DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 04/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0243834 to Lai et al. (hereinafter Lai).
With respect to claim 1, Lai discloses an integrated device package (see the annotated Fig. 4 below) (Lai, Figs. 4-5, ¶0002, ¶0032-¶0034, ¶0061-¶0077) comprising:
a glass interposer (e.g., the substrate body 20 is a glass substrate having through holes 200 filled with conductive material) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0033-¶0034, ¶0061-¶0062) having one or more conductive vias (e.g., through holes 200 filled with conductive material) extending through the glass interposer (20) from a top side (2a) of the glass interposer to a bottom side (2b) of the glass interposer, the bottom side (2b) of the glass interposer comprising one or more contact pads (25) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 2C, 4, ¶0066);
an integrated device die (40, a semiconductor chip) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0064) mounted and electrically connected to the top side (2a) of the glass interposer (20); and
an encapsulating material (42) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0065) disposed over at least a side surface of the glass interposer (20), a portion of the top side of the glass interposer (20), and a side surface of the integrated device die (40).
Regarding claim 4, Lai discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Lai discloses the integrated device package, further comprising one or more passive electronic components (e.g., an electronic component 40 includes a passive component) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0064) mounted to the glass interposer (20).
Regarding claim 5, Lai discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Lai discloses the integrated device package, further comprising one or more solder balls (43) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0067) connected to the one or more contact pads (25) on the bottom side (2b) of the glass interposer (20).
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Lai discloses the integrated device package, wherein the encapsulating material (42) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0065) is disposed over a top side of the integrated device die (40).
Regarding claim 9, Lai discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Lai discloses the integrated device package, wherein the encapsulating material (42) comprises an organic molding compound (e.g., epoxy resin) (Lai, Figs. 2A, 4, ¶0065).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2024/0178207 to Ecton et al. (hereinafter Ecton).
With respect to claim 1, Ecton discloses an integrated device package (e.g., multi-chip package, see the annotated Figs. 2A, 5 below) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0018-¶0028, ¶0071-¶0106) comprising:
a glass interposer (e.g., 103 in Figs. 1A, 2A or 2257 in Fig. 5) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0071-¶0072, ¶0088, ¶0098-¶0103) having one or more conductive vias (e.g., through-glass vias TGVs 110 including conductive material) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0071-¶0072) extending through the glass interposer (e.g., 103) from a top side (170-2) of the glass interposer (103) to a bottom side (170-1) of the glass interposer (103), the bottom side (170-1) of the glass interposer comprising one or more contact pads (174/2261) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0082, ¶0102);
an integrated device die (128/2256, IC die 128 or dies 2256) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0080, ¶0103) mounted and electrically connected to the top side (170-2) of the glass interposer (103); and
an encapsulating material (e.g., mold 2268) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0104) disposed over at least a side surface of the glass interposer (103/2257), a portion of the top side (170-2) of the glass interposer (103/2257), and a side surface of
the integrated device die (128/2256).
Regarding claim 2, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, wherein the glass interposer (103) comprises borosilicate glass (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0072).
Regarding claim 4, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, further comprising one or more passive electronic components (e.g., passive devices disposed on either side of the interposer) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0106) mounted to the glass interposer (2257).
Regarding claim 5, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, further comprising one or more solder balls (190/2265) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0083, ¶0102) connected to the one or more contact pads (174/2261) on the bottom side (170-1) of the glass interposer (103/2257).
Regarding claim 6, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, wherein the encapsulating material (e.g., mold 2268) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0104) is disposed over a top side of the integrated device die (2256).
Regarding claim 9, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, wherein the encapsulating material (e.g., mold 2268) comprises an organic molding compound (e.g., epoxy mold) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0178207 to Ecton in view of Yun et al. (US 2014/0268615, hereinafter Yun) and Oran et al. (US Patent No. 11,201,602, hereinafter Oran).
Regarding claim 3, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton discloses the integrated device package, wherein the glass interposer (103/2257) comprises one or more passive devices (e.g., passive devices disposed on either side of the interposer) (Ecton, Figs. 1A, 2A, 5, ¶0106), but does not specifically disclose that one or more passive devices configured to serve as a first electrical filter, and wherein the integrated device die comprises circuitry configured to serve as a second electrical filter.
However, Yun teaches forming the integrated device package (Yun, Figs. 5A-5D, ¶0027-¶0028, ¶0043-¶0047) comprising low pass filter capacitors integrated with through glass interposer inductor to control power delivery and frequency scaling for integrated circuits having high-power and to improve speed performance, and to achieve fast response.
