DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haeberlen (U.S. PGPub 2017/0373180).
Regarding claim 1, Haeberlen teaches a trench MOSFET ([0091]) comprising a substrate having a first doping type; an epitaxial layer having the first doping type, located on the substrate; gate trenches and a first conductive channel, extending from a surface to an inside of the epitaxial layer, the gate trenches being located on two sides of the first conductive channel and symmetrically distributed with respect to the first conductive channel; gate conductors, each located in one of the gate trenches and isolated from the epitaxial layer via a gate dielectric layer; an epitaxial depletion region having a second doping type, located in the epitaxial layer at a bottom of the first conductive channel; body regions having the second doping type, located on two sides of each gate trench and adjacent to a side wall of the first conductive channel; source regions having the first doping type, each located on each of the body region; a source electrode, contacting the epitaxial depletion region via the first conductive channel; and a drain electrode, contacting the substrate on a surface of the substrate away from the epitaxial layer (Fig. 6, substrate 41, epitaxial layer 40, gate trenches 10, first conductive channel 21, gate conductors 11, gate dielectric 12, epitaxial depletion 20, body regions 50, source regions 80, source electrode 60, drain electrode 42 ([0087]-[0089], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 4, Haeberlen teaches wherein a thickness of the gate dielectric layer at a bottom of the gate trenches is not smaller than a thickness of the gate dielectric layer on a side wall of the gate trenches (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Haeberlen teaches an interlayer dielectric layer; wherein the gate conductor is isolated from the source electrode via the interlayer dielectric layer (70, [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Haeberlen teaches a method for manufacturing a trench MOSFET, comprising: forming an epitaxial layer having a first doping type on a substrate having the first doping type; forming gate trenches extending from a surface to an inside of the epitaxial layer; forming a gate conductor and a gate dielectric layer inside each of the gate trenches, the gate conductor being isolated from the epitaxial layer via the gate dielectric layer; forming body regions having a second doping type, the body regions being located on two sides of each gate trench; forming source regions having the first doping type, each of the source regions being located in each of the body regions; forming a first conductive channel extending from the surface to the inside of the epitaxial layer between two of the gate trenches, the two gate trenches being symmetrically distributed with respect to the first conductive channel; forming an epitaxial depletion region having the second doping type, the epitaxial depletion region being located in the epitaxial layer at a bottom of the first conductive channel; forming a source electrode, the source electrode contacting the epitaxial depletion region via the first conductive channel; and forming a drain electrode, the drain electrode contacting the substrate on a surface of the substrate away from the epitaxial layer (Fig. 6, substrate 41, epitaxial layer 40, gate trenches 10, first conductive channel 21, gate conductors 11, gate dielectric 12, epitaxial depletion 20, body regions 50, source regions 80, source electrode 60, drain electrode 42 ([0087]-[0089], [0098], [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 9, Haeberlen teaches wherein a thickness of the gate dielectric layer at a bottom of the gate trenches is not smaller than a thickness of the gate dielectric layer on a side wall of the gate trenches (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Haeberlen teaches an interlayer dielectric layer; wherein the gate conductor is isolated from the source electrode via the interlayer dielectric layer (70, [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haeberlen (U.S. PGPub 2017/0373180) in view of Zeng (U.S. PGPub 2012/0043602).
Regarding claim 2, Haeberlen does not explicitly teach wherein the epitaxial depletion region is formed by multiple ion implantations.
Zeng teaches wherein forming a doped region is formed at the base of a trench by ion implantation, which can comprise multiple implant steps (Fig. 8, [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zeng with Haeberlen such that the epitaxial depletion region is formed by multiple ion implantations for the purpose of performing the ion implantation process of Haeberlen according to a method known in the art (Haeberlen, [0098]; Zeng, [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Haeberlen does not explicitly teach wherein the epitaxial depletion region is formed by multiple ion implantations.
Zeng teaches wherein forming a doped region is formed at the base of a trench by ion implantation, which can comprise multiple implant steps (Fig. 8, [0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Zeng with Haeberlen such that the epitaxial depletion region is formed by multiple ion implantations for the purpose of performing the ion implantation process of Haeberlen according to a method known in the art (Haeberlen, [0098]; Zeng, [0026]).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haeberlen (U.S. PGPub 2017/0373180) in view of Long (U.S. PGPub 2011/0284953).
Regarding claim 3, Haeberlen does not explicitly teach second conductive channels, wherein the source electrode contacts the gate conductor via the second conductive channel.
Long teaches conductive channels connecting a source electrode to trench gate conductors (Fig. 3, 61, 42, 70, [0024]-[0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Long with Haeberlen such that the device comprises second conductive channels, wherein the source electrode contacts the gate conductor via the second conductive channel for the purpose of providing contacts to the gate of the MOSFET (Long, [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Haeberlen does not explicitly teach forming second conductive channels, wherein the source electrode contacts the gate conductor via the second conductive channel.
Long teaches conductive channels connecting a source electrode to trench gate conductors (Fig. 3, 61, 42, 70, [0024]-[0026]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Long with Haeberlen such that the device comprises forming second conductive channels, wherein the source electrode contacts the gate conductor via the second conductive channel for the purpose of providing contacts to the gate of the MOSFET (Long, [0026]).
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812