DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (claims 8-13) in the reply filed on 01/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7, 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention I (process), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/24/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Cooling unit (cooling supply means which includes cooling gas supply source, cooling gas supply line, valve, para. [0043-0044]) in at least claims 8-13.
Heating unit (upper heat source which can include any of a microwave generator, laser generator, infrared lamp, para. [0047], [0049]) in at least claims 8-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20120193071 to Tsunekawa.
Claims 1-7: (Withdrawn).
Claim 8: Tsunekawa discloses a substrate treatment apparatus comprising: a chamber (1 vacuum chamber], Fig. 4, 1) having a treatment space (inside 1) therein; a support member (41/10/9 [substrate supporting base]) which is disposed in an internal space of the treatment space (inside 1) and on which a substrate (5 [substrate]) to be treated is seated, the support member (41/10/9) being provided with a plurality of gas discharge holes (42 [ grooves], para. [0102]);
a lift pin (13 [lift pins]) configured to lift the substrate (5) from the support member (41/10/9, para. [0065]); a cooling unit (43/41/42) configured to cool the substrate by discharging a cooling gas through the gas discharge holes (42, para. [0102]); a heating unit (2 [halogen lamp]) configured to heat the substrate (5) by supplying thermal energy to the treatment space (para. [0061]); and a controller (1000 [control part], Fig. 3) configured to control the lift pin, the cooling unit, and the heating unit (para. [0073-0075]).
Claim 9: Tsunekawa discloses wherein the controller (1000, Fig. 3, 4, Tsunekawa]) is configured to control the lift pin (13) so that a substrate treatment process by the heating unit and the cooling unit is performed in a state in which the substrate is spaced apart from an upper surface of the support member (41, 10, 9, para. [0075, 0081]).
Claim 12: Tsunekawa discloses wherein, when the heating unit (2, Fig. 1, 4, Tsunekawa) heats the substrate (5), the controller (1000) adjusts a separation distance between the substrate (5) and the upper surface of the support member (upper surface of 41/10/9) by controlling a lifting height of the lift pin (13, para. [0103]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunekawa as applied to claims 8, 9, 12 above, and further in view of US 20040035847 to Gat.
Claim 10: Tsunekawa discloses wherein the controller (1000, Fig. 4, Tsunekawa) is configured to control the cooling unit (43/41/42), thereby controlling a discharge amount of the cooling gas to the substrate (para. [0102]).
However Tsunekawa does not explicitly disclose and controlling a temperature of the cooling gas.
Gat discloses a gas that is being fed through gas passage (68, Fig. 4) including a plurality of exits (Fig. 4) wherein the temperature of the cooling gas is controlled by a cooling fluid being circulated through the channel (66, para. [0055], para. [0021]) for the purpose of selectively cooling wafers within a thermal processing chamber (para. [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the temperature control of cooling gas as taught by Gat with motivation to selectively cooling wafers within a thermal processing chamber.
Claim 11: The apparatus of Tsunekawa in view of Gat discloses when the cooling unit (43/41/42, Fig. 4, Tsunekawa) cools the substrate, the controller (1000) adjusts a separation distance between the substrate (5) and the upper surface of the support member (41/9/10) by controlling a lifting height of the lift pin (13, para. [0103]).
Claim 13: The apparatus of Tsunekawa in view of Gat discloses wherein the heating unit (2, Fig. 4, Tsunekawa) comprises any one of a microwave generator, a laser generator, and an infrared lamp (para. [0061]).
Claims 14-20: (Withdrawn).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240203699 discloses a cooling plate (400b, Fig. 6) and a heating unit (700) with lifting pins (408a) (para. [0048-0049]) and same assignee. US 20230215706 discloses a support having a cooling member (1232, Fig. 2), heater (1225), lifting pins (1900), and controller (not shown, para. [0091]) to control heating and cooling while lifting the substrate via the pins (para. [0084])
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718