DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control system” in Claims 15-19 and 23, and “fluid distribution system” in Claim 23.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 16, and 18-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nguyen US 2023/0292975 (hereafter Nguyen).
Regarding Claim 15, Nguyen anticipates:
15. A cleaner (extraction cleaner 10) comprising:
a suction motor (motor/fan assembly 19) operable to create a suction airflow from a suction inlet (suction nozzle 16) to an exhaust outlet (exhausted from extraction cleaner 10, Paragraph [0039]);
a control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) configured to control the suction motor operable at predetermined suction levels corresponding to a plurality of user selectable modes (off, high/low suction, high/low agitator speed, high/low flow or combinations thereof); and
a user interface (electronic control 116) operatively connected to the control system, the user interface having a first user-actuatable input (first electronic control 116X - power switch, Paragraph [0077]) and a second user-actuatable input (“The third electronic control 116Z can switch between “flow on” and “flow off” states for the second pump 42 (FIG. 1) as described above. In other non-limiting examples, the at least one electronic control 116 can vary agitation speeds of the agitator 26 (FIG. 2), or vary fan speed of the motor/fan assembly 19 to adjust the level of suction at the suction nozzle 16” and “It should be understood that the at least one electronic control 116 can be in a variety of forms, non-limiting examples of which include a toggle switch, rocker switch, push button, or touchscreen or touchpad” - Paragraph [0077]);
wherein the first user-actuatable input (first electronic control 116X - power switch, Paragraph [0077]) is configured to select and operate the control system from among the plurality of user selectable modes (power switch selects “on” to provide power to electronics to operate cleaner in mode previously selected by user corresponding to one of two levels of suction or agitator speed);
wherein one of the plurality of user selectable modes is a favored mode (user selects a preferred, “favored”, switch position based on a desired level of suction or agitator speed as presented in Paragraph [0077] and doesn’t need to change level between cleaning operations. For example, a user would most likely always favor the highest amount of suction or agitator speed in most cases to maximize floor scrubbing and water collection during operation. Low agitator speed or low suction would only be desirable if cleaning delicate surfaces such as delicate area rugs or non-carpet materials); and
wherein the second user-actuatable input (toggle switch, rocker switch, push button, Paragraph [0077]) is configured to operate the control system in the favored mode (user positions the switch into favored position and the switch maintains the position).
Regarding Claim 16, Nguyen anticipates:
16. The cleaner of claim 15, wherein the favored mode (user selects a preferred, “favored”, switch position based on a desired level of suction or agitator speed as presented in Paragraph [0077] and doesn’t need to change level between cleaning operations) is user selected, and wherein the control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) and the user interface are configured to receive input from the user interface (user actuates power switch to turn on vacuum cleaner with the other switch in a predetermined desired “favored” position) the identifying a predetermined setting activity assigning the favored mode to the second user-actuatable input (“favored”, switch position based on a desired level of suction or agitator speed as presented in Paragraph [0077]).
Regarding Claim 18, Nguyen anticipates:
18. The cleaner of claim 15, wherein the control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) determines the favored mode (through sensing switch position during power up) by assigning the second user-actuatable input (“favored”, switch position based on a desired level of suction or agitator speed as presented in Paragraph [0077]) to activate the mode in which a user previously operated the cleaner (in a typical operation, the user would leave the switch in a favored position and use the power switch to turn on the device prompting the internal electronics to initiate the device operation in the favored mode with the predetermined suction and brush speed consistent with the selected switch position).
Regarding Claim 19, Nguyen anticipates:
19. The cleaner of claim 15 further comprising:
a brush roll (roll 130 of agitator 26) disposed adjacent the suction inlet (suction nozzle 16), the brush roll driven by a brush roll motor (motor labeled 140 in Figure 3),
wherein the control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) is configured to control the brush roll motor operable at predetermined speeds corresponding to the plurality of user selectable modes (power switch selects “on” to provide power to electronics to operate cleaner in mode previously selected by user corresponding to one of two levels of suction or agitator speed).
Regarding Claim 20, Nguyen anticipates:
20. The cleaner of claim 19, wherein the plurality of user selectable modes (power switch selects “on” to provide power to electronics to operate cleaner in mode previously selected by user corresponding to one of two levels of suction or agitator speed) includes a mode having a combination of a suction motor power level (off, low, and high) and a brush speed (off, low, and high)(note that even if only one of suction or agitator is adjustable, the other will operate at a predetermined constant speed).
