Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Applicants Remarks/Arguments
In regards to the applicants arguments that the joint combination of Zhang and Srinivasan do not teach the amended language, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Srinivasan teaches a loss term ([0041] “attention weight ”) that measures, for each of at least a subset of the plurality of points, a difference ([0041] “compute a set of attention weights that indicate the relevance of each camera feature.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed difference in light of instant specifications pg14 examples are given for “a difference” such as cosine similarity which is a measure of how similar or relevant two datapoints are https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cosine_similarity) between the respective target feature for the point generated by processing the corresponding set of images ([0041] “relevant features in both the image feature map and the LiDAR/point cloud feature map.”) using the pre-trained computer vision neural network ([0042] “encoder may be included in image feature extraction unit 154, which may also include a decoder.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed pre-trained computer vision neural network because an encoder operating with a decoder is an Autoencoder which is a type of neural network https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autoencoder ) and the respective feature for the point generated by processing the training point cloud using the point cloud processing neural network. ([0032] “depth determination unit 180 may extract point cloud features from the point cloud data” and [0021] “neural network-based depth determination unit”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12, 14, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20220366681, hereinafter “Zhang”) and in view of Srinivasan et al (US20250095173, hereinafter “Srinivasan”)
Claims 1, 6, 17 and 19 are listed below
Claim 12. (Currently Amended) Zhang teaches A system comprising one or more computers and one or more storage devices storing instructions that when executed by the one or more computers cause the one or computers to perform operations ([0039] “A terminal device includes: a memory, a processor and computer programs stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the processor implements the method”) comprising: obtaining a training data set ([0029] “selecting data of a public data set KITTI as a training set,”) comprising a plurality of training point clouds ([0029] “wherein the training set includes … point cloud data;”) and, for each training point cloud, a corresponding set of images; ([0029] “wherein the training set includes RGB images” KITTI public dataset is known to have training point cloud data corresponding to a set of images https://www.cvlibs.net/datasets/kitti/eval_object.php?obj_benchmark=3d)
for each of the training point clouds: generating a respective target feature for each of a plurality of points from the training point cloud by processing the corresponding set of images using the pre-trained computer vision neural network; ([0051] “Step 4, designing a CCA module for the fusion of laser point cloud PC and image I according to the multi-source information input, and extracting features of the two source data by using a convolutional neural network, respectively.”)
and processing the training point cloud using the point cloud processing neural network to generate respective features of each of the plurality of points; ([0065] “point cloud features generated by the network are extracted through a PointNet algorithm,” PointNet is a type of neural network for processing point clouds https://medium.com/@itberrios6/introduction-to-point-net-d23f43aa87d2) and
training the point cloud processing neural network ([0059] “deep CCA uses two deep neural network models f=f(X;W.sub.f) and g=g(Y;W.sub.g) to learn the non-linear structures of X and Y,” and [0060] “to optimize weights of deep CCA.” Learning and optimizing weights of a deep CCA model are understood by the examiner to be the same as the claimed training a neural network in light of instant specifications page 9)
Zhang does not explicitly teach training the point cloud processing neural network based on a loss term that measures, for each of at least a subset of the plurality of points, a difference between the respective target feature for the point generated by processing the corresponding set of images using the pre-trained computer vision neural network and the respective feature for the point generated by processing the training point cloud using the point cloud processing neural network.
Srinivasan teaches training the point cloud processing neural network ([0027] “point could features may be extracted from a point cloud…In order to train the neural network…”) based on a loss term ([0041] “attention weight ”) that measures, for each of at least a subset of the plurality of points, a difference ([0041] “compute a set of attention weights that indicate the relevance of each camera feature.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed difference in light of instant specifications pg14 examples are given for “a difference” such as cosine similarity which is a measure of how similar or relevant two datapoints are https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cosine_similarity) between the respective target feature for the point generated by processing the corresponding set of images ([0041] “relevant features in both the image feature map and the LiDAR/point cloud feature map.”) using the pre-trained computer vision neural network ([0042] “encoder may be included in image feature extraction unit 154, which may also include a decoder.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed pre-trained computer vision neural network because an encoder operating with a decoder is an Autoencoder which is a type of neural network https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Autoencoder ) and the respective feature for the point generated by processing the training point cloud using the point cloud processing neural network. ([0032] “depth determination unit 180 may extract point cloud features from the point cloud data” and [0021] “neural network-based depth determination unit”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to have training the neural network based on differences between target features for the points and the features for the points as taught by Srinivasan to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Srinivasan [0017] “to produce accurate, dense depth maps.”)
