DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I directed to claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 3/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/31/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “a gaze-tracking means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description fails to disclose any structure, material, or acts for performing gaze-tracking other than “the gaze-tracking means of the display apparatus are well-known in the art.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20230008009 A1 to Nicholson et al.
Regarding Claim 8. Nicholson discloses a display apparatus comprising: a gaze-tracking means (Fig. 2 gaze module 204); an image stabilization means (Fig. 2 adjustment module 206); at least one display (Fig. 1 display 102); and at least one processor (Fig. 2 adjustment apparatus 104) configured to: detect a movement of a user's gaze by processing gaze-tracking data, collected by the gaze-tracking means (para 62); when the movement of the user's gaze is detected, determine a compensatory movement which when implemented by the image stabilization means, shifts visual content displayed on the at least one display, according to the movement of the user's gaze (para 66); and generate a first drive signal for controlling the image stabilization means to implement the compensatory movement, during a frame display time (See para 66).
Regarding Claim 9. Nicholson further discloses the at least one processor is further configured to: when the movement of the user's gaze is not detected, generate a second drive signal to control the image stabilization means to implement a non-compensatory movement during a display-off time, wherein the non-compensatory movement, when implemented by the image stabilization means, moves the visual content to a predefined default position (See para 66. This limitation is determined to be inherent because any visual content displayed may be determined to be in a default position in the display at a particular instant).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/EDMOND C LAU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871