Regarding Claim 21, Nguyen anticipates:
21. The cleaner of claim 20, wherein the suction motor power level (off, low, and high) is one of high suction, medium suction, and low suction (note: only one of the suction levels is necessary as claimed).
Regarding Claim 22, Nguyen anticipates:
22. The cleaner of claim 20, wherein the brush speed (off, low, and high) is one of high rotational speed, medium rotational speed, low rotational speed, and no speed (note: only one of the speeds is necessary as claimed).
Regarding Claim 23, Nguyen anticipates:
23. The cleaner of claim 19 further comprising:
a fluid distribution system (flow control system 36) operable to deliver fluid to a surface to be cleaned (through spray bar 183),
wherein the control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) is configured to control the fluid distribution system (The second electronic control 116Y can switch between “high flow” and “low flow” states for the first pump 41 as described above) operable at a plurality of predetermined fluid flow rates corresponding to the plurality of user selectable modes (power switch selects “on” to provide power to electronics to operate cleaner in second control mode previously selected by user with electronic switch 116Y corresponding to one of two levels of pump flow rates – Paragraph [0077]).
Regarding Claim 24, Nguyen anticipates:
24. The cleaner of claim 23, wherein the plurality of user selectable modes includes a mode having a combination of at least two of a suction motor power level, a brush speed, and a fluid flow rate (power switch selects “on” to provide power to electronics to operate cleaner in mode previously selected by user with electronic switch 116Y corresponding to one of two levels of pump flow rates and electronic switch 116Z corresponding to one of two levels of suction or agitator speed).
Regarding Claim 25, Nguyen anticipates:
25. The cleaner of claim 24, wherein the suction motor power level (off, low, and high) is one of high suction, medium suction, and low suction (note: only one of the suction levels is necessary as claimed).
Regarding Claim 26, Nguyen anticipates:
26. The cleaner of claim 24, wherein the brush speed (off, low, and high) is one of high rotational speed, medium rotational speed, low rotational speed, and no speed (note: only one of the speeds is necessary as claimed).
Regarding Claim 27, Nguyen anticipates:
27. The cleaner of claim 24, wherein the fluid flow rate (high flow, low flow) is one of high flow rate, medium flow rate, low flow rate, and no fluid distribution (note: only one of the speeds is necessary as claimed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen US 2023/0292975 (hereafter Nguyen) in view of Une JP 2011-045653 A (hereafter Une).
Regarding Claim 17, Nguyen teaches:
17. The cleaner of claim 15, wherein the control system (circuit board 260 in combination with first and second electronics control (Claim 11) and third electronic control (Claim 12)) determines the favored mode by recording an amount of time the cleaner operates in each of the plurality of modes over a duration (see discussion below), and wherein the control system assigns the second user-actuatable input (“The third electronic control 116Z can switch between “flow on” and “flow off” states for the second pump 42 (FIG. 1) as described above. In other non-limiting examples, the at least one electronic control 116 can vary agitation speeds of the agitator 26 (FIG. 2), or vary fan speed of the motor/fan assembly 19 to adjust the level of suction at the suction nozzle 16” and “It should be understood that the at least one electronic control 116 can be in a variety of forms, non-limiting examples of which include a toggle switch, rocker switch, push button, or touchscreen or touchpad” - Paragraph [0077]) to activate the mode having a greatest value of accumulated time in which the cleaner operates over the duration (see discussion below).
Nguyen discloses a second user-actuatable input 116Z that allows the user to select one of two levels of suction or one of two levels of agitator speed with a toggle switch, rocker switch, or push button switch. These switch types are commonly available in latching positions allowing the switch to be set by a user into a favored mode and maintained in the latched position during future on/off operations. Nguyen discloses the replacement of the cited switches with a touchscreen or touchpad. It is common knowledge that a touchscreen or touchpad will not retain a latched position and therefore may require the user to selected a desired favored mode after every power up. Nguyen does not disclose determining a favored mode by recording an amount of time the cleaner operates in each mode as claimed. The reference Une discloses a vacuum device that uses a control means 41 to measure the operational frequency of each operational mode of an electric blower 18 and determines a desired blower most common operational mode. The Une device then automatically applies the most common operational mode upon startup without requiring a provocative independent setting step by the user. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Nguyen device, in the scenario where the device employs a non-latching switch, to include the ability to determine a favored state by measuring the amount of time that the device operates in different modes as taught by Une with the motivation to automatically apply a startup setting that is most likely the setting desired by the user without requiring the user’s independent input.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of vacuum cleaners or extraction cleaners with multiple-setting user interfaces.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723