Claim 14. (Original) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The system of claim 12,
Zhang teaches wherein the point cloud processing neural network is further configured to process the respective features for each of the plurality of points ([0014] “inputting the fused point cloud features”) to generate a task prediction for a machine learning task. ([0014] “to achieve object detection.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed task prediction in light of instant specifications pg10)
Claim 1. (Currently Amended) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 12 and is likewise rejected.
Claim 6. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 14 and is likewise rejected
Claim 17. (Currently Amended) The Non-transitory computer storage medium herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 12 and is likewise rejected
Claim 19. (Previously Presented) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The non-transitory computer storage media of claim 17, wherein the point cloud processing neural network is further configured to
Zhang teaches process the respective features for each of the plurality of points ([0014] “inputting the fused point cloud features”) to generate a task prediction for a machine learning task. ([0014] “to achieve object detection.” Is understood to be the same as the claimed task prediction in light of instant specifications pg10)
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20220366681, hereinafter “Zhang”) and in view of Srinivasan et al (US20250095173, hereinafter “Srinivasan”) and in view of Wu et al (US20220383513, hereinafter “Wu”)
Claim 7. (Original) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 15 (below) and is likewise rejected
Claim 15. (Original) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The system of claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise: after training the point cloud processing neural network on the training data set,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach training the point cloud processing neural network on training data for the machine learning task.
Wu teaches training the point cloud ([0062] “point cloud”) processing neural network ([0062] “training a convolutional neural network”) on training data ([0062] “based on sample data”) for the machine learning task. ([0062] “to generate a transparent object detection model”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have training a point cloud neural network on training data for object detection as taught by Wu to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that (Wu [0048] “position where the … object is located can be estimated accurately”)
Claims 9, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20220366681, hereinafter “Zhang”) and in view of Srinivasan et al (US20250095173, hereinafter “Srinivasan”) and in view of Xu et al (US20200005485, hereinafter “Xu”)
Claim 9. (Previously Presented) The method herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 16 (below) and is likewise rejected
Claim 16. (Previously Presented) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The system of claim 12, wherein generating a respective target feature for each of a plurality of points from the training point cloud by processing the corresponding set of images using a pre-trained computer vision neural network comprises:
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach processing each image in the corresponding set of images using the computer vision neural network to generate, for each corresponding image, a respective patch feature for each of a plurality of patches in the image; determining, for each of the plurality of points, a corresponding patch from a particular one of the images in the corresponding set; and
for each of the plurality of points, using, as the target feature for the point, the patch feature for the corresponding patch in the particular image.
Xu teaches processing each image in the corresponding set of images using the computer vision neural network ([0033] “PointNet”) to generate, for each corresponding image, ([0033] “attributes (e.g., pixels) in the image 304.”) a respective patch feature for each of a plurality of patches in the image; ([0033] “A feature patch around the point may be extracted from an intermediate layer of the image”)
determining, for each of the plurality of points, a corresponding patch from a particular one of the images in the corresponding set; ([0048] “associating a portion of the cropped image with each point.”) and
for each of the plurality of points, using, as the target feature for the point, the patch feature for the corresponding patch in the particular image. ([0048] “the feature patch may be concatenated with the per-point feature vector obtained at 508 prior to processing with the global geometric feature vector for the entire point cloud and the appearance feature vector for the cropped image.”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have a patch of each image correspond to points for feature detection as taught by Xu to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been to (Xu [0014] “provide improved simplicity, functionality and/or reliability.”)
Claim 20. (Original) The Non-transitory computer storage medium herein has been executed and performed by the system of claim 16 and is likewise rejected
Claims 3-5, 8 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20220366681, hereinafter “Zhang”) and in view of Srinivasan et al (US20250095173, hereinafter “Srinivasan”) and in view of Xue et al (US20240312128, hereinafter “Xue”)
Claim 3. (Original) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The method of claim 1, wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach has been pre-trained using both images and text.