Further, Oran teaches forming a tunable filter (see the annotated Fig. 1A below) (Oran, Figs. 1A-1B, Col. 3, lines 1-67; Col. 2-1-60; Col. 12, lines 39-52) comprising a semiconductor die (1) including controllable capacitors (e.g., 5a-5n) (Oran, Figs. 1A-1B, Col. 4 lines 36-60) on and the substrate (2/3) and connected to the inductors (e.g., 6a-6n) formed in the carrier circuit board/substrate (3), wherein tunable filters are controlled by changing a capacitance and an inductance of the integrated passive devices; specifically, the tunable filter is configured as a combination of low-pass filter and high-pass filter to filter set of frequencies based on input control signal for various RF applications.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Ecton by forming low-pass filter capacitors integrated with through glass interposer inductors as taught by Yun, wherein the capacitor formed on the interposer and the inductors embedded into the interposer, and wherein tunable filter including controllable capacitors and inductors is configured as a combination of low-pass filter and high-pass filter as taught by Oran to have one or more passive devices configured to serve as a first electrical filter, and wherein the integrated device die comprises circuitry configured to serve as a second electrical filter, in order to provide integrated circuits including passive devices to have improved speed performance and to achieve fast response; and to provide tunable filters to filter set of frequencies based on input control signal for various RF applications (Yun, ¶0027-¶0028, ¶0043; Oran, Col. 3, lines 1-9; Col. 12, lines 46-52).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0178207 to Ecton in view of Yoo et al. (US 2022/0320043, hereinafter Yoo).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Ecton discloses the integrated device package of Claim 1. Further, Ecton does not specifically disclose that a top side of the integrated device die is exposed through the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 7); further comprising a heat slug disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 8).
However, Yoo teaches forming a semiconductor package (Yoo, Fig. 8, ¶0004-¶0005, ¶0043, ¶0024-¶0060), wherein a top side of the integrated device die (310) (Yoo, Fig. 8, ¶0058) is exposed through the encapsulating material (e.g., molding layer 410), and further comprising a heat slug (500) disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die (310) and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (410), to provide a semiconductor package with improved electrical and thermal dissipation characteristics.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Ecton by forming thermal radiation plate including high thermal conductivity material as taught by Yoo to have the integrated device package, wherein a top side of the integrated device die is exposed through the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 7); further comprising a heat slug disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 8), in order to provide a semiconductor package with improved electrical and thermal dissipation characteristics (Yoo, ¶0004-¶0005, ¶0059).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0268615 to Yun in view of Oran (US Patent No. 11,201,602).
With respect to claim 10, Yun discloses an integrated device package (see the annotated Fig. 5C below) (Yun, Figs. 2, 5C, ¶0005-¶0006, ¶0027-¶0040, ¶0042-¶0046) comprising:
an interposer (148/548) (Yun, Figs. 2, 5C, ¶0035-¶0036, ¶0042, ¶0044-¶0045) having one or more conductive vias (e.g., through interposer inductor includes vias, 406/410/414/418 as in Fig. 4) extending through the interposer (148/548) from a top side of the interposer to a bottom side of the interposer, the interposer (148/548) comprising one or more passive devices (e.g., through interposer inductor); and
an integrated device die (e.g., 142 in Fig. 2 or 502/542 in Fig. 5C, including package capacitance 122/522) (Yun, Figs. 2, 5C, ¶0035, ¶0043-¶0045) mounted and electrically connected to the top side of the interposer (148/548), the integrated device die (142 or 502/542) comprising circuitry.
Further, Yun does not specifically disclose one or more passive devices configured to serve as a first electrical filter, the integrated device die comprising circuitry configured to serve as a second electrical filter.
However, Yun teaches that a capacitance (122/522) (Yun, Figs. 2, 5C, ¶0028, ¶0035) is formed as the package capacitance on the interposer (148), and that low pass filter capacitor is integrated with through glass interposer inductor (Yun, ¶0028).
Further, Oran teaches forming a tunable filter (see the annotated Fig. 1A below) (Oran, Figs. 1A-1B, Col. 3, lines 1-67; Col. 2-1-60; Col. 12, lines 39-52) comprising a semiconductor die (1) including controllable capacitors (e.g., 5a-5n) (Oran, Figs. 1A-1B, Col. 4 lines 36-60) on and the substrate (2/3) and connected to the inductors (e.g., 6a-6n) formed in the carrier circuit board/substrate (3), wherein tunable filters are controlled by changing a capacitance and an inductance of the integrated passive devices; specifically, the tunable filter is configured as a combination of low-pass filter and high-pass filter to filter set of frequencies based on input
control signal for various RF applications.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Yun forming a low-pass filter capacitor integrated with through glass interposer inductor as taught by Yun, and forming a tunable filter including controllable capacitors and inductors configured as a combination of low-pass filter and high-pass filter as taught by Oran, wherein the a low-pass filter capacitor formed on the interposer is configured as a second electrical filter, and the through glass interposer inductor is configured as a first electrical filter to have the integrated device package comprising: one or more passive devices configured to serve as a first electrical filter, the integrated device die comprising circuitry configured to serve as a second electrical filter, in order to provide integrated circuits including passive devices to have improved speed performance and to achieve fast response; and to provide tunable filters to filter set of frequencies based on input control signal for various RF applications (Yun, ¶0027-¶0028, ¶0043; Oran, Col. 3, lines 1-9; Col. 12, lines 46-52).
