DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 3/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mehta et al (WO/2018/125170).
With respect Claim 1, Mehta et al discloses a chip-to-wafer (C2W) structure (Figure 4A-4F and corresponding text, especially paragraph 9 and 13) comprising: a first semiconductor substrate (Figure 4E, 414); a plurality of chips (Figure 4E, 104) located above the first semiconductor substrate (Figure 4E, 414); a dielectric layer (Figure 4E, 216) covering the first semiconductor substrate; and a second semiconductor substrate (Figure 4E, 106) covering the plurality of chips (Figure 4E, 104) and the dielectric layer (Figure 4E, 216. See Figures 4E and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 27-38.
With respect to Claim 2, Mehta et al disclose wherein at least one first trench (Figure 4E, 402) is formed in the second semiconductor substrate (Figure 4E, 106), wherein the first trench extends from a first surface of the second semiconductor substrate that is in contact with the plurality of chips into the second semiconductor substrate. See Figure 4E and corresponding text.
With respect to Claim 3, Mehta et al disclose wherein a plurality of first trenches (Figure 4E, 402 and paragraph 27; singulation trench) are formed in the second semiconductor substrate, wherein the plurality of first trenches are arranged in a mesh structure along a first direction and a second direction. The Examiner takes Official Notice that singulation trenches would inherently result in a mesh pattern.
With respect to Claim 4, Mehta et al disclose wherein a plurality of first trenches are formed in the second semiconductor substrate, wherein the plurality of first trenches form a plurality of trench regions, and wherein each trench region is aligned with a corresponding chip. See Figures 4A-4C.
With respect to Claim 5, Mehta et al disclose wherein a metal layer or a thermally conductive fluid (epoxy 216) is provided in the at least one first trench. See Figure 4E, 216 and corresponding text, especially paragraph 35.
With respect to Claim 7, Mehta et al disclose wherein a second trench (Figure 4A, 412, contact pads form a trench in dielectric layer 216 of 4E) is formed in the dielectric layer, wherein the second trench extends from a second surface of the dielectric layer that is in contact with the second semiconductor substrate into the dielectric layer. See Figures 4A and 4E and corresponding trench.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehta et al (WO/2018/125170).
Mehta et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Mehta et al does not disclose “wherein the at least one first trench has a depth to width ratio lying between 1:1 and 2:1”, as required by present Claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the limitation “wherein the at least one first trench has a depth to width ratio lying between 1:1 and 2:1”, as changes in shape are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
May 19, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812