diode (112) structure that is arranged so as to emit first output light in a first output wavelength range (e.g. blue; [0007]; [0020] and [0025]), at least a portion of the first output light ([0007]; [0020] and [0025]) entering the substantially transparent substrate (114) through the first surface (bottom horizontal plane) of the substantially transparent substrate; and
(B) forming on the second surface (top horizontal plane) and the sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of the substantially transparent substrate (114) a wavelength-converting layer (116; [0025]), the wavelength-converting layer (116) comprising a multitude of luminescent particles (116a; [0025]) that are bound together ([0026]) or to the substantially transparent substrate ([0026]) by a transparent inorganic coating medium (116b; [0026]) substantially index-matched ([0026]) with the substantially transparent substrate (114), a nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles (116a) being less than 20 µm ([0025]), a nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium (116b) on the luminescent particles (116a) being less than 700 nm (0.20-0.70 microns; [0026]), a nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer (116) being less than 50 µm ([0025]), the luminescent particles (116a) absorbing incident first output light (blue; [0025]) exiting the substantially transparent substrate (114) and emitting second output light in a second output wavelength range (yellow or red; [0025]) that differs from the first output wavelength range (blue).
Lopez fails to disclose a nonzero thickness of the substantially transparent substrate (114) being less than 60 µm.
However,
Song discloses in FIG. 3 a method of light-emitting device comprising: forming a 20 micron or less ([0016]) substantially transparent substrate (single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) 320; [0013]; [0016]-[0017] and [0092]); and forming a light emitting structure (330; [0092]) on a first surface (top horizontal plane) of the aluminum oxide substrate (320).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lopez by using the thickness of the single crystal aluminum oxide (i.e. sapphire) substrate of Song for the substantially transparent substrate of Lopez, such that the substantially transparent substrate has a nonzero thickness being less than 60 µm, improving transparency of the substrate, and to improve crystallinity or electrical characteristics of the semiconductor diode structure (Song; [0093]).
Re claim 12, Lopez and Song disclose the method of claim 11, the semiconductor diode structure including one or more III-nitride semiconductor materials or mixtures or alloys thereof (see claim 2).
Re claim 13, Lopez and Song disclose the method of claim 11, the nonzero thickness of the substantially transparent substrate being less than 50 µm (see claim 3).
Re claim 14, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, the nonzero thickness of the wavelength-converting layer being less than 30 µm (see claim 4).
Re claim 15, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, the nonzero D50 characterizing the luminescent particles being less than 10 µm (see claim 5).
Re claim 16, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, the nonzero thickness of the inorganic coating medium on each luminescent particle being less than 400 nm (see claim 6).
Re claim 17, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, the wavelength-converting layer including a multitude of voids that result in optical scattering of light propagating within the wavelength-converting layer (see claim 7).
Re claim 18, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, (i) the substantially transparent substrate and the inorganic coating medium having substantially the same chemical composition (see claim 8), or (ii) the substantially transparent substrate comprising sapphire and the inorganic coating medium comprising aluminum oxide (see claim 9).
Re claim 19, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11, the wavelength-converting layer (116) being formed (FIG. 2A) by first depositing a layer ([0026]) of the luminescent particles (116a) onto the second surface (top horizontal plane) and sidewalls (left/right vertical planes) of the substantially transparent substrate (114), and then forming the inorganic coating medium (116b) using an atomic layer deposition (ALD) sequence ([0026]).
Re claim 20, Lopez discloses the method of claim 11 further comprising forming an optical side coating positioned against the wavelength-converting layer opposite at least one sidewall of the substantially transparent substrate (see claim 10).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892