Regarding claim 13, Yun in view of Oran discloses the integrated device package of Claim 10. Further, Yun discloses the integrated device package, wherein the interposer (148/548) (Yun, Figs. 5A-5D, ¶0027-¶0028, ¶0037, ¶0044) is composed of a glass material.
Claims 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0268615 to Yun in view of Oran (US Patent No. 11,201,602) as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Shin et al. (US 2024/0014160, hereinafter Shin).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Yun in view of Oran discloses the integrated device package of Claim 10. Further, Yun does not specifically disclose an encapsulating material, wherein the interposer and the integrated device die are at least partially embedded in the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 11); wherein the encapsulating material comprises an organic molding compound (as claimed in claim 16).
However, Shin teaches forming a semiconductor package (Shin, Fig. 7, ¶0003, ¶0005, ¶0028, ¶0056-¶0058) including high-speed and high-function electronic components with improved reliability, wherein the semiconductor package includes molding material (e.g., epoxy molding compound 500) (Shin, Fig. 7, ¶0056-¶0058) to surround the interposer (200) and the semiconductor die (300), wherein the encapsulating material (500) comprises an organic molding compound (e.g., epoxy molding compound (EMC)) (Shin, Fig. 7, ¶0046, ¶0058).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Yun/Oran by forming molding material surrounding the interposer and the semiconductor die as taught by Shin to have the integrated device package, further comprising an encapsulating material, wherein the interposer and the integrated device die are at least partially embedded in the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 11); wherein the encapsulating material comprises an organic molding compound (as claimed in claim 16), in order to provide improved semiconductor package including high-speed and high-function electronic components with improved reliability (Shin, ¶0003, ¶0005, ¶0046, ¶0056-¶0058).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0268615 to Yun in view of Oran (US Patent No. 11,201,602) as applied to claim 10, and further in view of Abe et al. (US 2019/0281697, hereinafter Abe).
Regarding claim 12, Yun in view of Oran discloses the integrated device package of Claim 10. Further, Yun does not specifically disclose that the interposer is composed of a material having a loss tangent of less than 0.02 at 10 GHz.
However, Abe discloses a semiconductor package (Abe, Figs. 1-2, ¶0001, ¶0013, ¶0155-¶0156, ¶0162-¶0172) comprising an interposer (e.g., wiring layer laminate 10) between the semiconductor chips (2A/2B) including RF chips (Abe, Figs. 1-2, ¶0164) and the substrate (11), wherein the interposer (e.g., wiring layer laminate 10) is composed of a material (e.g., resin compound) has a loss tangent (Abe, Figs. 1-2, ¶0156) of less than 0.02 (e.g., 0.012 or less) at 10 GHz, and the dielectric constant (Abe, Figs. 1-2, ¶0155) at 10 GHz less than 3.0, to suppress crosstalk between the wiring layers to improve the reliability of electric signals, and to provide wiring layers incorporated into the interposer with improved insulating reliability for high density interconnection between the chips.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Yun/Oran by forming an interposer including wiring layer laminate as taught by Abe to have the integrated device package, wherein the interposer is composed of a material having a loss tangent of less than 0.02 at 10 GHz, in order to suppress crosstalk between the wiring layers to improve the reliability of electric signals, and to provide wiring layers incorporated into the interposer with improved insulating reliability for high density interconnection between the chips (Abe, ¶0001, ¶0013, ¶0155-¶0156).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0268615 to Yun in view of Oran (US Patent No. 11,201,602) and Shin (US 2024/0014160) as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Yoo (US 2022/0320043).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Yun in view of Oran and Shin discloses the integrated device package of Claim 11. Further, Yun does not specifically disclose that a top side of the integrated device die is exposed through the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 14); further comprising a heat slug disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 15).
However, Yoo teaches forming a semiconductor package (Yoo, Fig. 8, ¶0004-¶0005, ¶0043, ¶0024-¶0060), wherein a top side of the integrated device die (310) (Yoo, Fig. 8, ¶0058) is exposed through the encapsulating material (e.g., molding layer 410), and further comprising a heat slug (500) disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die (310) and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (410), to provide a semiconductor package with improved electrical and thermal dissipation characteristics.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the integrated device package of Yun/Oran/Shin by forming thermal radiation plate including high thermal conductivity material as taught by Yoo to have the integrated device package, wherein a top side of the integrated device die is exposed through the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 14); further comprising a heat slug disposed on the exposed top side of the integrated device die and on an upper surface of the encapsulating material (as claimed in claim 15), in order to provide a semiconductor package with improved electrical and thermal dissipation characteristics (Yoo, ¶0004-¶0005, ¶0059).
Conclusion
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891