DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 to 8 and 10 to 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Childress et al (wo2023/003909).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The Childress et al reference teaches forming a layer of molecular feedstock over a surface of a substrate, note entire reference. The molecular feedstock comprising an organic solid crystal precursor (003). The feed stock is placed on a substrate with a non-volatile medium on the substrate (004). Then forming crystal nuclei (single crystal seed) from the organic solid crystal precursor within a nucleation region of the layer of molecular feedstock 005-008. Childress et al teaches forming a single crystal seed from a melt of the OSCM and growing the crystal nuclei to form an organic solid crystal thin film para 005, 006. The Childress et al references teaches doping can change the characteristics of an organic semiconductor layer by addition of a trace amounts of elements, atom groups, molecules, or polymers to the organic semiconductor layer note para 0081 and 0082
With regards to claim 2, Childress et al teaches teaching melting the solid OSCM and forming a seed crystal para 005-008.
With regards to claim 3 Childress et al teaches an OSCM comprising thiophene, anthracene para 0051.
With regards to claim 4, the Childress et al reference teaches a dopant configured to modulate the HOMO_LUMO gap, note para 0081
With regards to claim 5, the Childress et al references teaches doing within the range of up to 50percent.
With regards to claim 6, Childress et al references teaches pyrene para 0051.
With regards to claims 7 and 8, Childress et al references teaches a solid (powder) molecular OSCM at ambient temperature and then heating to melt 005-008, which requires heating a temperature less than the melting point, i.e. the temperatures between ambient and the melting point.
With regards to claim 10, Childress et al references teaches a seed and forming a single crystal from the seed from the OSCM melt para 005
With regards to claim 11, Childress et al references teaches a cover plate over the feedstock while growing the crystal fig 1a.
With regards to claim 12, Childress et al references teaches a cover plate 30 and is shown to be inclined at an angle of greater than 0 degrees (Fig 1b.
With regards to claim 13 and 14, Childress et al references teaches a single crystal film and desired structural organization between the amorphous state and crystalline state.
Claim(s) 1 to 8 and 10 to 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Childress et al (wo2023/122117).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
The Childress et al reference teaches forming a layer of molecular feedstock over a surface of a substrate, note entire reference. The molecular feedstock comprising an organic solid crystal precursor (003). The feed stock is placed on a substrate with a non-volatile medium on the substrate (004). Then forming crystal nuclei (single crystal seed) from the organic solid crystal precursor within a nucleation region of the layer of molecular feedstock 005-008. Childress et al teaches forming a single crystal seed from a melt of the OSCM and growing the crystal nuclei to form an organic solid crystal thin film para 005, 006. The Childress et al references teaches doping can change the characteristics of an organic semiconductor layer by addition of a trace amounts of elements, atom groups, molecules, or polymers to the organic semiconductor layer note para 0081 and 0082
With regards to claim 2, Childress et al teaches teaching melting the solid OSCM and forming a seed crystal para 005-008.
With regards to claim 3 Childress et al teaches an OSCM comprising thiophene, anthracene para 0051.
With regards to claim 4, the Childress et al reference teaches a dopant configured to modulate the HOMO_LUMO gap, note para 0081
With regards to claim 5, the Childress et al references teaches doing within the range of up to 50percent.
With regards to claim 6, Childress et al references teaches pyrene para 0051.
With regards to claims 7 and 8, Childress et al references teaches a solid (powder) molecular OSCM at ambient temperature and then heating to melt 005-008, which requires heating a temperature less than the melting point, i.e. the temperatures between ambient and the melting point.
With regards to claim 10, Childress et al references teaches a seed and forming a single crystal from the seed from the OSCM melt para 005
With regards to claim 11, Childress et al references teaches a cover plate over the feedstock while growing the crystal fig 1a.
With regards to claim 12, Childress et al references teaches a cover plate 30 and is shown to be inclined at an angle of greater than 0 degrees (Fig 1b.
With regards to claim 13 and 14, Childress et al references teaches a single crystal film and desired structural organization between the amorphous state and crystalline state.
With regards to claims 15, 20 and 21, Childress et al references teaches the addition of two electrodes attached to the single crystal organic and the biased state changes the refractive index by at least 0.01 note para 0014 to 0018
With regards to claim 16, Childress et al reference teaches the optical property to be refractive index, birefringence and absorption, note para 0015.
With regards to claim 18, Childress et al references teaches the addition of two electrodes attached to the single crystal organic and the biased state changes the refractive index by at least 0.01 note para 0014 to 0018
With regards to claim 19, Childress et al references teaches the addition of two electrodes attached to the single crystal organic and the biased state changes the refractive index by at least 0.01 note para 0014 to 0018
Response to Applicants’ Argument
The terminal disclaimer of December 22, 2026 has been received and approved by the Patent Office.
The rejections set forth in the first office action have been withdrawn by the examiner in view of the amendments and arguments set forth in the response of December 22, 2026.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714