Xue teaches computer vision neural network has been pre-trained ([0034] “neural network based 3D visual understanding module 130 and one or more of its submodules 131-133 may be trained”) using both images and text. ([0034] “with the text representations and image representations.”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have both image and text used for pre-training a neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 4. (Original) Zhang, Srinivasan and Xue teach The method of claim 3,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained jointly with a text processing neural network.
Xue teaches wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained ([0034] “neural network based 3D visual understanding module 130 and one or more of its submodules 131-133 may be trained”) jointly with a text processing neural network. ([0034] “with the text representations and image representations.”)
Claim 5. (Original) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The method of claim 1,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the computer vision neural network is a text- prompted image segmentation neural network.
Xue teaches wherein the computer vision neural network is a text- prompted image segmentation neural network. ([0097] “neural network…text representations 1008 of the category candidates and the 3D representations 1012 are determined… The category (e.g., “piano”) that introduces the smallest distance is selected” )
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have a text-prompted image segmentation neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 8. (Original) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The method of claim 6,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the training data set comprises, for each of the plurality of point clouds, a respective ground truth output for the machine learning task, and wherein the training the point cloud processing neural network on the training data set comprises training using (i) the target features and (ii) the respective ground truth outputs.
Xue teaches wherein the training data set comprises, for each of the plurality of point clouds, ([0023] “features from 3D point cloud”) a respective ground truth output ([0060] “expected output (e.g., a “ground-truth” such as the corresponding correct answer for an input question) from the training data,”) for the machine learning task, ([0025] “recognition ability”) and wherein the training the point cloud processing neural network on the training data set comprises training using (i) the target features ([0023] “pretrained on…features from 3D point cloud”) and (ii) the respective ground truth outputs. ([0060] “expected output (e.g., a “ground-truth” …from the training data”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have training the neural network on point cloud features and ground truth as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 21. (Previously Presented) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The system of claim 12,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained using both images and text.
Xue teaches wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network (Abstract “neural network”) has been pre-trained using both images and text. ([0023] “A vision language model that is pre-trained on massive image-text pairs”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have both image and text used for pre-training a neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 22. (Previously Presented) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The system of claim 21,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained jointly with a text processing neural network.
Xue teaches wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained jointly with a text processing neural network. ([0023] “A vision language model that is pre-trained on massive image-text pairs” and [0072] “language model (e.g., BLIP-2)”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have both image and text used for pre-training a neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 23. (Previously Presented) Zhang and Srinivasan teach The non-transitory computer storage media of claim 17,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained using both images and text.
Xue teaches wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained using both images and text. ([0023] “A vision language model that is pre-trained on massive image-text pairs”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have both image and text used for pre-training a neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 24. (Previously Presented) Zhang, Srinivasan and Xue teach The non-transitory computer storage media of claim 23,
Zhang and Srinivasan do not explicitly teach wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained jointly with a text processing neural network.
Xue teaches wherein the pre-trained computer vision neural network has been pre-trained jointly with a text processing neural network. ([0023] “A vision language model that is pre-trained on massive image-text pairs” and [0072] “language model (e.g., BLIP-2)”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang and Srinivasan to have both image and text used for pre-training a neural network as taught by Xue to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Xue [0025] “model may be improved by the learning of unified representations.”)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US20220366681, hereinafter “Zhang”) and in view of Srinivasan et al (US20250095173, hereinafter “Srinivasan”) and in view of Xu et al (US20200005485, hereinafter “Xu”) and in view of Bui et al (US20220028088, hereinafter “Bui”)
Claim 10. (Original) Zhang, Srinivasan and Xu teach The method of claim 9, further comprising
Zhang, Srinivasan and Xu do not explicitly teach down sampling the patch features in the particular image.
Bui teaches down sampling the patch features in the particular image. ([0011] “performs downsampling on the divided image patches,”)
It would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Zhang, Srinivasan and Xu to have down sampling the patch features in an image as taught by Bui to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. The motivation for the proposed modification would have been so that the (Bui [0060] “output segmentation map is gradually improved”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Corral-Soto et al US20200151512 teaches fusing images with 3D datapoints for feature/object detection
/OWAIS I MEMON/Examiner, Art Unit 2663