Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: CABLE BEND RESTRICTOR WITH PIPE AND CLAMP SECTION ARRANGEMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites “a rigid material”. However, no guidance in the claim or specification sufficiently guides one in deciding whether or not a material qualifies as “rigid”. As such, Examiner believes this subject matter is indefinite.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,268,646 (‘646) in view of Yan (CN206889963U).
Claim 1: ‘646 discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for an additional outward facing flange arranged between the end flanges of each pipe section such that there is a distance between each outward facing end flanges and the additional outward facing flange of the pipe section to receive the inward facing flange of the clamp section. However, Yan (Figs. 2a/b and 3-4) teaches a bend restrictor which utilizes an additional outward facing flange (note additional trapezoidal flange of 1) arranged between the end flanges of each pipe section such that there is a distance between each outward facing end flanges and the additional outward facing flange of the pipe section to receive the inward facing flange of the clamp section (Fig. 2a). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to substitute the piping with the additional flange as taught by Yan for the piping from ‘646 so as to create a specific bend limit of the apparatus based upon the shape of the trapezoidal slope angle which would prevent the associated cable from being overbent and damaged.
Claim 2: Yan further teaches that the locking radius of the bend restrictor is equal to or over the minimum allowable bending radius of the cable (Examiner noting page 2, “also can ensure the inner flexible tube cable meets the designed curvature” which provides that the bend restrictor will allow for at least the minimum allowable bending radius for the cable).
Claim 3: Yan further teaches that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section so that the axis of the pipe section and the axis of the adjacent clamp section can have an inclination relative to each other (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a).
Claim 4: Yan further teaches that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section (Fig. 2a), so that a position of the central axis of the pipe section to the central axis of adjacent clamp section can vary between a first and second positions wherein in the first position the axes are aligned (as shown in Fig. 2a) and in the second position the axes are inclined relative to each other (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a, when the assembly is bended).
Claim 6: Yan further teaches that the pipe section comprises an outward facing flange at each end (Figs. 3-4), and at least two additional outward facing flanges arranged between the end flanges (Figs. 3-4, note two outward extending protrusions/flanges on each half of the pipe shaped middle section).
Claim 7: Yan further discloses that the pipe section is split in the longitudinal direction into at least two parts (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 8: Yan further teaches that the at least two parts of the pipe section are connectable through bolt connections, or through locking pin connections or through straps (Figs. 3-4, note fastener/bolt holes shown in Figs. 3-4).
Claim 9: Yan further teaches that the clamp section is split in the longitudinal direction into at least two parts (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 10: Yan further teaches that the at least two parts of the clamp section are connectable through bolt connections, or through locking pin connections or through straps (Figs. 3-4, note fastener/bolt holes shown in Figs. 3-4).
Claim 11: Yan further teaches that the clamp section is made of a rigid material (page 3, note “polyurethane material”).
Claim 12: Yan further teaches that the clamp section comprises a structural steel, a polymer (page 3, note “polyurethane material”) or a fibre-reinforced polymer material.
Claim 13: Yan further teaches that the pipe shaped middle section of the clamp section features at least one aperture (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 14: Yan further teaches that the pipe shaped middle section of the clamp section comprises a plurality of elongated elements extending between the two inward facing flanges (Figs. 3-4, note two outward extending protrusions/flanges on each half of the pipe shaped middle section).
Claim 15: Yan further teaches that said pipe section has a pipe length LP and said clamp section has clamp length LC (Fig. 2a, Examiner choosing the pipe length as the portion of the pipe section between the end flange and the start of the trapezoid portion and the clamp length as the flange portion of the clamp which situates above this particular pipe length), the dimensional ratio LC/LP is set from 0.9 to 4.1 (as the overlap of these two portions are the same, the ratio would be 1).
Claim 16: Yan further teaches that said pipe section defines a distance DBPF between said outward facing end flange and said additional outward facing flange, said clamp section defining a thickness TCF of said inward facing flange of the clamp section, the dimensional ratio DBPF/TCF is set from 1.4 to 3.8 (Fig. 2a, Examiner notes the angled slope of the additional outward facing flange; were the top of this angled slope chosen as one of the distance points, the ratio appears satisfied at the lower boundary).
Claim 17: Yan further teaches that said clamp section has an inner diameter IDC and the pipe section has an outer diameter ODP, the dimensional ratio IDC/ODP is set from 1.02 to 1.3 (Fig. 2a, Examiner notes the slight enlargement of the clamp section over the pipe section, which appears to satisfy the ratio at the lower boundary).
Claim 18: Yan further teaches that said pipe section has an outer diameter ODP and pipe length LP, the dimensional ratio ODP/LP is set from 0.9 to 2.2 (Fig. 2A, Examiner notes the pipe section outer diameter appears just shy of the length parameter, appearing to meet the ratio near its lower value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura (US 5,197,767A).
Claim 1: Kimura (Fig. 2) discloses a bend restrictor for restricting the bending of a cable (4) comprising at least one pipe section (see Figure below) and at least one clamp section (see Figure below), wherein each pipe section comprises an outward facing end flange at each end (see Figure below), and at least an additional outward facing flange arranged between the end flanges (see Figure below), wherein the clamp section comprises an inward facing flange at each end (see Figure below), and a pipe shaped middle section therebetween (see Figure below), and wherein the distance between each of the outward facing end flanges and the additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is adapted to receive the inward facing flange of the clamp section (see Figure below).
Claim 3: Kimura further discloses that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section (see Figure above), so that the axis of the pipe section and the axis of the adjacent clamp section can have an inclination relative to each other (see Figure above).
