DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on December 17, 2023. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-10, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 114725126 A) in view of Du (US 2024/0347541)
With respect to Claim 1, Xu discloses (Fig. 10) most aspects of the current invention including a driving backplane, comprising:
a plurality of pad areas (areas with layer 130 overlapping);
wherein the driving backplane comprises: a substrate (160); a driving circuit layer (110), disposed on a side of the substrate; wherein a top of the driving circuit layer forms a first height with a bottom of the substrate;
a protective layer (150), disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer facing away from the substrate; wherein the protective layer comprises a plurality of first protective layer structures (left protective structure, right protective structure), and each of the first protective layer structures is disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of pad areas;
a plurality of pads (layers 130), formed on sides of the first protective layer structures facing away from the driving circuit layer;
wherein a top of at least one of the first protective layer structures forms a second height with the bottom of the substrate, and the second height is greater than the first height
Furthermore, although Xu discloses wherein one of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures, Xu fails to explicitly show the driving backplane, comprising a plurality of non-pad areas, wherein each of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Du teaches (Fig 8-9) a driving backplane, comprising a plurality of pad areas (Display Area AA) and a plurality of non-pad areas (Non-Display Area FA), a plurality of pads (horizontal 121), formed on sides of a first protective layer structures (9) facing away from a driving circuit layer, wherein each of the plurality of pads (horizontal 121) is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures. Du teaches the plurality of pads form connection pins and furthermore providing a protective material layer to protect the metal layer from the natural oxidation, such that the high-temperature annealing process may be performed on the driving backplane, which avoids abnormalities (par 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of a plurality of non-pad areas, and wherein each of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures in the device of Xu, as taught by Du because the plurality of pads form connection pins and furthermore providing a protective material layer to protect the metal layer from the natural oxidation, such that the high-temperature annealing process may be performed on the driving backplane, which avoids abnormalities.
With respect to Claim 9, Du teaches (Fig 8-9) wherein a material of the protective layer is an organic photoresist.
With respect to Claim 10, Xu discloses (Fig. 10) most aspects of the current invention including a display panel, comprising a driving backplane, wherein the driving backplane, comprises:
a substrate (160);
a driving circuit layer (110), disposed on a side of the substrate; wherein a top of the driving circuit layer forms a first height with a bottom of the substrate
a plurality of pad areas (areas with layer 130 overlapping);
a protective layer (150), disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer facing away from the substrate; wherein the protective layer comprises a plurality of first protective layer structures (left protective structure, right protective structure), and each of the first protective layer structures is disposed corresponding to each of the plurality of pad areas
a plurality of pads (layers 130), formed on sides of the first protective layer structures facing away from the driving circuit layer
wherein a top of at least one of the first protective layer structures forms a second height with the bottom of the substrate, and the second height is greater than the first height
Furthermore, although Xu discloses wherein one of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures, Xu fails to explicitly show the display panel, comprising a driving backplane and a light source, wherein each of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Du teaches (Fig 20) a display panel, comprising a driving backplane (comprises transistor with gate) and a light source (22), a plurality of pads (horizontal 121), formed on sides of a first protective layer structures (9) facing away from a driving circuit layer, wherein each of the plurality of pads (horizontal 121) is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures. Du teaches the plurality of pads form connection pins and furthermore providing a protective material layer to protect the metal layer from the natural oxidation, such that the high-temperature annealing process may be performed on the driving backplane, which avoids abnormalities (par 123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of the display panel, comprising a driving backplane and a light source, wherein each of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures, in the device of Xu, as taught by Du because the plurality of pads form connection pins and furthermore providing a protective material layer to protect the metal layer from the natural oxidation, such that the high-temperature annealing process may be performed on the driving backplane, which avoids abnormalities.
With respect to Claim 18, Du teaches (Fig 8-9) wherein a material of the protective layer is an organic photoresist.
Claims 3-4 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 114725126 A) in view of Du (US 2024/0347541) and in further view of Wei (US 2022/0140020).