Claim 4: Kimura further discloses that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section (Fig. 2, above), so that a position of the central axis of the pipe section to the central axis of adjacent clamp section can vary between a first and second positions wherein in the first position the axes are aligned (as shown in Fig. 2, on right side) and in the second position the axes are inclined relative to each other (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a, left side).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN206889963U).
Claim 1: Yan (Figs. 2-5) discloses a bend restrictor for restricting the bending of a cable (Figs. 2-5) comprising at least one pipe section (1) and at least one clamp section (2), wherein each pipe section comprises an outward facing end flange at each end (Fig. 2b), and at least an additional outward facing flange arranged between the end flanges (Fig. 2b), wherein the clamp section comprises an inward facing flange at each end (Fig. 5), and a pipe shaped middle section therebetween (Fig. 5), and wherein the distance between each of the outward facing end flanges and the additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is adapted to receive the inward facing flange of the clamp section (Fig. 2a).
Claim 2: Yan further discloses that the locking radius of the bend restrictor is equal to or over the minimum allowable bending radius of the cable (Examiner noting page 2, “also can ensure the inner flexible tube cable meets the designed curvature” which provides that the bend restrictor will allow for at least the minimum allowable bending radius for the cable).
Claim 3: Yan further discloses that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section so that the axis of the pipe section and the axis of the adjacent clamp section can have an inclination relative to each other (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a).
Claim 4: Yan further discloses that the distance between the outward facing end flange and the adjacent additional outward facing flange of the pipe section is larger than the width of the inward facing flange of the clamp section (Fig. 2a), so that a position of the central axis of the pipe section to the central axis of adjacent clamp section can vary between a first and second positions wherein in the first position the axes are aligned (as shown in Fig. 2a) and in the second position the axes are inclined relative to each other (as can be appreciated from Fig. 2a, when the assembly is bended).
Claim 6: Yan further discloses that the pipe section comprises an outward facing flange at each end (Figs. 3-4), and at least two additional outward facing flanges arranged between the end flanges (Figs. 3-4, note two outward extending protrusions/flanges on each half of the pipe shaped middle section).
Claim 7: Yan further discloses that the pipe section is split in the longitudinal direction into at least two parts (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 8: Yan further discloses that the at least two parts of the pipe section are connectable through bolt connections, or through locking pin connections or through straps (Figs. 3-4, note fastener/bolt holes shown in Figs. 3-4).
Claim 9: Yan further discloses that the clamp section is split in the longitudinal direction into at least two parts (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 10: Yan further discloses that the at least two parts of the clamp section are connectable through bolt connections, or through locking pin connections or through straps (Figs. 3-4, note fastener/bolt holes shown in Figs. 3-4).
Claim 11: Yan further discloses that the clamp section is made of a rigid material (page 3, note “polyurethane material”).
Claim 12: Yan further discloses that the clamp section comprises a structural steel, a polymer (page 3, note “polyurethane material”) or a fibre-reinforced polymer material.
Claim 13: Yan further discloses that the pipe shaped middle section of the clamp section features at least one aperture (Figs. 3-4).
Claim 14: Yan further discloses that the pipe shaped middle section of the clamp section comprises a plurality of elongated elements extending between the two inward facing flanges (Figs. 3-4, note two outward extending protrusions/flanges on each half of the pipe shaped middle section).
Claim 15: Yan further discloses that said pipe section has a pipe length LP and said clamp section has clamp length LC (Fig. 2a, Examiner choosing the pipe length as the portion of the pipe section between the end flange and the start of the trapezoid portion and the clamp length as the flange portion of the clamp which situates above this particular pipe length), the dimensional ratio LC/LP is set from 0.9 to 4.1 (as the overlap of these two portions are the same, the ratio would be 1).
Claim 16: Yan further discloses that said pipe section defines a distance DBPF between said outward facing end flange and said additional outward facing flange, said clamp section defining a thickness TCF of said inward facing flange of the clamp section, the dimensional ratio DBPF/TCF is set from 1.4 to 3.8 (Fig. 2a, Examiner notes the angled slope of the additional outward facing flange; were the top of this angled slope chosen as one of the distance points, the ratio appears satisfied at the lower boundary).
Claim 17: Yan further discloses that said clamp section has an inner diameter IDC and the pipe section has an outer diameter ODP, the dimensional ratio IDC/ODP is set from 1.02 to 1.3 (Fig. 2a, Examiner notes the slight enlargement of the clamp section over the pipe section, which appears to satisfy the ratio at the lower boundary).
Claim 18: Yan further discloses that said pipe section has an outer diameter ODP and pipe length LP, the dimensional ratio ODP/LP is set from 0.9 to 2.2 (Fig. 2A, Examiner notes the pipe section outer diameter appears just shy of the length parameter, appearing to meet the ratio near its lower value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan (CN206889963U) in view of Fischer (US 3,813,477).
Claim 5: Yan teaches the previous limitations but is not explicit about a maximum angle between adjacent clamp and pipe sections is comprised between 1.5 and 9 degrees wherein the angle is measured between the central axis of the pipe section and the central axis of the adjacent clamp section. However, Yan is open to design changes to the angle shape of the trapezoidal flange to suit working conditions (see page 3). Additionally, Fisher teaches using a bend restrictor with angle bend constraints between 5 and 10 degrees (see col. 3, lines 50-53). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the constraints as mentioned by Fischer into the apparatus of Yan so as not to cause damage to the associated cable.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746