With respect to Claim 3, Xu in view of Du discloses most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do no show wherein the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure, disposed around the pad area; and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Wei teaches (Fig 5) a display panel, comprising a driving backplane, the driving backplane comprises: a substrate; a driving circuit layer (102-104), disposed on a side of the substrate, a top of the driving circuit layer forms a first height with a bottom of the substrate, a protective layer, disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer facing away from the substrate, wherein the protective layer comprises a first protective layer structure (5 left area), a top of at least one of the first protective layer structure forms a second height with the bottom of the substrate, and the second height is greater than the first height, and further the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure (5 right area), disposed around the pad area (S2); and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height. Wei teaches the protective layer structures can effectively block water vapor and oxygen, and achieve the purpose of protecting the light emitting device and additionally improve the packaging effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of wherein the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure, disposed around the pad area; and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height in the device of Xu in view of Du, as taught by Wei because the protective layer structures can effectively block water vapor and oxygen, and achieve the purpose of protecting the light emitting device and additionally improve the packaging effect.
With respect to Claim 4, Wei teaches (Fig 5) wherein the at least one second protective layer structure is a plurality of second protective layer structures, and the protective layer structures form a grid shape.
With respect to Claim 12, Xu in view of Du discloses most aspects of the current invention. However, the combination of references do no show wherein the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure, disposed around the pad area; and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Wei teaches (Fig 5) a display panel, comprising a driving backplane, the driving backplane comprises: a substrate; a driving circuit layer (102-104), disposed on a side of the substrate, a top of the driving circuit layer forms a first height with a bottom of the substrate, a protective layer, disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer facing away from the substrate, wherein the protective layer comprises a first protective layer structure (5 left area), a top of at least one of the first protective layer structure forms a second height with the bottom of the substrate, and the second height is greater than the first height, and further the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure (5 right area), disposed around the pad area (S2); and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height. Wei teaches the protective layer structures can effectively block water vapor and oxygen, and achieve the purpose of protecting the light emitting device and additionally improve the packaging effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the arrangement of wherein the protective layer comprises at least one second protective layer structure, disposed around the pad area; and a top of the second protective layer structure forms a third height with the bottom of the substrate, and the third height is greater than the first height and less than the second height in the device of Xu in view of Du, as taught by Wei because the protective layer structures can effectively block water vapor and oxygen, and achieve the purpose of protecting the light emitting device and additionally improve the packaging effect.
With respect to Claim 13, Wei teaches (Fig 5) wherein the at least one second protective layer structure is a plurality of second protective layer structures, and the protective layer structures form a grid shape.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-8, 11, 14-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-20 are allowed. Regarding Claim 19, the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a driving backplane comprising wherein the driving circuit layer comprise a plurality of signal lines, and orthogonal projections of at least two of the signal lines on the substrate intersect to form an overlapping area; and an orthogonal projection of each of the first protective layer structures on the substrate does not overlap with the overlapping area.
Examiner’s comments: the closest prior art references (Xu CN 114725126A; Du US 2024/0347541; Wang US 2022/0336556; Fan US 2024/0243067) are all directed in part to a driving backplane, comprising a plurality of pad areas, the driving backplane comprises: a substrate; a driving circuit layer, disposed on a side of the substrate, a protective layer, disposed on a side of the driving circuit layer facing away from the substrate and a plurality of pads, formed on sides of the first protective layer structures facing away from the driving circuit layer; wherein each of the plurality of pads is connected with the driving circuit layer through a via hole in each of the first protective layer structures, similar to the instant invention.
However, the combination of references neither anticipates nor renders obvious features of the driving backplane comprising wherein the driving circuit layer comprise a plurality of signal lines, and orthogonal projections of at least two of the signal lines on the substrate intersect to form an overlapping area; and an orthogonal projection of each of the first protective layer structures on the substrate does not overlap with the overlapping area.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/ Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814